DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 13, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gorbounov et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2006/0016214 A1), hereinafter referred to as Gorbounov et al ‘214.
Regarding claim 1, Gorbounov et al ‘214disclose a heat exchanger assembly of a climate control system {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0012] and [0031]; wherein one evaporator unit constitutes a heat exchanger assembly} that is configured to condition an airflow that is provided to an interior space, the heat exchanger assembly comprising: an inlet line (12) for receiving a refrigerant in a substantially liquid phase; an expansion device (13) positioned along the inlet line, the expansion device configured to expand the refrigerant {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0026]}; and a heat exchanger (14) positioned downstream of the expansion device, the heat exchanger configured to transfer heat from the airflow to the refrigerant and discharge the refrigerant in a substantially gaseous state (18) {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0026-0028]}; and a discharge line (17) configured to receive the refrigerant from the heat exchanger, wherein the inlet line and the 3discharge line are arranged to define a superheater (15) that is configured to transfer heat from (i) the refrigerant within the inlet line upstream of the expansion device to (ii) the refrigerant in the discharge line to thereby superheat the refrigerant in the discharge line {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶¶ [0026-0028]}.
Regarding claim 2, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the heat exchanger assembly of claim 1, wherein a length (15a) of the inlet line upstream of the expansion device is abutted along a length (15b) of the discharge line to define the superheater {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0028]}.
Regarding claim 3, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the heat exchanger assembly of claim 1, wherein the discharge line comprises a header (2), and wherein the inlet line passes within the header to define the superheater {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0027-0028]}.
Regarding claim 4, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the heat exchanger assembly of claim 3, wherein the heat exchanger comprises a micro-channel heat exchanger comprising a plurality of channels configured to discharge the refrigerant into the header see {as ¶ [0022]}.
Regarding claim 8, Gorbounov et al ‘214 a method comprising: (a) expanding a substantially liquid refrigerant stream (12) with an expansion device (13) into a mixed phase refrigerant stream {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶¶ [0026-0028]}}; (b) boiling the mixed phase refrigerant stream with a heat exchanger (14) to produce a substantially gaseous refrigerant stream (18) {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶¶ [0026-0028]}; and (c) superheating (15) the substantially gaseous refrigerant stream downstream of the heat exchanger by use of heat of the substantially liquid refrigerant stream (17){as shown in Fig. 3: ¶¶ [0026-0028]}.
Regarding claim 9, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the method of claim 8, further comprising: (d) receiving the substantially liquid refrigerant stream in an inlet line (15b); and (e) receiving the substantially gaseous refrigerant stream from the heat exchanger in a discharge line (18), wherein (c) further comprises transferring heat (18b) from the substantially liquid refrigerant stream to the substantially gaseous refrigerant stream via the inlet line and the discharge line {see Fig. 3: ¶ [0027]}.
Regarding claim 10, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the method of claim 9, wherein (b) further comprises: (b1) flowing the mixed phase refrigerant stream through a plurality of micro-channels (3) of the heat exchanger {as shown in Fig. 1B: ¶ [0022]}; (b2) boiling the mixed phase refrigerant stream to produce the substantially gaseous refrigerant stream (8) in the plurality of micro-channels during (b1) {as shown in Fig. 1B: ¶ [0022]}; and (b3) flowing the substantially gaseous refrigerant stream into a header (2) of the discharge line {as shown in Figs. 1B and 3: ¶ [0006], [0022] and [0027-0028]}.
Regarding claim 11, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the method of claim 10, wherein (c) further comprises flowing the substantially liquid refrigerant stream (17) through a portion (18) of the inlet line that passes into the header (2) {as shown in Fig. 3}.
Regarding claim 13, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the method of claim 11, wherein (a) further comprises expanding the substantially liquid refrigerant stream after flowing the substantially liquid refrigerant stream within the header via the inlet line during {as shown in Fig. 8: ¶¶ [0040-0041]; wherein the substantially liquid refrigerant stream is further expanded by the expanding device (24)}.
Regarding claim 15, Gorbounov et al ‘214 disclose a climate control system for conditioning an airflow provided to an interior space {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0012] and [0031]; wherein one evaporator unit constitutes a heat exchanger assembly}, the climate control system comprising: a compressor (10) that is configured to compress a refrigerant {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0024]}; a condenser (11) that is arranged to receive the refrigerant from the compressor {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0024]}; and an evaporator assembly comprising: an inlet line (12) configured to receive the refrigerant from the condenser {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0026]}; an expansion device (13) positioned along the inlet line that is configured to expand the refrigerant {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0026]}; a micro-channel heat exchanger (14) downstream of the expansion device and configured to transfer heat from the airflow to the refrigerant {as shown in Figs. 1A, 1B and 3: Fig. 3: ¶¶ [0022], [0026-0027]}; and a discharge line (17) arranged to receive the refrigerant from the micro-channel heat exchanger and discharge the refrigerant toward the compressor, wherein the inlet line and discharge line are arranged to define a superheater (15) that is configured to transfer heat from (i) the refrigerant in the inlet line upstream of the expansion device to (ii) the refrigerant in the discharge line to thereby superheat the refrigerant in the discharge line {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0028]}.
Regarding claim 16, Gorbounov et al ‘214 disclose the climate control system of claim 15, wherein the discharge line comprises a header (2) that is configured to receive the refrigerant from the micro-channel heat exchanger, and wherein the inlet line passes within the header to define the superheater {as shown in Figs. 1A, 1B and 3: Fig. 3: ¶¶ [0022] and [0027]}.
Regarding claim 17, Gorbounov et al ‘214 disclose the climate control system of claim 16, wherein the expansion device is positioned along the inlet line downstream of the header {as shown in Fig. 3}.
Regarding claim 20, Gorbounov et al ‘214 disclose the climate control system of claim 15, wherein a length of the inlet line upstream of the expansion device is abutted along a length of the discharge line to define the superheater {as shown in Fig. 3}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorbounov et al ‘214, in view of Khanania (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2023/0397765 A1), hereinafter referred to as Khanania ‘765.
Regarding claim 5, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the heat exchanger assembly of claim 4, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein the inlet line passes into a first end of the header, bends substantially 180º, and returns out of the first end of the header.
Khanania ‘765 teaches: the concept of inlet line (168) passes into a first end (161a) of the header (167), bends substantially 180º, and returns out of the first end of the header {as shown in Fig. 14: ¶¶ [0084-0085]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gorbounov et al ‘214 header by the header of Khanania ‘765 so as to include the use of an inlet line passes into a first end of the header, bends substantially 180º, and returns out of the first end of the header, in order to facilitate cost serving because U-tube type heat exchangers have only requires one set of inlet/outlet channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Gorbounov et al ‘214 in view of Khanania ‘765 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the method of claim 11, wherein (c) further comprises flowing the substantially liquid refrigerant stream (17), via the inlet line (IL): (c1) into a first end (FE) of the header (2).
However, Gorbounov et al ‘214 fail to disclose the limitation of the substantially liquid refrigerant stream out of the first end of the header.
Khanania ‘765 teaches: the concept of inlet line (168) passes into the first end (161a) of the header (167), and returns out of the first end of the header {as shown in Fig. 14: ¶¶ [0084-0085]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gorbounov et al ‘214 header by the header of Khanania ‘765 so as to include the inlet line passes into the first end of the header, and returns out of the first end of the header, in order to facilitate cost serving because U-tube type heat exchangers have only requires one set of inlet/outlet channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Gorbounov et al ‘214 in view of Khanania ‘765 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorbounov et al ‘214 and Khanania ‘765 as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Mercer (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2020/0348091 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mercer ‘091.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the combination of Gorbounov et al ‘214 and Khanania ‘765 disclose and teach the heat exchanger assembly of claim 5, EXCEPT for the limitations of further comprising a distributor coupled between the expansion device and the heat exchanger, the distributor configured to divide the refrigerant among the plurality of channels, and wherein the expansion device comprises a thermostatic expansion valve (TXV) or an orifice.
Mercer ‘091 teaches: the concept of a distributor (30) coupled between the expansion device (22) and the heat exchanger (10), the distributor configured to divide the refrigerant among the plurality of channels (18), and wherein the expansion device comprises a thermostatic expansion valve (TXV) {as shown in Figs. 1-3: ¶¶ [0003], [0031-0032]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gorbounov et al ‘214 heat exchanger assembly in view of Mercer ‘091 to include the use of so as to include the use of a distributor coupled between the expansion device and the heat exchanger, the distributor configured to divide the refrigerant among the plurality of channels, and wherein the expansion device comprises a thermostatic expansion valve, in order to facilitate nominalized refrigerant flowrate conditions within the heat exchanger {Mercer ‘091 - ¶ [0005]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Gorbounov et al ‘214 in view of Mercer ‘091 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 6 and 7.
Claims 14, 18 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorbounov et al ‘214, further in view of Mercer ‘091.
Regarding claim 14, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the method of claim 10, wherein (b1) comprises distributing the mixed phase refrigerant stream into the plurality of micro-channels (3) {as shown in Fig. 1B: ¶ [0022]}, EXCEPT for the limitation of the plurality of micro-channels with a distributor.
Mercer ‘091 teaches: the concept of the plurality of micro-channels (18) with a distributor (30) {as shown in Figs. 1-3: ¶¶ [0029], [0032] and [0034]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gorbounov et al ‘214 plurality of micro-channels in view of Mercer ‘091 to include a distributor, in order to facilitate nominalized refrigerant flowrate conditions within the heat exchanger {Mercer ‘091 - ¶ [0005]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Gorbounov et al ‘214 in view of Mercer ‘091 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Gorbounov et al ‘214 the climate control system of claim 17, EXCEPT for the limitation of wherein the expansion device comprises a thermostatic expansion valve (TXV) or an orifice.
Mercer ‘091 teaches: the concept of the expansion device comprises a thermostatic expansion valve (TXV) {as shown in Figs. 1-3: ¶¶ [0003], [0031-0032]}; and a distributor (30) coupled between the expansion device (22) and the micro-channel heat exchanger (10), the distributor configured to divide the refrigerant among the plurality of channels (18) of the micro-channel heat exchanger {as shown in Figs. 1-3: ¶¶ [0003], [0031-0032]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Gorbounov et al ‘214 in view of Mercer ‘091 to include the use of a thermostatic expansion valve; and a distributor coupled between the expansion device and the micro-channel heat exchanger, the distributor configured to divide the refrigerant among the plurality of channels of the micro-channel heat exchanger, in order to facilitate nominalized refrigerant flowrate conditions within the heat exchanger {Mercer ‘091 - ¶ [0005]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Gorbounov et al ‘214 in view of Mercer ‘091 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 18 and 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20230120712-A1 to Fonte; Nicolas.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
02/19/2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763