DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-10, 15-20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Luo et al (US 2024/0187905 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses a method of determining a measurement setup identifier (Fig. 3), comprising:
obtaining, by a proxy sensing initiator (Fig. 3 and 100th paragraph, the AP device or second device illustrated in Fig. 3, may be used as proxy of the STA device to establish the measurement process), first measurement setup parameters comprising parameters (Fig. 3 and 101st paragraph, first device transmits request frame including measurement setup information or measurement setup parameters to the second device, acting as a proxy) used by the proxy sensing initiator (Fig. 3, second device) and a sensing responder (Fig. 3, sensing responder 1) in a proxy sensing procedure (Fig. 3); and
sending, by the proxy sensing initiator, first information to the sensing responder, wherein the first information comprises the first measurement setup parameters (Fig. 3 and 142nd paragraph, second device transmits a request frame S221 to sensing responder 1. The request frame includes measurement setup information. Herein, the measurement setup information is measurement setup parameters) and a first measurement setup identifier that identifies the first measurement setup parameters (Figs. 3 and 6 and 163rd paragraph, the sensing setup request frame includes measurement setup ID, generated by the second device), and the first measurement setup identifier is different from measurement setup identifiers used by the proxy sensing initiator (Fig. 6, measurement setup ID generated by second device in request frame. Herein, this ID is different from other IDs used by second device because this second device acting as a proxy for the first device);
wherein obtaining the first measurement setup parameters comprises:
receiving, by the proxy sensing initiator, second information sent by a requesting station (Fig. 3, first device transmits request frame to second device), wherein the second information comprises second measurement setup parameters comprising some or all of the parameters used by the proxy sensing initiator and the sensing responder in the proxy sensing procedure (Fig. 4, request frame includes sensing parameters used by second device and sensing responder); and
determining, by the proxy sensing initiator, the first measurement setup parameters based on the second measurement setup parameters (Fig. 6, the sensing setup request frame includes sensing parameters derived from sensing parameters included in request frame).
Regarding claims 6, 15, and 23, Luo discloses that wherein after obtaining the first measurement setup parameters, sending, by the proxy sensing initiator, the first measurement setup identifier to a requestion station (Figs. 3 and 5, second device receives request frame including measurement setup parameters from first device and transmits response frame to the first device. The response frame includes measurement setup ID, illustrated in Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 7, 16, and 24, Luo discloses that wherein the measurement setup identifiers used by the proxy sensing initiator comprise a measurement setup identifier used by the proxy sensing initiator in a sensing procedure (Fig. 1, other measurement setup ID generated by AP when not acting as proxy), and a measurement setup identifier used by the proxy sensing initiator in the proxy sensing procedure (Figs. 3 and 5, measurement setup ID generated by second device acting as proxy).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Luo discloses that wherein after sending the first information to the sensing responder (Fig. 3, second device transmits request frame to sending responder 1), sending, by the proxy sensing initiator, third information to the sensing responder, wherein the third information comprises the first measurement setup identifier (Figs 8 and 12, the second device transmits trigger frame to sensing responder. The trigger frame includes measurement setup ID, illustrated in Fig. 12).
Regarding claims 9, 18, and 19, Luo discloses that wherein the first information further comprises one or more of the following: information for identifying a requesting station, or information indicating that a measurement setup requested to establish by using the first information belonging to the proxy sensing procedure (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Luo discloses a proxy sensing initiator (Fig. 3 and 100th paragraph, the AP device or second device illustrated in Fig. 3, may be used as proxy of the STA device to establish the measurement process), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 33, processor 710), configured to obtain first measurement setup parameters comprising parameters (Fig. 3 and 101st paragraph, first device transmits request frame including measurement setup information or measurement setup parameters to the second device, acting as a proxy) used by the proxy sensing initiator (Fig. 3, second device) and a sensing responder (Fig. 3, sensing responder 1) in a proxy sensing procedure (Fig. 3); and
a transceiver (Fig. 33, transceiver 730) configured to send first information to the sensing responder, wherein the first information comprises the first measurement setup parameters (Fig. 3 and 142nd paragraph, second device transmits a request frame S221 to sensing responder 1. The request frame includes measurement setup information. Herein, the measurement setup information is measurement setup parameters) and a first measurement setup identifier that identifies the first measurement setup parameters (Figs. 3 and 6 and 163rd paragraph, the sensing setup request frame includes measurement setup ID, generated by the second device), and the first measurement setup identifier is different from measurement setup identifiers used by the proxy sensing initiator (Fig. 6, measurement setup ID generated by second device in request frame. Herein, this ID is different from other IDs used by second device because this second device acting as a proxy for the first device);
wherein
the transceiver is configured to receive second information sent by a requesting station (Fig. 3, first device transmits request frame to second device), wherein the second information comprises second measurement setup parameters comprising some or all of the parameters used by the proxy sensing initiator and the sensing responder in the proxy sensing procedure (Fig. 4, request frame includes sensing parameters used by second device and sensing responder); and
the processor is configured to determine the first measurement setup parameters based on the second measurement setup parameters (Fig. 6, the sensing setup request frame includes sensing parameters derived from sensing parameters included in request frame).
Regarding claim 20, Luo discloses a communication apparatus (Fig. 3, second device), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 33, processor 710); and
a memory to store instructions (Fig. 33, memory 720), which when executed by the processor (Fig. 33), cause the communication apparatus to perform operations (Fig. 3), the operations comprising:
obtaining first measurement setup parameters comprising parameters (Fig. 3 and 101st paragraph, first device transmits request frame including measurement setup information or measurement setup parameters to the second device, acting as a proxy) used by the communication apparatus (Fig. 3, second device) and a sensing responder (Fig. 3, sensing responder 1) in a proxy sensing procedure (Fig. 3); and
sending first information to the sensing responder, wherein the first information comprises the first measurement setup parameters (Fig. 3 and 142nd paragraph, second device transmits a request frame S221 to sensing responder 1. The request frame includes measurement setup information. Herein, the measurement setup information is measurement setup parameters) and a first measurement setup identifier that identifies the first measurement setup parameters (Figs. 3 and 6 and 163rd paragraph, the sensing setup request frame includes measurement setup ID, generated by the second device), and the first measurement setup identifier is different from measurement setup identifiers used by the proxy sensing initiator (Fig. 6, measurement setup ID generated by second device in request frame. Herein, this ID is different from other IDs used by second device because this second device acting as a proxy for the first device);
wherein obtaining the first measurement setup parameters comprises:
receiving second information sent by a requesting station (Fig. 3, first device transmits request frame to second device), wherein the second information comprises second measurement setup parameters comprising some or all of the parameters used by the communication apparatus and the sensing responder in the proxy sensing procedure (Fig. 4, request frame includes sensing parameters used by second device and sensing responder); and
determining the first measurement setup parameters based on the second measurement setup parameters (Fig. 6, the sensing setup request frame includes sensing parameters derived from sensing parameters included in request frame).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 13, 14, 21, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 8 that none of the fields in the Luo sensing initiation request frame is included in the Luo first request frame. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Luo discloses that MAC frame body including an Action field. The Action field includes sensing parameter field (Fig. 4). Luo discloses the MAC frame body including an Action field. The Action field includes sensing parameter field (Fig. 6). Herein, the sensing parameter field of Fig. 6 is same as sensing parameter field of Fig. 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472