DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 22nd, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, and 18 have been amended. Claims 19 and 20 have been cancelled. Claims 21 and 22 have been added. Claims 1-18, 21, and 22 are pending and have been examined. Applicant’s amendments to the specification and the claims have overcome all objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 previously set forth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krovvidi, Srinivas (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0168187 A1 hereinafter Krovvidi), in view of Muthiah, Ramanathan (US Pat. No. 11,184,650 B1 hereinafter Muthiah).
Regarding claim 1, Krovvidi discloses a method implemented by a transmitter, wherein the method comprises: performing a capability negotiation with a receiver to identify that the transmitter and the receiver support an adaptive coding protocol (Krovvidi, [0132]: “In some demonstrative aspects, as indicated by arrow 212, A2DP source device 202 and A2DP sink device 240 may be configured to exchange capability information, for example, according to the A2DP setup and/or negotiation protocol.”), wherein the adaptive coding protocol enables the transmitter to send first media files in different codec formats to the receiver via short-range wireless communication within a single Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) (Krovvidi, [0105]: “In some demonstrative aspects, the audio stream may be configured, for example, according to a first Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) codec scheme, e.g., as described below. For example, controller 124 may be configured to setup, negotiate, and/or configure the first A2DP codec scheme, e.g., with device 140.”) connection without renegotiating the A2DP connection (Krovvidi, [0103]: “In some demonstrative aspects, device 102 may be configured to seamlessly identify and switch between audio codecs of different quality, for example, based on the link quality of BT wireless communication link 126, and/or the environment of BT wireless communication link 126, e.g., as described below.”), identifying at least one first codec format that is supported by the receiver (Krovvidi, [0134]: “In some demonstrative aspects, as indicated by arrow 214, A2DP source device 202 may be configured to set a configuration of an audio stream to be transmitted from A2DP source device 202 to A2DP sink device 240 according to a first A2DP codec scheme.”); establishing the A2DP connection to the receiver (Krovvidi, [0105]: “In some demonstrative aspects, the audio stream may be configured, for example, according to a first Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) codec scheme, e.g., as described below. For example, controller 124 may be configured to setup, negotiate, and/or configure the first A2DP codec scheme, e.g., with device 140.”). However, Krovvidi fails to expressly recite wherein the transmitter sends each of the first media files in a native codec format of the respective media file when the receiver supports the native codec format of the respective media file; identifying a second codec format of a second media file; sending the second media file to the receiver when the at least one first codec format comprises the second codec format, wherein first media data in the second media file comprises a first indication indicating the second codec format.
Muthiah teaches wherein the transmitter sends each of the first media files in a native codec format of the respective media file when the receiver supports the native codec format of the respective media file; identifying a second codec format of a second media file; and sending the second media file to the receiver when the at least one first codec format comprises the second codec format, wherein first media data in the second media file comprises a first indication indicating the second codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 520 and 522; [0062]: "At block 520, the storage device determines the necessity of generating a transcoded file based on the results of the analysis at block 510 or at block 515. If, for example, the media file is compatible with the parameters in the client request, then the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522.").
Krovvidi and Muthiah are analogous arts because they both belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi to incorporate the teachings of Muthiah to determine a codec format of a file and if the file needs to be transcoded prior to transmission. Variably transcoding a media file allows the file to be transferred to various different devices (Muthiah, [0011]). This ensures that media files can be accessed by users of many different systems, which improves the user’s experience interacting with the media.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Muthiah further teaches identifying a third codec format of a third media file; and sending the third media file to the receiver when the at least one first codec format comprises the third codec format, wherein second media data in the third media file comprises a second indication indicating the third codec format, and wherein the third codec format is different from the second codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 520 and 522; [0061]: "At block 515, responsive to determining that the request includes codec preferences, the storage device determines if it is capable of transcoding the media file using one or more of the specified codecs in the codec preferences. In some embodiments, the codec preferences include a single codec rather than a list of codecs. In such embodiments, the storage device is configured to determine whether it is capable of transcoding the media file using the specified codec. In some embodiments, the codec preferences include a prioritized list of codecs. In such embodiments, the storage device is configured to select from the prioritized list a codec."; [0062]: "At block 520, the storage device determines the necessity of generating a transcoded file based on the results of the analysis at block 510 or at block 515. If, for example, the media file is compatible with the parameters in the client request, then the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522."). The same motivation for claim 1 applies equally to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Muthiah further teaches identifying that the at least one first codec format does not comprise the second codec format; transcoding the second media file in the second codec format to obtain a third media file in a third codec format in response to identifying that the at least one first codec format does not comprise the second codec format, wherein the at least one first codec format comprises the third codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 520 and 545; [0062]: "As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522. Otherwise, the storage device is configured to transcode the media file based on the parameters determined at block 510 and at block 515."); and sending the third media file to the receiver, wherein second media data in the third media file comprises a second indication indicating the third codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 525-545; [0063]: "At block 525, the storage device determines what to do with the transcoded file. The storage device can be configured to replace the original media file with the transcoded file at block 530. The storage device can be configured to store the transcoded file alongside the original media file at block 535. The storage device can be configured to add the transcoded data to the original media data in a single file at block 540. The storage device can be configured to discard the transcoded data after transferring to the client device at block 545."). The same motivation for claim 1 applies equally to claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Muthiah further teaches wherein the second media file is a video file (Muthiah, [0062]: "As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522."). The same motivation for claim 1 applies equally to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Krovvidi discloses a method implemented by a receiver, wherein the method comprises: performing a capability negotiation with a transmitter to identify that the receiver and the transmitter support an adaptive coding protocol (Krovvidi, [0132]: “In some demonstrative aspects, as indicated by arrow 212, A2DP source device 202 and A2DP sink device 240 may be configured to exchange capability information, for example, according to the A2DP setup and/or negotiation protocol.”), wherein the adaptive coding protocol enables the transmitter to send first media files in different codec formats to the receiver via short-range wireless communication within a single Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) (Krovvidi, [0105]: “In some demonstrative aspects, the audio stream may be configured, for example, according to a first Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) codec scheme, e.g., as described below. For example, controller 124 may be configured to setup, negotiate, and/or configure the first A2DP codec scheme, e.g., with device 140.”) connection without renegotiating the A2DP connection (Krovvidi, [0103]: “In some demonstrative aspects, device 102 may be configured to seamlessly identify and switch between audio codecs of different quality, for example, based on the link quality of BT wireless communication link 126, and/or the environment of BT wireless communication link 126, e.g., as described below.”), identifying at least one first codec format that is supported by the receiver (Krovvidi, [0134]: “In some demonstrative aspects, as indicated by arrow 214, A2DP source device 202 may be configured to set a configuration of an audio stream to be transmitted from A2DP source device 202 to A2DP sink device 240 according to a first A2DP codec scheme.”); establishing the A2DP connection to the transmitter (Krovvidi, [0105]: “In some demonstrative aspects, the audio stream may be configured, for example, according to a first Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) codec scheme, e.g., as described below. For example, controller 124 may be configured to setup, negotiate, and/or configure the first A2DP codec scheme, e.g., with device 140.”). However, Krovvidi fails to expressly recite wherein the transmitter sends each of the first media files in a native codec format of the respective media file when the receiver supports the native codec format of the respective media file; receiving a second media file from the transmitter, wherein first media data in the second media file comprises a first indication indicating a second codec format, and wherein the at least one first codec format comprises the second codec format.
Muthiah teaches wherein the transmitter sends each of the first media files in a native codec format of the respective media file when the receiver supports the native codec format of the respective media file; receiving a second media file from the transmitter, wherein first media data in the second media file comprises a first indication indicating a second codec format, and wherein the at least one first codec format comprises the second codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 520 and 522; [0062]: "At block 520, the storage device determines the necessity of generating a transcoded file based on the results of the analysis at block 510 or at block 515. If, for example, the media file is compatible with the parameters in the client request, then the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522.").
Krovvidi and Muthiah are analogous arts because they both belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi to incorporate the teachings of Muthiah to determine a codec format of a file and if the file needs to be transcoded prior to transmission. Variably transcoding a media file allows the file to be transferred to various different devices (Muthiah, [0011]). This ensures that media files can be accessed by users of many different systems, which improves the user’s experience interacting with the media.
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Muthiah further teaches receiving a third media file, wherein second media data in the third media file comprises a second indication indicating a third codec format of the third media file, wherein the third codec format is different from the second codec format, and wherein the at least one first codec format comprises the third codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 520 and 522; [0061]: "At block 515, responsive to determining that the request includes codec preferences, the storage device determines if it is capable of transcoding the media file using one or more of the specified codecs in the codec preferences. In some embodiments, the codec preferences include a single codec rather than a list of codecs. In such embodiments, the storage device is configured to determine whether it is capable of transcoding the media file using the specified codec. In some embodiments, the codec preferences include a prioritized list of codecs. In such embodiments, the storage device is configured to select from the prioritized list a codec."; [0062]: "At block 520, the storage device determines the necessity of generating a transcoded file based on the results of the analysis at block 510 or at block 515. If, for example, the media file is compatible with the parameters in the client request, then the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522."). The same motivation for claim 9 applies equally to claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Muthiah further teaches wherein the second media file is a video file (Muthiah, [0062]: "As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522."). The same motivation for claim 9 applies equally to claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Krovvidi discloses a transmitter comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the transmitter to (Krovvidi, [0035]: “In some demonstrative aspects, device 102 may include, for example, one or more of a processor 191, an input unit 192, an output unit 193, a memory unit 194, and/or a storage unit 195.”): perform a capability negotiation with a receiver to identify that the transmitter and the receiver support an adaptive coding protocol (Krovvidi, [0132]: “In some demonstrative aspects, as indicated by arrow 212, A2DP source device 202 and A2DP sink device 240 may be configured to exchange capability information, for example, according to the A2DP setup and/or negotiation protocol.”), wherein the adaptive coding protocol enables the transmitter to send first media files in different codec formats to the receiver via short-range wireless communication within a single Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) (Krovvidi, [0105]: “In some demonstrative aspects, the audio stream may be configured, for example, according to a first Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) codec scheme, e.g., as described below. For example, controller 124 may be configured to setup, negotiate, and/or configure the first A2DP codec scheme, e.g., with device 140.”) connection without renegotiating the A2DP connection (Krovvidi, [0103]: “In some demonstrative aspects, device 102 may be configured to seamlessly identify and switch between audio codecs of different quality, for example, based on the link quality of BT wireless communication link 126, and/or the environment of BT wireless communication link 126, e.g., as described below.”), identify at least one first codec format that is supported by the receiver (Krovvidi, [0134]: “In some demonstrative aspects, as indicated by arrow 214, A2DP source device 202 may be configured to set a configuration of an audio stream to be transmitted from A2DP source device 202 to A2DP sink device 240 according to a first A2DP codec scheme.”); establish the A2DP connection between the transmitter and the receiver (Krovvidi, [0105]: “In some demonstrative aspects, the audio stream may be configured, for example, according to a first Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) codec scheme, e.g., as described below. For example, controller 124 may be configured to setup, negotiate, and/or configure the first A2DP codec scheme, e.g., with device 140.”). However, Krovvidi fails to expressly recite wherein the transmitter sends each of the first media files in a native codec format of the respective media file when the receiver supports the native codec format of the respective media file; determine a second codec format of a second media file; and send the second media file to the receiver when the at least one first codec format comprises the second codec format, wherein first media data in the second media file comprises a first indication indicating the second codec format.
Muthiah teaches wherein the transmitter sends each of the first media files in a native codec format of the respective media file when the receiver supports the native codec format of the respective media file; determine a second codec format of a second media file; and send the second media file to the receiver when the at least one first codec format comprises the second codec format, wherein first media data in the second media file comprises a first indication indicating the second codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 520 and 522; [0062]: "At block 520, the storage device determines the necessity of generating a transcoded file based on the results of the analysis at block 510 or at block 515. If, for example, the media file is compatible with the parameters in the client request, then the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522.").
Krovvidi and Muthiah are analogous arts because they both belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi to incorporate the teachings of Muthiah to determine a codec format of a file and if the file needs to be transcoded prior to transmission. Variably transcoding a media file allows the file to be transferred to various different devices (Muthiah, [0011]). This ensures that media files can be accessed by users of many different systems, which improves the user’s experience interacting with the media.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Muthiah further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the transmitter to: identify a third codec format of a third media file; and send the third media file to the receiver when the at least one first codec format comprises the third codec format, wherein second media data in the third media file comprises a second indication indicating the third codec format, and wherein the third codec format is different from the second codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 520 and 522; [0061]: "At block 515, responsive to determining that the request includes codec preferences, the storage device determines if it is capable of transcoding the media file using one or more of the specified codecs in the codec preferences. In some embodiments, the codec preferences include a single codec rather than a list of codecs. In such embodiments, the storage device is configured to determine whether it is capable of transcoding the media file using the specified codec. In some embodiments, the codec preferences include a prioritized list of codecs. In such embodiments, the storage device is configured to select from the prioritized list a codec."; [0062]: "At block 520, the storage device determines the necessity of generating a transcoded file based on the results of the analysis at block 510 or at block 515. If, for example, the media file is compatible with the parameters in the client request, then the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522."). The same motivation for claim 15 applies equally to claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Muthiah further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the transmitter to: identify that the at least one first codec format does not comprise the second codec format; transcode the second media file in the second codec format to obtain a third media file in a third codec format in response to identifying that the at least one first codec format does not comprise the second codec format, wherein the at least one first codec format comprises the third codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 520 and 545; [0062]: "As another example, if the media file includes an audio and video codec from the list of preferred codecs than the storage device is configured to not transcode the file. In such instances, the storage device transfers the original media file at block 522. Otherwise, the storage device is configured to transcode the media file based on the parameters determined at block 510 and at block 515."); and send the third media file to the receiver, wherein second media data in the third media file comprises a second indication indicating the third codec format (Muthiah, fig. 5, 525-545; [0063]: "At block 525, the storage device determines what to do with the transcoded file. The storage device can be configured to replace the original media file with the transcoded file at block 530. The storage device can be configured to store the transcoded file alongside the original media file at block 535. The storage device can be configured to add the transcoded data to the original media data in a single file at block 540. The storage device can be configured to discard the transcoded data after transferring to the client device at block 545."). The same motivation for claim 15 applies equally to claim 17.
Claim(s) 4-7, 11-13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, as applied to claims 1-3, 8-10, and 14-17 above, and further in view of Wang, Liang (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0148608 A1 hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Krovvidi further discloses wherein the request queries whether the receiver supports the adaptive coding protocol (Krovvidi, [0103]: “In some demonstrative aspects, device 102 may be configured to seamlessly identify and switch between audio codecs of different quality, for example, based on the link quality of BT wireless communication link 126, and/or the environment of BT wireless communication link 126, e.g., as described below.”). However, Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, fails to expressly recite establishing a short-range wireless communication connection to the receiver prior to establishing the A2DP connection; sending a request to the receiver and receiving a response from the receiver, wherein the response comprises a second indication indicating that the receiver supports the adaptive coding protocol and further comprises the at least one first codec format.
Wang teaches establishing a short-range wireless communication connection to the receiver prior to establishing the A2DP connection; sending a request to the receiver (Wang, fig. 7; [0135]: "For example, the audio coding module sends a capability obtaining request to the playback side by using the Bluetooth unit, to request to obtain capability information of the playback side. For example, the capability information may include a supported Bluetooth audio codec type (or a bit rate of the Bluetooth audio codec), an audio sampling rate, an audio bit width, and the like."); and receiving a response from the receiver, wherein the response comprises a second indication indicating that the receiver supports the adaptive coding protocol and further comprises the at least one first codec format (Wang, fig. 7; [0137]: "The source side determines a configuration parameter based on the capability information of the playback side. For example, the capability information of the playback side is: supported Bluetooth audio codec types including HWA, aptX, aptX HD, aptX LL, and AAC; supported audio sampling rates including 48 kHz, 44.1 kHz, 32 kHz, 24 kHz, and 16 kHz; and supported audio bit widths including 8 bits and 16 bits.").
Krovvidi, Muthiah, and Wang are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi, as modified by the automatic transcoding system of Muthiah, to incorporate the teachings of Wang to establish a wireless connection prior to establishing an A2DP connection. This allows basic instructions to be communicated in order to initially pair the transmitter and receiver (Wang, [0111]). As such, the system is better able to establish a connection.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah and Wang, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Wang further teaches identifying at least one third codec format locally supported by the transmitter (Wang, fig. 7; [0137]: "The source side determines a configuration parameter based on the capability information of the playback side. For example, the capability information of the playback side is: supported Bluetooth audio codec types including HWA, aptX, aptX HD, aptX LL, and AAC; supported audio sampling rates including 48 kHz, 44.1 kHz, 32 kHz, 24 kHz, and 16 kHz; and supported audio bit widths including 8 bits and 16 bits."); and identifying, based on the at least one first codec format and the at least one third codec format, a codec format set comprising codec formats, wherein each of the codec formats is supported by both the transmitter and the receiver, and wherein the transmitter sends a media file in the native codec format of the media file when the native codec format of the media file is within the codec format set (Wang, fig. 7; [0137]: "In an implementation, the source side may select a parameter supported by both the source side and the playback side as the configuration parameter. For example, the source side determines that the configuration parameter is as follows: a Bluetooth audio codec type is HWA, an audio sampling rate is 44.1 kHz. and an audio bit width is 16 bits."). The same motivation for claim 4 applies equally to claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, fails to expressly recite wherein the at least one first codec format comprises sub-band coding (SBC), Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG)-1/2 Audio, MPEG-2/4 Advanced Audio Coding (AAC), Adaptive Transform Acoustic Coding (ATRAC) family, Free Lossless Audio Codec (FLAC), Opus, Vorbis, or Monkey's Audio.
Wang teaches wherein the at least one first codec format comprises sub-band coding (SBC), Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG)-1/2 Audio, MPEG-2/4 Advanced Audio Coding (AAC), Adaptive Transform Acoustic Coding (ATRAC) family, Free Lossless Audio Codec (FLAC), Opus, Vorbis, or Monkey's Audio (Wang, [0007]: "With reference to the first aspect, in a possible design manner, the Bluetooth coding scheme includes a high sound quality mode, a standard mode, or a low latency mode. The high sound quality mode includes at least one of LDAC, aptX HD, and HWA. The standard mode includes at least one of sub-band coding SBC, advanced audio coding AAC, and aptX. The low latency mode includes at least one of HWA LL and aptX LL.").
Krovvidi, Muthiah, and Wang are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi, as modified by the automatic transcoding system of Muthiah, to incorporate the teachings of Wang to establish a wireless connection prior to establishing an A2DP connection. This allows basic instructions to be communicated in order to initially pair the transmitter and receiver (Wang, [0111]). As such, the system is better able to establish a connection.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, fails to expressly recite wherein the second media file is an audio file.
Wang teaches wherein the second media file is an audio file (Wang, fig. 7; [0132]: "FIG. 7 shows a method procedure in which audio on the source side is played by the playback side by using an A2DP playback technology.").
Krovvidi, Muthiah, and Wang are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi, as modified by the automatic transcoding system of Muthiah, to incorporate the teachings of Wang to establish a wireless connection prior to establishing an A2DP connection. This allows basic instructions to be communicated in order to initially pair the transmitter and receiver (Wang, [0111]). As such, the system is better able to establish a connection.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Krovvidi further discloses wherein the request queries whether the transmitter supports the adaptive coding protocol (Krovvidi, [0103]: “In some demonstrative aspects, device 102 may be configured to seamlessly identify and switch between audio codecs of different quality, for example, based on the link quality of BT wireless communication link 126, and/or the environment of BT wireless communication link 126, e.g., as described below.”). However, Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, fails to expressly recite establishing a short-range wireless communication connection to the transmitter prior to establishing the A2DP connection; receiving a request from the transmitter; and sending a response to the transmitter, wherein the response comprises a second indication indicating that the receiver supports the adaptive coding protocol and further comprises the at least one first codec format.
Wang teaches establishing a short-range wireless communication connection to the transmitter prior to establishing the A2DP connection; receiving a request from the transmitter; (Wang, fig. 7; [0135]: "For example, the audio coding module sends a capability obtaining request to the playback side by using the Bluetooth unit, to request to obtain capability information of the playback side. For example, the capability information may include a supported Bluetooth audio codec type (or a bit rate of the Bluetooth audio codec), an audio sampling rate, an audio bit width, and the like."); ; and sending a response to the transmitter, wherein the response comprises a second indication indicating that the receiver supports the adaptive coding protocol and further comprises the at least one first codec format (Wang, fig. 7; [0137]: "The source side determines a configuration parameter based on the capability information of the playback side. For example, the capability information of the playback side is: supported Bluetooth audio codec types including HWA, aptX, aptX HD, aptX LL, and AAC; supported audio sampling rates including 48 kHz, 44.1 kHz, 32 kHz, 24 kHz, and 16 kHz; and supported audio bit widths including 8 bits and 16 bits.").
Krovvidi, Muthiah, and Wang are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi, as modified by the automatic transcoding system of Muthiah, to incorporate the teachings of Wang to establish a wireless connection prior to establishing an A2DP connection. This allows basic instructions to be communicated in order to initially pair the transmitter and receiver (Wang, [0111]). As such, the system is better able to establish a connection.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, fails to expressly recite wherein the at least one first codec format comprises sub-band coding (SBC), Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG)-1/2 Audio, MPEG-2/4 Advanced Audio Coding (AAC), Adaptive Transform Acoustic Coding (ATRAC) family, Free Lossless Audio Codec (FLAC), Opus, Vorbis, or Monkey's Audio.
Wang teaches wherein the at least one first codec format comprises sub-band coding (SBC), Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG)-1/2 Audio, MPEG-2/4 Advanced Audio Coding (AAC), Adaptive Transform Acoustic Coding (ATRAC) family, Free Lossless Audio Codec (FLAC), Opus, Vorbis, or Monkey's Audio (Wang, [0007]: "With reference to the first aspect, in a possible design manner, the Bluetooth coding scheme includes a high sound quality mode, a standard mode, or a low latency mode. The high sound quality mode includes at least one of LDAC, aptX HD, and HWA. The standard mode includes at least one of sub-band coding SBC, advanced audio coding AAC, and aptX. The low latency mode includes at least one of HWA LL and aptX LL.").
Krovvidi, Muthiah, and Wang are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi, as modified by the automatic transcoding system of Muthiah, to incorporate the teachings of Wang to establish a wireless connection prior to establishing an A2DP connection. This allows basic instructions to be communicated in order to initially pair the transmitter and receiver (Wang, [0111]). As such, the system is better able to establish a connection.
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, fails to expressly recite wherein the second media file is an audio file.
Wang teaches wherein the second media file is an audio file (Wang, fig. 7; [0132]: "FIG. 7 shows a method procedure in which audio on the source side is played by the playback side by using an A2DP playback technology.").
Krovvidi, Muthiah, and Wang are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi, as modified by the automatic transcoding system of Muthiah, to incorporate the teachings of Wang to establish a wireless connection prior to establishing an A2DP connection. This allows basic instructions to be communicated in order to initially pair the transmitter and receiver (Wang, [0111]). As such, the system is better able to establish a connection.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Krovvidi further discloses wherein the request queries whether the receiver supports the adaptive coding protocol (Krovvidi, [0103]: “In some demonstrative aspects, device 102 may be configured to seamlessly identify and switch between audio codecs of different quality, for example, based on the link quality of BT wireless communication link 126, and/or the environment of BT wireless communication link 126, e.g., as described below.”). However, Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, fails to expressly recite establish a short-range wireless communication connection to the receiver prior to establishing the A2DP connection; send a request to the receiver and receive a response from the receiver, wherein the response comprises a second indication indicating that the receiver supports the adaptive coding protocol and further comprises the at least one first codec format.
Wang teaches establishing a short-range wireless communication connection to the receiver prior to establish the A2DP connection; send a request to the receiver (Wang, fig. 7; [0135]: "For example, the audio coding module sends a capability obtaining request to the playback side by using the Bluetooth unit, to request to obtain capability information of the playback side. For example, the capability information may include a supported Bluetooth audio codec type (or a bit rate of the Bluetooth audio codec), an audio sampling rate, an audio bit width, and the like."); and receive a response from the receiver, wherein the response comprises a second indication indicating that the receiver supports the adaptive coding protocol and further comprises the at least one first codec format (Wang, fig. 7; [0137]: "The source side determines a configuration parameter based on the capability information of the playback side. For example, the capability information of the playback side is: supported Bluetooth audio codec types including HWA, aptX, aptX HD, aptX LL, and AAC; supported audio sampling rates including 48 kHz, 44.1 kHz, 32 kHz, 24 kHz, and 16 kHz; and supported audio bit widths including 8 bits and 16 bits.").
Krovvidi, Muthiah, and Wang are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi, as modified by the automatic transcoding system of Muthiah, to incorporate the teachings of Wang to establish a wireless connection prior to establishing an A2DP connection. This allows basic instructions to be communicated in order to initially pair the transmitter and receiver (Wang, [0111]). As such, the system is better able to establish a connection.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, as applied to claims 1-3, 8-10, and 14-17 above, and further in view of Gebbie et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0147626 A1 hereinafter Gebbie).
Regarding claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, fails to expressly recite wherein the first indication is a vendor specific codec identifier carried in an extension format of a media packet header of the second media file.
Gebbie teaches wherein the first indication is a vendor specific codec identifier carried in an extension format of a media packet header of the second media file (Gebbie, [0013]: “Each file may have a different extension and encoding format that may or may not be accessible by all operating systems and applications, or that may be designed and optimized to work better with certain software applications while working less than optimally with other applications (if at all). Multiple files can be encoded using different codes, separately transmitted, and decoded using different codecs. Different files often have to be reformatted into other file types before they can be used. Use of different codecs, separate transmission of files, and reformatting files detrimentally increases processing inefficiency, and can restrict use of the files until all files have been transmitted, decoded and reformatted. Exporting files is similarly inefficient. In some cases, a codec may be proprietary and needs to be purchased or otherwise obtained, which increases cost.”).
Krovvidi, Muthiah, and Gebbie are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi, as modified by the automatic transcoding system of Muthiah, to incorporate the teachings of Gebbie to receive an indication of a vendor specific codec in an extension format. Companies use proprietary codecs at times, and a files extension can give information about that files encoding format (Gebbie, [0013]). As such, identifying information in this way can be used to identify a particular codec to be used.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, as applied to claims 1-3, 8-10, and 14-17 above, and further in view of Seldess et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0152935 A1 hereinafter Seldess).
Regarding claim 22, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Krovvidi, in view of Muthiah, fails to expressly recite wherein performing the capability negotiation comprises negotiating the adaptive coding protocol as a vendor specific codec format in A2DP signaling between the transmitter and the receiver.
Seldess teaches wherein performing the capability negotiation comprises negotiating the adaptive coding protocol as a vendor specific codec format in A2DP signaling between the transmitter and the receiver (Seldess, [0034]: “The operating system query module 200 queries an OS of a device to determine an audio codec used by the device. The audio codec may indicate the manufacturer of a device or otherwise identify the device. For example, the operating system query module 200 queries the OS of a mobile phone to determine that the manufacturer of the phone is a first manufacturer because the codecs supported include a particular proprietary audio codec such as the Qualcomm AptX codec.”).
Krovvidi, Muthiah, and Seldess are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of endeavor of media transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio traffic communication method of Krovvidi, as modified by the automatic transcoding system of Muthiah, to incorporate the teachings of Seldess to identify a vendor specific codec during negotiation. This allows the system to store information about specific proprietary codecs required by the receiver (Seldess, [0042]). As such, the system is able to communicate with devices using codecs in the systems database.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2657
/DANIEL C WASHBURN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2657