DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 28, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/894,099 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claims 1-3, claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/894,099 recites a battery comprising an electrode assembly and a shell (housing) comprising a first main body part (accommodating cavity) and a side edge part (side edge portion) connected to the first main body part, and the side edge part comprises a first wall surface (first surface) and a second wall surface (second surface) disposed opposite each other along a thickness direction of the side edge part (first surface is separated from the second surface). There is a first bonding member (first adhesive member) comprising a first bonding surface (first adhesive surface) and second bonding surface (second adhesive surface) disposed opposite to each other, the first bonding surface being bonded to the first wall surface. A protection device (protective means) is bonded to the second bonding surface, wherein the protection device comprises a second main body part (body portion) and a first connecting part (first connection portion) electrically connected to the second main body part. The first connecting part comprises a first part and a second part. A first tab is connected to the electrode assembly, and the first tab includes a part extending out of the shell (second connection portion) which is bonded to the second part of the first connecting part (first combination portion). The first part of the first connecting part is bonded to the second bonding surface (adhered to the second adhesive surface). The first tab passes through the side edge part and extends out of the shell (portion of the first tab extending out of an end edge located between the first surface and the second surface). The part of the first tab extending out of the shell is bent and stacked with the first part (extension portion is bent so that the second connection portion is adhered to the second adhesive surface) (first connection portion connected to a surface of the second connection portion facing away from the second adhesive surface). A second bonding member (second adhesive member) comprises a third part (second portion) and a fourth part (first portion) connected to each other, wherein the third part is bonded to a surface of the first part facing the second part and the fourth part is bonded to the second bonding surface (first portion is adhered to the second surface and the second portion is adhered to a surface of the first combination portion facing away from the first adhesive member).
Regarding claim 20, claim 16 of copending Application No. 18/894,099 recites an electronic device (electronic apparatus) comprising a battery including the limitations of claim 1, meeting the limitations of the battery of claim 20 as described above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pi, et al. (CN 206194899 U).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Pi teaches a polymer lithium battery pack that is tightly wrapped to resist external force of a whole machine (electronic apparatus) in order to improve performance of the battery (¶ [0029], Ln. 1-6). The lithium battery pack includes a battery having a front edge seal (¶ [0010], Ln. 2-3). Shown in Figure 1, the battery housing includes an accommodating cavity (shown at the bottom of the figure) and front edge seal (shown at the top of the figure and located outside of the accommodating cavity), wherein the front edge seal includes a first surface (15) and second surface shown at the left and right sides of the front edge seal, respectively. A head tape (1; first adhesive member) with double-sided adhesive (16) is bonded to the first surface of the front edge seal (15) such that the side bonded to the front edge seal is the first adhesive surface, wherein the remainder of the head tape is the second adhesive surface (¶ [0019], Ln. 4-5). A PCM protection plate (2; protective means) is fixed to the edge of the battery by the double-sided adhesive tape (second adhesive surface disposed opposite the first adhesive surface) (¶ [0024], Ln. 4-7). The PCM is shown in Figure 1 as having two layers, the layer on the left being the body portion and the layer on the right being the first connection portion, electrically connected to the body portion. The battery pack includes a battery tab (14; first tab), shown in Figure 1 as having a portion located outside the accommodating cavity (second connection portion), which is electrically connected to the first connection portion of the PCM, forming a first combination portion. The first combination portion is adhered to the second adhesive surface. Pi teaches a head wrapping tape (3; second adhesive member) attached to the outer surface of the head of the battery (¶ [0019], Ln. 10-12). The head wrapping tape includes a first portion adhered to the second surface of the front edge seal and wraps around the head of the battery, such that a second portion of the head wrapping tape is adhered to a surface of the combination of the battery tab and PCM.
Regarding claim 2, Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the first and second surface are located on the front edge seal (side edge portion) of the battery, with the first and second surface being disposed opposite each other (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above and further teaches that the front edge seal includes an end edge, shown at the top of the front edge seal in Figure 1, wherein the battery tab extends from the end edge. Thus, the portion extending out of the end edge is the extension portion of the battery tab, which includes the second connection portion, electrically connected to the PCM. Also shown in Figure 1, the extension portion is bent so that the portion of the tab connected to the PCM (second connection portion) is adhered to the second adhesive surface of the head tape. Thus, the surface of the portion of the tab connected to the PCM (second connection portion) facing away from the second adhesive surface is connected to a surface of the first connection portion.
Regarding claim 4, Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above, and further teaches that the head wrapping tape (3; second adhesive member) includes a third portion, located at the top of Figure 1, connecting the first and second portions and spaced apart from the end edge of the front edge seal.
Regarding claim 5, Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 above, and further teaches that the third portion and the second portion of the head wrapping tape (3; second adhesive member) jointly cover the extension portion of the battery tab (14), as shown in Figure 1.
Regarding claim 6, Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 above, and further teaches that the second portion of the head wrapping tape (3; second adhesive member) covers the portion of the battery tab (14) electrically connected to the first connection portion of the PCM (first combination portion), as shown in Figure 1.
Regarding claim 7, Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 above, and further teaches that the head wrapping tape (3; second adhesive member) is attached to the outer surface of the head of the battery, such that the exposed part of the head tape (1; first adhesive member) is fully covered (¶ [0019], Ln. 10-12). Thus, at least a portion of the second portion of the head wrapping tape is adhered to the second adhesive surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, et al. (US 2019/0372085 A1) in view of Pi, et al. (CN 206194899 U).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a battery pack including a protection element assembly (¶ [0037], Ln. 1-2). Shown in Figure 2, the battery pack includes a battery cell case (110) having an accommodating cavity for an electrode assembly and an accommodation part (112) for the coupling with a protection element assembly, wherein the accommodation part (112) is located outside the accommodating cavity and includes a first surface separated from a second surface (¶ [0045], Ln. 1-5). Yang teaches that the protection element assembly (120; protective means) may be coupled to the first surface of the accommodation part using double-sided tape (first adhesive member) (¶ [0046], Ln. 1-6). Thus, the first adhesive surface of the double-sided tape is adhered to the first surface of the accommodation part and the second adhesive surface of the double-sided tape is adhered to the protection element assembly. The protection element assembly includes a second bonding part (122_2; body portion) electrically connected to a first bonding part (122_1; first connection portion) which is bonded to the positive electrode or negative electrode lead part (113) (¶ [0056], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 3). The lead part (113; first tab) extending outside the accommodating cavity is the second connection portion. The portion where the second connection portion is bonded to the first bonding part (122_1; first connection portion) is the first combination portion. Yang teaches that the protection element assembly coupled to the lead part, referred to above as the first combination portion, is bent to be mounted in the accommodation part (112) (adhered to the second adhesive surface) (¶ [0068], Ln. 1-3). Yang further teaches a heat dissipation member (123; second adhesive member), which may be formed as a graphite sheet or tape, is attached to the portion at which the lead part and protection element assembly are bonded to each other (¶ [0061], Ln. 1-6, ¶ [0065], Ln. 1-4; Fig. 4) (adhered to the first surface of the combination portion facing away from the first adhesive member). The heat dissipation member performs a heat dissipation as well as an insulation function (¶ [0067], Ln. 1-5). Yang does not expressly teach that the heat dissipation member includes a portion which is adhered to the second surface of the accommodation part.
Pi teaches a polymer lithium battery pack that is tightly wrapped to resist external force of a whole machine (electronic apparatus) in order to improve performance of the battery (¶ [0029], Ln. 1-6). Shown in Figure 1, the battery pack includes a tab (14) bent over a front edge seal of the battery and covered with a PCM protection plate (2). A head wrapping tape (3) is attached to the outer surface of the head of the battery, fully covering the portion where the PCM protection plate is bonded to the tab (¶ [0019], Ln. 1-12; Fig. 1). Also shown in Figure 1, the head wrapping tape (3) starts at the back of the battery and wraps around the battery body to wrap around the head of the battery (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-2). Pi teaches that the head wrapping tape is used to wrap the protective plate to make it insulated (¶ [0004], Ln. 3-4). Pi further teaches that the placement of the head wrapping tape protects the battery tab from breaking (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat dissipation member of Yang to wrap around the edge of the battery, such that it adheres to both the first and second surface of the accommodation part, based on the teachings of Pi. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that, as Yang teaches the heat dissipation member may be an insulating graphite tape, the tape can be wrapped around the edge of the accommodation part. Further, as Pi also teaches an insulating tape wrapped around a protective member at the edge of a battery, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to apply the teachings of Pi to the battery of Yang. One would be motivated to extend the heat dissipation tape around both the first and second surfaces of the accommodation part to better protect the lead part from breaking and better secure the protection element assembly to the lead part and accommodation part.
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and Yang further teaches that the accommodation part (112) located outside the accommodating cavity is a side edge portion, wherein the first and second surface are disposed opposite each other in a thickness direction, as shown in Figure 2.
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above and Yang further teaches that the accommodation part includes an end edge, shown in Figure 2 as the edge where the lead parts (13) extend from. Thus, the portion of the lead part labelled in Figure 2 is the extension portion. Figure 6 shows the method of manufacturing the battery pack. Yang teaches that the protection element assembly coupled to the lead part is bent to be mounted in the accommodation part (112) (adhered to the second adhesive surface) (¶ [0068], Ln. 1-3). This is shown in Figure 6, as S710 includes both lead parts extending from the end edge and S720 shows the connection portion of the lead part bonded to the first bonding part and bent, such that the lead part no longer extends outward. As S720 shows the first bonding part (122_1) on the outside, the first bonding part is connected to the surface of the lead part facing away from the second adhesive surface of the double-sided tape.
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above, including a heat dissipation member wrapped around the edge of the accommodation part (112), such that it connects to both the first and second surfaces. Therefore, the portion of the heat dissipation member at the end edge of the accommodation part is a third portion, connecting the portion on the first surface and the portion on the second surface.
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 above, including a heat dissipation member with a second and third portion wherein the second portion is attached to the portion at which the lead part and protection element assembly are bonded to each other and the third portion covers the end edge of the accommodation part. Therefore, the second and third portion jointly cover the portion of the lead part (13) extending from the end edge.
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 above, including a heat dissipation member with a second and third portion wherein the second portion is attached to the portion at which the lead part and protection element assembly are bonded to each other (first combination portion).
Regarding claim 7, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 above, and Yang further teaches that the heat dissipation member (123) extends beyond the edges of the protection element assembly (120), as shown by the dashed lines in Figure 3. Therefore, at least a portion of the heat dissipation member on the first surface of the accommodation part, reading on the claimed second portion, is adhered to the second adhesive surface.
Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 above, and Yang further teaches examples demonstrating the performance of the heat dissipation member. Yang teaches the use of tape having lengths of 6-15 mm for the heat dissipation member (Fig. 4). Yang further teaches that when the longer tape is used, heat generation is reduced (¶ [0074], Ln. 1-5). When referring to a first side edge as the edge of the heat dissipation member on the first surface of the accommodation part (second portion) facing away from the second bonding part (122_2; body portion) of the protection element assembly, and referring to a third side edge as the edge of the portion where the lead part (113; first tab) is bonded to the first bonding part (122_1; first connection portion) (first combination portion) away from the second bonding part, the distance between the first side edge and the third side edge (H1) includes the length of the heat dissipation member from the far edge to a point where the tab starts (when looking at Figure 3 from right to left). Similarly, when referring to a second side edge as the edge of the heat dissipation member on the first surface of the accommodation part (second portion) facing toward the second bonding part (122_2; body portion) of the protection element assembly, and referring to a fourth side edge as the edge of the portion where the lead part (113; first tab) is bonded to the first bonding part (122_1; first connection portion) (first combination portion) toward the second bonding part, the distance between the second side edge and the fourth side edge (H2) includes the length of the heat dissipation member from where the tab ends to where the heat dissipation member ends (when looking at Figure 3 from right to left). Yang does not expressly teach that H1 and/or H2 are within 7-12 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the lengths of H1 and/or H2 to be within 7-12 mm, based on the teachings in the reference. Although Yang does not expressly teach the length from the edge of the heat dissipation member to the tab, Yang teaches overall heat dissipation member lengths of 6-15 mm, overlapping the claimed range of 7-12 mm. As Yang teaches that longer tapes result in a higher reduction of heat generation, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivation to include a heat dissipation member with a longer length. Therefore, one would find it obvious to include a length of tape extending beyond the edge of the lead part, either toward the second bonding part (122_2) or away from the second bonding part (122_2) having a length of at least 7 mm. One would be motivated to include the extra tape on either side of the lead part in order to better reduce heat generation.
Regarding claim 9, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 8 above and Yang further teaches that the battery cell case has a third surface, shown in Figure 2 as the surface connected to a side edge of the first surface of the accommodation part (12) away from the end edge of the accommodation part (12) and intersecting the first surface at an angle. Yang does not expressly teach that the heat dissipation member is bent to be adhered to the third surface.
Pi teaches that the head wrapping tape starts on the side of the battery that protrudes outward and wraps all the way around the head of the battery (¶ [0022], Ln. 1-4; Fig. 1). As noted above, Pi teaches that the placement of the head wrapping tape protects the battery tab from breaking (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat dissipation member of Yang to wrap up the edge of the third surface of the battery cell case based on the teachings of Pi. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the heat dissipation member tape of Yang could wrap around the second surface of the accommodation part (12) and up the third surface of the battery cell case. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to wrap the heat dissipation member around the entirety of the edge of the battery cell case in order to better secure the battery cell tab and prevent it from breaking.
Regarding claim 10, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 8 above. As Yang teaches that the protection element assembly (120; protective means) may be coupled to the first surface of the accommodation part using double-sided tape (first adhesive member) (¶ [0046], Ln. 1-6), the double-sided tape (first adhesive member) includes a side edge facing away from the second bonding part (122_2; body portion) of the protection element assembly and located on a side of the heat dissipation member away from the second bonding part (first side edge).
Regarding claim 11, Yang in view of Pi teach all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Yang further teaches that the protection element assembly (120; protective means) further includes a third bonding part (122_3; third connection portion) on the opposite side of the protection element assembly from the first bonding part (122_1) (¶ [0056], Ln. 1-8). The first bonding part (122_1) is bonded to the lead part, the second bonding part (122_2; body portion) is bonded to a high temperature cut-off element, and the third bonding part (122_3) is bonded to the other side of the high temperature cut-off element (¶ [0051], Ln. 1-11), such that the third bonding part has a different polarity than the first bonding part. Yang further teaches a stepped part (124; electrical connection portion) which is electrically connected to the third bonding part at a third connection portion, shown in Figure 3, forming a second combination portion. As this second combination portion is included on the accommodation part (112), the second combination portion is adhered to the second adhesive surface. Yang teaches a heat dissipation member (123) provided over the bond of the third bonding part (122_3) and the stepped part (124), shown in Figure 3. In this case, the second heat dissipation member is the claimed third adhesive member, and the portion covering the bond of the third bonding part and the stepped part is the claimed fifth portion of the third adhesive member. Yang does not expressly teach that the second heat dissipation member includes a portion adhered to the second surface of the accommodation part (112).
Pi teaches that the head wrapping tape starts on the side of the battery that protrudes outward and wraps all the way around the head of the battery (¶ [0022], Ln. 1-4; Fig. 1). As noted above, Pi teaches that the placement of the head wrapping tape protects the battery tab from breaking (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second heat dissipation member of Yang to wrap around the edge of the battery, such that it adheres to both the first and second surface of the accommodation part, based on the teachings of Pi. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that, as Yang teaches the heat dissipation member may be a graphite tape, that the tape can be wrapped around the edge of the accommodation part. Further, as Pi also teaches an insulating tape wrapped around a protective member at the edge of a battery, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to apply the teachings of Pi to the battery of Yang. Similarly to the first heat dissipation member described above, one would be motivated to extend the second heat dissipation tape around both the first and second surfaces of the accommodation part to better protect the stepped part from breaking and better secure the protection element assembly to the accommodation part.
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 above, and as Yang teaches that the second heat dissipation tape covers the bond of the third bonding part and the stepped part, Yang teaches that the fifth portion of the second heat dissipation tape covers the second combination portion.
Regarding claim 13, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 12 above, and Yang further teaches examples demonstrating the performance of the heat dissipation member. Yang teaches the use of tape having lengths of 6-15 mm for the heat dissipation member (Fig. 4). Yang further teaches that when the longer tape is used, heat generation is reduced (¶ [0074], Ln. 1-5). When referring to a sixth side edge as the edge of the second heat dissipation member on the first surface of the accommodation part (second portion) facing away from the second bonding part (122_2; body portion) of the protection element assembly, and referring to an eighth side edge as the edge of the portion where the stepped part (124) is bonded to the third connection portion (second combination portion) away from the second bonding part, the distance between the sixth side edge and the eighth side edge (H3) includes the length of the second heat dissipation member from the far edge to a point where the stepped part and third bonding part are connected (when looking at Figure 3 from left to right). Similarly, when referring to a seventh side edge as the edge of the second heat dissipation member on the first surface of the accommodation part (second portion) facing toward the second bonding part (122_2; body portion) of the protection element assembly, and referring to a ninth side edge as the edge of the portion where the stepped part (124) is bonded to the third connection portion (second combination portion) toward the second bonding part, the distance between the seventh side edge and the ninth side edge (H4) includes the length of the second heat dissipation member from where the connection of the stepped part and third bonding part ends to where the second heat dissipation member ends (when looking at Figure 3 from left to right). Yang does not expressly teach that H3 and/or H4 are within 7-12 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the lengths of H3 and/or H4 to be within 7-12 mm, based on the teachings in the reference. Although Yang does not expressly teach the length from the edge of the heat dissipation member to the connection of the stepped part and third bonding part, Yang teaches overall heat dissipation member lengths of 6-15 mm, overlapping the claimed range of 7-12 mm. As Yang teaches that longer tapes result in a higher reduction of heat generation, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivation to include a heat dissipation member with a longer length. Therefore, one would find it obvious to include a length of tape extending beyond the edge of the stepped part, either toward the second bonding part (122_2) or away from the second bonding part (122_2) having a length of at least 7 mm. One would be motivated to include the extra tape on either side of the stepped part in order to better reduce heat generation.
Regarding claim 14, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above and Yang further teaches that the battery cell case has a third surface, shown in Figure 2 as the surface connected to a side edge of the first surface of the accommodation part (12) away from the end edge of the accommodation part (12) and intersecting the first surface at an angle. Yang does not expressly teach that the second heat dissipation member is bent to be adhered to the third surface.
Pi teaches that the head wrapping tape starts on the side of the battery that protrudes outward and wraps all the way around the head of the battery (¶ [0022], Ln. 1-4; Fig. 1). As noted above, Pi teaches that the placement of the head wrapping tape protects the battery tab from breaking (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second heat dissipation member of Yang to wrap up the edge of the third surface of the battery cell case based on the teachings of Pi. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the heat dissipation member tape of Yang could wrap around the second surface of the accommodation part (12) and up the third surface of the battery cell case. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to wrap the heat dissipation member around the entirety of the edge of the battery cell case in order to better protect the stepped part from breaking and better secure the protection element assembly to the accommodation part.
Regarding claim 15, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above. As Yang teaches that the protection element assembly (120; protective means) may be coupled to the first surface of the accommodation part using double-sided tape (first adhesive member) (¶ [0046], Ln. 1-6), the double-sided tape (first adhesive member) includes a side edge facing away from the second bonding part (122_2; body portion) of the protection element assembly and located on a side of the second heat dissipation member away from the second bonding part (tenth side edge).
Regarding claims 16-18, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 above. Yang does not expressly teach that the two heat dissipation members are integrally disposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second heat dissipation members to be integrally disposed. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that as the first and second heat dissipation members are made of the same material, may be graphite tape, and are disposed on the top of the protection element assembly as shown in Figure 3, they could easily be made integral. One of ordinary skill in the would be motivated to make the components integral in order to simplify the manufacturing process. The use of one heat dissipation member instead of the two shown in Figure 3 would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)). In combining the first and second heat dissipation members, the first portion would be connected to the fourth portion, the second portion would be connected to the fifth portion, and the second portion and the fifth portion would jointly cover the second adhesive surface of the double-sided tape.
Regarding claim 19, Yang in view of Pi teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 above. Yang further teaches that when the longer tape is used, heat generation is reduced (¶ [0074], Ln. 1-5). Yang does not expressly teach that the heat dissipating members extend beyond the edges of the double-sided tape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat dissipation member to extend beyond the edges of the double-sided tape based on the teachings of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the length of the heat dissipation can be extended easily, as a graphite tape is used in the reference. Further, one would find it obvious to adjust the length based on the teaching of Yang that that longer tapes result in better reduction of heat generation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to extend the heat dissipation member beyond the edges of the double-sided tape in order to better reduce heat generation.
Regarding claim 20, Yang teaches a battery pack including a protection element assembly (¶ [0037], Ln. 1-2). Shown in Figure 2, the battery pack includes a battery cell case (110) having an accommodating cavity for an electrode assembly and an accommodation part (112) for the coupling with a protection element assembly, wherein the accommodation part (112) is located outside the accommodating cavity and includes a first surface separated from a second surface (¶ [0045], Ln. 1-5). Yang teaches that the protection element assembly (120; protective means) may be coupled to the first surface of the accommodation part using double-sided tape (first adhesive member) (¶ [0046], Ln. 1-6). Thus, the first adhesive surface of the double-sided tape is adhered to the first surface of the accommodation part and the second adhesive surface of the double-sided tape is adhered to the protection element assembly. The protection element assembly includes a second bonding part (122_2; body portion) electrically connected to a first bonding part (122_1; first connection portion) which is bonded to the positive electrode or negative electrode lead part (113) (¶ [0056], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 3). The lead part (113; first tab) extending outside the accommodating cavity is the second connection portion. The portion where the second connection portion is bonded to the first bonding part (122_1; first connection portion) is the first combination portion. Yang teaches that the protection element assembly coupled to the lead part, referred to above as the first combination portion, is bent to be mounted in the accommodation part (112) (adhered to the second adhesive surface) (¶ [0068], Ln. 1-3). Yang further teaches a heat dissipation member (123; second adhesive member) which may be formed as a graphite sheet or tape and attached to the portion at which the lead part and protection element assembly are bonded to each other (¶ [0061], Ln. 1-6, ¶ [0065], Ln. 1-4) (adhered to the first surface of the combination portion facing away from the first adhesive member). The heat dissipation member performs a heat dissipation as well as insulation function (¶ [0067], Ln. 1-5). Yang does not expressly teach that the heat dissipation member includes a portion which is adhered to the second surface of the accommodation part.
Pi teaches a polymer lithium battery pack that is tightly wrapped to resist external force of a whole machine (electronic apparatus) in order to improve performance of the battery (¶ [0029], Ln. 1-6). Shown in Figure 1, the battery pack includes a tab (14) bent over a front edge seal of the battery and covered with a PCM protection plate (2). A head wrapping tape (3) is attached to the outer surface of the head of the battery, fully covering the portion where the PCM protection plate is bonded to the tab (¶ [0019], Ln. 1-12; Fig. 1). Also shown in Figure 1, the head wrapping tape (3) starts at the back of the battery and wraps around the battery body to wrap around the head of the battery (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-2). Pi teaches that the head wrapping tape is used to wrap the protective plate to make is insulated (¶ [0004], Ln. 3-4). Pi further teaches that the placement of the head wrapping tape protects the battery tab from breaking (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat dissipation member of Yang to wrap around the edge of the battery, such that it adheres to both the first and second surface of the accommodation part, based on the teachings of Pi. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that, as Yang teaches the heat dissipation member may be an insulating graphite tape, that the tape can be wrapped around the edge of the accommodation part. Further, as Pi also teaches an insulating tape wrapped around a protective member at the edge of a battery, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to apply the teachings of Pi to the battery of Yang. One would be motivated to extend the heat dissipation tape around both the first and second surfaces of the accommodation part to better protect the lead part from breaking and better secure the protection element assembly to the lead part and accommodation part. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the battery in an electronic apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the purpose of a battery pack is to power an electronic device and would find it obvious that the battery pack of Yang in view of Pi would be intended to be used in an electronic device. One would be motivated to use the battery pack in an electronic apparatus in order to provide power to the electronic apparatus.
Conclusion
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785