Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a calculator” in claim 2, line 2 and claim 3, line 6;
“a determiner” in claim 2, line 5
“a delete” in claim 2, line 7;
“a trainer” in claim 4, line 5; and
“an extractor” in claim 5, line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites a computer program as a product without any structural recitations and thus is directed to software per se.
The claim recites a generator configured to generate data by trained generative artificial intelligence. Since generative AI is software, the generator configured to use generative AI is also software without any structural recitations. Specification paragraph [0009] disclose a generation device which includes a CPU, paragraph [0010] discloses the generation device includes generative AI, and the final sentence in paragraph [0034] discloses the generation device is merely one example of a generator. The generator may have other embodiments that lack structural features.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 2-5 recite a system which falls under one of the four statutory categories of patent eligible subject matter. Claim 2 incorporates the features of claim 1.
Claim 2
Step 2A Prong 1: Calculate a similarity degree indicating a degree of similarity between one piece of artificial data out of the plurality of pieces of artificial data and the user data is a mathematical calculation. In the specification, paragraph [0017] discloses calculating a cosine similarity to determine similarity.
Determine whether the similarity degree is equal to or higher than a predetermined value is a judgement mental process which can reasonably be performed in the human mind with the aid of pencil and paper.
Delete the one piece of artificial data when determination is made that the similarity degree is equal to or higher than the predetermined value is a judgement mental process which can reasonably be performed in the human mind with the aid of pencil and paper. The claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: A generator configured to generate, by generative artificial intelligence trained using user data including information with which an individual is identifiable, a plurality of pieces of artificial data that is used to train a computational model different from the generative artificial intelligence and does not include information with which an individual is identifiable amount to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). Applying generative AI to generate artificial training data, and then training a different computational model based on the artificial training data amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
A calculator, a determiner, and a deleter amount to generic computer components for applying the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements as disclosed above, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application as they are generic computer functions as disclosed that are implemented to perform the abstract ideas disclosed above. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The additional elements as disclosed above, in combination with the abstract ideas, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas as they are generic computer functions as disclosed that are implemented to perform the abstract ideas disclosed above. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 3 incorporates the rejection of claim 2.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 2 are incorporated. Calculate the similarity degree based on the coordinate information included in the user data and the coordinate information included in the one piece of artificial data is a mathematical calculation.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: Each of the user data and the plurality of pieces of artificial data is image data including a face amounts to a mere field of use and technological environment under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Each of the user data and the plurality of pieces of artificial data includes coordinate information indicating coordinates of one or more feature points related to the face amounts to a mere field of use and technological environment under MPEP 2106.05(h).
The calculator amounts to a generic computer component for applying the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 4 incorporates the rejection of claim 2.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 2 are incorporated.
Step 2A Prong 2: A database including artificial data in which the similarity degree indicating the degree of similarity to the user data is lower than the predetermined value out of the plurality of pieces of artificial data amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g).
A trainer configured to train the computational model using the artificial data included in the database amount to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B: A database including artificial data in which the similarity degree indicating the degree of similarity to the user data is lower than the predetermined value out of the plurality of pieces of artificial data is analogous to storing and retrieving information in memory, which the courts have recognized is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity under MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
A trainer configured to train the computational model using the artificial data included in the database amount to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 5 incorporates the rejection of claim 2.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 2 are incorporated. Extract a feature amount of the user data from the user data is a judgement mental process which can reasonably be performed in the human mind with the aid of pencil and paper.
Calculate the similarity degree using the feature amount and the one piece of artificial data is a mathematical calculation. In the specification, paragraph [0017] discloses calculating a cosine similarity to determine similarity.
Step 2A Prong 2: An extractor and a calculator amount to generic computer components to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). A storage configured to store the feature amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: An extractor and a calculator amount to generic computer components to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). A storage configured to store the feature is analogous to storing and retrieving information in memory, which the courts have recognized is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity under MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fridental et al. (US 20190325318 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fridental teaches: An information processing system comprising a generator configured to generate, by generative artificial intelligence trained using user data including information with which an individual is identifiable, a plurality of pieces of artificial data that is used to train a computational model different from the generative artificial intelligence and does not include information with which an individual is identifiable. ([0042]-[0043], [0048], lines 1-6, [0049]-[0050], [0056]-[0057]. The limitation of training generative artificial intelligence is taught by data learning 112 which trains a generative adversarial network (GAN) according to [0049]. A “plurality of pieces of artificial data” is synthesized data 161 including a plurality of synthesized images, and a “computational model” is task learner engine 110.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fridental et al. (US 20190325318 A1) in view of Khirman et al. (US 11631208 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Fridental teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1, further comprising:
Fridental teaches the plurality of pieces of artificial data at [0050], lines 8-12. However, Fridental does not explicitly teach: a calculator configured to calculate a similarity degree indicating a degree of similarity between one piece of artificial data out of the plurality of pieces of artificial data and the user data; a determiner configured to determine whether the similarity degree is equal to or higher than a predetermined value; and a deleter configured to delete the one piece of artificial data when determination is made that the similarity degree is equal to or higher than the predetermined value.
But Khirman teaches: a calculator configured to calculate a similarity degree indicating a degree of similarity between one piece of artificial data
a determiner configured to determine whether the similarity degree is equal to or higher than a predetermined value; and (C. 18, L. 14-19)
a deleter configured to delete the one piece of artificial data when determination is made that the similarity degree is equal to or higher than the predetermined value. (C. 18, L. 14-19 implies deleting the anonymous image when the similarity value is above the threshold.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have compared Fridental’s private data and synthesized data using Khirman’s machine learning model that outputs a similarity value. A motivation for the combination is that an objective measure helps ensure that a human observer does not recognize the identity of the anonymous as that of the real person depicted in the real image. (Khirman, C. 5, L. 61 to C. 6, L. 3)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fridental and Khirman teaches: The information processing system according to claim 2, further comprising:
Fridental teaches: a database including artificial data, and the plurality of pieces of artificial data ([0043], [0049] where the stored synthesized data 161 amounts to a database.)
a trainer configured to train the computational model using the artificial data included in the database. ([0050], [0056]-[0057])
However, Fridental does not explicitly teach: a database including artificial data in which the similarity degree indicating the degree of similarity to the user data is lower than the predetermined value out of the plurality of pieces of artificial data; and
But Khirman teaches: the similarity degree indicating the degree of similarity to the user data is lower than the predetermined value out of the (C. 18, L. 3-19, where one piece of artificial data is an anonymous image, and user data is a real image.)
A motivation for the combination is the same as the motivation given for claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fridental and Khirman teaches: The information processing system according to claim 2, further comprising:
However, Fridental does not explicitly teach: an extractor configured to extract a feature amount of the user data from the user data; and a storage configured to store the feature amount, wherein the calculator is configured to calculate the similarity degree using the feature amount and the one piece of artificial data.
But Khirman teaches: an extractor configured to extract a feature amount of the user data from the user data; and (C. 13, L. 39-57 and C. 14, L. 21-35 discloses extracting a real facial region (“a feature amount”) from a real image.)
a storage configured to store the feature amount, wherein the calculator is configured to calculate the similarity degree using the feature amount and the one piece of artificial data. (C. 11, L. 63 to “data” in 64 discloses a data storage device. C. 17, L. 20-28 and C. 18, L. 3-19 disclose that the real facial region is incorporated into both the real image and synthetic image, and calculating a similarity value between the real image and synthetic image. Thus the calculation uses the real facial region and the synthetic image. The real facial region would be stored in the data storage device.)
A motivation for the combination is the same as the motivation given for claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fridental et al. (US 20190325318 A1) in view of Khirman et al. (US 11631208 B1) and Uhr et al. (US 20220029825 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fridental and Khirman teaches: The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein:
Fridental teaches: each of the user data and the plurality of pieces of artificial data is image data including a face; ([0050], line 1 to col. 2, line 2)
However, Fridental does not explicitly teach: each of the user data and the plurality of pieces of artificial data includes coordinate information indicating coordinates of one or more feature points related to the face; and the calculator is configured to calculate the similarity degree based on the coordinate information included in the user data and the coordinate information included in the one piece of artificial data.
But Khirman teaches: each of the user data
the calculator is configured to calculate the similarity degree based on
A motivation for the combination is the same as the motivation given for claim 2.
Although Khirman teaches applying landmark detection to a real image, and separately teaches evaluating similarity between a real image and synthetic images, Fridental and Khirman do not explicitly teach: calculate the similarity degree based on the coordinate information included in the user data and the coordinate information included in the one piece of artificial data.
But Uhr teaches: calculate the similarity degree based on the coordinate information included in the user data and the coordinate information included in the one piece of artificial data. ([0081]-[0082] and Figs. 4-5 disclose comparing facial feature points extracted from a captured facial image to facial feature points extracted from a registered facial image. Regarding “artificial data,” [0083]-[0085] and [0087]-[0089] discloses that the captured face might be artificial.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Uhr’s face comparison technique to Fridental and Khirman. A motivation for the combination is that facial feature points comprise less data than sensor data.
Conclusion
/A.H.J./Examiner, Art Unit 2127
/ABDULLAH AL KAWSAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2127