CTNF 18/758,588 CTNF 84557 DETAILED ACTION Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 2. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 3. Claim s 1, 2, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US Pub: 20080100860) and in further view of Atwood et al (US Pub: 20230267183) and Skeete et al (WO Pub: 2020109980) . Regarding claim 1 , Yamada teaches: A printing apparatus comprising: one or more memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more processors that execute the set of instructions [p0055, p0056] to: obtain, a right to print a predetermined number of sheets in the printing apparatus [p0030-p0035]; enable a print function of the printing apparatus [p0002]; determine whether the number of sheets to be printed obtained from a print setting of an accepted print job is within a range of the number of printable sheets (based on the obtained NFT), and in a case where the number of sheets to be printed is within the range of the number of printable sheets, execute printing in the printing apparatus (using the obtained NFT) [p0039, p0040, p0044, fig 3: S3, S5]. Yamada does not apply NFT for controlling number of sheets. In the same field of endeavor, Atwood et al teaches NFT based authorization of printing: A printing apparatus managed on a blockchain network [abstract], the printing apparatus comprising: one or more memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more processors that execute the set of instructions [p0005] to: obtain, a non-fungible token (NFT) that includes a right to print a predetermined number of sheets in the printing apparatus [claim 1, p0019, p0034]. And Skeete et al tracks usage of consumable using token/blockchain network [p0070]. Therefore, given Yamada’s setting, monitoring, and controlling of number of printable sheet, Atwood’s disclosure on print job generation based on NFT ownership and verification; and Skeete et al’s consumable usage tracking by token through blockchain network, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to monitor number of printable sheets and execute printing accordingly based on NFT for improving security and efficiency. Regarding claim 2 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Yamada further teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions further configures the one or more processors to: in a case where the number of sheets to be printed is not within the range of the number of printable sheets, disable the print function [p0057]. Claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1. Claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in further view of Atwood et al’s further teaching on: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to execute each step of a method of controlling a printing apparatus managed on a blockchain network [p0005]. Claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 . 07-21-aia AIA 4. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US Pub: 20080100860), Atwood et al (US Pub: 20230267183) and Skeete et al (WO Pub: 2020109980); and in further view of Tamura (US Pub: 2022/0269450) . Regarding claim 3 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Yamada further teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions further configures the one or more processors to: in a case where the number of sheets to be printed is not within the range of the number of printable sheets, display, on a display, a screen that includes a message indicating that printing cannot be executed (and an object for instructing an additional purchase of an NFT) [p0057]. Atwood et al further teach purchase of an NFT [p0028]. Yamada in view of Atwood does not specify an object for additional purchase. In the same field of endeavor, Tamura teaches on a display, a screen that includes a message indicating that printing cannot be executed and an object for instructing an additional purchase [figs. 8-10]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to display additional purchase instruction such as for purchasing NFT for additional printing sheets . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim s 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US Pub: 20080100860), Atwood et al (US Pub: 20230267183), Skeete et al (WO Pub: 2020109980), and Tamura (US Pub: 2022/0269450); and in further view of Jethmalani et al (US Pub: 2023/0298001) . Regarding claim 4 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 3 has been incorporated herein. Yamada in view of Atwood et al, Skeete et al, and Tamura does not specify a UI for owner change. In the same field of endeavor, Jethmalani et al teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein execution of the instructions further configures the one or more processors to: display, as the object for instructing the additional purchase of the NFT, at least one of an object for making a new purchase and an object for changing an owner of an already purchased NFT [claims 11, 17, p0105, p0106]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to implement UI for NFT purchase as well as owner change request per design choice. Regarding claim 8 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Atwood et al teaches NFT ownership transfer in [p0029]. In the same field of endeavor, Jethmalani et al teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions further configures the one or more processors to: change an owner of the NFT, which has been purchased in an external apparatus, to the printing apparatus and obtain the NFT [claims 11, 17, p0105, p0106]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to implement NFT purchase as well as owner change request per design choice. Regarding claim 9 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Jethmalani et al further teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the NFT is purchased using a wallet address of the printing apparatus [p0033] . 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim s 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US Pub: 20080100860), Atwood et al (US Pub: 20230267183), and Skeete et al (WO Pub: 2020109980); and in further view of Oh (WO Pub: 2020096642) . Regarding claim 5 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Yamada in view of Atwood et al and Skeete et al does not transmit number of printed sheets to blockchain. In the same field of endeavor, Oh teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions further configures the one or more processors to: transmit, to the blockchain network, a transaction block indicating a print result including the number of printed sheets for which printing has been executed [p0031, p0036]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to transmit printed sheets information to blockchain network for record keeping. Regarding claim 6 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 5 has been incorporated herein. Oh further teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein execution of the instructions further configures the one or more processors to: obtain, from a block of the blockchain network the number of printable sheets, which has been updated based on the print result, as a response for the print result [p0035, p0075, p0081]. Oh’s teaching on updated usage information of consumable in view of Yamada’s printable sheet residual limits would have made it obvious to apply Oh’s consumable blockchain update process to amount of printable sheets for record keeping purpose. Regarding claim 7 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 6 has been incorporated herein. Yamada further teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein execution of the instructions further configures the one or more processors to: in a case where the updated number of printable sheets obtained from the block of the blockchain network as the response for the print result is zero sheets, disable the print function [p0057]. Therefore, given Yamada’s teaching on stopping printing when outside sheet limit and Oh’s blockchain consumable usage update, the combined teaching would have made printing termination based on sheet count obvious . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim s 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US Pub: 20080100860), Atwood et al (US Pub: 20230267183) and Skeete et al (WO Pub: 2020109980); and in further view of Nishiwaki (JP Pub: 2002103753) . Regarding claim 10 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein. Yamada in view of Atwood et al and Skeete et al does not specify printable sheets for color or monochrome. In the same field of endeavor, Nishiwaki teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the number of printable sheets is set for color printing and monochrome printing, respectively [claim 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to set printable sheets for both color and monochrome for improved management. Regarding claim 11 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 10 has been incorporated herein. Nishiwaki further teaches: The printing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein execution of the instructions further configures the one or more processors to: as the print function, disable or enable color print and monochrome print functions, respectively [p0004, p0005]. Contact 8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FAN ZHANG whose telephone number is (571)270-3751. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benny Tieu can be reached on 571-272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Fan Zhang/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/758,588 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/758,588 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/758,588 Page 4 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/758,588 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/758,588 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/758,588 Page 7 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/758,588 Page 8 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/758,588 Page 9 Art Unit: 2682