DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 24, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-7, 21-25, 31, 36, 40-41, 43-47 and 49 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection, 112(b) and 112(d) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 24, 2026. More details below.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous claim objections and the objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation:
Examiner acknowledges claim interpretations submitted in arguments filed 07/24/2026.
35 USC § 112(b):
Claim 25 has been amended, therefore the previous 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Claim 36 has been amended, therefore the previous 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
35 USC § 112(d):
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to Claim 22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(d) rejection of 04/24/2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim 31 has been amended, therefore the previous 112(d) rejection is withdrawn.
35 USC § 102:
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10-12, filed July, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5, and 49 under 102(a)( have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Weng et al. (US 20150238101 A1).
35 USC § 103:
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 13-23, filed July 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4, 6, 31, 21-22, 24, 23, 25, 36, 40-41, and 43-47 under 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Weng et al. (US 20150238101 A1) and Lu et al. (US 20200178825 A1).
Specification
The use of the term Bluetooth, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
For the purpose of this examination in the current Office action, claims have been interpreted as follows:
In light of the specification, the data collection system under the broadest reasonable interpretations can be a software in conjunction with a processor per para. 0087 (data collection system comprises a field programmable gate arrays board… system includes or communicates with a processor).
In light of the specification, the data processing system under the broadest reasonable interpretations can be a software in conjunction with a processor per para. 0088 (data processing system processes data received from the data collection system into MCEA data).
In light of the specification, the display system under the broadest reasonable interpretations can be a computer per para. 0088 (display system generates and displays a 3D model of the MCEA data and may include a graphical user interface).
Claim Objections
Claims 36 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 36, line 7, reads "the data stream" should read "the first data stream".
Claim 45, line 2, reads "the processing system" should read "the data processing system".
Claim 49, line 3 reads “the location of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway” should read “a location of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-7, 21-25, 31, 36, 40-41, 43-47 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Independent claims 1 and 36 recite a system for mapping and a method. Thus, they are directed to statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claims 1 and 36 recite the following claim limitations:
collect sensor data from the plurality of sensors (claim 1)
calculate center of electrical activity (CEA) data from the sensor data (claim 1)
identify a waveform from the data stream via first resolution sampling (claim 36)
sample a segment of the identified waveform of the first data stream to a second resolution to generate a second data stream, the second resolution being higher than the first resolution (claim 36)
determine CEA data based on the second data stream (claim 36)
These limitations under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind. A human, provided sensor data, could gather data, identify a waveform, and calculate CEA data using mathematical operations. Thus, the claims recite limitations which fall within the ‘mental processes’ grouping and mathematical concepts of abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong 2:
Claims 1 and 36 recite the following additional elements:
a plurality of sensors (claim 1)
a data collection system (claim 1)
a data processing system (claim 1)
a display system, comprising a graphical user interface, configured to present a 3D model of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway based on the calculated CEA data (claim 1)
sensing, via sensors, signals indicative of cardiac electrical signals propagating through the cardiac conduction pathway (claim 36)
combining the signals from each sensor, via a data collection system, to generate a first data stream (claim 36)
sampling, via the data processing system, a segment of the identified waveform of the first data stream at a second resolution to generate a second data stream, the second resolution being higher than the first resolution (claim 36)
generating, via a display system, a 3D model of the CEA in real, wherein the 3D model is indicative of the cardiac conduction pathway
Claims 1 and 36 recitation of “sensors” amounts to nothing more than insignificant extra solution activity for data gathering.
The recitation of a “data collection system” and a “data processing system” fails to recite any additional element or combination of additional elements that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. As recited the data collection system and data processing system, which upon review of the applicant’s specification is an example of a software in conjunction with a processor (see para. 0087-0088) is a conventional component that does not impose any meaningful structural limitations on the system used to implement the judicial exception into a practical application because the claim merely uses the processor as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
The additional element of displaying a 3D model of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway on a display system, amounts to nothing more than functions performed by a generic computer. Merely displaying results on a display system does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Thus, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. The combination of these additional elements is no more than insignificant extra solution activity, and mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements of displaying a 3D model of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway on a display system in the claims, amount to no more than insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B and does not provide an inventive concept.
The recitation of sensors is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are recited at a high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional structure that distinguishes the elements from well-known, routine, and/or conventional elements. Recitation of sensors as a tool to perform the abstract idea does not add significantly more than what is well-known, routine, and/or conventional in view of Weng et al. (US 20150238101 A1), see para. 0061, (electrodes 602, attached to various locations on the body surface of the patient 604), and Carbonera et al. (US 20130138404 A1), see para. 0034 (sensors and/or electrodes mounted thereon, such as, for example, the sensors 32, associated conductors, and possibly additional electronics used for signal processing and conditioning).
The recitation of a processor is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are recited at a high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional structure that distinguishes the elements from well-known, routine, and/or conventional elements. Recitation of a processor as a tool to perform the abstract idea does not add significantly more than what is well-known, routine, and/or conventional in view of Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 223, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983 (2014).
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible. Even when viewed as whole, nothing in the claims add significantly more to the abstract idea.
Dependent claims
Claims 4 and 40 recite limitations that further define the type of data collected, such as PR segment.
Claims 5, 25, and 46-47 further define the display system. As mentioned above, the display system amounts to no more than insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Claims 6-7 add the additional element of “digital converter”. The recited limitation is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are recited at a high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional structure that distinguishes the elements from well-known, routine, and/or conventional elements. Recitation of a digital converter as a tool to perform the abstract idea does not add significantly more than what is well-known, routine, and/or conventional in view of Weng et al. (US 20150238101 A1), see para. 0076 (patient monitoring device can perform real time ECG signal pre-processing. Real time ECG signal pre-processing can include removing the DC component with a high-pass filter, amplifying the ECG signal, limiting the signal bandwidth with a low-pass filter and digitally sampling the ECG signal) and Noar (US 20050215917 A1), see para. 0022 (16 bit A/D converter 24 provides sufficient resolution to adequately process lower level signals, such as may be recorded from a person with substantial amount of fat tissue interposed between the electrodes on the skin surface).
Claims 21, 23, 41 and 43 further limit the abstract idea by introducing limitations which are indicative of mathematical concepts (combining data, best fit model, calculating CEA data)
Claims 22, 44-45, and 49 add the additional element of “emitting device”. The recited limitation is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are recited at a high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional structure that distinguishes the elements from well-known, routine, and/or conventional elements. Recitation of an emitting device as a tool to perform the abstract idea does not add significantly more than what is well-known, routine, and/or conventional in view of Carbonera et al. (US 20130138404 A1), see para. 0035 (sensors 32 mounted in or on the shaft 26 of the catheter 12… one or more of the sensors 32 are configured to be a positioning sensor(s) that provide information relating to the location (position and orientation) of the catheter 12… as the catheter 12 is moved along a surface) and Armoundas et al. (US 20130138404 A1), see abstract (location of the tip of the ablation catheter is similarly localized from signals acquired from the passive electrodes while electrical energy is delivered to the tip of the catheter)).
Claim 24 adds the additional element of “catheter”. The recited limitation is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are recited at a high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional structure that distinguishes the elements from well-known, routine, and/or conventional elements. Recitation of a catheter as a tool to perform the abstract idea does not add significantly more than what is well-known, routine, and/or conventional in view of Carbonera et al. (US 20130138404 A1), see para. 0035 (sensors 32 mounted in or on the shaft 26 of the catheter 12) and Armoundas et al. (US 20130138404 A1), see abstract (location of the tip of the ablation catheter is similarly localized from signals acquired from the passive electrodes while electrical energy is delivered to the tip of the catheter)).
Claim 31 further limits the abstract idea by introducing limitations which are indicative of concepts practically performable in the human mind (comparing data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weng et al. (US 20150238101 A1), hereinafter Weng.
Regarding claim 1, Weng teaches a system for mapping at least a portion of a cardiac conduction pathway in a patient (Fig. 6, element 600 – patient monitoring configuration, abstract (determine a loop trajectory of at least a portion of the ECG signal, identifying a trajectory bifurcation by comparing the loop trajectory to a control loop trajectory for a plurality of cardiac cycles, and determining an indicator of a cardiac event based on the trajectory bifurcation)), the system comprising:
a plurality of sensors (Fig. 6, element 602 – electrodes);
a data collection system, comprising one or more processors, configured to collect sensor data from the plurality of sensors (Fig. 6, element 606 – patient monitoring device, para. 0061 (device capable to record and process ECG signals));
a data processing system, comprising the one or more processors (Fig. 6, element 606 – patient monitoring device), configured to calculate a center of electrical activity (CEA) data from the sensor data (para. 0077 (a VCG signal is determined based on the received ECG signal… time-dependent heart vector that represents the size and orientation of the time-varying electrical dipole can be calculated by approximating the electrical activity of the heart), 0086 (a variation of the loop trajectory from the control loop trajectory that occurs for a portion of the ECG signal and exceeds the standard deviation of the control loop trajectory can be identified as a trajectory bifurcation)); and
a display system, comprising a graphical user interface (Fig. 6, element 610 – user interface), configured to present a three-dimensional (3D) model of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway based on the calculated CEA data (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Weng teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors detect a signal propagating through segments of the cardiac conduction pathway during a PR segment of a cardiac cycle (para. 0091 (an ECG signal can be received from any appropriate source of patient ECG data including two or more ECG leads), PR segment is part of the ECG signal).
Regarding claim 31, Weng teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the data processing system is configured to determine a location of the portion of the cardiac conduction pathway is before (para. 0062 (Graphical user interfaces 610 provide a medical professional with various representations of the VCG signal and other information that can aid in developing a treatment plan for the patient 604)) and after a therapy is applied to the patient (para. 0070 (Curve 820 provides a historical view of the calculated risk over a period of time. This enables a caregiver to view whether the patient's risk level is increasing or decreasing and modify treatment accordingly), 0013 (determining an indicator of a cardiac event based on the trajectory bifurcation), 0015 (defibrillator performs operations including delivering a treatment to the patient based on the indicator of a cardiac event)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng in view of Vranic (US 10716483 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Weng teaches the system of claim 1, and the display system displaying the portion of the cardiac conduction pathway (Fig. 6).
Weng does not teach displaying the portion of the cardiac conduction pathway located between an atrioventricular (AV) node and Purkinje fibers of a heart.
Vranic teaches plotting a three-dimensional vector loop on a heart model (Fig. 6).
Weng and Vranic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vector analysis of ECGs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng’s display system to incorporate the teachings of Vranic listed above and provide a display showing the portion of the cardiac conduction pathway located between an atrioventricular (AV) node and Purkinje fibers of a heart. Doing so allows the physician to visualize where the conduction pathway is located within the AV node and Purkinje fibers.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng in view of Noar (US 20050215917 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Weng teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the data collecting system comprises a digital converter for generating high resolution data from very low voltage signals sensed by the plurality of sensors (para. 0076 (patient monitoring device can perform real time ECG signal pre-processing. Real time ECG signal pre-processing can include removing the DC component with a high-pass filter, amplifying the ECG signal, limiting the signal bandwidth with a low-pass filter and digitally sampling the ECG signal)).
Weng does not explicitly disclose the converter generating high resolution data from very low voltage signals sensed by the plurality of sensors.
Noar teaches a digital converter (Fig. 1, element 24 – A/D converter) for generating high resolution data from very low voltage signals sensed by the plurality of sensors (para. 0022 (16 bit A/D converter 24 provides sufficient resolution to adequately process lower level signals, such as may be recorded from a person with substantial amount of fat tissue interposed between the electrodes on the skin surface)).
Weng and Noar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of analyzing ECGs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng’s digital converter to incorporate the teachings of Noar listed above to provide high resolution data. Doing so ensures that the ECG signals are processed with high quality, for the three dimensional display.
Regarding claim 7, Weng teaches the system of claim 6. Weng does not explicitly disclose wherein the voltage signals are below 0.1 mV. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to allow the signals to detect below the specified range to ensure that the weaker electrical signals are able to be detected.
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng and in view of Carbonera et al. (US 20130138404 A1), hereinafter Carbonera.
Regarding claim 21, Weng teaches the system of claim 1, wherein a location of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway is determined by combining the CEA data from multiple cardiac cycles (para. 0088 (step 1020 (measure bifurcation) is repeated at least three times to compare the trajectory bifurcation of at least three consecutive cardiac cycles of the plurality of cardiac cycles to determine a trend of the trajectory bifurcation and based on the trend, to define an episodic trajectory bifurcation)).
Weng does not teach combining the CEA data from multiple cardiac cycles into a best fit model.
Carbonera teaches combining data from multiple data points into a best fit model (para. 0052 (processing apparatus 16 is configured to perform post-processing operations on the surface model or alpha shell 50 to correct or repair defects in the acquired surface model… the adding of additional data points to the point cloud provides a greater density and distribution of data points to be used in the surface model generation/repair, which thereby results in an alpha shape/surface model with fewer defects)).
Weng and Carbonera are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of analyzing ECGs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng, to incorporate the teachings of Carbonera listed above and provide a best fit model based on the CEA data from multiple cardiac cycles. Doing so optimizes the system by increasing the likelihood of accurately mapping the portion of a cardiac conduction pathway.
Regarding claim 22, Weng teaches the system of claim 21. Weng does not teach wherein the system is further configured to determine a location of a septum of a patient's heart using data collected from an emitting device.
Carbonera teaches determining a location of a patient's heart using data collected from an emitting device (para. 0035 (sensors 32 mounted in or on the shaft 26 of the catheter 12… one or more of the sensors 32 are configured to be a positioning sensor(s) that provide information relating to the location (position and orientation) of the catheter 12… as the catheter 12 is moved along a surface of a desired structure of the heart 20, the sensor(s) 32 can be used to collect location data points that correspond to the surface of the desired structure)).
Although Carbonera does not explicitly disclose determine a location of a septum, Carbonera does teach an emitting device being used to locate a structure within the heart (para. 0035). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng’s system to incorporate the teachings of Carbonera listed above provide an emitting device to determine a location of a septum. Doing so allows Weng’s system to calculate a trajectory bifurcation within the heart, as well as providing anatomical features of the heart.
Regarding claim 23, Weng (in view of Carbonera) teaches the system of claim 22. Weng does not teach wherein the location of the septum constrains the best fit model of the cardiac conduction pathway.
Carbonera teaches determining a location of a patient's heart using data collected from an emitting device (para. 0035 (sensors 32 mounted in or on the shaft 26 of the catheter 12… one or more of the sensors 32 are configured to be a positioning sensor(s) that provide information relating to the location (position and orientation) of the catheter 12… as the catheter 12 is moved along a surface of a desired structure of the heart 20, the sensor(s) 32 can be used to collect location data points that correspond to the surface of the desired structure)).
Although Weng does not explicitly disclose that the location of the septum constrains the best fit model of the cardiac conduction pathway, Carbonera teaches determining the anatomical locations within a patient’s heart based on location data obtained from the sensors, as listed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng to incorporate the teachings of Carbonera listed above, to provide an anatomical constraint when determining the best fir model of the conduction pathway. Doing so would have improved the correspondence between the modeled conduction pathway and the anatomical feature, such as the septum.
Regarding claim 24, Weng (in view of Carbonera) teaches the system of claim 22. Weng does not teach wherein the system is used for navigating a catheter to a target on the septum.
Carbonera teaches a system used for navigating a catheter to a target on the heart (para. 0035 (sensors 32 mounted in or on the shaft 26 of the catheter 12… one or more of the sensors 32 are configured to be a positioning sensor(s) that provide information relating to the location (position and orientation) of the catheter 12… as the catheter 12 is moved along a surface of a desired structure of the heart 20, the sensor(s) 32 can be used to collect location data points that correspond to the surface of the desired structure)).
Although Carbonera does not explicitly disclose the catheter navigating to the septum, Carbonera does teach an emitting device collected data points within structure of the heart (para. 0035). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng’s system to incorporate the teachings of Carbonera listed above provide navigating a catheter to a target on the septum. Doing so enhances Weng’s system to calculate a trajectory bifurcation within the heart, as well as navigate a catheter to an anatomical feature of the heart.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng and in view of Carbonera and in further view of Mahapatra et al. (US 20180228536 A1), hereinafter Mahapatra.
Regarding claim 25, Weng (in view of Carbonera) teaches the system of claim 22 and the location of the cardiac conduction pathway (Fig. 6).
Weng does not teach wherein a probability distribution for the location of the cardiac conduction pathway is graphically displayed on an image of the septum wherein the probability distribution is based on an accuracy of a curve fit used to determine the location of the cardiac conduction pathway.
Mahapatra teaches a probability distribution graphically displayed on a cardiac map (para. 0025 (processing apparatus 16 also develops an algorithm based upon the sets of probability parameters for the plurality of ablation records, stored in database 42. The algorithm is configured to output a probability that ablating in a particular ablation location will be successful, based on the historical ablation records in database 42 and associated probability parameters)).
Weng, Carbonera, and Mahapatra are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of analyzing ECGs.Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng to incorporate the teachings of Mahapatra listed above provide a probability distribution for the location of the cardiac conduction pathway is graphically displayed on an image of the septum wherein the probability distribution is based on an accuracy of a curve fit used to determine the location of the cardiac conduction pathway. Doing so would have provided a graphical indication of the probability associated with the determined pathway location, allowing a physician to locate a region that could benefit from a pacing stimulus, relative to the region of the heart.
Claims 36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng and in view of Lu et al. (US 20200178825 A1), hereinafter Lu.
Regarding claim 36, Weng teaches a method of mapping at least a portion of a cardiac conduction pathway (Fig. 10) comprising:
sensing, via sensors (Fig. 6, element 602 – electrodes), signals indicative of cardiac electrical signals propagating through the cardiac conduction pathway (para. 0091 (an ECG signal can be received from any appropriate source of patient ECG data including two or more ECG leads)).
combining the signals from each sensor, via a data collection system, to generate a first data stream (para. 0076 (patient monitoring device can perform real time ECG signal pre-processing. Real time ECG signal pre-processing can include removing the DC component with a high-pass filter, amplifying the ECG signal, limiting the signal bandwidth with a low-pass filter and digitally sampling the ECG signal));
identifying a waveform from the data stream (para. 0079 (process determines a loop trajectory including a portion of ECG cycle. The portion of ECG cycle can be a P, QRS or T wave. Determining a portion of the ECG cycle can include detecting an onset of the portion of the ECG cycle and an end of the portion of the ECG cycle, isolating the portion of the ECG cycle based on detecting the onset of the portion of the ECG cycle and the end of the portion of the ECG cycle and filtering the isolated portion of the ECG cycle. The portion of ECG cycle can be determined for each cardiac cycle of the received ECG));
determining, via the data processing system, center of electrical activity (CEA) data (para. 0077 (a VCG signal is determined based on the received ECG signal… time-dependent heart vector that represents the size and orientation of the time-varying electrical dipole can be calculated by approximating the electrical activity of the heart), 0086 (a variation of the loop trajectory from the control loop trajectory that occurs for a portion of the ECG signal and exceeds the standard deviation of the control loop trajectory can be identified as a trajectory bifurcation))
generating, via a display system, a three-dimensional (3D) model of the CEA data in real time, wherein the 3D model is indicative of the cardiac conduction pathway (Fig. 6, element 610 – user interface), Fig. 4 & 10).
Weng does not teach identifying, via a data processing system, a waveform from the data stream via a first resolution sampling of the first data stream; and sampling, via the data processing system, a segment of the identified waveform of the first data stream at a second resolution to generate a second data stream, the second resolution being higher than the first resolution.
Lu teaches identifying, via a data processing system (Fig. 1A, element 200 – computing system), a waveform from the data stream via a first resolution sampling of the first data stream (para. 0025 (a time segment of cardiac waveform data is identified at step 52), 0026 (time segment is then pre-processed);
sampling, via the data processing system, a segment of the identified waveform of the first data stream at a second resolution to generate a second data stream, the second resolution being higher than the first resolution (para. 0026 (data is resampled at step 54…. raw ECG data may be from a cardiograph and sampled at 500 kHz or may be from a Holter monitor and sampled at 120 kHz, and all such data may be re-sampled at 200 kHz in order to normalize all inputs to provide a consistent sample frequency)).
Weng and Lu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of analyzing ECGs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng to incorporate the teachings of Lu listed above provide sampling, via the data processing system, a segment of the identified waveform of the first data stream at a second resolution to generate a second data stream, the second resolution being higher than the first resolution. Doing so allows for the collection of the ECG data from the sensors to be resampled at a higher resolution, thus ensuring that the signals are adequate. Additionally, the identification of a segment of the waveform, allows for the correlation to the portion of the cardiac conduction pathway desired.
Regarding claim 40, Weng (in view of Lu) teaches the method of claim 36, wherein the segment of the identified waveform is a PR segment of the identified waveform (para. 0079 (the portion of ECG cycle can be a P, QRS or T wave… the portion of ECG cycle can be determined for each cardiac cycle of the received ECG)). Although Weng does not explicitly disclose the PR segment, it’s rendered obvious that Weng could use the PR segment of the cardiac cycle as opposed to the P wave, from the overall ECG signal.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng and in view of Lu and in further view of Kalinin et al. (US 20160338611 A1), hereinafter Kalinin.
Regarding claim 41, Weng (in view of Lu) teaches the method of claim 36 and the sensors (Fig. 6, element 602 - electrodes).
Weng does not teach the system further comprising determining locations of the sensors with respect to a heart of a subject by scanning the subject and the sensors, wherein the sensors are disposed on a body of the subject.
Kalinin teaches determining locations of the sensors with respect to a heart of a subject (para. 0039 (mapping electrode system (MES) 100 comprises a plurality of electrical sensing electrodes positioned on the torso of the patient… configured to sense electrical activity originating in patient body)) by scanning the subject and the sensors, wherein the sensors are disposed on a body of the subject (para. 0042 (scanner or imaging system 300 is used to identify and determine the precise positions of the electrodes in MES 100… and is configured to provide patient geometry data 302)).
Weng, Lu, and Kalinin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of analyzing ECGs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng to incorporate the teachings of Kalinin listed above to provide scanning the patient and the sensors. Doing so enhances the method by providing information on where the sensors are located on the patient.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng and in view of Lu and in further view of Kalinin and Vranic.
Regarding claim 43, Weng (in view of Lu and Kalinin) teaches the method of claim 41. Weng does not teach wherein determining CEA data is further based on the determined locations of the sensors.
Vranic teaches determining electrical activity data associated with cardiac arrythmias associated with the determined locations of the sensors (col. 8, lines 17-26 (after the leads are obtained (either by manual or automatic search), the acquired leads can be adjusted S110 for elimination (or reduction) of errors and finding key points Q,R,S by approximating data from all leads simultaneously. Horizontal null is automatically adjusted, but can be also manually fitted. Other key points are related to QRS complex, including a starting point of Q part of loop, a beginning of R part of loop, and a beginning and end of S part of loop. Those can be automatically found or set manually)).
Weng, Lu, Kalinin, and Vranic are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of analyzing ECGs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng to incorporate the teachings of Vranic listed above to determine CEA data based on the determined location of the sensors. Doing so considers the calculated CEA data with reference to the location of the sensors, providing the spatial relationship for the analysis of the ECG signals.
Claims 44-47 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng and in view of Lu and in further view of Armoundas et al. (US 6308093 B1), hereinafter Armoundas.
Regarding claim 44, Weng (in view of Lu) teaches the method of claim 36, and the sensors (Fig. 6, element 602 – electrodes).
Weng does not teach the sensors sensing a single dipole signal from an emitting device disposed within a heart of a subject.
Armoundas teaches sensing, via the sensors (col. 4, line 31-32 (placing passive electrodes on the body surface), a single dipole signal from an emitting device disposed within a heart of a subject (col. 4, line 31 (placing active electrode(s) in and/or on the body), col. 10, lines 54-55 (ablation catheter (9) with its at least one active electrode is placed in the heart (8) of the subject), abstract (location of the tip of the ablation catheter is similarly localized from signals acquired from the passive electrodes while electrical energy is delivered to the tip of the catheter), col. 6, lines 4-11 (if one delivers low-amplitude bipolar current pulses to the tip of an ablation catheter and acquires the resulting body surface signals, the tip of the catheter may likewise be modeled as a single equivalent moving dipole)).
Weng, Lu, and Armoundas are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of analyzing ECGs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng’s sensors to incorporate the teachings of Armoundas listed above and provide a sensing a single dipole signal from an emitting device. Doing so enhances the method by providing the location of an emitting device with respect to the sensors. Thus allowing possible treatment for fibrillation disorders during a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 45, Weng (in view of Lu and Armoundas) teaches the method of claim 44 and the processing system (Fig. 6, element 606 – patient monitoring device).
Weng does not teach the method further comprising determining, via the processing system, a location and orientation of the emitting device using single equivalent dipole analysis
Armoundas teaches the location and orientation of the emitting device using single equivalent dipole analysis (col. 10, lines 60-62 (position, magnitude, and orientation of the dipole attributed to the tip of the catheter are displayed for each time epoch), col. 6, lines 4-10 (if one delivers low-amplitude bipolar current pulses to the tip of an ablation catheter and acquires the resulting body surface signals, the tip of the catheter may likewise be modeled as a single equivalent moving dipole)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng’s processing system to incorporate the teachings of Armoundas listed above and provide the location and orientation of the emitting device using single equivalent dipole analysis. Doing so provides the system with determining spatial information associated with the emitting device, allowing for the information of both the position and orientation of the emitting device based on the detected cardiac electrical signals.
Regarding claim 46, Weng (in view of Lu and Armoundas) teaches the method of claim 45, and the display system (Fig. 6, element 610 – user interface) and the 3D model indicative of the cardiac conduction pathway (Fig. 4).
Weng does not teach the generating, via the display system, a 3D representation of the emitting device with respect to the 3D model indicative of the cardiac conduction pathway, wherein the 3D representation indicates a location and orientation of the emitting device in real time.
Armoundas teaches generating a 3D model of the heart (col. 10, lines 48-51 (the position, magnitude, and orientation of the SEMD attributed to cardiac electrical activity at each time epoch are displayed in a three-dimensional view of the heart)) and displaying the emitting device indicates a location and orientation of the emitting device in real time (col. 10, lines 60-62 (position, magnitude, and orientation of the dipole attributed to the tip of the catheter are displayed for each time epoch)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng’s display system to incorporate the teachings of Armoundas listed above and provide a 3D representation of the emitting device with respect to the 3D model indicative of the cardiac conduction pathway, indicating a location and orientation of the emitting device in real time. Doing so allows the system to portray the emitting device within the location of the cardiac conduction pathway, to allow for navigation to a specific region within the heart.
Regarding claim 47, Weng (in view of Lu and Armoundas) teaches the method of claim 46. Weng does not teach further comprising navigating the emitting device so that it is proximate to a desired portion of the cardiac conduction pathway based on the 3D representation.
Armoundas teaches navigating the emitting device so that it is proximate to the origin of an arrhythmia (col. 6, lines 4-11 (if one delivers low-amplitude bipolar current pulses to the tip of an ablation catheter and acquires the resulting body surface signals, the tip of the catheter may likewise be modeled as a single equivalent moving dipole. Therefore, the same inverse algorithm may be employed to localize the tip of the catheter. Using this information one can guide the tip of the catheter to the site of origin of the arrhythmia), col. 10, lines 49-52 (position, magnitude, and orientation of the SEMD attributed to cardiac electrical activity at each time epoch are displayed in a three-dimensional view of the heart)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng to incorporate the teachings of Armoundas listed above and provide navigation of the emitting device to a desired portion of the cardiac conduction pathway. Doing so identifies regions of the heart that could benefit from treatment for a fibrillation disorder.
Regarding claim 49, Weng teaches the system of claim 1, and the location of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway abstract (determine a loop trajectory of at least a portion of the ECG signal, identifying a trajectory bifurcation by comparing the loop trajectory to a control loop trajectory for a plurality of cardiac cycles, and determining an indicator of a cardiac event based on the trajectory bifurcation)).
Weng does not teach an emitting device, wherein the data processing system is configured to determine a location of the emitting device relative to the location of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway.
Armoundas teaches determining a location of the emitting device relative to the location of an origin of arrhythmia (col. 6, lines 4-11 (if one delivers low-amplitude bipolar current pulses to the tip of an ablation catheter and acquires the resulting body surface signals, the tip of the catheter may likewise be modeled as a single equivalent moving dipole. Therefore, the same inverse algorithm may be employed to localize the tip of the catheter. Using this information one can guide the tip of the catheter to the site of origin of the arrhythmia), col. 10, lines 49-52 (position, magnitude, and orientation of the SEMD attributed to cardiac electrical activity at each time epoch are displayed in a three-dimensional view of the heart)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Weng’s data processing system to incorporate the teachings of Armoundas listed above to determine a location of the emitting device relative to the location of a portion of the cardiac conduction pathway. Doing so allows a physician to locate the emitting device relative to the portion of the cardiac conduction pathway, which can be used for possible therapy for fibrillation disorder.
Conclusion
/EILEEN ROBLES/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796