DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed June 28, 2024 & January 22, 2026 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 would be allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art is silent to the electrode plate assembly comprises: a first conductive sheet disposed on a surface of the first conductive material layer, the first conductive sheet comprising a first connection region and a second connection region connected with each other, wherein in a first set direction, a projection of the first connection region falls on the surface of the first conductive material layer, and a projection of the second connection region falls on the through opening, the first set direction being a direction from the first conductive material layer to the insulating material layer; and a second conductive sheet disposed on a surface of the second conductive material layer, the second conductive sheet comprising a third connection region and a fourth connection region connected with each other, wherein in a direction opposite to the first set direction, a projection of the third connection region falls on the surface of the second conductive material layer, and a projection of the fourth connection region falls on the through opening, wherein at least one of the second connection region or the fourth connection region at least partially extends into the through opening, and the second connection region is connected to the fourth connection region; wherein the first conduction part comprises the first connection region, the second conduction part comprises the third connection region, and the third conduction part comprises the second connection region and the fourth connection region.
The prior art, such as ARIMA et al., JP-2013016321-A, teaches a battery (See the Abstract), comprising an electrode plate assembly (electrode plate assembly; Fig. 23), wherein the electrode plate assembly comprises: an electrode plate (electrode plate; Fig. 23) and a conduction element (conduction element 80; Fig. 23); the electrode plate comprises a current collector (current collector E; Fig. 23); the current collector comprises a first conductive material layer (first conductive material layer 11a/14; Fig. 23); an insulating material layer (resin layer 13; Fig. 23 & Description, paragraph 12) , and a second conductive material layer stacked together (second conductive material layer 11b/14; Fig. 23); the current collector is provided with a through opening running through the current collector (through hole is occupied by conduction element 80; Fig. 23; Description, paragraph 70);
and the conduction element (Examiners Note: Each current collector E has the same component, the middle collector E will be used to demonstrate the conduction element parts) comprises: a first conduction part, disposed on a first side of the current collector and electrically connected to the first conductive material layer (first conduction part; Fig. 23 below); a second conduction part, disposed on a second side of the current collector and electrically connected to the second conductive material layer (second conduction part; Fig. 23 below); and a third conduction part, disposed at the through opening and electrically connected to both the first conduction part and the second conduction part (third conduction part; Fig. 23 below);; wherein the first side is a side, of the current collector provided with the first conductive material layer; and the second side is a side of the current collector provided with the second conductive material layer (conductive parts are respectably placed on the top, middle and bottom sides of the current collector El Fig. 23 below).
However, the reference does not teach or suggest: a projection of a first connection region falls on the surface of the first conductive material layer, and a projection of a second connection region falls on the through opening, the first set direction being a direction from the first conductive material layer to the insulating material layer; and , a projection of a third connection region falls on the surface of the second conductive material layer, and a projection of the fourth connection region falls on the through opening. Therefore, the instant claim is patentably distinct from the prior art of record.
Claims 3-13 would be allowable based on dependency to claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ARIMA et al., JP-2013016321-A.
With respect to claim 1, ARIMA teaches a battery (See the Abstract), comprising an electrode plate assembly (electrode plate assembly; Fig. 23), wherein the electrode plate assembly comprises: an electrode plate (electrode plate; Fig. 23) and a conduction element (conduction element 80; Fig. 23); the electrode plate comprises a current collector (current collector E; Fig. 23); the current collector comprises a first conductive material layer (first conductive material layer 11a/14; Fig. 23); an insulating material layer (resin layer 13; Fig. 23 & Description, paragraph 12) , and a second conductive material layer stacked together (second conductive material layer 11b/14; Fig. 23); the current collector is provided with a through opening running through the current collector (through hole is occupied by conduction element 80; Fig. 23; Description, paragraph 70);
and the conduction element (Examiners Note: Each current collector E has the same component, the middle collector E will be used to demonstrate the conduction element parts) comprises: a first conduction part, disposed on a first side of the current collector and electrically connected to the first conductive material layer (first conduction part; Fig. 23 below); a second conduction part, disposed on a second side of the current collector and electrically connected to the second conductive material layer (second conduction part; Fig. 23 below); and a third conduction part, disposed at the through opening and electrically connected to both the first conduction part and the second conduction part (third conduction part; Fig. 23 below);; wherein the first side is a side, of the current collector provided with the first conductive material layer; and the second side is a side of the current collector provided with the second conductive material layer (conductive parts are respectably placed on the top, middle and bottom sides of the current collector El Fig. 23 below).
With respect to claim 18, the battery comprises two electrode plate assemblies ( at least one of the positive electrode and the negative electrode is formed using a current collector having a three-layer structure; Description, paragraph 73; The negative electrode side current collector (negative electrode current collector) may be configured in a multilayer structure including a resin layer and a conductive layer. Description, paragraph 77) and a separator, wherein the separator is disposed between the two electrode plate assemblies (separator; Description, paragraph 81).
With respect to claim 19, the insulating material layer includes at least one of polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, polymethyl methacrylate, polyvinyl chloride, nylon, polycarbonate, polyurethane, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyethylene glycol terephthalate, epoxy resin, phenolic plastic, polyimide, or melamine formaldehyde resin (This resin layer 13 consists of polyolefin resins such as polyethylene (PE) and polypropylene (PP) having a heat deformation temperature of 150 ° C. or lower, polystyrene (PS), polyvinyl chloride, polyamide; Description, paragraph 14).
With respect to claim 20, an electronic device comprising the battery according to claim 1 (electric vehicles; Description, paragraph 2).
Therefore, the instant clams are anticipated by ARIMA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ARIMA et al., JP-2013016321-A.
ARIMA teaches a battery as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. With respect to claim 14, the battery comprises a tab (tab 41; the tab electrode 41 is welded in the folded region E of the current collector exposed portion 11a; Description, paragraph 30; Fig. 23), and the tab comprises: a base portion disposed on the first side of the current collector and electrically connected to the first conductive material layer (base portion; Fig. 23), wherein an end of the base portion extends beyond the current collector (end of the base portion; Fig. 23); a fixed portion disposed on the second side of the current collector and electrically connected to the second conductive material layer (fixed portion; Fig. 23) ; and an extension portion disposed at the through opening and connected to both the base portion and the fixed portion (extension portion; Fig. 23).
Although ARIMA teaches that tab 42 is welded to the current collector (the tab electrode 41 is welded in the folded region E of the current collector exposed portion 11a; Description, paragraph 30), the reference does not teach with sufficient specificity that tab 42 is welded to conduction part 80 wherein the first conduction part comprises the base portion, the second conduction part comprises the fixed portion, and the third conduction part comprises the extension portion (claim 14).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the first conduction part comprising the base portion, the second conduction part comprising the fixed portion, and the third conduction part comprising the extension portion as the tab of ARIMA, to improve structural integrity of the tab, and because integration of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). Stated differently, in order for the first conduction part to comprise the base portion, the second conduction part to comprise the fixed portion, and the third conduction part to comprise the extension portion, is formed hen the tab 41 and conduction part 80 are one piece.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15*17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ARIMA et al., JP-2013016321-A in view of KIM et al., KR-20200081797-A.
ARIMA teaches a battery as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
Although ARIMA teaches multiple conduct layers, where one is a conductive spacer (spacer arranged in the folded region of the current collector is configured from a conductor; Description 76); Also, the current collector may be configured in a multilayer structure of three or more layers may be formed by forming a plating layer or the like on a metal foil; ; Description 74), the reference does not teach with sufficient specificity: the battery further comprises a first conductive sheet, the first conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the first conductive material layer, and the base portion is disposed on a surface of the first conductive sheet (claim 15); the battery further comprises a second conductive sheet, the second conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the second conductive material layer, and the fixed portion is disposed on a surface of the second conductive sheet (claim 16); the battery further comprises a second conductive sheet, the second conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the second conductive material layer, and the fixed portion is disposed on a surface of the second conductive sheet (claim 17).
KIM teaches that it is ell known in the art to employ: the battery further comprises a first conductive sheet, the first conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the first conductive material layer, and the base portion is disposed on a surface of the first conductive sheet (Fig. 2; Examiners Note: base portion is on outermost top layer of ARIMA; claim 15); the battery further comprises a second conductive sheet, the second conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the second conductive material layer, and the fixed portion is disposed on a surface of the second conductive sheet (Fig. 2; Examiners Note: fixed portion is on outermost bottom layer of ARIMA; claim 16); the battery further comprises a second conductive sheet, the second conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the second conductive material layer (Fig. 2; Examiners Note: base portion is on outermost top layer of ARIMA; claim 17), and the fixed portion is disposed on a surface of the second conductive sheet ((Fig. 2; Examiners Note: fixed portion is on outermost bottom layer of ARIMA; claim 17).
ARIMA and KIM are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating current collectors made with outer conducive layers circumscribing an insulating material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a first conductive sheet disposed on a surface of the first conductive material layer as taught by KIM, in the current collector of ARIMA, to improve conduction of the current collector. Furthermore, teaches multiple conduct layers, where one is a conductive spacer (spacer arranged in the folded region of the current collector is configured from a conductor; Description 76); Also, the current collector may be configured in a multilayer structure of three or more layers may be formed by forming a plating layer or the like on a metal foil. See Description 74. Therefore, ARIMA and KIM contemplate conductive sheets. Duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Lastly, Examiners Note: base portion is on outermost top layer of ARIMA.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
NOJIMA et al. WO-2021192289-A1, teaches a current collector comprising resin layer circumscribed by metal layers. See the Abstract.
Hu US-20210167399-A1, teaches a current collector comprising resin layer circumscribed by metal layers. See Fig. 5b.
SAKAMOTO et al. US-20180342754-A1, grid shaped current collector. See Fig. 1A.
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723