DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 6/8/2024.
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 11-12 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padebettu (US 2021/0321469 A1); in view of Payyappilly et al. (US 2022/0377538 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Padebettu discloses a method, comprising: sending, by a client device, to an access gateway function (AGF) device, and via a wireline connection, a first Internet protocol (IP) message (a client device may send a message to an access gateway function (AGF) of a core network; the client device may utilize a transport protocol to carry message via wireline access to the core network; the message may include an IP packet, wherein the IP packet encapsulates a UDP packet; see paragraphs [0016] – [0018] and Fig. 1A-1B); and receiving, by the client device, from the AGF device, via the wireline connection, and based on sending the first IP message, a second IP message that includes acknowledgement information (the AGF sends an additional message using the PDU session to the client device after receiving the message via the wireline connection; the additional message may include an IP packet, wherein the IP packet encapsulates a UDP packet; see paragraphs [0022] and Fig. 1B-1E).
Padebettu discloses a client device transmits an IP packet to an AGF which supports 5G NAS signals.
Padebettu does not explicitly disclose a NAS signal may be encapsulated in an IP packet.
Payyappilly discloses a first IP Internet protocol (IP) message that includes non-access stratum (NAS) information (the NAS message may be divided into TCP/UDP segments and encapsulating into IP datagrams; see paragraph [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu and Payyappilly to include NAS information in an IP message to support non-access stratum signaling over a non-3GPP network (see paragraph [0001] of Payyappilly).
Regarding claim 9; Padebettu discloses an access gateway function (AGF) device (an AGF; see paragraph [0037] and Fig. 2), comprising: one or more memories (memory 330; see Fig. 3); and one or more processors (processor 320; see Fig. 3) to: receive, from a client device and via a wireline connection, a first Internet protocol (IP) message (an access gateway function (AGF) of a core network may receive a message from a client device; the client device may utilize a transport protocol to carry message via wireline access to the core network; the message may include an IP packet, wherein the IP packet encapsulates a UDP packet; see paragraphs [0016] – [0018] and Fig. 1A-1B); and send, to the client device, via the wireline connection, and based on receiving the first IP message, a second IP message that includes acknowledgement information (the AGF sends an additional message to the client device after receiving the message; the additional message may include an IP packet, wherein the IP packet encapsulates a UDP packet; see paragraphs [0022] and Fig. 1B-1E).
Padebettu discloses a client device transmits an IP packet to an AGF which supports 5G NAS signals.
Padebettu does not explicitly disclose a NAS signal may be encapsulated in an IP packet.
Payyappilly discloses a first IP Internet protocol (IP) message that includes non-access stratum (NAS) information (NAS message may be divided into TCP/UDP segments and encapsulating into IP datagrams; see paragraph [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu and Payyappilly to include NAS information in an IP message to support non-access stratum signaling over a non-3GPP network (see paragraph [0001] of Payyappilly).
Regarding claim 16; Padebettu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions (a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions; see paragraph [0005]), the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a client device (executed by one or more processors; see paragraph [0005]), cause the client device to: send, to an access gateway function (AGF) device and via a wireline connection, an Internet protocol (IP) message (a client device may send a message to an access gateway function (AGF) of a core network; the client device may utilize a transport protocol to carry message via wireline access to the core network; the message may include an IP packet, wherein the IP packet encapsulates a UDP packet; see paragraphs [0016] – [0018] and Fig. 1A-1B).
Padebettu discloses a client device transmits an IP packet to an AGF which supports 5G NAS signals.
Padebettu does not explicitly disclose a NAS signal may be encapsulated in an IP packet.
Payyappilly discloses the IP message that includes non-access stratum (NAS) information (NAS message may be divided into TCP/UDP segments and encapsulating into IP datagrams; see paragraph [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu and Payyappilly to include NAS information in an IP message to support non-access stratum signaling over a non-3GPP network (see paragraph [0001] of Payyappilly).
Regarding claims 2 and 11; Padebettu discloses a client device transmits an IP packet to an AGF which supports 5G NAS signals.
Padebettu does not explicitly disclose the NAS information is included in a SDU that is encapsulated in the IP message.
Payyappilly discloses wherein the NAS information is included in a service data unit (SDU) that is encapsulated in the first IP message (in a protocol stack illustrated in Fig. 3, NAS messages are segmented and encapsulated in IP datagrams; therefore, the NAS information is included in a SDU of the IP message; see paragraph [0075] and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu and Payyappilly to include NAS information in a SDU of the IP message to support non-access stratum signaling over a non-3GPP network (see paragraph [0001] of Payyappilly).
Regarding claims 3 and 12; Padebettu discloses wherein the wireline connection is a user datagram protocol (UDP) wireline connection (a client device may send a UDP packet to the core network via a wireline connection; see paragraphs [0016] – [0017]).
Regarding claim 8; Padebettu discloses wherein the client device is a fifth generation (5G) cable residential gateway (5G-CRG) (the client device is a 5G residential gateway device and operates through Ethernet cable; see paragraphs [0015] – [0016]).
Regarding claim 17; Padebettu discloses a client device transmits an IP packet to an AGF which supports 5G NAS signals.
Padebettu does not explicitly disclose the NAS information is included in a SDU that is encapsulated in the IP message.
Payyappilly discloses wherein the NAS information is included in a service data unit (SDU) of the IP message (as illustrated in a protocol stack in Fig. 3, NAS messages are segmented and encapsulated in IP datagrams; therefore, the NAS information is included in a SDU of the IP message; see paragraph [0075] and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu and Payyappilly to include NAS information in a SDU of the IP message to support non-access stratum signaling over a non-3GPP network (see paragraph [0001] of Payyappilly).
Regarding claim 18; Padebettu discloses a client device transmits an IP packet to an AGF which supports 5G NAS signals.
Padebettu does not explicitly disclose the NAS information is included in a UDP packet of the IP message.
Payyappilly discloses wherein the NAS information is included in a user datagram protocol (UDP) packet of the IP message (as illustrated in a protocol stack in Fig. 3, NAS messages are divided into TCP/UDP segments and encapsulated in IP datagrams; see paragraph [0075] and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu and Payyappilly to include NAS information in a UDP packet of the IP message to support non-access stratum signaling over a non-3GPP network (see paragraph [0001] of Payyappilly).
Regarding claim 19; Padebettu discloses a client device transmits an IP packet to an AGF which supports 5G NAS signals.
Padebettu does not explicitly disclose the NAS information is included in a TCP packet of the IP message.
Payyappilly discloses wherein the NAS information is included in a transmission control protocol (TCP) packet of the IP message (NAS message may be divided into TCP/UDP segments and encapsulating into IP datagrams; see paragraph [0075] and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu and Payyappilly to include NAS information in a TCP packet of the IP message to support non-access stratum signaling over a non-3GPP network (see paragraph [0001] of Payyappilly).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padebettu; in view of Payyappilly; and in further view of Liu et al. (US 2018/0288114 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 13; the combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly discloses a client device transmits an IP message to an AGF via a wireline.
The combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly does not explicitly disclose the wireline connection is a TCP wireline connection.
Liu discloses wherein the wireline connection is a transmission control protocol (TCP) wireline connection (a communication device can comprise a wireline transceiver; the transceiver supports packet-switched wireline access technologies (such as TCP/IP; see paragraphs [0072] and [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu, Payyappilly and Liu to use a TCP wireline connection to support packet-switched wireline access technologies (see paragraph [0089] of Liu).
Claims 5, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padebettu; in view of Payyappilly; and in further view of Olvera-Hernandez et al. (WO 2023/158781 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 14; the combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly discloses a client device transmits an IP message to an AGF.
The combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly does not explicitly disclose the IP message includes an indicator indicating the NAS information is included.
Olvera-Hernandez discloses wherein the first IP message further includes an indicator that the first IP message includes the NAS information (an NAS application ID may be an indication that NAS communication is sent to the network via an IP based connection; see paragraph [0179]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu, Payyappilly and Olvera-Hernandez to include an indicator indicating the NAS is included in the IP message to support of non-access stratum message for accessing a NAS network service (see paragraph [0003] of Olvera-Hernandez).
Regarding claim 20; the combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly discloses a client device transmits an IP message to an AGF.
The combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly does not explicitly disclose the IP message includes an indicator indicating the NAS information is included.
Olvera-Hernandez discloses wherein the IP message further includes an indicator that the IP message includes the NAS information (an NAS application ID may be an indication that NAS communication is sent to the network via an IP based connection; see paragraph [0179]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu, Payyappilly and Olvera-Hernandez to include an indicator indicating the NAS is included in the IP message to support of non-access stratum message for accessing a NAS network service (see paragraph [0003] of Olvera-Hernandez).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padebettu; in view of Payyappilly; in view of Olvera-Hernandez; and in further view of Tang (WO 2019/076025 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 15; the combination of Padebettu, Payyappilly and Olvera-Hernandez disclose including an indicator indicating the NAS is included in the IP message.
The combination of Padebettu, Payyappilly and Olvera-Hernandez does not explicitly disclose the indicator is a port number.
Tang discloses wherein the indicator is a port number that is associated with NAS signaling (the feature information of the NAS-SM message includes an IP address, a port number; see paragraph [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu, Payyappilly, Olvera-Hernandez and Tang to have a port number as an indicator to improve security and reduce configuration and maintenance requirements (see paragraph [0034] of Tang).
Claims 7 and 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padebettu; in view of Payyappilly; and in further view of Padebettu2 (US 2021/0227599 A1).
Regarding claim 7; the combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly discloses a client device transmits an IP message to an AGF.
The combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly does not explicitly disclose the AGF sends the NAS information in a NGAP message to an AMF.
Padebettu2 discloses wherein sending the first IP message to the AGF device allows the AGF device to obtain the NAS information from the first IP message (a client device may provide NAS information (registration request) to a AGF via an IP protocol; see paragraphs [0019] and [0033]) and to send the NAS information in a next generation application protocol (NGAP) message to at least one of an access and mobility management function (AMF) device or a session management function (SMF) device (the AGF may provide a NGAP initial message (e.g. the registration request) to the AMF; see paragraph [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu, Payyappilly and Padebettu2 to send the NAS information in a NGAP message to an AMF to conserve communication resources (see paragraph [0015] of Padebettu2).
Regarding claim 10; the combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly discloses a client device transmits an IP message to an AGF.
The combination of Padebettu and Payyappilly does not explicitly disclose the AGF sends the NAS information in a NGAP message to an AMF.
Padebettu2 discloses obtain the NAS information from the first IP message (a client device may provide NAS information (registration request) to a AGF via an IP protocol; the AGF may provide the registration request as a NGAP initial message; see paragraphs [0019] and [0033]) and to send the NAS information in a next generation application protocol (NGAP) message to at least one of an access and mobility management function (AMF) device or a session management function (SMF) device (the AGF may provide a NGAP initial message (e.g. the registration request) to the AMF; see paragraph [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Padebettu, Payyappilly and Padebettu2 to send the NAS information in a NGAP message to an AMF to conserve communication resources (see paragraph [0015] of Padebettu2).
Conclusion
/N.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415