DETAILED ACTION
This Action is non-final and is in response to the claims filed June 28, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending, of which claims 1-20 are currently rejected.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee. The color drawings are Figures 2-6.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 10, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites two limitations, separated by a semi-colon (“;”). The second limitation should either by a “wherein” clause, separated instead by a comma (“,”), or the semi-colon should be followed by an ”and”, indicating the final limitation of the claim. Claim 16 recites similar language and is objected to for at least the same reasons therein.
Claim 10 recites a wherein clause preceded by a semi-colon. However, wherein clauses are to further clarify a previous limitation and are not themselves limitations to be separated by semi-colons. Instead, they should be preceded by a comma.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “one or more of” followed by two separate indented limitations. It is unclear if it is one or more of geographic weather advisory data, geographic whether alert data, and geographic weather watch data, and then also map data (including both limitations in one single list to choose from). Alternatively, it is unclear if the claim is meant to be interpreted it all of the first list or all of the second list. Claim 14 recites similar language and is rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Examiner’s Note
The prior art rejections below cite particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (U.S. 2017/0352010; hereinafter, “Son”) and further in view of Maturana et al. (U.S. 2017/0154298; hereinafter, “Maturana”).
As per claim 1, Son teaches a method for controlling one or more industrial machines based on external contextual data and monitoring data of a supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system (See Son para. [0013]), comprising:
identifying, using a set of one or more processors, monitoring data comprising one or more alarms obtained from one or more remote terminal units (RTUs) associated with the one or more industrial machines (See Son Figs. 1 and 2 and paras. [0048-56]: multiple remote site servers (1-n) that can be used to share status of monitored wind turbines and detect abnormalities that can be used to issue an alarm);
integrating, using the set of one or more processors, the external contextual data with the monitoring data to form a combined display of the external contextual data and the monitoring data (See Son Fig. 4 and paras. [0060-66]: display that combines various features, including location of monitored machines and alarms and events, among other information);
providing data that visually associates the external contextual data and the one or more alarms in the combined display (See Son Figs. 4 and 5 and paras. [0060-66]: display that combines various features, including location of monitored machines and alarms and events, among other information); and
thereafter communicating a control instruction to the one or more industrial machines, via the one or more RTUs, the control instruction configured to change the state of the one or more industrial machines to address the one or more alarms (See Son para. [0068] and [0092]: “for the operation and maintenance…the supervision unit 240 may perform a control by a component management menu, a mobile application menu, and a configuration menu” and live data can include “a status message for a PLC status change”).
However, while Son teaches information/data retrieval from external sources (See Son paras. [0053-56]), Son does not explicitly teach the use of an API to do so.
Maturana teaches obtaining, using an application programming interface (API), the external contextual data from one or more external sources (See Maturana paras. [0059-60]: API used to retrieve data to be monitored).
Maturana teaches.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the user interface and data retrieval of Son with the API of Maturana. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose remotely monitoring alerts of industrial assets. Maturana further enhances this monitoring by allowing seamless and time-saving communication methods to retrieve the data, while also ensuring that alarm events can be handled quickly and efficiently (See Maturana paras. [0005-06]).
As per claim 2, Son/Maturana further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the external contextual data is weather data comprising one or more of radar data, geographic weather advisory data, geographic weather alert data, and geographic weather watch data (See Son paras. [0059], [0062], and [0107-108]: weather forecast provided to supervision unit).
As per claim 4, Son/Maturana further teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the integrating comprises generating an image comprising one or more of: the geographic weather advisory data, geographic weather alert data, and geographic weather watch data; and map data associated with a geographic location of the one or more alarms (See Son Figs. 3 and 4, and paras. [0059-62]: “the supervision unit 240 may provide a satellite map or weather forecast information”).
As per claim 5, Son/Maturana further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the integrating comprises providing alarm data obtained from the one or more RTUs in a user interface element of the combined display; and the alarm data indicates an association of the one or more alarms with the external contextual data (See Son Figs. 4, 11, and paras. [0053-60] and [0105-106]: abnormality detection based on status of each wind turbine in the respective wind farm, where abnormality detection can trigger alarms that will be displayed to the monitoring user; paras. [0048-49]: site servers monitor the data and communicate with the managers via cloud server 140).
As per claim 6, Son/Maturana further teaches the method of claim 1, comprising providing a tracking user interface element for configuring a tracking event for a subset of the one or more industrial machines; the tracking event comprising a time window during which the subset is tracked in association with external contextual data (See Son paras. [0087] and [0137]: interval time at which system monitoring data is transmitted for the turbines; para. [0064]: operations and maintenance can be performed at a specific time to establish an operation and maintenance plan).
As per claim 7, Son/Maturana further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the identifying comprises selecting, based at least in part on the external contextual data, a subset of the one or more industrial machines (See Son Fig. 1, 10, and paras. [0048-55] and [0092-96: monitoring operation status of a group of wind turbines at different wind farms (i.e. Wind Farms A 110 and B 120). Each wind farm has a subset of wind turbines, where the status of the turbines is monitored. Various menu UI options to display data of the turbines, including specific tags in specific wind farms).
As per claim 8, Son/Maturana further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the selecting comprises associating a geographic location associated with the one or more alarms with a geographic location associated with the external contextual data (See Son Figs. 4 and 13(a) and paras. [0019], [0060], and [0142]: location of each site for at least one wind farm and can display live status of turbines at the site, including with alarm menus; see also Maturana paras. [0034] and [0071]: alarm contains information or identifying a location or application of origin for the alarm).
As per claim 9, Son/Maturana teaches the method of claim 1, comprising changing the state of the one or more industrial machines to address the one or more alarms (See Son paras. [0068] and [0092]: “for the operation and maintenance…the supervision unit 240 may perform a control by a component management menu, a mobile application menu, and a configuration menu” and live data can include “a status message for a PLC status change”).
As per claim 10, Son further teaches the method of claim 9, comprising determining, based at least in part on a projection derived from the external contextual data, that a control workflow condition is satisfied (See Son paras. [0062-64]: status monitoring for the operation and maintenance plan, including predicting progress to perform operation and maintenance);
wherein the changing comprises altering the state of the one or more industrial machines to address one or more projected alarms (See Son paras. [0068] and [0092]: “for the operation and maintenance…the supervision unit 240 may perform a control by a component management menu, a mobile application menu, and a configuration menu” and live data can include “a status message for a PLC status change”).
As per claims 11, 12, and 14-19, the claims are directed to a system that implements the same features as the method of claims 1, 2, and 4-9, respectively, and are therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Furthermore, Son teaches a system for controlling one or more industrial machines based on external contextual data and monitoring data of a supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system, comprising: a set of one or more processors; and a non-transitory storage medium comprising code executable by the set of one or more processors to implement said method(s) (See Son paras. [0051] and [0053]; see also Maturana paras. [0125-128]).
As per claim 20, the claim is directed to a computer program product that implements the same features as the method of claim 1, and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Furthermore, Son teaches a computer program product for controlling one or more industrial machines based on external contextual data and monitoring data of a supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system, comprising: a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising code executable by a set of one or more processors to implement said method (See Son paras. [0051] and [0053]; see also Maturana paras. [0125-128]).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son/Maturana, as applied above, and further in view of Dannevik et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0324351; hereinafter, “Dannevik”).
As per claim 3, Son further teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the integrating comprises generating an animation comprising the radar data and map data associated with a geographic location of the one or more alarms (See Son Figs. 3, 4, and paras. [0059-62]: satellite map or weather forecast information displayed and collected, and displayed with other information like alarms and events).
However, while Son teaches the mapping of the weather data and alarms, Son does not explicitly teach animated radar data.
Dannevik teaches generating an animation comprising the radar data and map data (See Dannevik para. [0078]: “A map grid of an area can be generated and the threat index data can be overlayed over the map. A graphical representation of high winds or icing for example can be provided as well as color high-lighting various regions having various threat indexes. The map will evolve and transition over time as the weather threat passes over”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the user interface and alarms of Son/Maturana with the radar animations of Dannevik. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose remotely monitoring alerts, including using weather information. Dannevik further enhances the map presentation and user experience by increasing the visualization of variables to easily identify where weather patterns may become an issue while also improving the weather prediction efficiency of an area (See Dannevik para. [0014]).
As per claim 13, the claim is directed to a system that implements the same features as the method of claim 3, and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Blank et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0334781; hereinafter “Blank”) discloses industrial control with GIS data, where SCADA are used to communicate data and control actions.
/NICHOLAS KLICOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118