DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of elect Invention I in the reply filed on 1/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 5 are pending for consideration.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/758602 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications recite substantially similar claim limitations.
Method claim of claimed invention recite substantially similar claim limitation of reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/758742 Claimed Invention
18/758602 (reference application)
1. A method of customizing an appearance of a fingernail or toenail comprising:
providing a nail enhancement including:
a conductive substrate configured for placement proximal to a nail of a wearer, and a color-changing layer comprising a chromic material, the color-changing layer integrated with the conductive substrate;
adhering the conductive substrate to the fingernail or the toenail; and
activating the color-changing layer by providing electrical current or heat to the color- changing layer.
claim 1, A nail enhancement system comprising:
a nail enhancement, the nail enhancement including:
a conductive substrate configured for placement proximal to a nail of a wearer, and a color-changing layer comprising a chromic material, the color-changing layer integrated with the conductive substrate; and
a sensor configured to collect sensor data, the sensor at least one of physically connected and operatively connected to the color-changing layer.
A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sola et al. (WO 2024220358 A1, Filed: 4/17/2023) in view of Spurling et al. (WO 2024152039 A1, Filed: 1/15/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Sola discloses “A method of customizing an appearance of a fingernail or toenail comprising: (Fig. 1, [0049] a digital nail system 20 includes a client device 30, a color programming device 40 and an artificial nail assembly 60 with a color display 62 bonded to an underside of a nail blank 64.)
providing a nail enhancement including: (Fig. 1 combine a color programming device 40 and an artificial nail assembly 60)
a conductive substrate (Fig. 1 first conductive layer 70) configured for placement proximal to a nail of a wearer, ([0056] – [0058]) and
a color-changing layer (Fig. 1 [0057] In one embodiment, the electronic paper layer 72 is an electrophoretic layer. In other embodiments, the electronic paper layer 72 may be an electrochromic layer, for example. For discussion purposes of the color display 62, the electronic paper layer 72 is configured as the electrophoretic layer. [0058] E Ink Corporation is a supplier of electronic paper. Electronic paper is also known as e-paper, electronic ink, or e- ink, and is a technology that replicates the appearance of ordinary ink on paper. It works by using tiny capsules filled with clear fluid containing minuscule particles, each about the width of a human hair. ) comprising a chromic material, the color-changing layer integrated with the conductive substrate; ([0056] The color display 62 for the artificial nail assembly 60 includes a first conductive layer 70 that may also be referred to as a first electrode, an electronic paper layer 72 and a backplane 66. A transparent protective layer 90 covers the first conductive layer 70. The protective layer 90 is a thermoplastic polymer, such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET). The first conductive layer 70 is a transparent electrically conductive material, such as indium tin oxide (ITO). [0057] – [0060])
adhering the conductive substrate to the fingernail or the toenail; ([0011] The artificial nail assembly may include a nail blank, and a color display coupled to an underside of the nail blank. The color display may include a first conductive layer, an electronic paper layer, and a backplane. The backplane may include a support layer, a second conductive layer on an upper surface of the support layer, a plurality of traces on an underside of the support layer, a plurality of vias extending between the plurality of traces and the first and second conductive layers, and a bottom layer. [0013] – [0016]) and
activating the color-changing layer by providing electrical current or heat to the color-changing layer. ([0057] In one embodiment, the electronic paper layer 72 is an electrophoretic layer. In other embodiments, the electronic paper layer 72 may be an electrochromic layer, for example. For discussion purposes of the color display 62, the electronic paper layer 72 is configured as the electrophoretic layer. [0058] E Ink Corporation is a supplier of electronic paper. Electronic paper is also known as e-paper, electronic ink, or e- ink, and is a technology that replicates the appearance of ordinary ink on paper. It works by using tiny capsules filled with clear fluid containing minuscule particles, each about the width of a human hair. These capsules are arranged in a thin film with particles of different colors and electric charges. The electric charges are initially set at the factory so that the capsules remain in a charged state. When an electric field is applied to the individual electrodes, i.e., first and second conductive layers 70 and 76, the particles move within the charged capsules, causing the electronic paper layer 72 to appear as a certain color. [0060] – [0064])
Sola teaches providing visual display/indicia/color on a fingernail or toenail to customize its appearance, but does not expressly refer to it as providing a “nail enhancement”.
Spurling teaches in the same/related art of changing the appearance on a person’s nail and referring to it as “nail enhancement”. ([0049] nail enhancement)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that customizing the appearance of nails in a system/method of Sola could be considered to be, or chosen to be nail enhancement as taught by Spurling, especially when the visual display is or selected to be of the type resulting in a visually pleasing or enhanced appearance of the nail, for the purpose of enhancing the nail appearance (Spurling: [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Sola and Spurling disclose further comprising:
providing a plurality of nail enhancement systems, each nail enhancement system comprising a nail enhancement including a conductive substrate configured for placement proximal to a nail of a wearer, a color-changing layer comprising a chromic material, the color-changing layer integrated with the conductive substrate, and a controller comprising a non-transitory memory and one or more processors; (Sola Fig. 1, [0049] - [0054])
wherein the non-transitory memory of the controller of each nail enhancement system contains instructions to coordinate activation of the color-changing layer of each of the plurality of nail enhancement systems. (Sola Fig. 1, [0049] - [0054])
Regarding claim 3, Sola and Spurling disclose wherein the color-changing layer is activated based on pre-set timing. (Sola [0057] – [0060])
Regarding claim 4, Sola and Spurling disclose wherein the color-changing layer is activated based on geolocation data from the nail enhancement or an external device associated with the nail enhancement. (Sola [0057] – [0064])
Regarding claim 5, Sola and Spurling disclose wherein the color-changing layer is activated in response to acoustic input. (Sola [0057] – [0060])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11452354 B1 discloses electronic fingernail display on abstract.
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629