DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
2. Applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. The application is filed on 04/05/2012 but claims the benefit of U.S. provisional application number 63/510742 filed on 06/28/2023 and application number 63/510764 filed on 06/28/2023 and application number 63/511662 filed on 07/02/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 3, 6-8, 11, and 18 the phrase "can", “where it can then be”, “can permanently”, “can be”, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-20 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-19 of Application No. 18/758712 and claims 1-20 of Application No. 18/758731. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(e) or pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.78(b), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Trivelpiece (US 20190247690 A1) (hereinafter Trivelpiece) in view of Taylor (US 20030106593 A1) (hereinafter Taylor).
Regarding claim 1, Trivelpiece discloses a benchmark test point apparatus for use in conjunction with a particle detector (para 03 sensors as detectors transmit and receive signals, using the pipes of a fire protection system as a waveguide), comprising:
a compression device configured to hold the inlet valve in a closed position; an actuator sleeve, removably connected to the inlet valve (para05, plurality of fluid distribution devices has a frame body defining an inlet and an outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, para 79, FIGS. 8A and 8B. The frame body includes an inlet for connection to the piping network and an outlet with an internal passageway extending between the inlet and the outlet),
wherein the actuator sleeve is a mechanism to allow a user to control an open or closed position of the inlet valve (para 18, FIG. 9 is a process diagram depicting a method of actuating a distribution device, para 48, RFID chip/tag can use the radio energy from the RFID reader signals to power any sensors, actuators, etc. and transmit any communications back to the RFID chip/tag);
an outlet that includes an interchangeable insert that can be removably fixed into an insert to a channel in the body housing (para 82 actuated configuration, releasing mechanism 416 collapses to remove sealing assembly thereby allowing sealing assembly 414 to be released from outlet 422);
an RFID chip and antenna that is removably connected to a part of the body housing (Abstract, RFID device includes antenna that receives RF signal through the internal volume of the pipe., para 34, RFID devices and/or sensors to transmit and receive signals as compared to devices/sensors utilize communication protocols, para 45, Each of the detectors and fluid distribution devices of a system can have an RFID chip that has an individually unique RFID chip/tag identifier); and
an attachment method on the body housing for fastening the benchmark test point apparatus to a sampling pipe of a particle detector (para 37, he systems may power, control, and/or communicate with other sensors or devices adjacent to the sprinklers and/or provide power to any attached devices, para 44, The RFID reader of FIG. 1A includes an RF injector/receiver type transceiver attached to pipe system).
Trivelpiece specifically fails to disclose a body housing;
an inlet valve that removably connects to the body housing, wherein the inlet valve includes a plurality of O-rings, wherein said plurality of O-rings are constructed from one or more sealing materials, and
said inlet valve has an orifice at one end that has an opening with one or more orifices centered between the O-rings.
In analogous art, Taylor discloses a body housing (para 64, housing 34 includes a gas inlet opening 38 which is surrounded by a raised collar or flange 40);
an inlet valve that removably connects to the body housing, wherein the inlet valve includes a plurality of O-rings, wherein said plurality of O-rings are constructed from one or more sealing materials (para 86, The valve 224 includes a housing 230 within regulator member 220. The housing 230 includes an inlet end portion 232 and an outlet end portion 234. A pair flanges 240, 242 and a pair of O-rings 244, 246 assist in maintaining the valve housing 230 within the regulator member 220, para 64, the tank valve 16 to press the collar 40 against the ridge 28 and O-rings 30 of the tank valve 16 to secure the two members together), and
said inlet valve has an orifice at one end that has an opening with one or more orifices centered between the O-rings (para 89, FIGS. 41 & 42, another embodiment of the present invention is illustrated wherein the present invention is in the form of an integral valve arrangement disposed within a regulator housing. More specifically, a first stage regulator member 320 of standard design includes a housing 322, a plurality of high and low pressure outlets 324, 326, and an inlet element 328, para 09, stage regulator member has a round opening plugged by a metal filter surrounded by a raised collar with an O-ring thereabout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of RFID device includes antenna that receives the RF signal through the internal volume of the pipe disclosed by Trivelpiece to use valve includes a housing which defines a central passageway having fluid inlet and fluid outlet openings as taught by Taylor to include the tank outlet valve has a small aperture at the middle of a round recessed area, raised collar snugly fitting within the recessed area so that the O-ring is fitted against it. [Taylor, para09].
Regarding claim 2, Trivelpiece discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inlet valve serves as a passageway for air to enter and flow through the body housing when the inlet valve is in the open position, and the inlet valve restricts air from passing through the orifices of the inlet valve and into the body housing when the inlet valve is in the closed position (para 89, sensor 125 can sense the temperature of the ambient air surrounding the pipe 150. The temperature sensor 125 is disposed outside the corrosion monitoring device 101, para 05, plurality of fluid distribution devices has a frame body defining an inlet and an outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, actuator movable between a first position restricting fluid flow from the inlet through the outlet).
Regarding claim 3, Trivelpiece discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the materials used to construct the compression device can withstand pressure to at least 160psi without leaking or fracturing and the compression device holding the inlet valve in a closed position is sized such that it provides sufficient compression to keep the inlet valve closed to at least 160psi (para 79, FIGS. 8A and 8B. The frame body includes an inlet for connection to the piping network and an outlet with an internal passageway extending between the inlet and the outlet, para 74, fluid present in the at least one pipe, pressure of the fluid present in the at least one pipe, a type of at least one pipe).
Additionally, Taylor discloses tank pressure of approximately 3,000 psi or greater to a constant intermediate pressure of about 120-140 psi [006], and ank valve outlet 22 and is designed to reduce the gas pressure from the tank 14 of 3000 or more psi to an intermediate gas pressure of approximately 140 psi [063].
Regarding claim 4, Trivelpiece discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actuator sleeve includes a recess for mounting an NEC or other RFID chip and antenna that may be removably attached to the actuator sleeve (para33, RFID devices. Sensors and other devices can utilize the microwave signals passing through the pipes to power the sensors or devices, para 48, RFID chip/tag can use the radio energy from the RFID reader signals to power any sensors, actuators, etc. ).
Regarding claim 5, Trivelpiece discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the outlet has an interchangeable engineered preformed through-hole sized equivalent to what is specified in calculations used to validate performance of the particle detector and its sampling pipe network (para 74, expected signature is a calculated signature and is not based on a previously received signal. A calculated expected signature based on at least one of a size of at least one pipe, para 86, detector circuit 132 (or as monitoring platform 230 FIG. 16) calculate respective values).
Regarding claim 6, Trivelpiece discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a vertical guide track in the body housing keeps the actuator sleeve from rotating until it reaches the valve fully open position where it can then be rotated to the locked position by way of optional locking tabs in the actuator sleeve that travel along a channel in the body housing (para 05, plurality of fluid distribution devices has a frame body defining inlet and outlet in fluid communication with inlet, and an actuator movable between a first position restricting fluid flow from the inlet through the outlet, para 48, RFID chip/tag can use the radio energy from the RFID reader signals to power any sensors, actuators, etc. and transmit any communications back to the RFID chip/tag).
Regarding claim 7, Trivelpiece discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the RFID chip can permanently store and append commissioning, test, and inspection data for predictive analytics with retrieval and reporting functions to alleviate users from sourcing historical or missing static documentation (para 97, monitoring platform 230 can also be configured to provide alerts, predicted maintenance times, predicted failures, or other information that shows the status of the equipment being monitored, para 89, monitoring and conversion circuit 113 or another device (e.g., monitoring platform 230) predict whether there will be a failure of pipe 150 based on the temperature readings inside and/or outside the pipe 150).
Regarding claim 8, Trivelpiece discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a custom application can be used on a computing device to read and append data stored on the RFID chip associated with the benchmark test point (para 49, system 100 for the protection of a storage occupancy 10 and one or more stored commodities 12 is depicted in FIGS. 1B and 2, para 62, RFID tags at detectors 130 or distribution devices 110 can also include a memory, a processor operatively coupled to the memory, and a set of instructions stored on the memory).
Regarding claim 9, Trivelpiece discloses a benchmark test point system for use in conjunction with a particle detector (para 03 sensors as detectors transmit and receive signals, using pipes of a fire protection system as a waveguide), comprising:
a compression device configured to hold the inlet valve in a closed position;
an actuator sleeve, removably connected to the inlet valve (para05, plurality of fluid distribution devices has a frame body defining an inlet and an outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, para 79, FIGS. 8A and 8B. The frame body includes an inlet for connection to the piping network and an outlet with an internal passageway extending between the inlet and the outlet),
wherein the actuator sleeve is a mechanism to allow a user to control an open or closed position of the inlet valve (para 18, FIG. 9 is a process diagram depicting a method of actuating a distribution device, para 48, RFID chip/tag can use the radio energy from the RFID reader signals to power any sensors, actuators, etc. and transmit any communications back to the RFID chip/tag);
an outlet that includes an interchangeable insert that can be removably fixed into the insert to a channel in the body housing (para 82 actuated configuration, releasing mechanism 416 collapses to remove sealing assembly thereby allowing sealing assembly 414 to be released from outlet 422);
an RFID chip and antenna that is removably connected to a part of the body housing (Abstract, RFID device includes antenna that receives RF signal through the internal volume of the pipe., para 34, RFID devices and/or sensors to transmit and receive signals as compared to devices/sensors utilize communication protocols, para 45, Each of the detectors and fluid distribution devices of a system can have an RFID chip that has an individually unique RFID chip/tag identifier); and
an attachment method on the body housing for fastening the benchmark test point system to a sampling pipe of a particle detector (para 37, systems may power, control, and/or communicate with other sensors or devices adjacent to the sprinklers and/or provide power to any attached devices, para 44, The RFID reader of FIG. 1A includes an RF injector/receiver type transceiver attached to pipe system).
Trivelpiece specifically fails to disclose a body housing;
an inlet valve that removably connects to the body housing, wherein the inlet valve includes a plurality of O-rings, wherein said plurality of O-rings are constructed from one or more sealing materials, and said inlet valve has an orifice at one end that has an opening with one or more orifices centered between the O-rings.
In analogous art, Taylor discloses a body housing (para 64, housing 34 includes a gas inlet opening 38 which is surrounded by a raised collar or flange 40);
an inlet valve that removably connects to the body housing, wherein the inlet valve includes a plurality of O-rings, wherein said plurality of O-rings are constructed from one or more sealing materials (para 86, The valve 224 includes a housing 230 within regulator member 220. The housing 230 includes an inlet end portion 232 and an outlet end portion 234. A pair flanges 240, 242 and a pair of O-rings 244, 246 assist in maintaining the valve housing 230 within the regulator member 220, para 64, the tank valve 16 to press the collar 40 against the ridge 28 and O-rings 30 of the tank valve 16 to secure the two members together), and
said inlet valve has an orifice at one end that has an opening with one or more orifices centered between the O-rings (para 89, FIGS. 41 & 42, another embodiment of the present invention is illustrated wherein the present invention is in the form of an integral valve arrangement disposed within a regulator housing. More specifically, a first stage regulator member 320 of standard design includes a housing 322, a plurality of high and low pressure outlets 324, 326, and an inlet element 328).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of RFID device includes antenna that receives the RF signal through the internal volume of the pipe disclosed by Trivelpiece to use valve includes a housing which defines a central passageway having fluid inlet and fluid outlet openings as taught by Taylor to include the tank outlet valve has a small aperture at the middle of a round recessed area, raised collar snugly fitting within the recessed area so that the O-ring is fitted against it. [Taylor, para09].
Regarding claim 10, Trivelpiece discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the inlet valve serves as a passageway for air to enter and flow through the body housing when the inlet valve is in the open position, and the inlet valve restricts air from passing through the orifices of the inlet valve and into the body housing when the inlet valve is in the closed position (para 89, sensor 125 can sense the temperature of the ambient air surrounding the pipe 150. The temperature sensor 125 is disposed outside the corrosion monitoring device 101, para 05, plurality of fluid distribution devices has a frame body defining an inlet and an outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, actuator movable between a first position restricting fluid flow from the inlet through the outlet).
Regarding claim 11, Trivelpiece discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the materials used to construct the compression device can withstand pressure to at least 16Opsi without leaking or fracturing and the compression device holding the inlet valve in a closed position is sized such that it provides sufficient compression to keep the inlet valve closed to at least 160psi (para 79, FIGS. 8A and 8B. The frame body includes an inlet for connection to piping network and an outlet with internal passageway extending between inlet and outlet, para 74, fluid present in the at least one pipe, pressure of fluid present in at least one pipe, a type of the at least one pipe).
Additionally, Taylor discloses tank pressure of approximately 3,000 psi or greater to a constant intermediate pressure of about 120-140 psi [006], and ank valve outlet 22 and is designed to reduce the gas pressure from the tank 14 of 3000 or more psi to an intermediate gas pressure of approximately 140 psi [063].
Regarding claim 12, Trivelpiece discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the actuator sleeve includes a recess for mounting an NFC or other RFID chip that may be removably attached to the actuator sleeve (para33, RFID devices. Sensors and other devices can utilize the microwave signals passing through the pipes to power the sensors or devices, para 48, RFID chip/tag can use the radio energy from the RFID reader signals to power any sensors, actuators, etc. ).
Regarding claim 13, Trivelpiece discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the outlet has an interchangeable engineered preformed through-hole sized equivalent to what is specified in calculations used to validate performance of the particle detector and its sampling pipe network (para 74, expected signature is a calculated signature and is not based on a previously received signal. A calculated expected signature based on at least one of a size of at least one pipe, para 86, detector circuit 132 (or as monitoring platform 230 FIG. 16) calculate respective values).
Regarding claim 14, Trivelpiece discloses the system of claim 9, wherein a vertical guide track in the body housing keeps the actuator sleeve from rotating until it reaches the valve fully open position where it can then be rotated to the locked position by way of optional locking tabs in the actuator sleeve that travel along a channel in the body housing (para 05, plurality of fluid distribution devices has a frame body defining inlet and outlet in fluid communication with inlet, and an actuator movable between a first position restricting fluid flow from the inlet through the outlet, para 48, RFID chip/tag can use the radio energy from the RFID reader signals to power any sensors, actuators, etc. and transmit any communications back to the RFID chip/tag).
Regarding claim 15, Trivelpiece discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the RFID chip can permanently store and append commissioning, test, and inspection data for predictive analytics with retrieval and reporting functions to alleviate users from sourcing historical or missing documentation (para 97, monitoring platform 230 can also be configured to provide alerts, predicted maintenance times, predicted failures, or other information that shows the status of the equipment being monitored, para 89, monitoring and conversion circuit 113 or another device (e.g., monitoring platform 230) predict whether there will be a failure of pipe 150 based on the temperature readings inside and/or outside the pipe 150).
Regarding claim 16, Trivelpiece discloses the system of claim 9, wherein a custom application can be used on a computing device to read and append data stored on the RFID chip associated with the benchmark test point (para 49, system 100 for the protection of a storage occupancy 10 and one or more stored commodities 12 is depicted in FIGS. 1B and 2, para 62, RFID tags at detectors 130 or distribution devices 110 can also include a memory, a processor operatively coupled to the memory, and a set of instructions stored on the memory).
Regarding claim 17, Trivelpiece discloses a method for transferring particles with a benchmark test point (para 03 sensors as detectors transmit and receive signals, using the pipes of a fire protection system as a waveguide), comprising:
collecting an air sample through an inlet valve that serves as a passageway for air to enter and flow through a body housing when the inlet valve is in the open position, and the inlet valve restricts air from passing through the orifices of the inlet valve and into the body housing when the inlet valve is in the closed position (para 89, sensor 125 can sense the temperature of the ambient air surrounding the pipe 150. The temperature sensor 125 is disposed outside the corrosion monitoring device 101, para 05, plurality of fluid distribution devices has a frame body defining an inlet and an outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, actuator movable between a first position restricting fluid flow from the inlet through the outlet);
collecting performance data from the air sample using an RFID chip and antenna (para33, RFID devices. Sensors and other devices can utilize the microwave signals passing through the pipes to power sensors or devices, para 48, RFID chip/tag can use the radio energy from RFID reader signals to any sensors, actuators, etc. );
storing and appending performance data from the RFID chip and antenna to an on-board read/write memory where an identifier in the form of text is written to define if the chip is a benchmark test point or a sample point, type of sample point, and orifice size (para 49, system 100 for the protection of a storage occupancy 10 and one or more stored commodities 12 is depicted in FIGS. 1B and 2, para 62, RFID tags at detectors 130 or distribution devices 110 can also include a memory, a processor operatively coupled to the memory, and a set of instructions stored on the memory);
transmitting the data to a custom application used on a computing device to read chip data embedded in the benchmark test point (para 65, FIG. 4 depicts a method 900 for transmitting and receiving RF signals at an LPU, para 66, RF signal is transmitted because the RFID tag received the first signal and responded with the appropriate request for information or sent confirmation);
assigning the chip data from the custom application to a physical location and a specific particle detector, recording performance characteristics associated with the benchmark test point, and performing subsequent inspections to monitor the status of the particle detector (para 72, The signature may be based on certain characteristics of the waveform, such as frequency, amplitude, distortion, noise, phase, and/or other characteristics of the first RF signal, para 74, Any differences between the expected signature of a signal and the actual signature of the received first RF signal can indicate corrosion or some level, location, etc. of corrosion).
Even though Trivelpiece discloses housing; an inlet valve that removably connects to the body housing, and inlet valve one end that has an opening.
In analogous art, Taylor discloses housing; an inlet valve that removably connects to the body housing, and inlet valve one end that has an opening (para 64, housing 34 includes a gas inlet opening 38 which is surrounded by a raised collar or flange 40, para 86, The valve 224 includes a housing 230 within regulator member 220. The housing 230 includes an inlet end portion 232 and an outlet end portion 234. A pair flanges 240, 242 and a pair of O-rings 244, 246 assist in maintaining the valve housing 230 within the regulator member 220).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of RFID device includes antenna that receives the RF signal through the internal volume of the pipe disclosed by Trivelpiece to use valve includes a housing which defines a central passageway having fluid inlet and fluid outlet openings as taught by Taylor to include the tank outlet valve has a small aperture at the middle of a round recessed area, raised collar snugly fitting within the recessed area so that the O-ring is fitted against it. [Taylor, para09].
Regarding claim 18, Trivelpiece discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the chip data is stored in the cloud and can be retrieved by the custom application used on a computing device para 97, monitoring platform 230 can also be configured to provide alerts, predicted maintenance times, predicted failures, or other information that shows the status of the equipment being monitored, para 89, monitoring and conversion circuit 113 or another device (e.g., monitoring platform 230) predict whether there will be a failure of pipe 150 based on readings inside and/or outside the pipe 150).
Regarding claim 19, Trivelpiece discloses the method of claim 17, wherein a user can use a computing device to retrieve the data by either physically scanning the chip to pull up the data or selecting the chip data if already stored by the custom application used on a computing device (para 49, system 100 for the protection of a storage occupancy 10 and one or more stored commodities 12 is depicted in FIGS. 1B and 2, para 62, RFID tags at the detectors 130 and/or distribution devices 110 can also include a memory, a processor operatively coupled to the memory, and a set of instructions stored on the memory, which can be executed by the processor to cause the processor to perform certain functions).
Regarding claim 20, Trivelpiece discloses the method of claim 17, wherein only authorized users having edit permissions can edit the chip data stored in the database and data written to memory can be permanently locked or password protected in which case the data is read only (para 98, information can be stored in a database in one or more corrosion monitoring system profiles, certifiable maintenance records to third parties (e.g., insurance companies, fire marshals, etc.) which can be stored in customer database 260, para 109, sensor data itself can then be recorded within a corrosion monitoring profile in a database for the monitored equipment).
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689