DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “one or more remote terminal units (RTUs)” from preamble and “one or more configurations that define a custom object for one or more RTUs” and a plurality of “the one or more RTUs” from the body. It is unclear whether those “one or more RTUs” referring to the one from preamble or the one from body, and it is also unclear whether the “one or more remote terminal units (RTUs)” the “one or more RTUs” referring to the same object. Claim 1 also recites a plurality of “one or more industrial machines”, it is unclear whether the first “one or more industrial machines” the same as the multiple following “one or more industrial machines”. Claim 1 also recites “converting, via the subset of one or more RTUs, the data from the type of one or more industrial machines to another type using the custom object”, it is unclear about the “another type” since it would be another type of data, or data with another machine type, or other format.
Claim 5 recites “an analog as digital converter”, it is unclear if the cited limitation means “an analog to digital converter” or treating an analog signal as a digital signal.
Claim 7 recites “one or more industrial machines”, however, claim 1 already recites a plurality of “one or more industrial machines”, it is unclear whether the first “one or more industrial machines” from the claim 1 as the same as the multiple following “one or more industrial machines” from claim 1 and 7.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the cloud device" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites “one or more remote terminal units (RTUs)” from preamble and “one or more configurations that define a custom object for one or more RTUs” and a plurality of “the one or more RTUs” from the body. It is unclear whether those “one or more RTUs” referring to the one from preamble or the one from body, and it is also unclear whether the “one or more remote terminal units (RTUs)” the “one or more RTUs” referring to the same object. Claim 11 also recites a plurality of “one or more industrial machines”, it is unclear whether the first “one or more industrial machines” the same as the multiple following “one or more industrial machines”. Claim 11 also recites “converting, via the subset of one or more RTUs, the data from the type of one or more industrial machines to another type using the custom object”, it is unclear about the “another type” since it would be another type of data, or data with another machine type, or other format.
Claim 15 recites “an analog as digital converter”, it is unclear if the cited limitation means “an analog to digital converter” or treating an analog signal as a digital signal.
Claim 17 recites “one or more industrial machines”, however, claim 1 already recites a plurality of “one or more industrial machines”, it is unclear whether the first “one or more industrial machines” from the claim 11 as the same as the multiple following “one or more industrial machines” from claim 11 and 17.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the cloud device" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites “one or more remote terminal units (RTUs)” from preamble and “one or more configurations that define a custom object for one or more RTUs” and a plurality of “the one or more RTUs” from the body. It is unclear whether those “one or more RTUs” referring to the one from preamble or the one from body, and it is also unclear whether the “one or more remote terminal units (RTUs)” the “one or more RTUs” referring to the same object. Claim 20 also recites a plurality of “one or more industrial machines”, it is unclear whether the first “one or more industrial machines” the same as the multiple following “one or more industrial machines”. Claim 20 also recites “converting, via the subset of one or more RTUs, the data from the type of one or more industrial machines to another type using the custom object”, it is unclear about the “another type” since it would be another type of data, or data with another machine type, or other format.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beadle et al (hereinafter “Beadle”) (US 20240039820 A1) in view of Vasudevarao et al (hereinafter “Vasudevarao”) (US 20120066604 A1), and further in view of Weatherhead et al (hereinafter “Weatherhead”) (US 20150369013 A1).
As to claims 1, 11, and 20, Beadle teaches a method and system for remotely configuring one or more remote terminal units (RTUs) of a supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system ([0012, 0014] Beadle teaches a SCADA system communicates with industrial assets including RTUs, The SCADA system 102 of FIG. 1 is coupled to a remote substation 114 via a communications network, such as a private data radio network and/or a cellular telephone network. The substation 114 typically includes a number of peripherals 110 and at least one RTU 104 for data acquisition from substation 114 and/or from SCADA system 102), comprising: comprises:
providing, using a graphical user interface (GUI), a configuration area in which to specify one or more configurations that define a custom object for one or more RTUs associated with a type of one or more industrial machines;
(Beadle teaches an HMI associated with the SCADA system and teaches configuration objects/properties for RTUs. [0015, 0024, 0029-0030] SCADA system 102 operates in conjunction with a human-machine interface (HMI) 116…The SCADA system 102 links to HMI 116 for providing maintenance procedures, detailed schematics, logistic information, trend data, diagnostic data, configuration data transfer, and the like for a specific sensor or machine… managing configuration parameters of RTU 104 of automation system 100 of FIG. 1. An implementation layer of a messaging protocol embodying aspects of the present disclosure contains one or more properties that define features of RTU 104. For instance, the Sparkplug protocol is an MQTT payload suitable for use in configuring RTU 104. In an embodiment, Sparkplug provides a set of operating conventions to RTU 104 for use in configuring the device… An initial payload on RTU 104 in the form of a BIRTH message includes one or more metric names, initial data, and PropertySet items that are compliant with the Sparkplug protocol. The PropertySet objects that are associated with RTU 104 indicate parameters in need of configuration and/or that are capable of being configured. A Sparkplug B PropertySet object is used with a metric to add custom properties to the object… SCADA server 202 generates a subsequent payload in the form of a CMD message compliant with the Sparkplug protocol for RTU 104. The subsequent payload includes metric names and PropertySet configuration items for configuring the parameters of RTU 104)
identifying, using a set of one or more processors of a cloud computing system, a subset of the one or more RTUs associated with the type of one or more industrial machines;
(Beadle teaches specific devices have particular purposes affecting configuration and that configuration may be applied to one or more RTUs, and managing multiple devices and states that configuration control permits a plurality of devices to be synchronized [0017, 0032] industrial automation systems, such as system 100, typically include many industrial assets 120 executing many applications. The large number of assets 120 and applications and differing uses and capabilities create a complicated situation for configuring hardware. For instance, each specific device such as RTU 104, PLC 106, MVT 108, peripheral 110, etc. has a particular purpose that can impact configuration. Aspects of configuration may be applied to various industrial assets 120 in various control systems, including one or more of RTU 104, PLC 106, MVT 108, and peripheral 110… controlling configuration and other properties from SCADA server 202 and devices 204 permits them to be managed in a cost-effective manner and enables a plurality of devices 204 to be synchronized.… This enables replacement of a device 204 by downloading configuration to a replacement device 204. As described above, RTUs 104 are smart devices 204 connected to SCADA system 102. Applications for RTUs 104 include any remote industrial or resource monitoring, such as oil and gas (upstream and pipeline), water and wastewater distribution, renewable energy monitoring and control)
obtaining, using the set of one or more processors, the custom object defined by the one or more configurations;
(Beadle teaches obtaining and processing PropertySet objects containing configuration items associated with RTU parameters [0024, 0029-0031] … managing configuration parameters of RTU 104 of automation system 100 of FIG. 1. An implementation layer of a messaging protocol embodying aspects of the present disclosure contains one or more properties that define features of RTU 104. For instance, the Sparkplug protocol is an MQTT payload suitable for use in configuring RTU 104. In an embodiment, Sparkplug provides a set of operating conventions to RTU 104 for use in configuring the device… An initial payload on RTU 104 in the form of a BIRTH message includes one or more metric names, initial data, and PropertySet items that are compliant with the Sparkplug protocol. The PropertySet objects that are associated with RTU 104 indicate parameters in need of configuration and/or that are capable of being configured. A Sparkplug B PropertySet object is used with a metric to add custom properties to the object… SCADA server 202 generates a subsequent payload in the form of a CMD message compliant with the Sparkplug protocol for RTU 104. The subsequent payload includes metric names and PropertySet configuration items for configuring the parameters of RTU 104… Aspects of the present disclosure exploit the Sparkplug B protocol payloads to add configuration properties for RTU 104. These properties relate to metrics (points) in RTU 104. In addition, custom metrics can be added to the set to allow other/all RTU properties to be set…The RTU parameters include, for example, one or more alarm thresholds, alarm priorities, alarm delay settings, data logging frequencies, data source communications settings and/or properties relating to the RTU itself such as communications and security parameters)
providing, using the set of one or more processors, the custom object to the subset of the one or more RTUs associated with the type of one or more industrial machines;
(Beadle teaches that SCADA server 202 sends the subsequent payload containing PropertySet configuration items to RTU 104 to configure the RTU [0030-0031] SCADA server 202 generates a subsequent payload in the form of a CMD message compliant with the Sparkplug protocol for RTU 104. The subsequent payload includes metric names and PropertySet configuration items for configuring the parameters of RTU 104… the subsequent payload communicated from SCADA server 202 to device 204, takes the form of node or device commands in accordance with the Sparkplug protocol and includes a plurality of metrics. In an embodiment, each of the metrics has an associated name, alias, and metric parameters. The RTU parameters include, for example, one or more alarm thresholds, alarm priorities, alarm delay settings, data logging frequencies, data source communications settings and/or properties relating to the RTU itself such as communications and security parameters)
updating the subset of the one or more RTUs to interface with the type of one or more industrial machines using the custom object;
(Beadle teaches that the SCADA server communicates the subsequent PropertySet-containing payload to RTU 104 to configure the RTU parameters to control its associated peripheral device 110 [0016, 0020, 0027, 0030-0031, 0033] RTU 104 for collecting data on pump motor operation (e.g., motor speed and load). A variable speed drive motor controller, for example, generates this motor data. The RTU 104 also collects measurements from various wireless and wired field sensors around the well site…Other data collected by RTU 104 from the field sensors may include fluid flow rate, temperature, pressure, and the like…In accordance with the Sparkplug protocol, SCADA server 202 corresponds to a data collection and control host and RTU 104 corresponds to an EON node. The SCADA server 202 executes a host application responsible for supervision, monitoring, and control of the MQTT EON nodes and their respective devices, sensors, etc…the subsequent payload communicated from SCADA server 202 to device 204, takes the form of node or device commands in accordance with the Sparkplug protocol and includes a plurality of metrics…functionality of RTU 104 requires remote configurability. The remote configurability applies to many functions in RTU 104, including: data logging rates and rules per metric, such as frequencies and thresholds; metric scaling and signal conditioning, such as engineering unit conversion and digital input de-bounce; and RTU core behavior, such as communications parameters and setting security parameters)
obtaining, via the subset of one or more RTUs, data from the type of one or more industrial machines using the custom object; and thereafter converting, via the subset of one or more RTUs, the data from the type of one or more industrial machines to another type using the custom object.
(Beadle teaches SCADA server 202 executes a host application responsible for supervision, monitoring, and control of the RTUs and their respective devices, the RTUS obtains and converts data for the SCADA server according to the PropertySet-containing payload [0016, 0020, 0027, 0030-0031, 0033] In addition to the RTU 104, peripherals 110, and other components of remote substation 114, SCADA system 102 communicates with at least one PLC 106. In a SCADA-based control system, PLC 106 is connected to, for example, a sensor (i.e., peripheral 110) for collecting the sensor output signals and converting the signals into digital data. …RTU 104 for collecting data on pump motor operation (e.g., motor speed and load). A variable speed drive motor controller, for example, generates this motor data. The RTU 104 also collects measurements from various wireless and wired field sensors around the well site…Other data collected by RTU 104 from the field sensors may include fluid flow rate, temperature, pressure, and the like…In accordance with the Sparkplug protocol, SCADA server 202 corresponds to a data collection and control host and RTU 104 corresponds to an EON node. The SCADA server 202 executes a host application responsible for supervision, monitoring, and control of the MQTT EON nodes and their respective devices, sensors, etc…the subsequent payload communicated from SCADA server 202 to device 204, takes the form of node or device commands in accordance with the Sparkplug protocol and includes a plurality of metrics…functionality of RTU 104 requires remote configurability. The remote configurability applies to many functions in RTU 104, including: data logging rates and rules per metric, such as frequencies and thresholds; metric scaling and signal conditioning, such as engineering unit conversion and digital input de-bounce; and RTU core behavior, such as communications parameters and setting security parameters)
Beadle teaches a SCADA architecture having remotely configurable RTUs, an object/property-based configuration mechanism, communication of the configuration from a central server to the RTUs, updating RTU functionality according to the received configuration, and remotely configurable processing including data logging rates and rules per metric, such as frequencies and thresholds; metric scaling and signal conditioning, such as engineering unit conversion and digital input de-bounce; and RTU core behavior, such as communications parameters and setting security parameters [0024, 0027, 0030-0031, 0033]. Beadle does not explicitly teach “providing, using a graphical user interface (GUI), a configuration area in which to specify” the configurations defining the claimed custom object and clearly associating the GUI-defined custom object with “a type of one or more industrial machines”; and “identifying, using a set of one or more processors of a cloud computing system, a subset” of RTUs based upon the type of industrial machines associated with the RTUs and performing the claimed obtaining and providing operations specifically using the processors of a cloud computing system.
However, Vasudevarao teaches a method of configuring rules for SCADA data of a wind farm wherein at least a portion of the SCADA data for a selected group of the wind farm parameters is dynamically configured using a graphical user interface (GUI) that interfaces with a rules engine. Especially, Vasudevarao teaches the GUI configuration and industrial-machine-type aspects ([0046-0050] A computing device 402 that can be used as a SCADA-master is comprised of a HMI 404. The HMI 404 further comprises a GUI 406 than can be used by an operator to interact with SCADA data from the wind farm in a graphical manner… The SCADA-master 402 communicates over a network 410 with various remote terminal units (RTUs) 412. The network 410 can be wired (including fiber optic or other non-conductive mediums), wireless or a combination thereof as known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In one aspect, the RTUs can comprise turbine control units (TCUs), substation control units (SCUs), meteorological control units (MCUs), and the like… the GUI 406 can be used to provide a dynamic interactive interface for configuring rules (calculations).. if an operator wants to create a rule on only a specific turbine parameter, the operator need not create rule for each turbine of the wind farm… a specialized syntax can be used by an operator for creating rules for SCADA data. In one aspect, the syntax can be designed for SCADA considering the turbine types, categories and related systems (e.g., substation, meteorological, etc.) that are present in the wind farm… In one aspect, a syntax used according to an embodiment of the present invention combines the postfix notation used for generic compilers with specific wind farm hierarchy (e.g., Turbines->TurbineTypes->Turbine)… configurations of SCADA data can be propagated dynamically at run time and the SCADA-master and any RTUs 412 adapt to configuration changes in run time… the GUI 406 can have various options to help an operator create rules… new rules can be defined using parameters such as name, description, system, and the like. In one aspect, the intelligent picker adapts itself dynamically as the operator is creating a rule). Vasudevarao also teaches a RTU such as turbine control unit having a sensor interface containing analog-to-digital converters that convert analog sensor signals into digital signals [0042-0043].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Vasudevarao with the teachings of Beadle for the purpose of using a GUI configuration area in which an operator defines configurable rules/functionality, associating such functionality with industrial-machine types, dynamically propagating configuration changes to RTUs, and conversion by the RTUs of industrial-machine sensor information into another data form.
Weatherhead teaches a system and method for cloud-based configuration of remote terminal units (RTUs). Especially, Weatherhead teaches leverages the cloud-based computing system to improve the operations of various industrial devices such as the RTUs, wherein the cloud computing system identifying RTUs according to their associated industrial-device type, selecting/obtaining corresponding software functionality, providing that functionality to the appropriate RTU, and executing the provided functionality at the RTU to interface with and obtain data from the associated industrial device [0030-0031, 0033, 0077, 0082, 0085-0089, 0097-0101] Upon sending configuration data to the RTU, the cloud-based computing system may store a profile associated with the respective RTU that includes details regarding the configuration of the RTU. If the RTU is replaced, the cloud-based computing system may retrieve the profile of the previous RTU and send the configuration of the previous RTU to the replacement RTU, thereby maintaining the operation of the RTU… the cloud-based computing system may analyze the data acquired by the RTU at the hydrocarbon well site and provide recommendations concerning how to control the operations of well devices at the well site based on the analysis… the cloud-based computing system may have access to a large amount of data that may include commissioning instructions or workflows for various different types of well devices… the cloud-based computing system serve as a hub for information related to various operations related to the hydrocarbon well site... Although the use of the cloud-based computing system 12 with the RTU 46 may enable improved operations at the hydrocarbon site 30, the improved operations are based on the ability of the RTU 46 to communicatively couple to the cloud-based computing system 12 and the ability of a user of the RTU 46 to configure the RTU 46 correctly. Given the different types of RTUs 46 that may be used at the hydrocarbon site 30, the different types of well devices that may be employed at the hydrocarbon site 30… Examples of the data related to the RTU 46 may include an indication of an identity of the RTU 46, a location (e.g., global positioning system (GPS) coordinate) of the RTU 46, a context or relationship of the RTU 46 within the cloud-based communication architecture 20, a vendor associated with the RTU 46, a model number associated with the RTU 46, a serial number associated with the RTU 46, a firmware version associated with the RTU 46, a well device software application associated with the RTU 46, and the like. Data related to the well device may include an indication of a type of the well device (e.g., ESP, GL, RPC, PCP, etc.)… the cloud-based computing system 12 may store the commissioning instructions for the RTU 24 or other well devices for distribution to various users in the cloud-based communication architecture… the RTU 24 may receive any relevant firmware and/or software updates from the cloud-based computing system 12… the RTU 24 may transmit the acquired data to the cloud-based computing system 12… cloud-based computing system 12 to automatically configure a new asset discovered in the hydrocarbon site 30. At block 136, the cloud-based computing system 12 may determine whether a new asset (e.g., RTU 46… the cloud-based computing system 12 may send data associated with the identified profile to the new asset. As such, the cloud-based computing system 12 may send configuration data (e.g., gateway configuration, RTU configuration, instrument configuration (well devices), firmware, firmware updates, software applications, software application updates, etc.) to the new asset).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Weatherhead with the teachings of Beadle and Vasudevarao for the purpose of using cloud-based automatic selection and distribution architecture to automate the selection and deployment of the appropriate machine-specific RTU configuration/software based upon the type of industrial device associated with the RTU.
As to claims 2 and 12, Vasudevarao teaches the configuration area provides an area for indicating one of a plurality of template types for the custom object to be configured [0047-0050]. Beadle further teaches that RTU configurations differ according to the particular industrial application and the PropertySet/custom properties are used ti configure RTU functionality [0029-0033]
As to claims 3 and 13, Beadle and Vasudevarao combine to teach each of the plurality of template types comprise: one or more predetermined configurations for an operational scenario or an industrial machine type; and one or more configurable values (Beadle [0029-0033]; Vasudevarao [0047-0050]).
As to claims 4 and 14, Beadle and Vasudevarao combine to teach changing the one or more configurable values responsive to user input (Beadle [0029-0030]; Vasudevarao [0047]).
As to claims 5 and 15, Weatherhead teaches the one or more predetermined configurations comprise one or more of: an analog threshold, an analog as digital converter, a digital output controller, an integrator, and a flow rate calculation [0053, 0059-0063].
As to claims 6 and 16, Vasudevarao teaches using a shared memory pool of a respective RTU to store the custom object [0046-0050, 0066].
As to claims 7 and 17, Vasudevarao teaches the shared memory pool includes a message queue for one or more event messages generated from one or more industrial machines [0030, 0046-0050, 0066, 0096-0099].
As to claims 8 and 18, Weatherhead teaches determining the updating was interrupted by receipt of the one or more event messages; and obtaining log data to the cloud device relating to interruption of the updating [0085-0086, 0092-0096, 0101-0104].
As to claimd 9 and 19, Beadle teaches using an error code of the log data to identify an error type [0031-0036].
As to claim 10, Beadle teaches indicating the error type [0031-0036].
Conclusion
/ZHIPENG WANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115