CTNF 18/758,767 CTNF 74878 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 10-13, 17-23, 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YANG (US 2022/0352967 A1), hereinafter YANG . Reading claim 10 , YANG discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by an extension device (the aggregation unit 110, see figure 1 ), indication information from a control device, wherein the indication information indicates at least one radio frequency device (any one of TRxPs, see figure 1 ) that performs target uplink transmission, and the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission is a serving radio frequency device of at least one terminal device that performs the target uplink transmission ( the BBU 115 provides downlink signals to the aggregation unit 110 for distribution to the TRxPs 101 - 104 . Some embodiments of the BBU 115 include one or more ports 125 that are connected to corresponding ports in the aggregation unit 110 via the fronthaul link 120 . The downlink signals are therefore transmitted to the aggregation unit 110 via the one or more ports 125 . The downlink signals include frequency domain signals that convey symbols in one or more subcarriers at different frequencies or time domain signals that represent one or more symbols , see ¶ 0044, figure 1 ); receiving, by the extension device, a signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission ( the aggregation unit 110 received uplink transmission from the TRxPs 101-104 and further transmit to BBU115 after processing, see ¶ 0045 and figure 1) ; and sending, by the extension device, an uplink signal to the control device, wherein the uplink signal is determined based on the signal received from at least one radio frequency device in the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission ( the aggregation unit 110 received uplink transmission from the TRxPs 101-104 and further transmit to BBU115 after processing, see ¶ 0045, 0052 and figure 1) . Reading claim 11 , YANG discloses receiving, by the extension device, the signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission and a signal from a radio frequency device that does not perform the target uplink transmission ( the aggregation unit 110 , which sums the received signals from the TRxPs 101 - 104 to form a summed signal that is transmitted to the baseband unit 115 over the fronthaul link 120 , see ¶ 0045 and figure 1 ). Reading claim 12 , YANG discloses receiving, by the extension device, only the signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission ( the aggregation unit 110 generates the summed signal by summing the uplink signals received from the TRxP 101 and the TRxP 103 , while ignoring, dropping, or filtering out uplink signals received from the TRxP 102 and the TRxP 104 . The aggregation unit 110 then transmits the summed signal over the fronthaul link 120 to the BBU 115 , see ¶ 0052). Reading claim 13, YANG discloses sending, by the extension device to the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission, an instruction indicating to perform the target uplink transmission, or sending, to a radio frequency device that does not perform the target uplink transmission, an instruction indicating not to perform the target uplink transmission (the AU generate specific TRxP DL signal 710 and transmit to the TRxP in signal 715, see figure 7 ). Reading claim 14 , YANG discloses wherein the indication information indicates at least one radio frequency device that performs uplink transmission in at least one time unit, the at least one time unit comprises a target time unit for performing the target uplink transmission, and the at least one radio frequency device that performs the uplink transmission in the at least one time unit is a serving radio frequency device of at least one terminal device that performs the uplink transmission in the at least one time unit ( the downlink signals include frequency domain signals that convey symbols in one or more subcarriers at different frequencies or time domain signals that represent one or more symbols, see ¶ 0044 ). Reading claim 17 , YANG discloses receiving, by the extension device, a downlink signal from the control device; and sending, by the extension device, the downlink signal to the radio frequency device that performs the target downlink transmission ( the BBU 115 provides downlink signals to the aggregation unit 110 for distribution to the TRxPs 101 - 104 . Some embodiments of the BBU 115 include one or more ports 125 that are connected to corresponding ports in the aggregation unit 110 via the fronthaul link 120 . The downlink signals are therefore transmitted to the aggregation unit 110 via the one or more ports 125 , see ¶ 0044 ). Reading claim 18 , YANG discloses sending, by the extension device to the radio frequency device that performs the target downlink transmission, an instruction indicating to perform the target downlink transmission, or sending, to a radio frequency device that does not perform the target downlink transmission, an instruction indicating not to perform the target downlink transmission; receiving, by the extension device, a downlink signal from the control device; and sending, by the extension device, the downlink signal to the radio frequency device that performs the target downlink transmission ( the baseband unit 115 generates instructions that are transmitted to the aggregation unit 110 , which generates the first SSB that is common to all the TRxPs 101 - 104 and unique second SSBs that identify each of the TRxPs 101 - 104 , as discussed herein. The first SSB is then provided to all of the TRxPs 101 - 104 and the unique second SSBs are provided to the corresponding TRxPs 101 - 104 , see ¶ 0048-0049 ). Reading claim 19 , YANG discloses wherein the indication information further indicates at least one radio frequency device that performs downlink transmission in at least one time unit, the at least one time unit comprises a target time unit for performing the target downlink transmission, and the at least one radio frequency device that performs the downlink transmission in the at least one time unit is a serving radio frequency device of a terminal device that performs the downlink transmission in the at least one time unit ( the downlink signals are therefore transmitted to the aggregation unit 110 via the one or more ports 125 . The downlink signals include frequency domain signals that convey symbols in one or more subcarriers at different frequencies or time domain signals that represent one or more symbols, see ¶ 0044 ). Reading claim 20 , YANG discloses an apparatus (the combination of Ethernet switch and UL signal combiner, see figures 3-4), comprising: at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is coupled to at least one memory, and the at least one processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions stored in the at least one memory, to enable the apparatus to perform operations comprising: receiving, by an extension device (the aggregation unit 110, see figure 1 ), indication information from a control device, wherein the indication information indicates at least one radio frequency device (any one of TRxPs, see figure 1 ) that performs target uplink transmission, and the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission is a serving radio frequency device of at least one terminal device that performs the target uplink transmission ( the BBU 115 provides downlink signals to the aggregation unit 110 for distribution to the TRxPs 101 - 104 . Some embodiments of the BBU 115 include one or more ports 125 that are connected to corresponding ports in the aggregation unit 110 via the fronthaul link 120 . The downlink signals are therefore transmitted to the aggregation unit 110 via the one or more ports 125 . The downlink signals include frequency domain signals that convey symbols in one or more subcarriers at different frequencies or time domain signals that represent one or more symbols , see ¶ 0044, figure 1 ); receiving, by the extension device, a signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission ( the aggregation unit 110 received uplink transmission from the TRxPs 101-104 and further transmit to BBU115 after processing, see ¶ 0045 and figure 1) ; and sending, by the extension device, an uplink signal to the control device, wherein the uplink signal is determined based on the signal received from at least one radio frequency device in the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission ( the aggregation unit 110 received uplink transmission from the TRxPs 101-104 and further transmit to BBU115 after processing, see ¶ 0045, 0052 and figure 1) . Reading claim 21 , YANG discloses receiving, by the extension device, the signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission and a signal from a radio frequency device that does not perform the target uplink transmission ( the aggregation unit 110 , which sums the received signals from the TRxPs 101 - 104 to form a summed signal that is transmitted to the baseband unit 115 over the fronthaul link 120 , see ¶ 0045 and figure 1 ). Reading claim 22 , YANG discloses receiving, by the extension device, only the signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission ( the aggregation unit 110 generates the summed signal by summing the uplink signals received from the TRxP 101 and the TRxP 103 , while ignoring, dropping, or filtering out uplink signals received from the TRxP 102 and the TRxP 104 . The aggregation unit 110 then transmits the summed signal over the fronthaul link 120 to the BBU 115 , see ¶ 0052). Reading claim 23, YANG discloses sending, by the extension device to the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission, an instruction indicating to perform the target uplink transmission, or sending, to a radio frequency device that does not perform the target uplink transmission, an instruction indicating not to perform the target uplink transmission ( the AU generate specific TRxP DL signal 710 and transmit to the TRxP in signal 715, see figure 7 ). Reading claim 21 . The apparatus according to claim 20, wherein receiving the signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission comprises: receiving the signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission and a signal from a radio frequency device that does not perform the target uplink transmission. Reading claim 22 . The apparatus according to claim 20, wherein receiving the signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission comprises: receiving only the signal from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission. Reading claim 23 . The apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer program or the instructions stored in the at least one memory, to enable the apparatus to perform operations further comprising: sending to the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission, an instruction indicating to perform the target uplink transmission, or sending, to a radio frequency device that does not perform the target uplink transmission, an instruction indicating not to perform the target uplink transmission. Reading claim 24 . The apparatus according to claim 20, wherein the indication information indicates at least one radio frequency device that performs uplink transmission in at least one time unit, the at least one time unit comprises a target time unit for performing the target uplink transmission, and the at least one radio frequency device that performs the uplink transmission in the at least one time unit is a serving radio frequency device of at least one terminal device that performs the uplink transmission in the at least one time unit. Reading claim 27 , YANG discloses receiving, by the extension device, a downlink signal from the control device; and sending, by the extension device, the downlink signal to the radio frequency device that performs the target downlink transmission ( the BBU 115 provides downlink signals to the aggregation unit 110 for distribution to the TRxPs 101 - 104 . Some embodiments of the BBU 115 include one or more ports 125 that are connected to corresponding ports in the aggregation unit 110 via the fronthaul link 120 . The downlink signals are therefore transmitted to the aggregation unit 110 via the one or more ports 125 , see ¶ 0044 ). Reading claim 28 , YANG discloses sending, by the extension device to the radio frequency device that performs the target downlink transmission, an instruction indicating to perform the target downlink transmission, or sending, to a radio frequency device that does not perform the target downlink transmission, an instruction indicating not to perform the target downlink transmission; receiving, by the extension device, a downlink signal from the control device; and sending, by the extension device, the downlink signal to the radio frequency device that performs the target downlink transmission ( the baseband unit 115 generates instructions that are transmitted to the aggregation unit 110 , which generates the first SSB that is common to all the TRxPs 101 - 104 and unique second SSBs that identify each of the TRxPs 101 - 104 , as discussed herein. The first SSB is then provided to all of the TRxPs 101 - 104 and the unique second SSBs are provided to the corresponding TRxPs 101 - 104 , see ¶ 0048-0049 ). Reading claim 29 , YANG discloses wherein the indication information further indicates at least one radio frequency device that performs downlink transmission in at least one time unit, the at least one time unit comprises a target time unit for performing the target downlink transmission, and the at least one radio frequency device that performs the downlink transmission in the at least one time unit is a serving radio frequency device of a terminal device that performs the downlink transmission in the at least one time unit ( the downlink signals are therefore transmitted to the aggregation unit 110 via the one or more ports 125 . The downlink signals include frequency domain signals that convey symbols in one or more subcarriers at different frequencies or time domain signals that represent one or more symbols, see ¶ 0044 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG in view of CHOI et al. (US 2016/0234773 A1), hereinafter CHOI ‘773 . Reading claims 14 and 24 , YANG fails to explicitly disclose wherein the indication information indicates at least one radio frequency device that performs uplink transmission in at least one time unit, the at least one time unit comprises a target time unit for performing the target uplink transmission, and the at least one radio frequency device that performs the uplink transmission in the at least one time unit is a serving radio frequency device of at least one terminal device that performs the uplink transmission in the at least one time unit. In the same field of endeavor, CHOI ‘773 discloses thee BBU/A-GW receiving the UL signal information response message determines a time interval in which an RRH entering the switched-off state should wake up and receive a UL signal. Subsequently, the BBU/A-GW may transmit information about the time interval to the RRH entering the switched-off state. The RRH receiving information about the time interval may wake up and receive a UL signal of the UE only in this time interval ( see ¶ 0145 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement CHOI ‘773 ’s teaching in the network taught by YANG for scheduling allows for more efficient transport of data over the fiber (e.g., CPRI/eCPRI) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15-16, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG in view of CHOI et al. (US 2016/0270006 A1), hereinafter CHOI ‘006 . Reading claims 15-16 and 25-26 , YANG fails to disclose a power of the signal received from the at least one radio frequency device in the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission is greater than a preset power threshold and detecting, by the extension device, the power of the signal received from the at least one radio frequency device that performs the target uplink transmission. In the same field of endeavor, CHOI ‘006 discloses acquiring the RRH information about the power headroom of the RRH, the BBU determines a required power that the BBU requests the RRH to allocate for transmission of a DL signal in consideration of the power headroom information about the RRH (S 520 ). The required power may be determined as a certain range or a specific value. In addition, the required power may be determined within the power headroom of the RRH or determined as a value exceeding the range of the power headroom of the RRH ( see ¶ 0077, 0078 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement CHOI ‘006 ’s teaching in the network taught by YANG to minimize interference caused by the transmission power of the RRHs. Conclusion Any response to this action should be mailed to: The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only: Mail Stop _____________ Commissioner for Patents P. O. Box 1450 Alexandria, VA 22313-1450 or faxed to: (571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Bob A. Phunkulh whose telephone number is (571) 272-3083. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. (first week of the bi-week) and Monday-Friday (for second week of the bi-week). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor CHARLES C. JIANG can be reach on (571) 270-7191. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 3 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 4 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 5 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 6 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 7 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 8 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 9 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 10 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 11 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/758,767 Page 12 Art Unit: 2412