35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overholser 2933714 in view of Holland et al 2014/0315428.
Regarding claim 1, Overholser (Figure 2) substantially discloses the claimed invention, including a coaxial adapter, comprising: a housing defining a cavity therein; a male connector coupled to the housing; and a connector 5 at least partially disposed in the cavity of the housing and configured to receive and secure a coaxial cable (not shown). Holland et al (Figure 16) discloses the female connector 1644 includes: an electrically conductive tube disposed in the housing and in electrical communication with the male connector 1758, and to form connector 5 of Overholser as a female connector thus would have been obvious, to facilitate connection to a mating male cable connector.
Regarding claim 2, Overholser discloses the male connector 12 projects from a first surface of the housing 16 away from the housing and the female connector is configured to receive and secure the coaxial cable such that the coaxial cable is positioned substantially perpendicular to the male connector.
Regarding claim 3, Overholser (as modified by Holland et al) discloses the female connector 5 includes a receiving portion that is defined by a second surface of the housing, and the receiving portion is configured to receive the coaxial cable.
Regarding claim 4, Overholser discloses the second surface of the housing 16 is substantially perpendicular to the first surface of the housing.
Regarding claim 5, Overholser (as modified by Holland et al) discloses the receiving portion permits access to the cavity of the housing 16 and the coaxial cable is configured for insertion into the receiving portion to engage the electrically conductive tube.
Regarding claim 6, Overholser (as modified by Holland et al) discloses the coaxial cable is configured to mechanically engage the electrically conductive tube to electrically connect the coaxial cable and the male connector 12 via the electrically conductive tube.
Regarding claim 7, Overholser (as modified by Holland et al) discloses the electrically conductive tube includes an engaging portion (the unnumbered inner spring of 1644 of Holland et al) that is configured to engage a center conductor of the coaxial cable to couple the coaxial cable to the coaxial adapter.
Regarding claim 8, Overholser (as modified by Holland et al) the engaging portion is configured to engage the center conductor of the coaxial cable such that a pull-out force required to remove the center conductor from the electrically conductive tube is greater than an insertion force required to insert the center conductor into the electrically conductive tube 16.
Regarding claim 9, Overholser discloses the electrically conductive tube 16 is configured to receive and secure a center conductor of the coaxial cable, and the electrically conductive tube is configured to receive only the center conductor of the coaxial cable therein.
Regarding claim 10, Overholser discloses the electrically conductive tube 16 is at least partially surrounded by a dielectric material, and the dielectric material 6 is contained within an electrically conductive shielding 16.
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 15-20, the subject matter therein has been dealt with above.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the second portion of the pin being inserted into the tube to electrically connect the center conductor of the coaxial cable to the pin; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim and any intervening claims.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834