DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 6/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 8, and 17 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “wherein the base includes a pair of leg cradles” in line 1 of the claim renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this is a second pair of leg cradles in addition to the pair of leg cradles defined in Claim 1 (and therefore Claim 5 requires a total of four leg cradles), or if this was intended to refer back to the same pair of leg cradles previously defined in Claim 1, rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has assumed that this was intended to refer back to the same pair of leg cradles defined in Claim 1 and not define an additional pair of leg cradles, and so the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --wherein the base includes the
Claims 6-7 are rejected due to their dependence on indefinite Claim 5.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the base includes a pair of leg cradles, wherein each leg is rotatably coupled to the base adjacent an associated leg cradle, and wherein in the stowed configuration each of the pair of legs are received by the associated leg cradle and fit within a footprint of the base” in lines 1-4 of the claim. However, independent Claim 1 recites in line 4 of the claim “a pair of legs rotatably coupled to the first end of the base” (emphasis added), and additionally recites “wherein the base includes a pair of leg cradles positioned on the sides of the base adjacent the first end, and wherein in the stowed configuration the pair of legs are received by the leg cradles and fit within a footprint of the base” in lines 13-16 of the claim. Accordingly, Claim 1 already requires all the features of Claim 5, namely that the base includes a pair of leg cradles corresponding to an associated leg of the base, which receives the associated leg when that leg is rotated into its leg cradle and fits within a footprint of the base. Therefore, Claim 5 fails to further limit the subject matter of Claim 1 in any way.
Claims 6-7 depend on Claim 5 and therefore inherit the rejection of Claim 5.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cornell et al. (US 2018/0149344, hereinafter “Cornell”).
Regarding claim 1, Cornell discloses an area light (light 50; see Figs. 1-20; Abstract; para. [0029]-[0031], [0033], [0035], [0051]-[0052]), comprising a base having a first end, a second end, a top end, and a top end and a bottom end extending between the first end and the second end (base 55 includes a top end 80 (i.e. a first end), a bottom end 85 (i.e. a second end), and a front 90 (i.e. a top end) and a back 95 (i.e. a bottom end) extending between the first end and the second end; see Figs. 1-13; para. [0029]-[0045], [0051]); a pair of legs rotatably coupled to the first end of the base adjacent the bottom end, wherein the pair of legs are coupled to sides of the base and are positioned closer to the bottom end than the top end (legs 60 are rotatably coupled to sides 100 of the base 55 at the first end 80 of the base at the legs’ proximal ends 180, at a position closer to the bottom end 95 of the base than the top end 90; see Figs. 1-3, 8-14, 16; para. [0029]-[0030], [0033]-[0042], [0051]-[0052]), wherein the pair of legs are rotated towards the base when the area light is in a stowed configuration and are rotated away from the base when the area light is in an open configuration (see Figs. 1-3, 8-14, 16; para. [0029]-[0030], [0033]-[0042], [0051]-[0052]); and a light body having a mast and a light head coupled to the mast (a light body 65 having a mast 70 and a light head 75 coupled to the mast; see Figs. 1-3, 10-12, 15-16, 20; para. [0029], [0033], [0037], [0042]-[0045], [0050]-[0053]), the light body being rotatably coupled to the top end adjacent the first end of the base (the light body 65 is rotatably coupled to the top end 90 of the base 55 at the first end 80 by a rotational light deploy mechanism 255; see Figs. 1-3, 10-12, 15-16, 20; para. [0029], [0033], [0037], [0042]-[0045], [0050]-[0053]), wherein the light body is rotated towards the base when the area light is in the stowed configuration and is rotated away from the base when the area light is in the open configuration (see Figs. 1-3, 10-12, 15-16, 20; para. [0029], [0033], [0037], [0042]-[0045], [0050]-[0053]); wherein in the stowed configuration the pair of legs extend toward the top end (the legs 60 extend generally towards the top end 90 as they are rotated towards the stowed configuration, as shown in Figs. 1-3), wherein the base includes a pair of leg cradles positioned on the sides of the base adjacent the first end (the base 55 includes a leg cradle 175 for each leg 60 positioned on opposite sides of the base adjacent the first end thereof; see Figs. 1-5, 8, 10-12; para. [0034], [0036], [0041], [0051]), and wherein in the stowed configuration the pair of legs is received by the leg cradles and fits within a footprint of the base (see Figs. 1-5, 8, 10-12; para. [0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Cornell discloses wherein the mast includes a plurality of telescoping members configured to extend and retract the mast along a mast axis (the mast 70 comprises a plurality of telescoping members 285 including a first telescoping member 285a, a second telescoping member 285b, and a third telescoping member 285c; see Figs. 1, 10-12, 15-19; para. [0045]-[0050]), wherein each telescoping member of the plurality of telescoping members has an adjustment assembly configured to selectively lock the telescoping member to an adjacent telescoping member (the telescoping members 285 (285a, 285b, 285c) include a first adjustment mechanism 330 and a second adjustment mechanism 335 which each include a cuff 340 and a latch 345 rotatably connected to the cuff to provide an adjustment assembly which selectively locks adjacent telescoping members relative to each other; see Figs. 1, 10-12, 15, 17, 20; para. [0047]-[0050], [0053]), and wherein each telescoping member has a rectangular profile when viewed along the mast axis (the telescoping members 285 have a rectangular profile; see Figs. 1, 15, 18, 20).
Regarding claim 3, Cornell discloses wherein the adjustment assembly includes a cuff and a friction lever rotatably coupled to the cuff between a locked position and an unlocked position (the adjustment assembly of each of the adjustment mechanisms 330, 335 comprise a cuff 340 and a latch 345 rotatably connected to the cuff between a locked position and an unlocked position; see Figs. 15, 17, 20; para. [0047]-[0050], [0053]), wherein in the locked position the adjustment assembly prevents the adjacent telescoping member from moving with respect to the adjustment assembly (see Figs. 15, 17, 20; para. [0047]-[0050], [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Cornell discloses wherein the mast extends along a mast axis between a first end and a second end (the mast 70 extends along a mast axis between a first end where the mast is rotatably connected to the base 55 by a rotational light deploy mechanism 255, and a second end where the light head 75 is rotatably connected by a hinge 370; see Figs. 1, 10-12, 15; para. [0029], [0033], [0042], [0050]-[0052]), and wherein the light body further includes a handle positioned adjacent the first end and extending generally parallel to the mast axis (the rotational light deploy mechanism 255 includes a sleeve 260 positioned adjacent the first end of the mast 70 which extends parallel to the mast axis and is grasped by a user to slide linearly along the light body 65 to unlock the mast and allow rotational adjustment of the mast; see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Cornell discloses wherein the base includes a pair of leg cradles (the base 55 includes a leg cradle 175 for each leg 60; see Figs. 1-5, 8, 10-12; para. [0034], [0036], [0041], [0051]), wherein each leg is rotatably coupled to the base adjacent an associated leg cradle (each leg 60 includes a proximal end 180 that is rotatably coupled to the base 55 at a respective leg cradle 175; see Figs. 1-4, 7-14; para. [0034]-[0036]), and wherein in the stowed configuration each of the pair of legs is received by the associated leg cradle and fits within the footprint of the base (see Figs. 1-5, 8, 10-12; para. [0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Cornell discloses wherein each leg includes a proximal end coupled to the associated leg cradle (each leg 60 includes a proximal end 180 that is coupled to the base 55 at the leg cradles 175; see Figs. 1-5, 7-14; para. [0034]-[0036]) and a distal end having a foot configured to engage a surface in the open configuration (the distal ends 185 of the legs 60 form the feet of the area light 50 when in the open configuration; see Figs. 1, 9-12, 14; para. [0035], [0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Cornell discloses wherein in the stowed configuration the pair of legs are approximately parallel to each other (see Figs. 1-5, 7-8; para. [0034]-[0036], [0041]-[0042], [0051]-[0052]), and wherein in the open configuration the pair of legs are angled with respect to each other such that a distance between each of the distal ends is greater than a distance between each of the proximal ends and the pair of legs creates a wide base (see Figs. 1, 9-12; para. [0034]-[0037], [0041]-[0042], [0051]-[0052]).
Claims 8-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harvey et al. (US 2016/0312967, hereinafter “Harvey”).
Regarding claim 8, Harvey discloses an area light configured to provide light to an active working area (stand light 10; see Figs. 1-3; para. [0028], [0040]-[0041], [0043]), comprising a base extending between a first end and a second end (a support assembly 22 which extends between a first/upper end and a second/lower end; see Figs. 1-3, 10-13; para. [0028], [0039]-[0040], [0044]-[0048]); a pair of legs coupled to the first end of the base for movement between an open configuration and a stowed configuration (the base 22 includes a plurality of legs 142 hingedly coupled at a first end 146 of the legs to a collar 134 of the base to pivot between an open configuration and a stowed configuration; see Figs. 1-3, 10-13; para. [0039]-[0042], [0047]-[0048], [0069]-[0071]); a mast coupled to the first end of the base, the mast including a plurality of telescoping members configured to extend and retract the mast along a mast axis (an elongate body 14 that includes a first, top end 30 and a second, bottom end 34 coupled to the base 22, the elongate body is a telescoping body that includes a plurality of elongate telescoping members, or extension poles, to allow the body to be extendable in length, specifically a first extension pole 38 and a second extension pole 42; see Figs. 1-3, 9-10, 12-13; para. [0028]-[0031], [0034]-[0035], [0039]-[0040], [0042]-[0045], [0047]-[0050]); and a light head extending along a plane between a first head end coupled to the mast, and a second head end (a head assembly 60 that includes three independent light heads 62 that are each pivotably coupled between a pair of hinge lobes 66 attached to the mast 14, each light head defining a first end attached to the hinge lobes and extending towards a second end having a rectangular cover lens through which light is transmitted; see Figs. 1-5; para. [0032]-[0033], [0049], [0061], [0072]-[0073]), wherein the light head includes a light source and a lens configured to emit light in a light distribution pattern (the light heads 62 each include a plurality of LEDs arranged in an array and enclosed by a cover lens to emit light in a generally uniform light distribution pattern towards a desired area; see Figs. 4-5; para. [0032]-[0033], [0061], [0064]; the Examiner notes that while the cover lenses are not individually labeled, they are clearly illustrated in Fig. 4), wherein the light head is supported on the mast in a cantilevered fashion with the second head end extending away from the mast (each of the light heads 62 are rotatably connected to the hinge lobes 66 at their first head end only while their second head ends containing their cover lenses extend away from the mast 14 and are not attached to anything; see Figs. 4-5; para. [0032]-[0033]; the Examiner notes that, since the light heads 62 are supported at only their lower/first end, they are supported in a cantilevered fashion since by definition, “cantilever” refers to anything which is supported at one end (see the dictionary definition of “cantilever” at https://www.ahdictionary.com/word/search.html?q=cantilever)); wherein in the light distribution pattern all the light is distributed below the plane and more than 50% of the light is distributed within the active working area (the light heads 62 are rotatable to transmit at least more than 50% of the light within the desired working area in a generally uniform light distribution pattern; see Figs. 4-5; para. [0032]-[0033], [0061], [0064]).
Regarding claim 9, Harvey discloses wherein in the light distribution pattern more light is distributed past the second head end of the light head than past the first head end (light is emitted from the light heads 62 at their second head ends where the cover lenses is located, and no light is emitted at the first head ends where the light heads are connected to the hinge lobes 66, which by default means that more light is distributed past the second head end of the light head than the first head end; see Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 10, Harvey discloses wherein in the light distribution pattern, more than 50% of the light is distributed in front of the light head, away from the mast (light is emitted from the light heads 62 at their second head ends where the cover lenses are located, which are positioned opposite the first head ends attached to the hinge lobes 66 and connected to the mast 14, which means that at least more than 50% of the emitted light distribution pattern is emitted in a direction in front of the light head and away from the mast, depending on the direction the light head has been rotated; see Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 11, Harvey discloses wherein the light head is positioned with the second head end directly above the base and more of the light of the light distribution pattern is distributed toward the second end of the base than toward the first end of the base (the light heads 62 are mounted on top of the mast 14 which is positioned directly above the base 22, such that both ends of the light heads are mounted directly above the base, and the light heads can be pivoted to emit light in a direction where at least a portion of the light distribution pattern is closer to the second/lower end of the base than the first/upper end thereof; see Figs. 4-5; para. [0028]-[0030], [0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 12, Harvey discloses the area light further comprising a light driver module configured to control the light source, wherein the light drive module controls a brightness of the light source using analog current control (the area light 10 comprises a user interface 354 connected to a controller and including an actuator 358 (i.e., a power switch) and various control functions, such as a mode actuator operable to change an intensity of the light which includes a high intensity actuator 370 to increase the light intensity by turning on more LEDs and/or increasing power to the currently illuminated LEDs, and a low intensity actuator 374 to decrease low intensity light by turning off some LEDs and/or decreasing power to the currently illuminated LEDs, which means that the control circuit is an analog control circuit since the power/current to the LEDs can be varied; see Fig. 18; para. [0062]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 13, Harvey discloses the area light further comprising a user interface configured to receive an input indicating a desired brightness and generate a brightness output associated with received input (user interface 354 comprises a high intensity actuator 370 to increase the light intensity by turning on more LEDs and/or increasing power to the currently illuminated LEDs, and a low intensity actuator 374 to decrease low intensity light by turning off some LEDs and/or decreasing power to the currently illuminated LEDs; see Fig. 18; para. [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 14, Harvey discloses the area light further comprising an analog control circuit configured to receive the brightness input; generate a brightness control signal based on the received brightness output; and provide the generated brightness control signal to the light driver module (the user interface 354 is connected to a controller and comprises a high intensity actuator 370 to increase the light intensity by turning on more LEDs and/or increasing power to the currently illuminated LEDs, and a low intensity actuator 374 to decrease low intensity light by turning off some LEDs and/or decreasing power to the currently illuminated LEDs, which means the control circuit is an analog control circuit since the power/current to the LEDs can be varied; see Fig. 18; para. [0062]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Harvey discloses wherein the analog control circuit used a DC current to control the brightness of the light source (the base 22 includes a base housing 18 that includes a battery pack interface defining a recess 282 that receives a battery pack 274 to power the area light 10 with DC power, and also includes a power module 300 including an AC input 314 and an AC/DC converter 318 to convert AC power into DC power to provide an alternate power source for the area light; see Figs. 1-3, 9-11, 14-18; para. [0028], [0030], [0049], [0051]-[0060], [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvey (US 2016/0312967) in view of Bihong (US 2020/0370716). The teachings of Harvey have been discussed above.
However, the teachings of Harvey fail to specifically disclose the analog control circuit is an RC circuit.
Bihong teaches an electronic device (device 100; see Figs. 1-5; par. [0031]), comprising a lighting module (lighting module 140; see Figs. 1-5; para. [0031], [0033]-[0035]) comprising a light driver module configured to control a light source, wherein the light driver module is an analog control circuit which is an RC circuit (control circuit 143 which controls the lighting module 140 is a resistor/capacitor (RC) circuit; see par. [0035]).
Therefore, in view of Bihong, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the area light of Harvey by utilizing an RC circuit as the analog control circuit. One would have been motivated to modify the known area light of Harvey by utilizing an RC circuit as the analog control circuit, as taught by Bihong, in order to utilize conventional circuitry to control the light sources which is simple and low-cost.
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell (US 2018/0149344) in view of Sharrah et al. (US 2015/0192243, hereinafter “Sharrah”).
Regarding claim 17, Cornell teaches an area light (light 50; see Figs. 1-20; Abstract; para. [0029]-[0031], [0033], [0035], [0051]-[0052]), comprising a base (base 55; see Figs. 1-13; para. [0029]-[0045], [0051]); a pair of legs coupled to the base, wherein the legs are each positioned adjacent the base when the area light is in a stowed configuration and the legs each extend away from the base when the area light is in an open configuration (legs 60 are rotatably coupled to the base 55 and rotate into corresponding leg cradles 175 within the base when the area light is in a stowed configuration and rotated out to extend away from the base when the area light is in an open configuration; see Figs. 1-3, 8-14, 16; para. [0029]-[0030], [0033]-[0042], [0051]-[0052]); a light body having a mast and a light head coupled to the mast (a light body 65 having a mast 70 and a light head 75 coupled to the mast; see Figs. 1-3, 10-12, 15-16, 20; para. [0029], [0033], [0037], [0042]-[0045], [0050]-[0053]), the light body being rotatably coupled to a top surface of the base (the light body 65 is rotatably coupled to a front 90 of the base 55 at a top end 80 by a rotational light deploy mechanism 255; see Figs. 1-3, 10-12, 15-16, 20; para. [0029], [0033], [0037], [0042]-[0045], [0050]-[0053]), wherein the light body is rotated towards the base when the area light is in the stowed configuration and is rotated away from the base when the area light is in the open configuration (see Figs. 1-3, 10-12, 15-16, 20; para. [0029], [0033], [0037], [0042]-[0045], [0050]-[0053]); a latch assembly configured to retain the light body in the open configuration (a rotational light deploy mechanism 255 that includes a sleeve 260 having a hook 265 that can engage with notches 270 of a rotational coupling 250 to latch the light body 65 at a desired angle; see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]); and a stop member that biases the mast toward the stowed configuration (rotational coupling 250 includes notches which engage the hook 265 of the sleeve 260 to bias the mast 70 toward the stowed configuration and a desired angular orientation; see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]), wherein the stop member is positioned on the top surface of the base and engages a lower surface of the mast to bias the mast toward the stowed configuration (the stop member 250 is positioned on the top surface 90 of the base 55 at a light cradle 170 sized and shaped to receive the light body 65, and is connected to a lower surface of the mast 70 to bias the mast toward the stowed configuration and the desired angular orientation; see Figs. 1-3, 9-12, 15-16; para. [0030], [0033], [0042]-[0044], [0052]); wherein in the open configuration the mast is secured between the stop member and the latch assembly to improve stability of the mast (see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]).
However, the teachings of Cornell fail to disclose or fairly suggest the stop member is a resilient pad.
Sharrah teaches an area light (portable light 10; see Figs. 1A-8I; par. [0020]), comprising a base (base 20; see Figs. 1A-2F; para. [0020], [0023]-[0024], [0026]-[0027]); a pair of legs coupled to the base, wherein the legs are each positioned adjacent the base when the area light is in a stowed configuration and the legs each extend away from the base when the area light is in an open configuration (deployable legs 30; see Figs. 1A-3D; para. [0020], [0023]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0042]); a light body having a mast and a light head coupled to the mast (a light body that includes a telescoping/extendable pole 40 and a light head 70 coupled to the end of the pole is connected to the base 20 by a pivot and latch assembly 50; see Figs. 1A-3B, 4A-5D, 8A-8C; para. [0020]-[0022], [0026]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0040]-[0041]), the light body being rotatably coupled to a top surface of the base (see Figs. 1A-3B, 4A-5D, 8A-8C; para. [0020]-[0023], [0026]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0040]-[0041], [0049], [0051], [0053], [0066]), wherein the light body is rotated towards the base when the area light is in the stowed configuration and is rotated away from the base when the area light is in the open configuration (see Figs. 1A-3B, 4A-5D, 8A-8C; para. [0020]-[0023], [0026]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0040]-[0041], [0049], [0051], [0053], [0066]); a latch assembly configured to retain the light body in the open configuration (a pivot and latch assembly 50 retains the light body in the open and stowed configurations by allowing the mast 40 to be pivoted, and includes a latch 80 held in place by a latch plate 82 pivotably mounted on a pair of legs that extend upward from support plate 86 and is biased upward toward pivot and latch assembly 50 by a latch spring 83; see Figs. 1A-3B, 4A-5D, 8A-8C; para. [0020]-[0023], [0026]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0040]-[0041], [0049], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0059], [0066]); and a stop member that biases the mast toward the stowed configuration, wherein the stop member is a resilient pad positioned on the top surface of the base and engages a lower surface of the mast to bias the mast toward the stowed configuration (latch plate 82 defines a stop member which is biased upward toward pivot and latch assembly 50 by a latch spring 83, and engages a base holder 52 holding a lower surface of the mast 40 to bias the mast toward the desired configuration by utilizing complementary engaging features 52r and 82e to snap into engagement and provide the latching operation, all of which are mounted on a top portion of the base 20; see Figs. 1A-3B, 4A-5D, 8A-8C; para. [0022]-[0023], [0026]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0040]-[0041], [0049], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0059], [0066]); wherein in the open configuration the mast is secured between the stop member and the latch assembly to improve stability of the mast (see Figs. 1A-3B, 4A-5D, 8A-8C; para. [0022]-[0023], [0026]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0040]-[0041], [0049], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0059], [0066]).
Therefore, in view of Sharrah, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the area light of Cornell by selecting a resilient pad as the stop member, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the level of ordinary skill. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) and MPEP 2143. One would have been motivated to modify the known area light of Cornell by selecting a resilient pad as the stop member, as taught by Sharrah, in order to provide an alternate mechanism to provide the biasing force and secure the mast in the desired angular orientation without altering the functionality of the rotational latch.
Regarding claim 19, Cornell teaches wherein the light body rotates about a rotation axis and the latch assembly is spaced from the rotation axis (the light body 65 rotates about a rotation axis defined by the stop member (rotational coupling 250) and the latch assembly 260 is spaced from the rotational axis; see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]), the latch assembly includes a plunger that selectively engages an opening in the mast to prevent rotation of the light body relative to the base (the latch assembly 260 includes a notch 265 defining a plunger that selectively engages with notches 270 in the stop member 250 of the mast 70 to secure a rotational position of the mast; see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]), wherein the plunger is narrower than the opening and movable perpendicular to the rotation axis (the plunger 265 is narrower than the openings 270 which it is intended to be inserted into, and is attached to the latch assembly 260 which is slidable along the mast 70 in a direction perpendicular to the rotational axis; see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]).
Regarding claim 20, Cornell teaches wherein the stop member is coupled to the base and is spaced from the rotation axis (the stop member 250 is positioned on the top surface 90 of the base 55 at a light cradle 170 sized and shaped to receive the light body 65, and structurally arranged to space the openings 270 away from the rotational axis; see Figs. 1-3, 9-12, 15-16; para. [0030], [0033], [0042]-[0044]), wherein the stop member is configured to engage the mast to bias the mast toward the stowed configuration (see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]), and wherein the stop member biases the mast such that the plunger is held against a side of the opening (see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to amended Claim 8 and Harvey (US 2016/0312967) that “Specifically, claim 8 recites “a light source and a lens” and that “the light head is supported on the mast in a cantilevered fashion with the second head extending away from the mast”, and that “Harvey’s configuration comprises multiple independent light heads that pivot independently--this is not a cantilevered light head extending away from the mast as recited in amended claim 8” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pgs. 6-7), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In this case, Harvey teaches that the light head in each disclosed embodiment (i.e., the light head 50 of the Figs. 1-3 embodiment and the light heads 62 of the Figs. 4-5 variation) comprises a plurality of LEDs arranged in an array to provide uniform illumination of an area. As shown in Fig. 4, while not individually labeled with their own reference number, each of the light heads 62 comprises a rectangular cover lens through which light is to be transmitted. Therefore, Harvey discloses “wherein the light head includes a light source and a lens configured to emit light in a light distribution pattern” as recited in amended Claim 8.
Further, Harvey teaches each of the light heads 62 are pivotably coupled between a pair of hinge lobes 66 at the top of the elongate body/mast 14 (see Figs. 4-5; par. [0032]). In order to be considered cantilevered, an object must be supported at one end thereof while another end of that object is unsupported (see the dictionary definition of “cantilever” at https://www.ahdictionary.com/word/search.html?q=cantilever). Since the light heads 62 are supported at only their lower/first end by the hinge lobes 66, with the other end of the light heads extending away in an opposite direction, they are supported in a cantilevered fashion as claimed. Therefore, Harvey discloses “wherein the light head is supported on the mast in a cantilevered fashion with the second head end extending away from the mast” as recited in amended Claim 8.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to amended Claim 1 that “Neither Cornell nor Proeber teaches leg cradles positioned on the sides of the base adjacent the first end that receive the legs in the stowed configuration such that the legs fit within the footprints of the base” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 7), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In this case, Applicant’s attention is respectfully directed to par. [0034] of Cornell (US 2018/0149344), which states “the base 55 includes a leg cradle 175 for each leg 60. The leg cradles are sized and shaped to receive the legs 60. The leg cradles are positioned on each side 100 of the base 55. When the legs are in the stowed configuration, the legs fit generally within the perimeter of the base” (see also Figs. 1-5, 8, 10-12; para. [0036], [0045], [0051]). Therefore, Cornell clearly and explicitly teaches leg cradles positioned on the sides of the base adjacent the first end that receive the legs in the stowed configuration such that the legs fit within the footprints of the base, exactly as recited in amended Claim 1.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to Claim 17 that “The Examiner’s assertion that one of ordinary skill in the art would substitute a resilient pad for a spring ignores the specific structural requirements of the claim. The claimed stop member must be “positioned on the top surface of the base” and must “engage a lower surface of the mast.” Sharrah teaches neither this location nor this engagement. There is no teaching or suggestion in Sharrah to relocate the spring to the top surface of the base to directly engage the mast” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pgs. 7-8), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In this case, Cornell teaches a stop member in the form of a rotational coupling 250 which is positioned on the top surface 90 of the base 55 at a light cradle 170 sized and shaped to receive the light body 65, which is connected to a lower surface of the mast 70 to bias the mast toward a desired angular configuration by being latched to the sleeve 260 of the rotational light deploy mechanism 255 (see Figs. 1-3, 9-12, 15-16; para. [0030], [0033], [0042]-[0044], [0052]). Therefore, the primary reference Cornell teaches “a stop member that biases the mast toward the stowed configuration, wherein the stop member is positioned on the top surface of the bae and engages a lower surface of the mast to bias the mast toward the stowed configuration” as recited in Claim 17. However, Cornell fails to specifically teach the stop member is a resilient pad.
However, Sharrah teaches a pivot and latch assembly 50 which retains the light body in the open and stowed configurations by allowing the mast 40 to be pivoted, and includes a latch 80 held in place by a latch plate 82 pivotably mounted on a pair of legs that extend upward from support plate 86 and is biased upward toward pivot and latch assembly 50 by a latch spring 83 (see Figs. 1A-3B, 4A-5D, 8A-8C; para. [0020]-[0023], [0026]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0040]-[0041], [0049], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0059], [0066]). It is this latch plate 82 of Sharrah which defines a stop member biased upward toward the pivot and latch assembly 50 by a latch spring 83, and engages a base holder 52 holding a lower surface of the mast 40 to bias the mast toward the desired configuration by utilizing complementary engaging features 52r and 82e to snap into engagement and provide the latching operation (see Figs. 1A-3B, 4A-5D, 8A-8C; para. [0022]-[0023], [0026]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0040]-[0041], [0049], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0059], [0066]). As shown in Figs. 1A-3B and 4A-5D, the latch plate 82 and the other components of Sharrah’s pivot and latch assembly 50 are all mounted on a top portion of the base 20. Accordingly, Sharrah teaches “a stop member that biases the mast toward the stowed configuration, wherein the stop member is a resilient pad positioned on the top surface of the base and engages a lower surface of the mast to bias the mast toward the stowed configuration” as recited in Claim 17.
Accordingly, since both Cornell and Sharrah each teach “a stop member that biases the mast toward the stowed configuration, wherein the stop member is positioned on the top surface of the bae and engages a lower surface of the mast to bias the mast toward the stowed configuration” as recited in Claim 17, and Sharrah teaches the stop member is a resilient pad in the form of a latch plate 82, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the area light of Cornell by selecting a resilient pad as the stop member, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the level of ordinary skill. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) and MPEP 2143. One would have been motivated to modify the known area light of Cornell by selecting a resilient pad as the stop member, as taught by Sharrah, since replacing one known stop member with another having the same latching functionality would maintain Cornell’s rotatable latching configuration for the mast, in order to provide an alternate mechanism to provide the biasing force and secure the mast in the desired angular orientation without altering the functionality of the rotational latch.
Regarding the Applicant’s additional argument that “the claimed arrangement requires that “in the open configuration the mast is secured between the stop member and the latch assembly to improve stability of the mast.” This requires the stop member to push against the mast from below while the latch assembly secures from above while the latch assembly secures from above. Sharrah’s spring 83 does not provide this configuration-- it merely biases a latch plate, not the mast itself” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 8), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In this case, Sharrah teaches latch plate 82 is biased upward toward the pivot and latch assembly 50 by a latch spring 83, and engages a base holder 52 holding a lower surface of the mast 40 to bias the mast toward the desired configuration by utilizing complementary engaging features 52r and 82e to snap into engagement and provide the latching operation (see Figs. 1A-3B, 4A-5D, 8A-8C; para. [0022]-[0023], [0026]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0040]-[0041], [0049], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0059], [0066]). In other words, the latch spring 83 biases the latch plate 82 from below and therefore causes the latch plate to push against the mast 40 from below while the base holder 52 of the pivot and latch assembly 50 holds the base of the mast and provides a downward biasing force via its engaging features 52r that snap into engagement with the corresponding engaging features 82e of the latch plate/stop member 82. Therefore, Sharrah teaches “wherein in the open configuration the mast is secured between the stop member and the latch assembly to improve stability of the mast” as recited in Claim 17.
However, even if the secondary reference Sharrah lacked this particular teaching, then it would not alter the rejection of Claim 17 at all since the primary reference Cornell already teaches the mast 70 is secured between the stop member 250 and the latch assembly 260 to improve stability of the mast in the open configuration and other angular configurations (see Figs. 15-16; para. [0042]-[0044], [0052]). Therefore, Cornell and Sharrah both teach “wherein in the open configuration the mast is secured between the stop member and the latch assembly to improve the stability of the mast” as recited in Claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kwong et al. (US 2023/0349519) and Fang (US 2016/0298831) each disclose area lights comprising a base having a pair of legs rotatably coupled to the base and a light body rotatably coupled to the base and having a mast and a light head coupled to the mast, the legs and light body being deployable between an open configuration and a stowed configuration.
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875