DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant wants to claim priority to the date of the provisional Application filed on 06/09/2020 which does not give written description to the claims. The only priority Examiner can give to current Application is 06/28/2024.
Applicant argues that limitations
“updating a delay locked loop to maintain synchronization stability;
determining a relative differential timing between periodic transmitted signals and received signals to establish a propagation delay between said reference transmitter and said anchor device”
are well known and conventional and therefore do not require written description.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that the limitations are conventional, the reference by D2 used updating delay loop in very specific situations for radio signal which are encoded used pseudo random code to bring them to alignment(it adjusts the value of time shift).
Applicant claiming “updating DLL” which can be interpreted as modifying DLL procedure. Examiner interpretation under BRI allowed using one of the interpretations to reject the claim but does not cover for example modifying DLL procedure.
Specification does not describe the specifics and therefore Examiner is unsure what exactly is performed.
Applicant’s arguments regarding 103 rejection are moot, as newly submitted Amendments caused a new grounds of rejection and the 103 rejection is modified to address the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Limitation “communicating relative anchor delays, derived from said propagation delay, to anchors in range of said anchor device, said anchors in range being other anchors of said pulsed wireless location system” lacks written description and considered new matter.
Limitation “updating a delay locked loop of said anchor device to maintain synchronization stability of said anchor device with respect to said reference transmitter” lacks written description and considered new matter.
Limitation “determining a relative differential timing between periodic transmitted signals and received signals to establish a propagation delay between said reference transmitter and said anchor device” due to the fact that Application is continuation of the 17/343,372 lacks the written description and cannot use Priority date of 06/09/2020. It can use the priority date 06/28/2024 when Application was filed.
Also combination of the limitation “receiving and interpreting, at said anchor device, at least one anchor pulsed location signal transmitted by said reference transmitter, said at least one anchor pulsed location signal comprising a radio frequency pulsed signal;” with rest of the claim also lacks written description and can be considered new matter.
Applicant, in specification, broadly talks about receiving signals, analyzing it and sending to other nodes. Nothing in the speciation indicates the particularities of the claim(especially as amended).
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11 recite the limitation "periodic transmitted signals and received signals" in lines 10, 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20110141853 A1 in view of D2 US 6313789 B1.
Regarding claims 1, 11 D1 teaches
1. (Currently Amended) A method of synchronizing timing to ensure coarse multi- nanosecond accuracy generated by an anchor device of a pulsed wireless location system(preamble no patentable weight), wherein at least one reference transmitter incorporates timing information in its pulsed location data and signals, said method comprising:
receiving and interpreting[0089], at said anchor device(104), at least one anchor pulsed location signal(114) transmitted by said reference transmitter(112),
synchronized clocks (claim 11)
determining a relative differential timing between periodic transmitted signals and received signals to establish a propagation delay between said reference transmitter (round trip time )and said anchor device; and[0089](arrival time received)[0093]( round trip time calculated)
communicating position of one anchor (104) to other anchors(104) in range. [0080], [0081]
but does not teach
said at least one anchor pulsed location signal comprising a radio frequency pulsed signal;
updating a delay locked loop of said anchor device to maintain synchronization stability of said anchor device with respect to said reference transmitter;
communicating relative anchor delays, derived from said propagation delay, to anchors in range of said anchor device, said anchors in range being other anchors of said pulsed wireless location system
Although D1 does not explicitly teach radio frequency It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 to use radio frequencies to extend positioning to the other environments where GPS is shielded but Radio frequencies are available.(the only reason why D1 uses ultrasound is because radio waves do not propagate under water.)
Although D1 does not explicitly say communicating relative anchor delays
D1 teaches communication low power position signal [0080] to be transmitted to the other 104 devices, at the same time D1 teaches that data such as depth, time of flight can be used to calculate position, and hence it is obvious to transmit depth, time of flight to another 104 device so that the position is calculated at 104. It is just instead of sending position coordinates sending information which is required for calculation of the position and therefore just simple redirection of the processing.
D2 teaches adjusting DLL for synchronization(col 4 line 59 - col 5 line 3)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D2 in order maintain synchronization as required in D1.
2, 12. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the at least one anchor pulsed location signal comprises: receiving the at least one anchor pulsed location signal through a line of sight path. (D1: abstract with fig. 1 acoustic signal)
3, 13. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the at least one anchor pulsed location signal comprises: receiving the at least one anchor pulsed location signal through a non-line of sight path. D1: [0047] (gps signal)
4, 14. The method of claim 3, the non-line of sight path comprising a line of sight barrier. D1: [0047]
5, 15. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving and interpreting at least one global navigation satellite systems (GNSS) signal. D1: (abstract)
6, 16. The method of claim 1, further comprising: calculating a distance to a source of the anchor pulse location signal; and communicating the calculated distance to the anchors in range. D1: [0080,0081]
For claims 7 and 17 D1 teaches
7, 17. The method of claim 1, further comprising: calculating a distance to a source of the anchor pulse location signal; [0065]
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
and communicating the calculated distance to a cloud server.
Communication of data to another device is taught by D1 [0034, 0095] and the communication is performed by a network, hence communication to cloud is just obvious design choice modification.
8, 18. The method of claim 1, the anchor device comprising at least one of a pulse wireless location system (PWLS) tag, radio frequency identification (RFID) tag, a cell phone, a computer, a personal data assistant D1: (PDA)(104 fig. 6).
9, 19. The method of claim 1, the received anchor pulse location signal comprising a radio frequency signal, the radio frequency signal comprising a time modulated ultra-wide band (TM-UWB) impulse radio signal. D1: [0047, 0069](obvious modification depending on medium)
10, 20. The method of claim 1, the anchor device and the anchors in range being co-planar. (obvious design choice as D1 does not restrict the location (D1: [0009-0010]) and two devices can always be considered coplanar.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELENA H SERAYDARYAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648