DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of PCT/CN2021/142161 filed 12/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/1//2024, 2/17/2025 and 7/9/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive..
Argument: Regarding independent claim 1, the applicant argues that Shi does not disclose “a strip-shaped opening”, per amended independent claim 1.
Response: The examiner disagrees. Claim amendment has changed the scope of invention. Claim 1 is now rejected with Shi (US 2008/0266196 A1), in view of Pan et al. (2020/0106172 A1).
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 recites “strip=shaped” in line 3 of claim 7, which need to be replaced with “strip-shaped”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1-5 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 2008/0266196 A1), in view of Pan et al. (2020/0106172 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shi (‘196) discloses “a transfer structure (paragraph 1: electrical conducting apparatus incorporating a coupling between a waveguide and a microstrip line; paragraph 4: a waveguide to microstrip line coupling apparatus), comprising:
a circuit board (Figure 4C: PCB 406) (Figure 3) comprising:
a first metal layer, comprising: a radiation portion comprising: a first end; and
opening to enable the radiation portion to form at least two resonance frequencies; and a microstrip coupled to the first end (paragraph 16: a microstrip patch 1121 …connected to a microstrip line 110 through a one quarter wavelength impedance transformer 1182 for impedance matching purposes; paragraph 17: a cylindrical waveguide 1303 has an end 132 affixed to the surface 122 of the substrate 120, the end 132 surrounding the microstrip patch 112, with a wall opening 134 ("mouse hole")4 provided at the end 132 of the waveguide 130 adjacent to the substrate 120 to accommodate the microstrip line 110; paragraph 18: the microstrip patch exhibits one or more resonant frequencies defining a resonant bandwidth both within the waveguide's bandwidth of efficiently transmitted frequencies and sufficient to cover that of the signals to be transmitted; paragraph 23: Figure 9: a microstrip patch 412 has a side 414 generally aligned with a microstrip line 410 exhibiting a comb-like structure in which concave portions alternate with convex portions…there will be two resonances, one from each of the opposite sides, which provide an additional design adjustment for the shaping of the overall resonant bandwidth5);
a second metal layer, configured to be grounded; and a dielectric layer, located between the first metal layer and the second metal layer (paragraph 15: Figures 3-4: a substrate 1206 is provided with a microstrip line 110 on a surface 122 thereof…an electrically conducting ground layer7 is provided on an opposite surface 124 of the substrate 120).”
Shi (‘196) does not explicitly disclose that opening is “a strip-shaped opening.”
Pan et al. (‘172) relates to an electromagnetic apparatus. Pan et al. (‘172) teaches that opening is “a strip-shaped opening (Figure 4: 424).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer structure of Shi (‘196) with the teaching of Pan et al. (‘172) for an improved transition structure for antenna device (Pan et al. (‘172) – paragraph 5). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Shi (‘196) and Pan et al. (‘172)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, antenna structure of small dimensions and permitting use of multiple frequency bands.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 1. Shi (‘196) further discloses “the circuit board comprises a first side proximate to the first metal layer, and wherein the transfer structure further comprises a waveguide located on the first side and comprising: a microstrip avoidance groove comprising a groove wall, wherein the microstrip is disposed opposite to the microstrip avoidance groove at a first interval from the groove wall; and a waveguide port disposed opposite to the radiation portion, and wherein the radiation portion is configured to emit a signal to pass through the waveguide port and the transfer structure (paragraph 16: a microstrip patch 1128 …connected to a microstrip line 110 through a one quarter wavelength impedance transformer 1189 for impedance matching purposes; paragraph 17: a cylindrical waveguide 13010 has an end 132 affixed to the surface 122 of the substrate 120, the end 132 surrounding the microstrip patch 112, with a wall opening 134 ("mouse hole")11 provided at the end 132 of the waveguide 130 adjacent to the substrate 120 to accommodate the microstrip line 110; paragraph 18: the microstrip patch exhibits one or more resonant frequencies defining a resonant bandwidth both within the waveguide's bandwidth of efficiently transmitted frequencies and sufficient to cover that of the signals to be transmitted; paragraph 23: Figure 9: a microstrip patch 412 has a side 414 generally aligned with a microstrip line 410 exhibiting a comb-like structure in which concave portions alternate with convex portions…there will be two resonances, one from each of the opposite sides, which provide an additional design adjustment for the shaping of the overall resonant bandwidth12).”
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 1. Shi (‘196) further discloses “the radiation portion is a rectangle and has an axis of symmetry (Figure 4), and wherein the microstrip is disposed to be deviated from the axis of symmetry (Figures 3-4; Figure 9).”
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Shi (‘196) discloses the transfer structure of claim 1. Shi (‘196) describes the end 132 surrounding the microstrip patch 112, with a wall opening 134 provided at the end 132 of the waveguide 130 adjacent to the substrate 120 to accommodate the microstrip line 110 (Figure 4; paragraph 17). Shi (‘196) does not explicitly disclose “the radiation portion comprises an edge, and wherein the strip-shaped opening is disposed at a first interval from the edge.”
Pan et al. (‘172) relates to an electromagnetic apparatus. Pan et al. (‘172) teaches “the radiation portion comprises an edge, and wherein the strip-shaped opening is disposed at a first interval from the edge (paragraph 112: Figure 4C: 424: the magnetic field radiating component 424 may be loops coupled to the feed 410 electric field radiating component 422. The magnetic field radiating components 424 provide a further increase a bandwidth as well as some impedance matching for the radiating component as a whole).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer structure of Shi (‘196) with the teaching of Pan et al. (‘172) for an improved transition structure for antenna device (Wang et al. (‘932) – paragraph 5). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Shi (‘196) and Wang et al. (‘932)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, antenna structure of small dimensions and permitting use of multiple frequency bands.
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 3, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 1. Shi (‘196) describes waveguide 130 has an end 132 affixed to the surface 122 of the substrate 120, the end 132 surrounding the microstrip patch 112, with a wall opening 134 provided at the end 132 of the waveguide 130 adjacent to the substrate 120 to accommodate the microstrip line 110 (Figure 4; paragraph 17). Shi (‘196) does not explicitly disclose “the radiation portion comprises: a first edge coupled to the microstrip; and a second edge located away from the first edge, the strip-shaped opening, comprises a second end coupled to the second edge.”
Pan et al. (‘172) relates to an electromagnetic apparatus. Pan et al. (‘172) teaches “the radiation portion comprises an edge, and wherein the strip-shaped opening is disposed at a first interval from the edge (paragraph 112: Figure 4C: 424: the magnetic field radiating component 424 may be loops coupled to the feed 410 electric field radiating component 422. The magnetic field radiating components 424 provide a further increase a bandwidth as well as some impedance matching for the radiating component as a whole).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer structure of Shi (‘196) with the teaching of Pan et al. (‘172) for an improved transition structure for antenna device (Wang et al. (‘932) – paragraph 5). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Shi (‘196) and Wang et al. (‘932)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, antenna structure of small dimensions and permitting use of multiple frequency bands.
Regarding claim 12, which is dependent on claim 2, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 2. Shi (‘196) further discloses “the waveguide further comprises: a second side proximate to the waveguide port; and a shielding groove disposed on the second side, and further disposed at a second interval from the waveguide port and the microstrip avoidance groove (Figure 4).”
Regarding claim 13, which is dependent on claim 12, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 12. Shi (‘196) further discloses “the shielding groove surrounds a periphery of the waveguide port (Figure 4).”
Regarding claim 14, which is dependent on claim 12, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 12. Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) further discloses “a depth of the shielding groove is an odd multiple of
/4, and wherein
is an operating wavelength of the transfer structure (paragraph 16: Mmcrostrip patch 112 may be connected to microstrip line 110 through a one quarter wavelength impedance transformer 118 for impedance matching purposes…impedance transformer 118 is shown as a continuation of a common electrical conductor also comprising microstrip line 110 and microstrip patch 112, made from the same material with a length of one quarter wavelength at the center frequency and a width designed for optimal impedance matching).”
Regarding claim 15, which is dependent on claim 2, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) anticipates the transfer structure of claim 4. Shi (‘196) further discloses “the waveguide further comprises: a waveguide body; and a boss that protrudes from the waveguide body towards the circuit board, and that is in contact with the circuit board (Figure 4).”
Regarding claim 16, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 1. Shi (‘196) further discloses “the first metal layer further comprises a first transition portion configured for impedance matching between the microstrip and the radiation portion, and coupled between the radiation portion and the microstrip along a direction from the radiation portion to the microstrip (paragraph 16: a microstrip patch 11213 …connected to a microstrip line 110 through a one quarter wavelength impedance transformer 11814 for impedance matching purposes; paragraph 17: a cylindrical waveguide 13015 has an end 132 affixed to the surface 122 of the substrate 120, the end 132 surrounding the microstrip patch 112, with a wall opening 134 ("mouse hole")16 provided at the end 132 of the waveguide 130 adjacent to the substrate 120 to accommodate the microstrip line 110; paragraph 18: he microstrip patch exhibits one or more resonant frequencies defining a resonant bandwidth both within the waveguide's bandwidth of efficiently transmitted frequencies and sufficient to cover that of the signals to be transmitted; paragraph 23: Figure 9: a microstrip patch 412 has a side 414 generally aligned with a microstrip line 410 exhibiting a comb-like structure in which concave portions alternate with convex portions…there will be two resonances, one from each of the opposite sides, which provide an additional design adjustment for the shaping of the overall resonant bandwidth17).”
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 2008/0266196 A1)/Pan et al. (2020/0106172 A1), and further in view of Wang et al. (US 7,629,932 B2).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 4, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 1. Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) does not explicitly disclose “the strip-shaped opening comprises: a first strip-shaped opening segment comprising a second end; and a second strip-shaped opening segment, comprising a third end to one coupled to the second end.”
Wang et al. (‘932) elates to antenna apparatus, and an associated methodology, forming a hybrid strip antenna of a multi-mode device. Wang et al. (‘932) teaches “the strip-shaped opening comprises: a first strip-shaped opening segment comprising a second end; and a second strip-shaped opening segment, comprising a third end to one coupled to the second end (Figure 2).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer structure of Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) with the teaching of Wang et al. (‘932) or an improved transition structure for antenna device (Wang et al. (‘932) – column 2 lines 32-34). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Shi (‘196) and Wang et al. (‘932)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, antenna structure of small dimensions and permitting use of multiple frequency bands.
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 6, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172)/Wang et al. (‘932) discloses the transfer structure of claim 6. Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) does not explicitly disclose “the second strip-shaped opening segment further comprises a fourth end located distal from the second end, wherein the opening further comprises a third strip-shaped opening segment comprising a fifth end coupled to the fourth end, and wherein the third strip-shaped opening segment is parallel to and disposed at a second interval from the first strip-shaped opening segment.”
Wang et al. (‘932) relates to antenna apparatus, and an associated methodology, forming a hybrid strip antenna of a multi-mode device. Wang et al. (‘932) teaches “the second strip-shaped opening segment further comprises a fourth end located distal from the second end, wherein the opening further comprises a third strip-shaped opening segment comprising a fifth end coupled to the fourth end, and wherein the third strip-shaped opening segment is parallel to and disposed at a second interval from the first strip-shaped opening segment (Figure 2).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer structure of Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) with the teaching of Wang et al. (‘932) or an improved transition structure for antenna device (Wang et al. (‘932) – column 2 lines 32-34). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Shi (‘196), Pan et al. (‘172) and Wang et al. (‘932)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, antenna structure of small dimensions and permitting use of multiple frequency bands.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 2008/0266196 A1)/Pan et al. (2020/0106172 A1), and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2002/0075185 A1).
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on claim 4, which is dependent on claim 4, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 1. Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) does not explicitly disclose “the second strip-shaped opening segment is disposed perpendicular to the first strip-shaped opening segment.”
Wang et al. (‘185) relates to antenna for communication device. Wang et al. (‘185) teaches “the second strip-shaped opening segment is disposed perpendicular to the first strip-shaped opening segment (paragraph 10: the antenna element includes first and second radiating segments. The first radiating segment includes first and second conductive strips…the first conductive strip has a substantially L shape and is disposed along first and second sides of the housing. The second conductive strip is also of substantially L shape and has one end connected to the first conductive strip near the second side of the housing and one free end extending towards the first side of the housing).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer structure of Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) with the teaching of Wang et al. (‘185) for an improved transition structure for antenna device (Wang et al. (‘185) – paragraph 9). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Shi (‘196), Pan et al. (‘172) and Wang et al. (‘185)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, antenna structure permitting use of multiple frequency bands.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 2008/0266196 A1)/Pan et al. (2020/0106172 A1), and further in view of Xiao et al. (US 2021/0359407 A1).
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on claim 4, which is dependent on claim 4, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 4. Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) does not explicitly disclose “a length of the opening ranges from 0.5*
to 1.5*
, wherein a width of the opening ranges from 0.01*
to 0.2*
, and wherein
is an operating wavelength of the transfer structure.”
Xiao et al. (‘407) relates to antenna system. Xiao et al. (‘407) teaches “a length of the opening ranges from 0.5*
to 1.5*
, wherein a width of the opening ranges from 0.01*
to 0.2*
, and wherein
is an operating wavelength of the transfer structure (paragraph 22: a circumference of the ring resonator is 0.8 to 1.2 times an operating wavelength of the first antenna or the second antenna; paragraph 26: a total transverse length of the transmission line and the open-circuit stub is 0.8 to 1.2 times an operating wavelength of the first antenna or the second antenna; paragraph 137: a transverse length of the stepped impedance resonator is 0.1 to 0.4 times an operating wavelength of the first antenna 11 or the second antenna 12…the transverse length of the stepped impedance resonator is 0.15 to 0.35 times the operating wavelength of the first antenna 11 or the second antenna 12. For example, the transverse length of the stepped impedance resonator is 0.2 to 0.3 times the operating wavelength of the first antenna 11 or the second antenna 12; paragraph 138: the transverse length of the stepped impedance resonator is determined based on 0.25 times the operating wavelength of the first antenna 11 or the second antenna 12. For example, the transverse length of the stepped impedance resonator is obtained through adjustment on the basis of 0.25 times the operating wavelength of the first antenna 11 or the second antenna 12…a process of determining the transverse length of the stepped impedance resonator includes: performing fine adjustment based on a requirement by using 0.25 times the operating wavelength of the first antenna 11 or the second antenna 12 as a center, and using a value obtained after the adjustment as the transverse length of the stepped impedance resonator. For example, 0.25 times the operating wavelength of the first antenna 11 or the second antenna 12 is used as the center, the operating wavelength is adjusted leftward or rightward by 0.15 times…a minimum value obtained after the adjustment to the left is as follows: 0.25 times the operating wavelength −0.15 times the operating wavelength=0.1 times the operating wavelength…a minimum value obtained after the adjustment to the right is as follows: 0.25 times the operating wavelength+0.15 times the operating wavelength=0.4 times the operating wavelength. Therefore, the transverse length of the stepped impedance resonator is 0.1 to 0.4 times the operating wavelength).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer structure of Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) with the teaching of Xiao et al. (‘407) for an improved transition structure for antenna device (Xiao et al. (‘407) – paragraph 6). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Shi (‘196), Pan et al. (‘172) and Xiao et al. (‘407)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, antenna structure permitting use of multiple frequency bands.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 2008/0266196 A1)/Pan et al. (2020/0106172 A1), and further in view of Dorsey (US 2025/0158292 A1).
Regarding claim 10, which is dependent on claim 3, which is dependent on claim 4, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) discloses the transfer structure of claim 3. Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) does not explicitly disclose “the radiation portion comprises a first edge, and wherein the opening comprises: a first strip-shaped opening segment extending along a first direction to the first edge; and a second strip-shaped opening segment, extending along a second direction to the first edge, and intersecting with the first strip-shaped opening segment on the first edge.”
Dorsey (‘292) relates to antenna for wireless communication. Dorsey (‘292) teaches “the radiation portion comprises a first edge, and wherein the opening comprises: a first strip-shaped opening segment extending along a first direction to the first edge; and a second strip-shaped opening segment, extending along a second direction to the first edge, and intersecting with the first strip-shaped opening segment on the first edge (Figure 3).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer structure of Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172) with the teaching of Dorsey (‘292) for an improved transition structure for antenna device (Dorsey (‘292) – paragraph 6). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Shi (‘196), Pan et al. (‘172) and Dorsey (‘292)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, antenna structure permitting use of multiple frequency bands.
Regarding claim 11, which is dependent on claim 10, Shi (‘196)/Pan et al. (‘172)/Dorsey (‘292) discloses the transfer structure of claim 10. Shi (‘196) further discloses “the radiation portion further comprises a second edge coupled to the microstrip and adjacent to the first edge (Figure 4; paragraph 17: a cylindrical waveguide 13018 has an end 132 affixed to the surface 122 of the substrate 120, the end 132 surrounding the microstrip patch 112, with a wall opening 134 ("mouse hole")19 provided at the end 132 of the waveguide 130 adjacent to the substrate 120 to accommodate the microstrip line 110).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is allowed.
Allowable subject matter:
“the first metal layer further comprises a grounding portion, surrounding a first periphery of the radiation portion and a second periphery of the microstrip, disposed at a second interval from the radiation portion and the microstrip in contact with the waveguide, and wherein the grounding portion is coupled with the second metal layer.”
Claims 18-20 depends on claim 17 and therefore are also allowable.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doyle et al. (US 2021/0028537 A1) describes waveguide module may comprise a feed component defining a resonating element such as a resonating patch and/or antenna and a waveguide component having waveguide structures formed therein… one or more waveguides may be defined, at least in part, by the waveguide component, in some cases with a waveguide ridge formed therein…the waveguide may be defined by a plurality of posts that may be formed in rows on opposite sides of the waveguide (paragraph 2); the module may comprise a feed component that may include a conductive ground layer, a conductive top layer, and a substrate disposed between the conductive ground layer and the conductive top layer…the substrate may comprise a dielectric material…the conductive ground layer, the conductive top layer, and the substrate of the feed component may comprise layers of a printed circuit board (“PCB”) forming, at least in part, the feed component (paragraph 3); a variety of suitable types and/or configurations of resonating patches and/or feeds may be used in connection with the disclosed embodiments. For example, the resonating patch may comprise a square patch, a rectangular patch, a circular patch, a triangular resonating patch, an elliptical resonating patch, a hexagonal resonating patch, a pentagonal resonating patch, a rhomboid resonating patch, a ring resonating patch (e.g., a square and/or circular ring resonating patch and/or the like), /or any other suitably configured patch having any suitable dimensions, configuration, and/or shape. In various embodiments, the resonating patches may comprise any suitably shaped patch having at least one dimension that is resonant in a desired resonance frequency (paragraph 5); a ridge may be disposed within at least a portion of the waveguide…the ridge may comprise a prominent portion that is disposed, at least in part, over the resonating patch within the waveguide configured to guide electromagnetic energy radiated by the resonating patch within the waveguide towards a waveguide output of the waveguide module…a transition between the prominent portion and other portions of the ridge may comprise at least one of a stepped transition and a smooth transition (paragraph 21).
Li et al. (US 8,725,095 B2) describes planar inverted-F antennas (PIFAs) with unique radiation structures that replace conventional, solid ground plane structures, and systems and modules within which such inverted-F antennas are incorporated… includes a PIFA with a frame-shaped radiation structure (i.e., a closed radiation structure having a central opening or such a structure with a gap), as opposed to a solid ground structure used in conventional PIFAs…when included in an RF module, conductive structures (e.g., routing) and/or electrical components (e.g., transceivers and other RF components) may be included in the central opening of the frame-shaped radiation structure…this allows for more compact RF modules (with PIFAs and ground structures) than those that include conventional PIFAs and solid ground structures… Figures 2 and 3 illustrate top and bottom views, respectively, of a radio frequency (RF) module 200 that includes a dielectric substrate 202 and an antenna…the antenna includes a planar inverted-F antenna (PIFA) 210 and a radiation frame 220…Figure 2 depicts PIFA 210 and other elements of module 200 that are located on the top surface 204 of the substrate 202, and Figure 3 depicts radiation frame 220 and other elements of module 200 that are located on the bottom surface 206 of the substrate 202… radiation frame 220 also is depicted in Figure 2 (with a dashed border to indicate that it is not positioned on the top surface 204), even though radiation frame 220 is not located on the top surface…PIFA 210 and various top-side electrical components 250-254 also are depicted in Figure 3 (with dashed borders to indicate that they are not positioned on the top surface 204), even though PIFA 210 and electrical components 250-254 are not located on the bottom surface (column 2 lines 10-45).
Koul et al. (US 11, 664,589 B2) describes reduces mutual coupling between circuit elements of the MIMO system by providing an electronic bandgap (EBG) structure…EBG structures are artificially engineered two-dimensional or three-dimensional periodic structures that include metallic, dielectric or metallic-dielectric materials that exhibit unique properties including wave dispersion characteristics, a frequency bandgap, to restrain the propagation of surface waves at the structure, and zero reflection phase due to high surface impedance, at a resonant frequency for incident electromagnetic (EM) waves…the EBG structures are capable of controlling electromagnetic wave propagation over specific frequency ranges, regardless of an incident angle and polarization state of the electromagnetic wave. EBG structures are typically used to avoid mixing between analog circuit and digital circuit components on a printed circuit board (PCB) due to ground noise coupling, or to improve radiation characteristics of a microstrip antenna…an EBG structure that can be used in millimeter wave frequency applications, such as MIMO antenna arrays (column 1 line 61- column 3 line 19); the EBG structure is coupled with a defected ground structure (DGS) in the ground plane…this causes resonance for frequencies within the frequency bandgap of the EBG structure…the effect of the DGS can be understood by treating it as an equivalent magnetic current…the increase in magnetic coupling between the top EBG lattice and the DGS in the ground causes high reduction of the surface wave at the resonance frequency (column 2 lines 30-37); an electromagnetic bandgap (EBG) unit cell structure including: an electrically conductive ground plane…a first dielectric substrate formed on a top surface of the electrically conductive ground plane and having a first dielectric constant…a second dielectric substrate formed on a top surface of the first dielectric substrate and having a second dielectric constant different from the first dielectric constant, wherein the EBG unit cell structure is configured to reflect propagating millimeter waves at an interface between the first and second dielectric substrates…a top metal layer formed on a top surface of the second dielectric substrate and including an EBG pattern formed in the top metal layer (column 2 lines 49-61).
Dorsey (US 2024/0047896 A1) describes antennas for wireless communication; and more particularly, to an antenna fabricated on a flexible polymer substrate, the antenna including: a radiating element and a ground conductor forming a plurality of ground resonators for providing high performance over a wide bandwidth (paragraph 2).
Kim et al. (US 2023/0092067 A1) describes an antenna package, including: an antenna unit; and a circuit board bonded to the antenna unit, wherein the circuit board includes: a core layer including a plurality of portions having different widths from each other in a planar view, the core layer having a first surface and a second surface opposing each other; and a circuit wiring disposed on the first surface of the core layer and electrically connected to the antenna unit (paragraph 10); the circuit board includes an open area continuously formed along the antenna connection portion and the circuit extension portion (paragraph 19); the antenna unit 120 or the radiator 122 may provide signal transmission/reception in a high frequency or ultra-high frequency band (e.g., a 3G, 4G, 5G or higher communication)…a resonance frequency of the antenna unit 120 may be from about 20 to 30 GHz (e.g., about 28 GHz) or from about 30 to 40 GHz (e.g., about 38 GHz (paragraph 49); referring to FIG. 8, an open area 260 may be continuously formed throughout the antenna connection portion 210a and the circuit extension portion 210b…the opening 240 illustrated in FIG. 6 and the separation slit 250 illustrated in FIG. 7 may be merged together to form the open area 260. In this case, the circuit board 200 may include a strip line 215 on which each circuit wiring 220 may independently extend…the strip lines 215 may be separated from each other by the open area 260 (paragraph 104).
Voigtlaender (US 2005/0104795 A1) describes FIG. 3 shows a diagram of the calculated adjustment of an antenna system according to the first exemplary embodiment. In this context, as a measure for the adjustment, there is plotted the quantity, given in decibels, of the S parameter against the frequency scaled in gigahertz (GHz). The adjustment in the frequency range of 23.8 to 28.5 GHz has a value of less than -10 dB. It has two minima, which are at a distance from each other of ca 1.5 GHz. The relatively large bandwidth of the antenna of 4.7 GHz and the two resonance peaks result from the patch-dipole coupling. The large bandwidth is achieved because of a geometry choice of patch and dipole having two displaced resonant frequencies (paragraph 39). rectangular patch 3 is situated above dipole 5 which is made up of two separate rectangular halves, which is inserted into a dielectric substrate layer 11. Because supply lines 7 are located in an inner layer, earth plane 9 is not interrupted at the surface in the area of signal supply lines 7…a recess in upper earth plane 9 exists only in the area of dipole 5. There is a complete ground shielding of dipole 5…feeding and radiation are decoupled (paragraph 42).
Contact Information
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648
1 equivalent to the radiation portion.
2 equivalent to the first transition portion.
3 equivalent to the waveguide.
4 equivalent to the microstrip line avoidance groove.
5 as shown in figure 9, the concave portions on the side 414 are equivalent to the opening, so that the radiation portion forms at least two resonance frequencies.
6 equivalent to the dielectric layer.
7 equivalent to the second metal layer being grounded.
8 equivalent to the radiation portion.
9 equivalent to the first transition portion.
10 equivalent to the waveguide.
11 equivalent to the microstrip line avoidance groove.
12 as shown in figure 9, the concave portions on the side 414 are equivalent to the opening, so that the radiation portion forms at least two resonance frequencies.
13 equivalent to the radiation portion.
14 equivalent to the first transition portion.
15 equivalent to the waveguide.
16 equivalent to the microstrip line avoidance groove.
17 as shown in figure 9, the concave portions on the side 414 are equivalent to the opening, so that the radiation portion forms at least two resonance frequencies.
18 equivalent to the waveguide.
19 equivalent to the microstrip line avoidance groove.