DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 29, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bristol-Myers Squibb Company (WO2024/020084A1, 2024-01-25) referred to herein as Bristol-Myers.
Bristol-Myers teach a compound having the name tert-butyl 6-chloro-4-[[(lR)-l-cyanoethyl]amino]pyridine-3-carboxylate 4’ which appears to correlate with the structure:
(paragraph 00670).
Note: STN structure search of RN3027833-11-7 having the structure:
appears to “hit” within this document at page 241 A-29-I. However, no structure can be found.
Claim(s) 22, 24-25, 34-35 and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gilead Sciences, INC (WO2020/014468A1, 2020-01-16) referred to herein as Gilead.
Gilead teach a compound having the formula
or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (claim 5). Moreover, Gilead teaches a synthesis of 4-(((R)-l-cyanoethyl)amino)-6-(3-cyanopyrrolo[l,2-b]pyridazin-7-yl)-N-((R)-2-fluoro-3- hydroxy-3-methylbutyl)nicotinamide comprising the following reactions:
(page 49, Example 3). While the initial reaction conditions appear to comprise microwave radiation, the WO document is silent on whether the cross coupling reaction requires microwave radiation. As such, it is presumed that such reaction does not occur in the presence of microwave radiation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilead Sciences, INC (WO2020/014468A1, 2020-01-16) referred to herein as Gilead, as applied to claims 22, 24-25, 34-35 and 37-38 above, in view of Buskes and Blanco (Molecules 2020; 25(15): 3493).
Gilead teach a compound having the formula
or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (claim 5). Moreover, Gilead teaches a synthesis of 4-(((R)-l-cyanoethyl)amino)-6-(3-cyanopyrrolo[l,2-b]pyridazin-7-yl)-N-((R)-2-fluoro-3- hydroxy-3-methylbutyl)nicotinamide comprising the following reactions:
(page 49, Example 3).
Gilead does not specifically teach the reaction conditions for the cross-coupling reaction, specifically the solvent system being 2-methyltetrahydrofuran and water or the temperature of the reaction at 70-80oC.
Buskes and Blanco review the impact of cross-coupling reactions in drug discovery and development (Title). Specifically, Buskes and Blanco reviews the impact of this cross-coupling reaction in process chemistry during the scale-up and the trend in the industry to develop more “green” or environmentally friendly conditions such as using a biphasic reaction medium composed of 2-methyltetrahydrofuran and water to assist in solubilizing the base (page 8, Section 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify or optimize the conditions for the cross-coupling reaction used by Gilead such as by using a biphasic reaction medium composed of 2-methyltetrahydrofuran and water and optimize the temperature in view of the teachings of Buskes and Blanco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Buskes and Blanco reviews the impact of this cross-coupling reaction in process chemistry during the scale-up and the trend in the industry to develop more “green” or environmentally friendly conditions such as using a biphasic reaction medium composed of 2-methyltetrahydrofuran and water to assist in solubilizing the base.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 28-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilead Sciences, INC (WO2020/014468A1, 2020-01-16) referred to herein as Gilead, as applied to claims 22, 24-25, 34-35 and 37-38 above, in view of Bose and Jayalakshmi (Synthesis 1999; 1: 64-65).
Gilead teach a compound having the formula
or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (claim 5). Moreover, Gilead teaches a synthesis of 4-(((R)-l-cyanoethyl)amino)-6-(3-cyanopyrrolo[l,2-b]pyridazin-7-yl)-N-((R)-2-fluoro-3- hydroxy-3-methylbutyl)nicotinamide comprising the following reactions:
(page 49, Example 3).
Gilead does not specifically teach that the dehydration step utilizing an agent other than trifluoroacetic anhydride such as trifluoromethanesulfonic anhydride.
Bose and Jayalakshmi teach a practical method for the preparation of nitriles from primary amides under non-acidic conditions (Title). In particular, Bose and Jayalakshmi teach that the dehydration of primary amides proceeded efficiently in good yields at room temperature with trifluoromethanesulfonic anhydride and triethylamine within a few minutes, wherein no strong dehydration or longer reaction times is needed and the reaction can be easily carried out on a large scale (page 64, 2nd column, 1st full paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute TFAA and pyridine as taught by Gilead for trifluoromethanesulfonic anhydride and triethylamine for the dehydration reaction in view of the teachings of Bose and Jayalakshmi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
Bose and Jayalakshmi teach that the dehydration of primary amides proceeded efficiently in good yields at room temperature with trifluoromethanesulfonic anhydride and triethylamine within a few minutes, wherein no strong dehydration or longer reaction times is needed and the reaction can be easily carried out on a large scale.
Double Patenting
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-15 of copending Application No. 18759283 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a
which anticipates the citric acid salt of claim 3 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Therefore, Claims 3, 22, 24-26, 28-35 and 37-39 are rejected.
Claims 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-2, 4-21, 27 and 36 are free of the prior art. The closest prior art to the instant claims is considered to be either Bristol-Myers Squibb Company (WO2024/020084A1, 2024-01-25) or Gilead Sciences, INC (WO2020/014468A1, 2020-01-16) both of which describe the synthesis of
, but differ by the starting material and/or the reaction conditions. In particular, neither of the references utilize a compound of formula III or IV. Moreover, while a laundry list of pharmaceutical salts are contemplated in the Gilead WO documents, there is no specific teaching or suggestion to specifically select the citric acid salt. Lastly, regarding the claim 27, it is well known in the art that an organic base such as triethylamine or pyridine are used in combination with TFAA in the amide dehydration step. There is no suggestion or teachings of using either no base or an inorganic base.
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626