DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendments filed on 02/17/2026. Claims 1-13 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024 was filed after the filing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 8 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12051930. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations in the claims of the application are encompassed in the claims of the patent and are read to be the same invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Obermann et al. US 20210091687 A1 (Hereinafter “Obermann”).
Regarding Claim 1, Obermann teaches a power tool (Fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, 102) including a battery receiving portion (Fig. 1, 114) configured to receive a removeable power tool battery pack (Fig. 3A, 122) and a motor housing (Fig. 1, 106);
a brushless direct-current (BLDC) motor (Fig. 2, 126) disposed within the motor housing, the motor including a stator and a rotor;
a power switch circuit (Fig. 2, 124) disposed between the battery receiving portion and the motor; and
a controller (Fig. 2, 130) configured to control switching operation of the power switch circuit to regulate a supply of power from the battery pack to the motor, wherein at tool start-up, the controller is configured to detect an initial position of the rotor in a sensorless manner by applying a plurality of voltage pulses to the motor, measuring a corresponding plurality of motor phase current values, and identifying a rotor sector position corresponding based on the plurality of motor phase current values ([0025] & [0027]),
the controller being further configured to identify a characteristic of the battery pack as a function of the plurality of motor phase current values ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 4, Obermann teaches the power tool of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to apply a high magnitude voltage pulse to a sector of rotor orientation corresponding to the initial position of the rotor relative to the stator ([0027], back emf) and measure a corresponding high- magnitude current value ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 5, Obermann teaches the power tool of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to monitor a bus voltage drop on a bus line provided between the battery receiving portion and the power switch circuit, and identify the characteristic of the battery pack including at least one of an impedance or a capacity of the battery pack as a function of the high- magnitude current value and the bus voltage drop ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 8, Obermann teaches a power tool (Fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, 102) including a battery receiving portion (Fig. 1, 114) configured to receive a removeable power tool battery pack (Fig. 3A, 122) and a motor housing (Fig. 1, 106);
a brushless direct-current (BLDC) motor (Fig. 3A, 126) disposed within the motor housing, the motor including a stator and a rotor;
a power switch circuit (Fig. 3A, 124) disposed between the battery receiving portion and the motor;
a bus line (Fig. 3A, 156) provided between the battery receiving portion and the power switch circuit; and
a controller (Fig. 2, 130) configured to control switching operation of the power switch circuit to regulate a supply of power from the battery pack to the motor, wherein the controller is configured to detect an initial position of the rotor in a sensorless manner by applying a plurality of voltage pulses to the motor, measuring a corresponding plurality of motor phase current values, and identifying a rotor sector position corresponding based on the plurality of motor phase current values ([0025] & [0027]),
the controller being further configured to apply a high magnitude voltage pulse to a sector of rotor orientation corresponding to the initial position of the rotor relative to the stator ([0025]), measure a corresponding high-magnitude current value, and identify a characteristic of the battery pack as a function of the high-magnitude current value ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 9, Obermann teaches the power tool of claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to monitor a bus voltage drop on the bus line, and identify the characteristic of the battery pack including at least one of an impedance or a capacity of the battery pack as a function of the high-magnitude current value and the bus voltage drop ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 10, Obermann teaches the power tool of claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to identify characteristic of the battery pack including at least one of an impedance or a capacity of the battery pack as a function of the plurality of phase current values ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 11, Obermann teaches the power tool of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to measure a bus voltage of the bus line and calculate a battery identifier as a function of the high- magnitude current value, the plurality of phase current values, and the bus voltage ([0035]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6-7, and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant argued that Westerby did not teach using motor current for identification. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection 35 USC § 102 is made in view of Oberman, which uses motor current to identify battery impedance.
Conclusion
/CORTEZ M COOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846