DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
For the record:
the term “about” in the claims has been interpreted as +/- 1% by weight as defined at para. 0018 of the specification. Further, as discussed in the parent application (17/040,467), percentage values not preceded by “about,” are given their ordinary meaning (see for example Applicant’s response dated 23 October 2023).
The term “medium temperature” is interpreted according to the definition provided at para. 0053 of the specification as having an evaporator temperature in the range of -12○C and 0○C.
The term “low temperature” is interpreted according to the definition provided at para. 0053 of the specification as having a condenser temperature from about 35○C to about 45○C. (Note that the evaporator temperatures are listed in terms of being simply “preferably,” and thus do not further clearly define the metes and bounds of the limitation.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riva et al. (IS 20100025619 A1) in view of Yana Motta et al. (US 2016/0024361 A1).
As per claim 1, Riva et al. disclose a method of retrofitting a heat transfer system containing HFC-134a as the refrigerant comprising removing at least a portion of said HFC-134a from said system; introducing a refrigerant mixture into system into said system (para. 0123), but does not teach the particular mixture recited. Yana Motta et al. teaches the use of a refrigerant mixture comprising a refrigerant comprising difluoromethane (HFC-32), pentafluoroethane (HFC-125), 1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFC-134a), and trans-1 ,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (HFO- 1234ze(E)) (Abstract, etc.), although do not teach the specific percentages recited (at least about 97.5 % by weight of the following four components, with each compound being present in the following relative percentages: (a) from 2% to about 7% by weight of difluoromethane (HFC-32); (b) from 2% to about 7 by weight of pentafluoroethane (HFC-125); (c) from about 35% to about 50% by weight of 1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFC-134a); and (d) from about 50% to about 55% by weight of trans-1 ,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (HFO- 1234ze(E))).
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the mixture in Yana Motta et al. as the replacement mixture of Riva et al. for the purpose of taking advantage of global warming efficiencies provided thereby (paras. 0003-0010, etc.). Second, while Yana Motta et al. does not teach the particular percentages recited, it does teach utilizing the same mixture of compounds. Arriving at particular component percentages is considered a simple matter of result effective variables that could have been easily arrived at through routine experimentation and that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention for the purposes of optimizing refrigerant performance and reducing global warming effects.
(Note for the record: In the response filed 23 October 2023 in the parent application, Applicant argued:
“However, to the extent that Yana Motta teaches a refrigerant blend having all four of the components required by the present claims, it teaches a maximum amount of HFC-134a of 35% by weight and a maximum amount of HFO-1234ze(E) of 50% by weight. Thus, the maximum amount of each of these components permitted by Yana Motta is below the minimum required by the present claims. Thus, one would have to proceed contrary to the teachings of Yana Motta to arrive at the invention as now claimed, and the undersigned respectfully submits that cited items of information actually support the patentability of the present claims and cannot be a proper basis for a finding of prima facie obviousness.”
However, in instant claim 1 the minimum value for HFC-134a is “about 35%,” and the minimum value for of HFO-1234ze(E) is “about 50%.” Based on Applicant’s own definition of “about” meaning +/- 1%, these values overlap the respective maximum values of Yana Motta et al., and thus do not teach away from the reference.)
As per claim 2, Riva et al. disclose the system being a mobile air conditioning system (para. 0081 re. refrigerated containers, etc.).
As per claim 3, Riva et al. do not teach wherein said system is a medium temperature refrigeration system. Yana Motta et al. teach the system being a medium temperature refrigeration system (para. 0019, etc.). In replacing the refrigerant with the mixture of Yana Motta et al. as discussed regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply it to a medium temperature system since Yana Motta has established that such a mixture provides both refrigeration efficiency and global warming benefits in such systems.
As per claim 4, Riva et al. do not teach wherein said system is a low temperature refrigeration system. Yana Motta et al. teach the system being a low temperature refrigeration system (paras. 0003, 0005, 0010, 0015, 0018, 0021, 0030, 0033-0035, etc.). In replacing the refrigerant with the mixture of Yana Motta et al. as discussed regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply it to a low temperature system since Yana Motta has established that such a mixture provides both refrigeration efficiency and global warming benefits in such systems.
As per claims 5-10, these claims recite further limitations on the percentages of the mixture components. Similarly as discussed regarding claim 1, while Yana Motta et al. do not teach the particular percentages recited, they do teach utilizing the same mixture of compounds. Arriving at particular component percentages is considered a simple matter result effective variables that could have been easily arrived at through routine experimentation and that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention for the purposes of optimizing refrigerant performance and reducing global warming effects.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 17//040,467 (reference application) (Note that the petition to revive this application was granted on 31 October 2025, and thus the claim is no longer abandoned). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because lower bounds in instant claim 1 for each of the constituent components have been reduced as compared to the currently pending claim 1 of the copending application, thus constituting a simple broadening of the claim. Instant dependent claims 2-6 and 9-10 correspond to dependent claims 2-6 and 9-10 of the copending application, respectively. Instant dependent claims 7-8 recite broader ranges than those of currently pending claims 7-8 of the copending application, thus constituting a simple broadening of the claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Cited Prior Art
The following references not applied in the rejections above are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
Minor et al. (US 2020/0165500 A1) teach another refrigerant combination comprising the recited constituent components.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763