DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 has been amended. The status of claim 1-20 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 10, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant alleged that WU fails to disclose or suggest “receiving, by the wireless device, at least one control information resource, each control information resource having a one-to-one correspondence or association with at least one SL-PRS resource, wherein the control information resource is within the SL-PRS resource pool.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because WU substantially discloses the applicant claim invention. Moreover, to address the amended claim features, the Examiner has decided to make a new ground of rejection.
Regarding the rejection of claim 11, the Applicant argued that KO fails to disclose or suggest “sensing, by the wireless device, a sidleink position reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration in a sensing window.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because KO discloses monitors slots in sidelink resource pol within the sensing window (section 0168, 0179) and the resource pool in the sensing window is based on resource configuration (section 0109). It is clear that KO discloses the disputed claim limitation contrary to the Applicant’s arguments (see, section 0167-0175, 0179-0187, 180-187-reservatiomn period, 0279-0283-comb offset). Moreover, despite an oversight in the paragraphs that were cited, the Examiner respectfully maintain Ko discloses the Applicant claim invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al (US 2023/0096178 A1) in view of Thomas et al (US 2026/0101305 A1, Provisional application No. 63/377,188, filed on September 26, 2022).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), WU et al (US 2023/0096178 A1) discloses a method of wireless communication (see, UEs which exchange positioning reference signals (PRS) over side links to determine relative distance between UEs and/or the absolute position of the UEs, section 0085, see, the sidelink communication may utilize resource pools, section 0071), comprising: transmitting (see, transmitting of sidleink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource reservation message within resources in an SL communication resource pool, section 0005-0007), by a wireless device (fig. 1, UAV 120/UE 122 coupled to base station 110, 112,114 in V2X/ DD network, section 029-0030, 0034-0036, 0038-0039), a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) over a SL-PRS resource (see, resource pools used for sidelink transmission or reception/resource located within a SL-PRS resource pool, section 0023, 0071), wherein the SL-PRS resource is within a SL-PRS resource pool (see, resource pools 510a, 510b, 510c, section 0090-0091); and performing, by the wireless device (see, the wireless device can obtains relative position location distance based measured distance of SL-PRS signals, section 0085, 0087), a sidelink positioning (see, the V2X enables vehicles/V2X devices to obtain information relates to road conditions, activities of nearby vehicles and pedestrians, section 0066-0068, see, determination of UE positions based on PRSs, section 0085).
WU ‘178 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: receiving, by the wireless device, at least one control information resource, each control information resource having a one-to-one correspondence or association with at least one SL-PRS resource, wherein the control information resource is within the SL-PRS resource pool.
However, Thomas et al (US 2026/0101305 A1, Provisional application No. 63/377,188, filed on September 26, 2022) from a similar field of endeavor (see, sensing for SL positioning signals and messages, and SL positioning sensing selection, section 0206, 0208) discloses: receiving (section 0029-0035-reeust for one or more members of SL positioning groups, and receiving) by the wireless device (see, resource pool configurations, section 0028, the configuration UE in response to receiving configuration in relation to SL-PRS, section 0034-0036, 0199) , at least one control information resource (section 0135, 0219-0220, 0238-0239-confifuration in relation to a plurality of SL positioning time-frequency resources to the SL positioning), each control information resource having a one-to-one correspondence or association with at least one SL-PRS resource (see, each member receive the resource pool in relation to SL-PRS transmission , section 0202-203), wherein the control information resource is within the SL-PRS resource pool (see, UE-A to inform other UEs of resource pool configurations in relation to SL position, section 0028-0029).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method of resource allocation for SL position, SL positioning sensing selection window as taught by Thomas ‘305 into the SL-PRS transmission method and apparatus of WU ‘178. The motivation would have been to provide resource allocation enhancements based on request.
Regarding claim 2, WU ‘178 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is configured or pre-configured with at least one of a SL-PRS resource pool configuration (see, SL-PRS resource reservation message may include data related to SL-PRS operation/configuration, section 0097), a SL-PRS configuration, a SL-PRS control information, a synchronization reference, a scheme 2 configuration, or a power control configuration.
Regarding claim 3, WU ‘178 discloses he method of claim 1, wherein the SL-PRS resource pool(fig. 5, see, resource pools 510a, 510b, 510c, section 0013, 0090) occupies a resource pool different from one or more resource pools (see, the respective bandwidth of the respective resources of the first UE and second UE may be the same or different in relation to a resource pool, section 0107-0108, noted: the SL-PRS resource pools may be different, section 0090-0091) occupied by a SL-data communication (see, SL-PRS resource pool that is reserved for sidelink data, section 0171).
Regarding claim 4, WU ‘178 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the SL-PRS resource pool (fig. 5, see, resource pools 510a, 510b, 510c, section 0013, 0090) shares a resource pool with a SL-data communication (see, SL-PRS resource pool that is reserved for sidelink data, section 0171).
Regarding claim 5, WU ‘178 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is associated with a resource pool (fig. 5, see, resource pools 510a, 510b, 510c, section 0013, 0090) linked with a SL-data communication (see, SL-PRS resource pool that is reserved for sidelink data, section 0167-0171).based on a SL resource pool index indication (see, first SL-PRS resource reservation message that identifies first SL-PRS within a SL-PRS resource pool, section 0165, noted: SL-PRS resource reservation in relation to index indication, 0112, 0114, 0120) or a SL resource pool group list indication.
Regarding claim 6, WU ‘178 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the SL-PRS resource pool is configured (see, SL-PRS resource pools may be configured by a network for SL communication, section 0096) or pre-configured with a SL-PRS sequence derived based on a sequence generation equation or a sequence configuration (see, each UE may use a respective reference oscillator to generate respective frequencies, section 0105-0106)
Regarding claim 7, WU ‘178 discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the wireless device, a control information (see, sidelink control information (SCI) that is received by one or other receiving sidelink devices, section 0063, 0074-0075), wherein the control information is associated with the SL-PRS resource (section 0075-sidelink control information for resource allocation, section 0075, 0092, 0119), and wherein the control information comprises at least one of the following: a SL-PRS priority (see, sidelink control information may identify a priority level, section 0075, 0092), a SL-PRS frequency resource assignment, a SL-PRS time resource assignment, a next control information time assignment, a next control information frequency assignment, a SL-PRS resource reservation period, a SL-PRS pattern, a SL-PRS configuration, a SL-PRS periodicity, a SL-PRS resource slot offset, a SL-PRS resource symbol offset, a SL-PRS repetition, a SL-PRS symbol number per slot, a SL-PRS muting pattern, a SL-PRS resource power, a SL-PRS sequence identification, a SL-PRS comb size (see, comb-type for resource allocation, section 0016,, 0114), a SL-PRS comb offset (see, comb index or comb offset, section 00114), an identification of the wireless device, a SL-PRS request, a SL-PRS indication, an indicator for a presence of a SL-PRS transmission, an indication for an absence of a SL-PRS transmission, a time restriction of the control information, or a valid time of the control information.
Regarding claim 8, WU ‘178 discloses a method of wireless communication see, UEs which exchange positioning reference signals (PRS) over side links to determine relative distance between UEs and/or the absolute position of the UEs, section 0085, see, the sidelink communication may utilize resource pools, section 0071), comprising: transmitting (see, transmitting of sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-, comprising: transmitting (see, sidelink request for sidelink resources from sidelink devices to a base station, section 0072), by a wireless device (see, the sidelink devise sends request for sidelink resources, section 0072), a sidelink (SL) related information request (see, request for sidelink resources, section 0072, noted: reservation message for SL resource pools and SL-PRS, and the SL-PRS pools that used for determining position of sidelink devices section 0090, 0095-0098); and receiving (see, sidelink devices or V2X device receives allocated sidelink resources in response to requests, section 0072), by the wireless device and in response to the SL related information request (see, sidelink devices or V2X device receives allocated sidelink resources in response to requests, section 0072), a SL related information report (see, position information that is received based on resources/SL-PRS resource pool, section 0102-0105) or a SL related information update.
Regarding claim 9, WU ‘178 discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the SL related information request comprises at least one of an identification of the wireless device, an identification of a transmission/reception point (TRP), a SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration (see, the reservation in relation identifying then available SL-PRS resources within the SL-PRS resource pool, section 0100, 0103), a SL related information reporting type, or a response time (see, time of transmission and time of reception of SL-PRS, section 0103, 0105-0106).
Regarding claim 10, WU ‘178 discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the SL related information report (see, position information that is received based on resources/SL-PRS resource pool, section 0102-0105or the SL related information update comprises at least one of a gNodeB (gNB) information, a SL-data communication resource pool configuration comprising a logic slot set for the SL-data communication resource pool or a SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource pool configuration comprising a logic slot set for the SL-PRS resource pool (see, the reservation in relation identifying then available SL-PRS resources within the SL-PRS resource pool, section 0100, 0103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KO et al (US 2023/0344595 A1, Provisional application No. 63/333,517, filed on April 21, 2022).
Regarding claim 11, KO ‘595 discloses a method of wireless communication (see, resource used for SL PRS that are based on sensing, the UE preforms sensing in sensing window where the UE is configured with SL-PRS configuration, section 0167-0168), comprising: sensing (see, the UE performs sensing within a sensing window, section 0168), by a wireless device (see, the UE determines a resource selection window, subset of candidate resources based on sensing, section 0168), a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration (see, configuration information for SL resource pool/resources for SL PRS, section 0009-0010) in a sensing window (see, resource used for SL PRS that are based on sensing, the UE preforms sensing in sensing window where the UE is configured with SL-PRS configuration, section 0167-0168) and selecting (see, the UE selects and determines resources within a resource selection window, section 0104-0105, 0168), by the wireless device (see, the UE selects and determines resources within a resource selection window, section 0104-0105, 0168), based on the sensed SL-PRS configuration (see, configuration information for SL resource pool/resources for SL PRS, section 0009-0010), a SL-PRS resource in a selection window (see, selection of candidate resources within a resource selection window based on sensing, section 0104-0106, 0168).
Regarding claim 12, KO ‘595 discloses the method of claim 11, wherein a size of the sensing window is a maximum value or a union of: a size of a sensing window for the SL-PRS configuration (see, maximum number of slots in resources for sidelink transmission and reception, section 0100); and a size of a sensing window for a SL-data communication.
Regarding claim 13, KO ‘595 discloses the method of claim 11, wherein a size of the sensing window is related to a SL-PRS periodicity (see, the number of repetitions of SL PRS in one period, section 0164, 0194, 0227) or a SL-PRS repetition time interval (see, number of repetitions for transmission of SL PRS within one period, section 0164, 0194).
Regarding claim 14, KO ‘595 discloses the method of claim 11, wherein a size of the sensing window is equal to or greater (see, maximum number of slots in resources for sidelink transmission and reception, section 0100) than an interval between a control information and an adjacent control information (see, adjacent logical slot within the resource pool, the resource pool is directly relation to sidelink control information (SCI), section 0128-0129, 0194-0195, 0200-0201).
Regarding claim 15, KO ‘595 discloses the method of claim 11, wherein selecting the SL-PRS resource (see, the UE selects and determines resources within a resource selection window, selection of resource for SL PRS, section 0125-0126, 0104-0105, 0168) comprises avoiding a conflict between selecting (see, resources that excluded based on reserved or semi-persistent transmissions that can be collided, and select and re-selection a resource form the identifies candidate resources, section 0105) : a periodic SL-PRS configuration (section 0105-0112, noted: the SL PRS configuration is associated time period); and a SL-PRS configuration indicated by a control information (see,, control information associated with SL PRS configuring SL PRS, section 0161-0162, 0200-0201).
Regarding claim 16, KO ‘595 discloses the method of claim 11, wherein selecting the SL-PRS resource comprises selecting (see, the UE selects and determines resources within a resource selection window, selection of resource for SL PRS, section 0125-0126, 0104-0105, 0168): a periodic SL-PRS configuration or a SL-PRS configuration indicated by a control information (see, sidelink control information (SCI) in relation to priority values, section 0284) based on a priority value assigned to the periodic SL-PRS configuration (see, the use of priority value with respect to the sidelink resources being checked for pre-emption, SL resource selection where a candidate resource is excluded, section 0111-0112); and a SL-PRS configuration indicated by a control information (see,, control information associated with SL PRS configuring SL PRS, section 0161-0162, 0200-0201).
Regarding claim 17, KO ‘595 discloses the method of claim 11, wherein selecting the SL-PRS resource (see, the UE selects and determines resources within a resource selection window, selection of resource for SL PRS, section 0125-0126, 0104-0105, 0168) comprises selecting: a periodic SL-PRS configuration (see, resource reservation period in relation to sidelink control information within the sensing window, section 0106, see, SL PRS associated with time period within a resource pool, section 0125) or a SL-PRS configuration indicated by a control information based on a priority rule associated with the periodic SL-PRS configuration (see, the use of priority value with respect to the sidelink resources being checked for pre-emption, SL resource selection where a candidate resource is excluded, section 0111-0112); and a SL-PRS configuration indicated by a control information (see,, control information associated with SL PRS configuring SL PRS, section 0161-0162, 0200-0201).
Regrading claim 18, KO ‘595 discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining, by the wireless device, that another wireless device is in a same positioning session as or has a positioning signaling interaction with the wireless device (see, control information associated with the reference signal for SL positioning measurements transmitted in same slot as the slot of the reference signal for SL , section 0280); and excluding, by the wireless device, the SL-PRS resource from being reserved or configured for use by the other wireless device (see, excluding resources that were previously reserved or resources are excluded based on based on SCIs /collision decoded in a sensing window, section 0105-0106).
Regarding claim 19, KO ‘595 discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining, by the wireless device (see, the UE monitors slots in sensing window, where the UE monitors slots belonging to sidelink resource pool that are not used for the UE’s own transmission, section 0106), that another wireless device is not in a same positioning session as or does not have a positioning signaling interaction with the wireless device (see, the UE monitors slots in sensing window, where the UE monitors slots belonging to sidelink resource pool that are not used for the UE’s own transmission, section 0106); and indicating, by the wireless device, that the SL-PRS resource is available to be applied with a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) (section 0102-discloses SL slots or reserved slots in the resource pool including related OFDM symbols), to be reserved or configured for use by the other wireless device (see, based availability check of SL resources that have been previously signaled and reserved, the UE re-selects new SL resources and signaling in slot, section 0110-0111).
Regarding claim 20, KO ‘595 discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining, by the wireless device, that another wireless device has a different comb offset from the wireless device (see, comb offset 0..N-1 and comb offset 2, section 0231-0234); and transmitting, by the wireless device, a SL-PRS over the SL-PRS resource (see, SL PRS associated with time period within a resource pool, section 0125) in a same time domain resource (see, excluding of resources in relation to collision, section 0105-0106) with the other wireless devices (noted: excluding of resources based on SCIs decoded or potential resources reserved by the other UEs, section 0105-0106, noted: in a D2D sidelink communication, indicating allocation of resources or reserved resources by another device is implied, fig. 6, section 0355-0356).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473