DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 10 in the reply filed on 7/30/26 is acknowledged. Claims 6-9 and 11-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method and textile, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. Claims 2 and 5 recite the limitation of "a resin matrix" with respect to the luminescent and dielectric layers. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manipatruni et al., US 20140170920 A1 in view of Meng et al., US 20090054553 A1 and further in view of Sun US 20050035331 A1.
The published patent application issued to Manipatruni et al., teach a conductive/luminescent fiber comprising a conductive core (24), a high dielectric layer (40) and outer layer (16) comprising pigments (title, abstract, figure 1c, paragraphs 0020, 0023, 0024, 0030). Regarding claim 4, said core can be metallic (paragraph 0020). Said outer layer (16) is made from a polymer (paragraph 0024). The Examiner is of the position that the disclosure of Manipatruni et al., meets the structural layers.
Manipatruni et al., does not teach the claimed dielectric layer comprising high dielectric filler having a dielectric constant ranging from 10-80.
The published patent application issued to Meng et al., teaches a thermoplastic composition comprising high dielectric filler and having a dielectric constant ranging from 1-25 (title and abstract). Regarding claim 5, Meng et al., teach using the claimed polyurethane and the claimed filler of titanates (paragraphs 0014 and 0022). Meng et al., teach that the amount of filler can be up to 60 wt. % of the thermoplastic polymer (paragraph 0006). Though Meng e tal., does not teach the claimed ratio of high dielectric filler to resin, the Examiner is of the position that depending on desired properties it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of high dielectric filler. It has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA)The composition exhibits desirable mechanical properties and impact strength (see document). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the high dielectric layer of Manipatruni et al., using the Meng et al., thermoplastic composition comprising high dielectric filler and a high dielectric constant.
Manipatruni et al., does not specifically teach that the outer layer (16) comprises luminescent pigments; however, the outer layer may comprise pigments. Manipatruni et al., further teach several of the luminescent materials but does not expressly teach that they are in the outer layer (16).
The published patent application issued to Sun teach phosphorescent/self-glowing/luminescent pigments and a resin/binder such as polyurethane (title, abstract, paragraphs 0025-0032, 0046, 0056-0057 and 0053). Regarding claims 2, 3 and 10, said pigments include those claimed. (claims 2-7) and the amount of self-glowing/luminescent material ranges from 1-95 wt. % (claim 10). Therefore, motivated by the desire to provide luminescence to a conductive fiber it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was made to formulate the outer layer of Manipatruni et al., with the phosphorescent/luminescent composition of Sun.
Conclusion
/LYNDA SALVATORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789