DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson (US 10,873,295 B1).
Regarding Claims 15 and 20, Wilson teaches An apparatus, which is an amplifier (MEMS sensor amplifier arrangement 200, Fig. 2) comprising:
input stage circuitry (Differential pair of transistors 205a and 205b of the MEMS sensor amplifier arrangement 200, Fig. 2) configured to:
generate input operating points (at drain of 205a and 205b, generate input operating points based on VINP and VINN respectively, Fig. 2) of an input voltage (VINP and VINN, Fig. 2); and
generate a reference current (206a and 206b, Fig. 2) based on the input operating points (at the drain based on VINP and VINN respectively, Fig. 2); and output stage circuitry (207a and 207b, Fig. 2) coupled to the input stage circuitry(205a and 205b, Fig. 2), the output stage circuitry (207a and 207b, Fig. 2) configured to:
generate a reference voltage (VR2, Fig. 2) based on the reference current (VR2 is a function of the reference currents 206a and 206b);
generate an output voltage (VOUTP and VOUTN, Fig. 2) based on the reference voltage(VR2 and currents 206a and 206b, Fig. 2);
Fig. 2 of Wilson annotated by the examiner to show mapping.
generate output operating points (set at the junction of 202a and 202b, Fig. 2) of the output voltage (VOUTP and VOUTN, Fig. 2); and increase an output current (based on the rejection of common mode above the threshold of VCMREF, Fig. 2) of the output voltage (VOUTP and VOUTN, Fig. 2) responsive to the output operating points (set by the input operating points, Fig. 2).
Further per claims 16, the input stage circuitry (205a and 205b) is further configured to: receive the input voltage (VSIG); generate an auxiliary input voltage (RF signal imposed on the reference BIAS signal, VINP and VINN) responsive to receiving the input voltage (VSIG); and generate the input operating points to be half of a difference between the auxiliary input voltage and a supply voltage (if a stimulus on the MEMS sensor CMEMs gives to a voltage variation of DV, as the signal V INF varies, the signal VINN will vary in the opposite sense. Thus, each of VINP and VINN will exhibit an equal and opposite variation of magnitude DV/2. As such each input signal VINF and VINN is half the magnitude, for a given signal voltage variation VSIG, compared to the single ended input version described with reference to FIG. 1. The differential input signal level is thus equal to VINF-VINN and has substantially double the input range compared to the single-ended input signal VIN, col. 6, lines 51-61). And per claim 18, the output stage circuitry (207a and 207b) is further configured to: generate an auxiliary output voltage (VOUTP and VOUTN) responsive to generating the output voltage (amplifier version of VSIG); and generate the output operating points to be half of a difference between the auxiliary output voltage and a supply voltage (col. 6,line 62-col. 7, line 4).
Further per claim 17, wherein the output stage circuitry (207a and 207b) is further configured to: mirror the reference current (206a and 206b) to generate a replica of the reference current; and convert the replica of the reference current to generate the reference voltage (The LNAs 201a and 201b may be implemented as source follower type amplifiers, for example as super-source followers, and, in the example of FIG. 2, LNA 201a has an input transistor 205a, e.g. a PMOS, in series with a current source 206a. The voltage at the drain of the input transistor 205a drives class AB output driver 207a which provides the output signal, which is fed back to the source of the input transistor. LNA 201b has corresponding components (designated by the suffix b). This arrangement, as will be understood by one skilled in the art, drive the respective output VOUTP or VOUTN to vary with the respective input VINP and VINN, col. 6, lines 18-29).
Further per claim 19, wherein the output stage circuitry (207a and 207b) is further configured to: mirror the output current (the output current is mirrored through 202a and 202b) to generate a feedback current (through the common-mode feedback amplifier 204); and dynamically boost the output current (common mode rejection would clean and boost the output current, col. 6, line 62-col. 7, line 7) using the feedback current.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shulman (US 2002/0011875 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Shulman teaches an apparatus which is an amplifier (Figure 2 discloses a class AB amplifier 200 that functions as an amplifier for driving capacitive loads, §0004) comprising:
First buffer circuitry having a 1st terminal & 2nd terminal. (Figure 2 depicts a first driving transistor M1 acting as part of the buffer/input stage, having a gate (1st) terminal and a source/drain (2nd) terminal, §0017.
Second buffer circuitry having a 1st terminal & 2nd terminal. (Figure 2 illustrates level-shifting transistor M1-a coupled to the input of M1, having a gate/drain (1st) terminal and a source (2nd) terminal, §0009).
Third buffer circuitry having a 1st terminal & 2nd terminal, where its 1st terminal is coupled to the 1st terminal of the second buffer circuitry. (Figure 2 shows the input nodes and bias configuration where level-shifting and input elements share common power rails and gate connections, §0009 describes the arrangement where bias and input transistors provide coordinated level shifting of the input voltage).
First Transistor: 1st terminal coupled to 1st terminal of 1st buffer circuitry; Control terminal coupled to 2nd terminal of 2nd buffer circuitry. (Figure 2 illustrates driving transistor M1 having its gate (control terminal) coupled to input signals and its source/drain terminal coupled in the circuit path, §0017).
Second Transistor: 1st terminal coupled to 2nd terminal of 1st buffer circuitry; Control terminal coupled to 2nd terminal of 3rd buffer circuitry. (Figure 2 depicts current source transistor M40 having its gate terminal connected to the output of amplifier A2 and its drain terminal connected to the source terminal of driving transistor M1, §0017).
Second stage circuitry having a 1st terminal & 2nd terminal. (Figure 2 depicts output stage transistors M60 and M22 (along with cascode devices M21–M24) forming the output stage driving VOUT, §0013).
1st terminal of 2nd stage circuitry coupled to 2nd terminal of 1st transistor. (Figure 2 shows output transistor M60 having its gate terminal connected to the output of amplifier A1/current source transistor M30 network, §0014).
2nd terminal of 2nd stage circuitry coupled to 2nd terminal of 2nd transistor. (Figure 2 shows output transistor M22 driven via M50 and the complementary path, §0019).
Regarding Claim 8, Shulman teaches an amplifier (Figure 2 discloses a class AB CMOS buffer/amplifier 200 for driving capacitive loads, §0004 generally describes a class AB buffer (or amplifier) fabricated using CMOS technology capable of driving large capacitive loads (e.g., in excess of 100 pF) while consuming minimal quiescent current and operating at low supply voltages) comprising:
first stage circuitry having a first terminal and a second terminal (Input differential driving stage comprising transistors M1 and M2 together with auxiliary feedback amplifiers A1 and A2 and input level-shifting transistors M1-a and M2-a. The first terminal corresponds to the output node of the first differential branch (at the source/drain node of M1 / current source transistor M30 connected to amplifier A1), and the second terminal corresponds to the output node of the second differential branch (at the source/drain node of M2 / current source transistor M40 connected to amplifier A2, §0012 describes that differential input signals Vin+ and Vin- are applied to input transistors M1 and M2 and §0017 explains that driving transistors M1 and M2 are cross-coupled through amplifiers A1 and A2 and level-shifting transistors M2-a and M1-a, where the drain-source path of M1 is connected in series with current source transistor M40 (and M2 with M30); and
second stage circuitry including: first current mirror circuitry (Current mirror branch formed by PMOS transistor M21 (or diode-connected pair M21/M24 forming a cascode mirror stage) having a first terminal (Its first terminal (input) is coupled to the output of transistor M50 (which is driven by the output of amplifier A2 / transistor M40 of the first stage) and a second terminal (and its second terminal (output) is coupled to mirror transistor M22), the first terminal of the first current mirror circuitry coupled to the first terminal of the first stage circuitry (§0013 explains that the output stage optionally includes cascode p-channel transistors M21–M24 to increase gain. §0014 notes that the outputs of amplifiers A1 and A2 connect to the gates of transistors M30 and M40, as well as the gates of transistors M60 and M50, respectively);
second current mirror circuitry (Current mirror output branch formed by PMOS transistor M22 (and dynamic bias cascode transistor M23) having a first terminal (Its first terminal (gate control) is coupled to the first current mirror branch (M21/M24), and its second terminal (drain output) couples to the primary output node VOUT) and a second terminal, the first terminal of the second current mirror circuitry coupled to the second terminal of the first stage circuitry (§0013 states that cascode p-channel transistors M21–M24 are dynamically biased to maximize the output swing of the buffer. §0019 further discloses that gate voltages from current source transistors M30 and M40 drive output transistors M60 and M22 (via M50), which remain in saturation during operation);
pre-driver circuitry (Dynamic biasing and pre-driver network connected to the control gate of cascode transistor M23 providing dynamic bias control) having a terminal (§0013 describes how cascode transistors M21–M24 are dynamically biased in a known manner to optimize and maximize the signal output swing of the class AB buffer 200);
first buffer circuitry (Auxiliary amplifier A1 (acting as an active feedback driver/buffer block) having a first terminal and a second terminal (having a input terminal connected to bias transistor M2-a and an output terminal connected to the gate of transistor M30 and output transistor M60, §0014 explains that the negative inputs of amplifiers A1 and A2 receive biased voltages from bias transistors M2-a and M1-a, respectively, and the output of amplifier A1 is connected to the gate of transistor M30 as well as the gate of transistor M60); and
second buffer circuitry (Auxiliary amplifier A2 (acting as a second active feedback driver/buffer block) having a first terminal (having an input terminal connected to bias transistor M1-a, sharing common differential reference bias inputs with A1) and a second terminal (and an output terminal connected to the gate of transistor M40 and current-mirror driver transistor M50), the first terminal of the second buffer circuitry is coupled to the first terminal of the first buffer circuitry(§0014 discloses that the negative input terminals of auxiliary amplifiers A1 and A2 connect to level-shifted bias voltages derived from bias transistors M2-a and M1-a, and the output of amplifier A2 connects to the gates of transistors M40 and M50);
second stage circuitry (transistor interconnections): a first transistor (Pull-up dynamic load transistor / driver transistor M50) having a first terminal (coupled to the input terminal of current mirror transistor M24/M21), a second terminal, and a control terminal, the first terminal of the first transistor coupled to the second terminal of the first current mirror circuitry, the control terminal (Control terminal (gate): Coupled to the output (2nd terminal) of auxiliary amplifier/buffer A2) of the first transistor coupled to the second terminal (Second terminal (source): Connected to ground (negative supply rail) of the first buffer circuitry (§0014 describes that the output of amplifier A2 is connected directly to the gate terminal of transistor M50. §0015 notes that transistors M30 and M40 drive transistors M50 (and thereby mirror transistor M22 and M60); and
a second transistor (Main pull-down output transistor M60) having a first terminal (drain coupled to output node VOUT (which connects to the second terminal of PMOS output mirror transistor M23/M22), a second terminal (source coupled to ground (sharing a common reference terminal with the source of first transistor M50), and a control terminal (gate coupled to the output (2nd terminal) of auxiliary amplifier/buffer A1), the first terminal of the second transistor coupled to the second terminal of the second current mirror circuitry, the second terminal of the second transistor coupled to the terminal of the pre-driver circuitry and the second terminal of the first transistor, the control terminal of the second transistor coupled to the second terminal of the second buffer circuitry (§0014 states that the output of amplifier A1 connects to the gate of transistor M60. §0016 explains that output transistor M60 shares the same gate voltage node as transistor M30 and pulls VOUT down to ground during transient discharge, delivering high current output to the load).
Regarding claim 15, Shulman teaches an apparatus, which is an amplifier (FIG. 2: Class AB Buffer / Amplifier 200, §0004 discloses a class AB buffer or amplifier configured to drive large capacitive loads exceeding 100 pF while operating from low power supply voltages down to 1.5 volts, drawing minimal quiescent current, and exhibiting non-slewing transient response characteristics) comprising:
input stage circuitry (FIG. 2: Input stage circuitry comprising differential input transistors M1, M2, level-shifting bias transistors M1-a, M2-a, auxiliary amplifiers A1, A2, and current source transistors M30, M40) configured to: generate input operating points of an input voltage (§0012 explains that when a differential input signal (Vin+, Vin-) is applied to the amplifier, the voltage is transferred across input n-channel transistors M1 and M2, generating operating point conditions and current flow); and generate a reference current based on the input operating points (§0015 states that transistors M30 and M40 act as current sources driven by high output swing amplifiers (A1, A2) to establish reference operating currents based on input signal levels); and
output stage circuitry (FIG. 2: Output stage circuitry including cascode p-channel current mirror transistors M21–M24, driver transistor M50, and output transistors M60, M22 driving terminal VOUT) coupled to the input stage circuitry, the output stage circuitry configured to: generate a reference voltage based on the reference current (§0013 explains that the output stage utilizes cascode p-channel transistors (M21–M24) to generate and scale reference voltages and currents to maximize output signal swing); generate an output voltage based on the reference voltage; generate output operating points of the output voltage; and increase an output current of the output voltage responsive to the output operating points (§0016 notes that device physics and submicron channel modulation effects allow operating points (such as drain-source voltages of transistors M30, M40, M60) to increase output current during transient discharge of the load. §0019 further states that gate control voltages from current sources M30 and M40 drive output transistors M60 and M22 (via M50), thereby boosting and increasing the output current delivered to VOUT in response to operating conditions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Shulman in view of Wilson.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Shulman discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 8 in terms of the basic amplifier mentioned in claims 1 and 8 in the architecture of 200 (FIG. 2). However, Shulman is not explicit about Dual first and second divider circuitries interconnected between third terminals of second and third buffer circuitries.
Wilson in a similar field of endeavor teaches in FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and §0028 (Col. 5, lines 1–6) & §0043 (Col. 10, lines 49–56) discloses symmetric first impedance/divider 202a / 701a and second impedance/divider 202b / 701b coupled in series between differential outputs to common midpoint node 203.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to consider incorporating first and second divider networks into Shulman’s buffer stages as shown in Wilson and motivation would be to maintain symmetrical feedback division across dual buffer stages, preventing common-mode voltage drift and optimizing high-frequency linearity.
Regarding claim 14, Shulman teaches all limitations of claim 8 in the amplifier 200 (FIG. 2). Shulman however is not explicit about Capacitor circuitry coupled to the pre-driver terminal and common transistor terminals.
Wilson in a similar filed of endeavor teaches in FIG. 4, FIG. 8, and §0034 (Col. 8, lines 48–55) & §0044 (Col. 11, lines 1–12) disclose bias capacitor CBIAS/gain capacitor 801 coupled to node 203 and amplifier nodes.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to consider adding feedback/bias capacitor circuitry to Shulman’s pre-driver and driver transistor nodes as taught by Wilson and motivation do so would be to modulate sensor bias nodes, converting amplifier noise into common-mode noise that is easily rejected downstream.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 and 8 respectively but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of base claim 1 and 8 and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-3, 7, 9-11 are allowable because the closest prior art of record, Shulman although teaches the amplifier structure (FIG. 2, 200) comprising first stage driving circuitry (M1, M2, M1-a, M2-a) and output stage circuitry (M21–M24, M50, M60, A1, A2), doesn’t teach explicitly that the amplifier has a Fourth buffer circuitry having a terminal and a third transistor coupled between the current mirror, pre-driver, and fourth buffer circuitry.
Claims 5-6, 13 are allowable because the closest prior art of record, Shulman doesn’t teach explicitly a third and a fourth transistor the terminal connected to the first transistor and the first buffer as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art, Birdsall (US5410274), Williams (US7960997), Taylor (US20020121885), Coimbra (US20140111278), Niikura (US20200382122), Murtaza (US20240348220) and Shao (CN 113937982 B) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/HAFIZUR RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843.