DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This communication is in response application 18/759,144 filed on the 28th day of June, 2024. Claim 1 is canceled. Claims 2-21 are hereby entered. No claims are allowed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) with no practical application and without significantly more.
Claims 2-16 are methods and 17-22 are systems. Thus, each claim on its face is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 USC 101. However, claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea in that the instant application is directed to a mental process (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). The independent claims (2, 11, and 17) recite methods and a system to receive, analyze and present information regarding carbon offset in products. These claim elements are being interpreted as concepts performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion). Receiving carbon credit information to track and determine product carbon credits can equivalently be achieved by human observation and evaluation of data. For example, a human can determine carbon credit of a product based on manufacturing information, and link a carbon credit amount to a final product. The claims recite an abstract idea consistent with the “mental process” grouping set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Further, the claimed invention is also directed to an abstract idea in that the instant application is directed to mathematical concepts (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). The independent claims recite methods and a system that splits a total value by a unit count to determine a per unit metric. These claim elements are being interpreted as mathematical relationships as the per unit metric is determined by a relationship between the carbon credit and unit count. The claims recite an abstract idea consistent with the “mathematical concepts” grouping set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
The instant application fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the instant application merely recites an “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea. The instant application is directed towards systems to implement the identified abstract ideas of mental processes (i.e. receiving information, analyzing it, and displaying results of collection and analysis) and mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships) in a general computer environment. The claims do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The independent claims recite the additional elements “a computer”, “a distributed ledger”, “computing device”. These claim elements are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a general computer environment. The machines merely act as a modality to implement the abstract idea and are not indicative of integration into a practical application (i.e., the additional elements are simply used as a tool to perform the abstract idea), see MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in Step 2A Prong Two analysis, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B and does not provide an inventive concept.
In regards to the dependent claims
Claims 3-9, 13-16, 18, and 20-21 further limit the abstract idea and do not include any new additional elements or abstract ideas.
Claim 10 introduces the additional element “a camera” in another computing device. However, the camera is simply used as a tool to perform the abstract idea (i.e. camera scans code to access information) and is not indicative of practical application or significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 12 and 19 introduce the additional element “a plurality of physical sensors”. However, the sensors are simply used as a tool to perform the abstract idea (i.e. sensors are used to receive information) and is not indicative of practical application or significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-14 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jawaharlal (US 20190108516 A1) in view of Biernat (US 20190340269 A1), in further view of NPL BBC (How to work out a unit price).
Regarding Claim 2, Jawaharlal teaches:
A computer implemented method comprising: receiving from a first remote computing device, by a first computing node among a plurality of computing nodes that each host a copy of a distributed ledger, a first data packet comprising information regarding a carbon offset, [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0007) “In another example embodiments, provided is a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored therein program instructions that when executed cause a computer to perform one or more of storing a plurality of transactions in a carbon footprint blockchain”, (Para 0021) “ FIG. 1 illustrates a carbon footprint blockchain network 100 in accordance with an example embodiment. Referring to FIG. 1, the network 100 includes a distributed group of blockchain peers 110 which may communicate with one another and store a replica of a carbon footprint blockchain which is subject to consensus among the blockchain peers 110 (also referred to as nodes)”, (Para 0025) “The blockchain base or platform 205 may include various layers of blockchain data, services (e.g., cryptographic trust services, virtual execution environment), and underpinning physical computer infrastructure necessary to receive and store new carbon footprint transactions and provide access to chaincode and auditors which are seeking to access data entries.”]
wherein the first data packet comprises information including at least (a) an amount of carbon prevented from entering the atmosphere when producing a batch of raw material (carbon credit), or (b) an amount of power used in producing the batch of raw material; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0018) “Managing an allowable carbon footprint usage via a blockchain network that enables merchants to receive and to update carbon footprint information about a user or a group of users within a carbon footprint blockchain during a purchase transaction. Manufacturers, distributors, merchants, and the like, may assign a carbon footprint amount to items (e.g., goods and services)”]
storing in the distributed ledger, by the first computing node, a first ledger entry that includes the information from the first data packet and an associated batch identifier, [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0004) “Meanwhile, a blockchain may be used as a distributed public ledger to store information such as digital assets and the like. A blockchain is typically distributed across multiple points of entry (i.e., nodes or peers)”, (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID)”]
in response to receiving the second data packet: retrieving the amount of carbon credit associated with the at least part of the batch of raw material from the distributed ledger; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0020) “The blockchain may also process a transaction based on product identification, for example, a carbon footprint associated with an item involved in the purchase”, (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID), an item ID or item IDs, a carbon footprint level (e.g., positive, negative, neutral, etc.)… the carbon footprint blockchain (e.g., smart contract, chaincode, etc.) may determine a previous amount of carbon footprint consumed…”]
storing, in the distributed ledger, one or more additional ledger entries associating the generated per-unit carbon credit with one or more of a plurality of unique product identifiers, [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID), an item ID or item IDs, a carbon footprint level (e.g., positive, negative, neutral, etc.), a time stamp, and the like.”]
However, Jawaharlal does not teach but Biernat does teach:
wherein the first ledger entry identifies an amount of carbon credit associated with the batch of raw material; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0122) “machine states or telemetric data at the time the product was assembled (e.g., oven temperatures, moisture levels, water or air pressures, etc.), or other such information that can be married to a unit or batch of product. In some implementations, each operation performed on the unit of product during its progress through the production process can be represented as a transaction within the industrial blockchain”, (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”]
receiving, by at least the first computing node, the batch identifier and a second data packet, wherein the second data packet comprises at least a unit count of units produced from at least part of the batch of raw material; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0092) “For example, the public blockchain 1304a may include publicly accessible part count or material source information that may be accessed by all blockchain systems 1704 within the ecosystem”, (Para 0130) “In addition to the private blockchains 1304b, the blockchain-enabled industrial devices 1102 at the manufacturing facility can also generate public blockchains 1304a that record, as transactions, manufacturing statistics for each unit of product that is to be shared with other devices on the larger industrial blockchain ecosystem”, (Para 0122) “machine states or telemetric data at the time the product was assembled (e.g., oven temperatures, moisture levels, water or air pressures, etc.), or other such information that can be married to a unit or batch of product. In some implementations, each operation performed on the unit of product during its progress through the production process can be represented as a transaction within the industrial blockchain”]
wherein each of the one or more additional ledger entries comprises a reference to the first ledger entry that associates one or more of the plurality of product identifiers with the raw material referenced in the first ledger entry; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0092) “For example, the public blockchain 1304a may include publicly accessible part count or material source information that may be accessed by all blockchain systems”]
sending, to at least a second remote computing device, at least a subset of the plurality of unique product identifiers to each be uniquely assigned to a corresponding plurality of different physical products produced from the raw material; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0124) “In another example configuration, an industrial blockchain generated for a component part to be assembled with other parts into a final product can include, in addition to production statistics for the component part, provenance information that defines, as immutable and verified blockchain data, an origin or source of the component part. This provenance information can comprise, for example, one or more of an identity of a vendor or supplier of the component part, a part identifier, identifies of other entities within the supply chain through which the part has traversed, a date of the part's manufacture, a cost of the part, or other such information.”, (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code,”]
and in response to a request, from a third remote computing device, for carbon credit information associated with a first unique physical product having a first unique product identifier from the plurality of unique product identifiers: [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code”, (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”]
identifying a matching entry, amongst the one or more additional ledger entries, for the first unique product identifier in the distributed ledger; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “The code establishes the identity of a source of the product's blockchain as well as the stored data to be accessed. When a product's code is scanned by the mobile device… interface component 2118 instructs blockchain search and management component 2122 to search the blockchains 1304a, 1304b and retrieve a subset of relevant product data]
and sending, to the third remote computing device, an indication of a verified amount of the per-unit carbon credit uniquely associated with the first unique physical product. [see at least Biernat: (Para 0122) “machine states or telemetric data at the time the product was assembled (e.g., oven temperatures, moisture levels, water or air pressures, etc.), or other such information that can be married to a unit or batch of product”, (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”, (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code,”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of utilizing blockchain to record and track carbon footprint transaction information (Jawaharlal) with the method using blockchain tracking information throughout all stages of production (Biernat). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefits of recording all the information from raw material to final production to accurately represent the carbon footprint information for each unique product (see at least Biernat: (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Carbon footprint blockchain (Jawaharlal) with the use of unique product identifiers to identify product information (Biernat). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefits of accessing information through a code of a product, yielding predictable results.
The combination of Jawaharlal and Biernat explicitly teaches wherein the system is automatically calculating and determining a carbon credit aggregate amount based on transaction information and specific item information (see at least Jawaharlal: ¶ 23, 38, and 39). Jawaharlal discloses a system that determines a carbon footprint credit on a per item bases where the system determines and automatically calculates a running credit total based on the transaction information which would teach that the credits are determined on an per item bases therefore, splitting the credits based on a unit count (see at least Jawaharlal: ¶ 36). Furthermore, Jawaharlal teaches that the system “determines an aggregate carbon footprint of the user based on a carbon footprint of the item” (see Jawaharlal: Abstract). Biernat further teaches that the system tracks and authenticates carbon credits by aggregating and tracking carbon dioxide usages for each manufactured product (see at least Biernat: ¶ 135).
However, the combination of Jawaharlal and Biernat does not teach but NPL BBC does teach:
splitting the amount of carbon credit based on the unit count to generate a per-unit carbon credit, and [see at least NPL BBC: (Page 1, Key points) “Unit price gives the cost per unit of item that is being sold. It is calculated by dividing the cost by the quantity.”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of carbon footprint manufacturing blockchain wherein the system aggregates carbon credits by item and splits the credits in order to maintain authorized thresholds for carbon credits (Jawaharlal and Biernat) with determining a per unit metric (NPL BBC). One of ordinary skill would have recognized that dividing by a quantity of units would produce a per unit value, yielding predictable results to manage a budget of carbon credits using unit prices to compare for better value products (see BBC: Page 4).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein receiving, from the first remote computing device, the first data packet comprises receiving from the remote computing device the first data packet along with a first cryptographic signature. [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0025) “Cryptographic trust services 230 may be used to verify transactions such as carbon footprint purchase transactions and keep information private”, (Para 0033) “The carbon footprint blockchain 330 may store carbon footprint data semi-publicly in a linear container space (the block). Anyone can verify that you've placed that information because the container has a signature on it, but only an authorized user (or a program) may be able to unlock what's inside the container with a private key to that data”]
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein each of the one or more additional ledger entries further comprises a second cryptographic signature that is generated using a private key of a product fabricator or manufacturer that produced the units produced from the at least part of the batch of raw material. [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0033) “The carbon footprint blockchain 330 may store carbon footprint data semi-publicly in a linear container space (the block). Anyone can verify that you've placed that information because the container has a signature on it, but only an authorized user (or a program) may be able to unlock what's inside the container with a private key to that data”]
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein the amount of carbon credit associated with the batch of raw material is determined based at least on (a) the amount of carbon prevented from entering the atmosphere when producing the batch of raw material and (b) the amount of power used in producing the batch of raw material. [see at least Jawaharlal: Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID), an item ID or item IDs, a carbon footprint level (e.g., positive, negative, neutral, etc.), a time stamp, and the like.”]
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein storing, in the distributed ledger, the one or more additional ledger entries associating the per-unit carbon credit with each of the plurality of unique product identifiers comprises storing the plurality of unique product identifiers in the distributed ledger. [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID), an item ID or item IDs, a carbon footprint level (e.g., positive, negative, neutral, etc.)”]
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein storing, in the distributed ledger, the one or more additional ledger entries associating the per-unit carbon credit with each of the plurality of unique product identifiers comprises linking the one or more additional ledger entries to the first ledger entry in the distributed ledger. [See at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0024) “Referring to FIG. 2, blockchain system 200 may include certain common blockchain elements, for example, a group 280 of assigned peer blockchain nodes 281-284 which participate in blockchain transaction addition and validation process (consensus) within a carbon footprint blockchain network” (Para 0032) “The blockchain peer 320 may record transactions on a public block thereby creating a unique chain (i.e., the carbon footprint blockchain). Each successive block may include a hash of the previous code”]
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein the one or more additional ledger entries include at least a portion of the first ledger entry or include an identification of the first ledger entry such that the one or more additional ledger entries are permanently linked to the first ledger entry in the distributed ledger. [The limitation recites an immutable ledger with linked entries; see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0024) “Any of the blockchain peer nodes 280 may initiate a blockchain authentication and seek to write to a blockchain immutable ledger of the carbon footprint blockchain which may be stored in blockchain layer 220, a copy of which may also be stored on the underpinning physical infrastructure 210.”]
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein the plurality of unique product identifiers comprises a plurality of unique alpha-numeric codes. [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0022) “Each item may also include a unique ID (e.g., SKU, RFID, tag, etc.) that identifies the item being purchased.”]
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above.
However, Jawaharlal does not teach but Biernat does teach:
wherein the plurality of unique product identifiers comprises a plurality of QR codes, and wherein the request from the third remote computing device for carbon credit information associated with the first unique physical product includes the first unique product identifier as determined by the third remote computing device from an image of a QR code captured by a camera of the third remote computing device. [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code, imprinted on the product 2108 using the mobile device's optical scanning capabilities. The code establishes the identity of a source of the product's blockchain as well as the stored data to be accessed. When a product's code is scanned by the mobile device 2104 and an authentic user identifier is provided to the user interface application 2110, the application 2110 sends the request”, (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product.”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Carbon footprint blockchain (Jawaharlal) with the use of QR code scanning to access information (Biernat). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the incorporating a QR code system would allow users to access specific product information on the blockchain from a computing device.
Regarding Claim 11, Jawaharlal teaches:
A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving from a first remote computing device, by a first computing node among a plurality of computing nodes that each host a copy of a distributed ledger, [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0007) “In another example embodiments, provided is a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored therein program instructions that when executed cause a computer to perform one or more of storing a plurality of transactions in a carbon footprint blockchain”, (Para 0021) “ FIG. 1 illustrates a carbon footprint blockchain network 100 in accordance with an example embodiment. Referring to FIG. 1, the network 100 includes a distributed group of blockchain peers 110 which may communicate with one another and store a replica of a carbon footprint blockchain which is subject to consensus among the blockchain peers 110 (also referred to as nodes)”, (Para 0025) “The blockchain base or platform 205 may include various layers of blockchain data, services (e.g., cryptographic trust services, virtual execution environment), and underpinning physical computer infrastructure necessary to receive and store new carbon footprint transactions and provide access to chaincode and auditors which are seeking to access data entries.”]
a first data packet comprising information regarding an environmental attribute generated as a result of the production of a physical product, wherein the first data packet comprises information including at least (a) an amount of carbon that would otherwise be in the air in the absence of the production of the physical product, (b) the water, energy, labor, or other input that would have been utilized in the absence of the production of the physical product, or (c) another quantifiable environmental or social improvement from a baseline created as a result of the production of the physical product; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0018) “Managing an allowable carbon footprint usage via a blockchain network that enables merchants to receive and to update carbon footprint information about a user or a group of users within a carbon footprint blockchain during a purchase transaction. Manufacturers, distributors, merchants, and the like, may assign a carbon footprint amount to items (e.g., goods and services)”]
storing in the distributed ledger, by the first computing node, a first ledger entry that includes the information from the first data packet and an associated batch identifier, wherein the first ledger entry comprises a first cryptographic signature generated using a private key of a producer of the physical product; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0033) “The carbon footprint blockchain 330 may store carbon footprint data semi-publicly in a linear container space (the block). Anyone can verify that you've placed that information because the container has a signature on it, but only an authorized user (or a program) may be able to unlock what's inside the container with a private key to that data”]
in response to receiving the second data packet: retrieving the amount of environmental or social improvement associated with the at least part of the batch of raw material from the distributed ledger; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID), an item ID or item IDs, a carbon footprint level (e.g., positive, negative, neutral, etc.)… the carbon footprint blockchain (e.g., smart contract, chaincode, etc.) may determine a previous amount of carbon footprint consumed…”]
and storing, in the distributed ledger, one or more additional ledger entries associating the per-unit environmental or social improvement credit with each of a plurality of unique product identifiers, [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID), an item ID or item IDs, a carbon footprint level (e.g., positive, negative, neutral, etc.)”]
wherein each of the one or more additional ledger entries comprises… and (ii) a second cryptographic signature that is generated using a private key of a fabricator associated with the at least part of the batch of raw material; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0024) “Referring to FIG. 2, blockchain system 200 may include certain common blockchain elements, for example, a group 280 of assigned peer blockchain nodes 281-284 which participate in blockchain transaction addition and validation process (consensus) within a carbon footprint blockchain network” (Para 0032) “The blockchain peer 320 may record transactions on a public block thereby creating a unique chain (i.e., the carbon footprint blockchain). Each successive block may include a hash of the previous code”, (Para 0033) “The carbon footprint blockchain 330 may store carbon footprint data semi-publicly in a linear container space (the block). Anyone can verify that you've placed that information because the container has a signature on it, but only an authorized user (or a program) may be able to unlock what's inside the container with a private key to that data”]
However, Jawaharlal does not teach but Biernat does teach:
receiving, by at least the first computing node, the batch identifier and a second data packet that includes information regarding fabrication associated with at least part of a batch of raw material, [see at least Biernat: (Para 0122) “machine states or telemetric data at the time the product was assembled (e.g., oven temperatures, moisture levels, water or air pressures, etc.), or other such information that can be married to a unit or batch of product. In some implementations, each operation performed on the unit of product during its progress through the production process can be represented as a transaction within the industrial blockchain”]
wherein the second data packet comprises at least a unit count of units produced from the at least part of the batch of raw material; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0092) “For example, the public blockchain 1304a may include publicly accessible part count or material source information that may be accessed by all blockchain systems 1704 within the ecosystem”]
wherein each of the one or more additional ledger entries comprises (i) a reference to the first ledger entry that associates one or more product identifiers with the physical product referenced in the first ledger entry, [see at least Biernat: (Para 0092) “For example, the public blockchain 1304a may include publicly accessible part count or material source information that may be accessed by all blockchain systems”, (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code, imprinted on the product 2108 using the mobile device's optical scanning capabilities. The code establishes the identity of a source of the product's blockchain as well as the stored data to be accessed.”]
sending, to at least a second remote computing device, at least a subset of the plurality of unique product identifiers to each be uniquely assigned to a different physical product produced from the raw material; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code,”]
and in response to a request, from a third remote computing device, for environmental or social improvement information associated with a first unique physical product having a first unique product identifier from the plurality of unique product identifiers: [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code”, (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”]
identifying a matching entry, amongst the one or more additional ledger entries, for the first unique product identifier in the distributed ledger; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “The code establishes the identity of a source of the product's blockchain as well as the stored data to be accessed. When a product's code is scanned by the mobile device… interface component 2118 instructs blockchain search and management component 2122 to search the blockchains 1304a, 1304b and retrieve a subset of relevant product data]
and sending, to the third remote computing device, an indication of a verified amount of the per-unit environmental or social improvement credit uniquely associated with the first unique physical product. [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “The interface component 2118 renders the results on mobile device 2104”, (Para 0122) “machine states or telemetric data at the time the product was assembled (e.g., oven temperatures, moisture levels, water or air pressures, etc.), or other such information that can be married to a unit or batch of product”, (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of utilizing blockchain to record and track carbon footprint transaction information (Jawaharlal) with the method using blockchain tracking information throughout all stages of production (Biernat). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefits of recording all the information from raw material to final production to accurately represent the carbon footprint information for each unique product (see at least Biernat: (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Carbon footprint blockchain (Jawaharlal) with the use of unique product identifiers to identify product information (Biernat). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefits of accessing information through a code of a product, yielding predictable results.
The combination of Jawaharlal and Biernat explicitly teaches wherein the system is automatically calculating and determining a carbon credit aggregate amount based on transaction information and specific item information (see at least Jawaharlal: ¶ 23, 38, and 39). Jawaharlal discloses a system that determines a carbon footprint credit on a per item bases where the system determines and automatically calculates a running credit total based on the transaction information which would teach that the credits are determined on an per item bases therefore, splitting the credits based on a unit count (see at least Jawaharlal: ¶ 36). Furthermore, Jawaharlal teaches that the system “determines an aggregate carbon footprint of the user based on a carbon footprint of the item” (see Jawaharlal: Abstract). Biernat further teaches that the system tracks and authenticates carbon credits by aggregating and tracking carbon dioxide usages for each manufactured product (see at least Biernat: ¶ 135).
However, the combination of Jawaharlal and Biernat do not teach but NPL BBC does teach:
splitting the amount of environmental or social improvement based on the unit count to generate a per-unit environmental or social improvement credit; [see at least NPL BBC: (Page 1, Key points) “Unit price gives the cost per unit of item that is being sold. It is calculated by dividing the cost by the quantity.”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of carbon footprint manufacturing blockchain where each transaction is analyzed to determine a credit per item/transaction (Jawaharlal and Biernat) with determining a per unit metric (NPL BBC). One of ordinary skill would have recognized that dividing by a quantity of units would produce a per unit value, yielding predictable results to manage a budget of carbon credits using unit prices to compare for better value products (see BBC: Page 4).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein the first data packet is assembled by the remote computing device based on production data recorded in an automated process via communication between the remote computing device and a plurality of physical sensors or data inputs. [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0034) “In some embodiments, the carbon footprint blockchain 330 may also gather types of usage and availing of any service of a purchased product or consumption of resources from the IoT sensors 340 which can be added to a user's account or aggregate carbon footprint for making a carbon footprint authorization determination. The footprint measure can be positive or negative based on the kind of transaction”]
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above.
However, Jawaharlal does not teach but Biernat does teach:
further comprising: sending, to a computing system associated with a life-cycle analysis provider, information retrieved from a plurality of ledger entries associated with at least one unique product identifier; [The limitations recite sending retrieved information to an external computing system. The “life-cycle analysis provider” is not positively recited and describes intended use or result of the sent ledger information. However, art is still provided; see at least Biernat: (Para 0149) “Blockchain search system 2116 can bundle and send blocks of industrial blockchains to customers upon request via the user interface application 2110, which can include interactive search features that assist the user in easily locating desired information”, (Para 0045) “This archived data can be leveraged to track production statistics, equipment health statistics, asset lifecycle management”, (Para 0061) “In general, blockchain-enabled industrial devices can utilize blockchain technology in connection with such tasks as asset and product lifecycle management within a factory”]
receiving, from the computing system associated with the life-cycle analysis provider, results of a life-cycle analysis performed by a life-cycle analysis provider with respect to a product identified by the at least one unique product identifier, [see at least Biernat: (Para 0113) “The techniques described above regarding the use of industrial blockchains to track an OEM-provided machine across its lifecycle can also be applied to parts, sub-assemblies, or materials provided by supplier entities 1902 to a manufacturing entity… blockchain-enabled industrial devices 1102 at the supplier entities 1902 can generate public blockchains 1304a that record information regarding manufacture of the sub-assemblies permitted to be shared with the manufacturing entity”]
wherein the life-cycle analysis is based on environmental impacts associated with a life of the product as determined from the information included in the plurality of ledger entries associated with the at least one unique product identifier; [The limitations recite intended use or results of life-cycle analysis and does not carry patentable weight in the claims. However, art is still provided; see at least Biernat: (Para 0113) “The techniques described above regarding the use of industrial blockchains to track an OEM-provided machine across its lifecycle can also be applied to parts, sub-assemblies, or materials provided by supplier entities 1902 to a manufacturing entity…” (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product”]
and storing in the distributed ledger, by the first computing node, a new ledger entry that associates the results of the life-cycle analysis with at least one of the plurality of unique product identifiers. [see at least Biernat: (Para 0125) “One or both of the provenance information or the part characteristic information stored in the component part's blockchain can be leveraged by industrial devices at the manufacturing site to verify, prior to assembly of the part into the final product”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the carbon footprint block chain (Jawaharlal) with sending information, receiving results, and storing results (Biernat). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the ability to send data and receive data analysis in the blockchain would yield the predictable result of a more comprehensive view of the product data.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above.
However, Jawaharlal does not teach but Biernat does teach:
wherein at least one of the plurality of unique product identifiers associated with the life-cycle analysis is the first unique product identifier included in the request from the third remote computing device, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to the request from the third remote computing device, sending, to the third remote computing device, the results of the life-cycle analysis for the first unique product identifier as retrieved from the distributed ledger. [The limitation recites stored information being associated with the unique product ID, that can be retrieved from an external computing device (e.g. scanning a QR code to retrieve stored info); see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code, imprinted on the product 2108 using the mobile device's optical scanning capabilities”, (Para 0113) “ The techniques described above regarding the use of industrial blockchains to track an OEM-provided machine across its lifecycle can also be applied to parts, sub-assemblies, or materials provided by supplier entities 1902 to a manufacturing entity”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Carbon footprint blockchain (Jawaharlal) with storing and accessing information via QR code (Biernat). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the incorporating a QR code system would allow users to access specific product information on the blockchain from a computing device.
Regarding Claim 17, Jawaharlal teaches:
A computing system operating as a first computing node among a plurality of computing nodes that each host one or more copies of a distributed ledger, the computing system comprising: a non-transitory data store that stores a first copy of the distributed ledger; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0007) “In another example embodiments, provided is a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored therein program instructions that when executed cause a computer to perform one or more of storing a plurality of transactions in a carbon footprint blockchain”, (Para 0021) “ FIG. 1 illustrates a carbon footprint blockchain network 100 in accordance with an example embodiment. Referring to FIG. 1, the network 100 includes a distributed group of blockchain peers 110 which may communicate with one another and store a replica of a carbon footprint blockchain which is subject to consensus among the blockchain peers 110 (also referred to as nodes)”, (Para 0025) “The blockchain base or platform 205 may include various layers of blockchain data, services (e.g., cryptographic trust services, virtual execution environment), and underpinning physical computer infrastructure necessary to receive and store new carbon footprint transactions and provide access to chaincode and auditors which are seeking to access data entries.”]
and at least one computing device configured with computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one computing device to: receive from a remote computing device, a first data packet comprising information regarding carbon sequestered during production of a batch of raw material, wherein the first data packet comprises information including at least (a) an amount of carbon prevented from entering the atmosphere when producing the batch of raw material, and (b) an amount of power used in producing the batch of raw material; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0018) “Managing an allowable carbon footprint usage via a blockchain network that enables merchants to receive and to update carbon footprint information about a user or a group of users within a carbon footprint blockchain during a purchase transaction. Manufacturers, distributors, merchants, and the like, may assign a carbon footprint amount to items (e.g., goods and services)”, (Para 0007) “In another example embodiments, provided is a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored therein program instructions that when executed cause a computer to perform one or more of storing a plurality of transactions in a carbon footprint blockchain”]
store in at least the first copy of the distributed ledger, a first ledger entry that includes the information from the first data packet and an associated batch identifier, [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0004) “Meanwhile, a blockchain may be used as a distributed public ledger to store information such as digital assets and the like. A blockchain is typically distributed across multiple points of entry (i.e., nodes or peers)”, (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID)”]
wherein the first ledger entry comprises a first cryptographic signature generated using a private key of a producer of the raw material; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0033) “The carbon footprint blockchain 330 may store carbon footprint data semi-publicly in a linear container space (the block). Anyone can verify that you've placed that information because the container has a signature on it, but only an authorized user (or a program) may be able to unlock what's inside the container with a private key to that data”]
in response to receiving the second data packet: retrieve the amount of carbon credit associated with the at least part of the batch of raw material from the distributed ledger; [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0020) “The blockchain may also process a transaction based on product identification, for example, a carbon footprint associated with an item involved in the purchase”, (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID), an item ID or item IDs, a carbon footprint level (e.g., positive, negative, neutral, etc.)… the carbon footprint blockchain (e.g., smart contract, chaincode, etc.) may determine a previous amount of carbon footprint consumed…” ]
store, in at least the first copy of the distributed ledger, one or more additional ledger entries associating the per-unit carbon credit with each of a plurality of unique product identifiers, [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID), an item ID or item IDs, a carbon footprint level (e.g., positive, negative, neutral, etc.)”]
However, Jawaharlal does not teach but Biernat does teach:
wherein the first ledger entry identifies an amount of carbon credit associated with the batch of raw material, [see at least Biernat: (Para 0122) “machine states or telemetric data at the time the product was assembled (e.g., oven temperatures, moisture levels, water or air pressures, etc.), or other such information that can be married to a unit or batch of product. In some implementations, each operation performed on the unit of product during its progress through the production process can be represented as a transaction within the industrial blockchain”, (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”]
receive the batch identifier and a second data packet that includes information regarding fabrication associated with at least part of the batch of raw material, [see at least Biernat: (Para 0122) “machine states or telemetric data at the time the product was assembled (e.g., oven temperatures, moisture levels, water or air pressures, etc.), or other such information that can be married to a unit or batch of product. In some implementations, each operation performed on the unit of product during its progress through the production process can be represented as a transaction within the industrial blockchain”]
wherein the second data packet comprises at least a unit count of units produced from the at least part of the batch of raw material; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0092) “For example, the public blockchain 1304a may include publicly accessible part count or material source information that may be accessed by all blockchain systems 1704 within the ecosystem”]
wherein each of the one or more additional ledger entries comprises a reference to the first ledger entry that associates one or more product identifiers with the raw material referenced in the first ledger entry; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0092) “For example, the public blockchain 1304a may include publicly accessible part count or material source information that may be accessed by all blockchain systems”]
send, to at least a second remote computing device, at least a subset of the plurality of unique product identifiers to each be uniquely assigned to a different physical product produced from the raw material; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code,”]
and in response to a request, from a third remote computing device, for carbon credit information associated with a first unique physical product having a first unique product identifier from the plurality of unique product identifiers: [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code”, (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”]
identify a matching entry, amongst the one or more additional ledger entries, for the first unique product identifier in the distributed ledger; [see at least Biernat: (Para 0146) “The code establishes the identity of a source of the product's blockchain as well as the stored data to be accessed. When a product's code is scanned by the mobile device… interface component 2118 instructs blockchain search and management component 2122 to search the blockchains 1304a, 1304b and retrieve a subset of relevant product data]
and send, to the third remote computing device, an indication of a verified amount of the per-unit carbon credit uniquely associated with the first unique physical product, wherein the verified amount is obtained from the matching entry in the distributed ledger. [see at least Biernat: (Para 0122) “machine states or telemetric data at the time the product was assembled (e.g., oven temperatures, moisture levels, water or air pressures, etc.), or other such information that can be married to a unit or batch of product”, (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”, (Para 0146) “In the illustrated example, user interface application 2110 allows a user to access subsets of relevant blockchain data associated with a finished product 2108 by scanning a scannable code, such as a QR code,”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of utilizing blockchain to record and track carbon footprint transaction information (Jawaharlal) with the method using blockchain tracking information throughout all stages of production (Biernat). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefits of recording all the information from raw material to final production to accurately represent the carbon footprint information for each unique product (see at least Biernat: (Para 0135) “Industrial blockchains can also be used to authenticate carbon credits by tracking how much carbon dioxide was used to manufacture a product. In an example implementation, all carbon dioxide consumption can be aggregated by the blockchain-enabled devices 1102 and added as a validated element of the blockchain.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Carbon footprint blockchain (Jawaharlal) with the use of unique product identifiers to identify product information (Biernat). One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefits of accessing information through a code of a product, yielding predictable results.
The combination of Jawaharlal and Biernat explicitly teaches wherein the system is automatically calculating and determining a carbon credit aggregate amount based on transaction information and specific item information (see at least Jawaharlal: ¶ 23, 38, and 39). Jawaharlal discloses a system that determines a carbon footprint credit on a per item bases where the system determines and automatically calculates a running credit total based on the transaction information which would teach that the credits are determined on an per item bases therefore, splitting the credits based on a unit count (see at least Jawaharlal: ¶ 36). Furthermore, Jawaharlal teaches that the system “determines an aggregate carbon footprint of the user based on a carbon footprint of the item” (see Jawaharlal: Abstract). Biernat further teaches that the system tracks and authenticates carbon credits by aggregating and tracking carbon dioxide usages for each manufactured product (see at least Biernat: ¶ 135).
However, the combination of Jawaharlal and Biernat do not teach but NPL BBC does teach:
split the amount of carbon credit based on the unit count to generate a per-unit carbon credit; and [see at least NPL BBC: (Page 1, Key points) “Unit price gives the cost per unit of item that is being sold. It is calculated by dividing the cost by the quantity.”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of carbon footprint manufacturing blockchain system that splits the calculated carbon credit based on the item in order to determine an aggregate carbon credit or recommend a secondary item to claim for credit that would stay within a defined threshold (Jawaharlal and Biernat) with determining a per unit metric (NPL BBC). One of ordinary skill would have recognized that dividing by a quantity of units would produce a per unit value, yielding predictable results to manage a budget of carbon credits using unit prices to compare for better value products (see BBC: Page 4).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein to store, in at least the first copy of the distributed ledger, the one or more additional ledger entries associating the per-unit carbon credit with each of the plurality of unique product identifiers, the at least one computing device is further configured to link the one or more additional ledger entries to the first ledger entry in at least the first copy of the distributed ledger. [See at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0024) “Referring to FIG. 2, blockchain system 200 may include certain common blockchain elements, for example, a group 280 of assigned peer blockchain nodes 281-284 which participate in blockchain transaction addition and validation process (consensus) within a carbon footprint blockchain network” (Para 0032) “The blockchain peer 320 may record transactions on a public block thereby creating a unique chain (i.e., the carbon footprint blockchain). Each successive block may include a hash of the previous code”]
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein the first data packet is assembled by the remote computing device based on production data recorded in an automated process via communication between the remote computing device and a plurality of physical sensors or data inputs. [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0034) “In some embodiments, the carbon footprint blockchain 330 may also gather types of usage and availing of any service of a purchased product or consumption of resources from the IoT sensors”]
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
wherein each of the one or more additional ledger entries further comprises a second cryptographic signature that is generated using a private key of a product fabricator or manufacturer that produced the units produced from the at least part of the batch of raw material. [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0033) “The carbon footprint blockchain 330 may store carbon footprint data semi-publicly in a linear container space (the block). Anyone can verify that you've placed that information because the container has a signature on it, but only an authorized user (or a program) may be able to unlock what's inside the container with a private key to that data”]
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above. Jawaharlal further teaches:
further comprising: storing in the distributed ledger, by the first computing node, a new ledger entry that associates the indication of a verified amount of the per-unit carbon credit uniquely associated with the first unique physical product with at least one of the plurality of unique product identifiers. [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0019) “The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID), an item ID or item IDs, a carbon footprint level (e.g., positive, negative, neutral, etc.)”]
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jawaharlal (US 20190108516 A1) in view of Biernat (US 20190340269 A1), in view of NPL BBC (How to work out a unit price) in further view of Hertz (US 20160239733 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above, Jawaharlal further teaches:
and storing in the distributed ledger, by the first computing node, a new ledger entry that associates the name and contact information with the first unique product identifier. [see at least Jawaharlal: (Para 0019) “ The transactions executed and stored in the carbon footprint blockchain may include information associated with the transaction including a user ID (or family/group ID)”]
However, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC do not teach but Hertz does teach:
further comprising: receiving, from the third remote computing device, a name and contact information of an owner of the first unique physical product; [see at least Hertz: (Abstract) “The article return service provider determines the registrant and associated contact information”, Para (0197) “The owner can provide owner information (step 156) when creating an account or any point thereafter. The account owner information would include owner name, billing address, contact information”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the carbon footprint manufacturing blockchain (Jawaharlal, Biernat, NPL BBC) with associating name and contact information (Hertz). One of ordinary skill would have recognized attaching name and contact information to a product identifier would create a more comprehensive ledger and identify product owners.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC teach the limitations set forth above.
However, the combination of Jawaharlal, Biernat, and NPL BBC do not teach but Hertz does teach:
further comprising: receiving a lost item indication, wherein the lost item indication comprises one of (a) an indication from the owner that the owner lost the first unique physical product, or (b) an indication from an individual other than the owner indicating that the individual found the first unique physical product; [see at least Hertz: (Para 0024) “and transmitting a notification message to the rightful owner by way of the associated contact method, wherein the notification message conveys that a forgotten article has been located and a reported current location of the forgotten article.”
and in response to the lost item indication, initiating an automated action to aid in return of the item to the owner, wherein the automated action comprises sending an electronic communication to at least one of the owner or the individual. [see at least Hertz: (Para 0207) “If the information respective to a found card matches a customer's card stored within the pre-registered database, the system automatically notifies the pre-registering customer”]
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the carbon footprint manufacturing blockchain (Jawaharlal, Biernat, NPL BBC) with lost and found feature (Hertz). One of ordinary skill would have recognized that a ledger with information on the products and users would allow lost items to be returned to their owners. The combination of these features would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Uber SPE can be reached on 571-270-3923. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300 Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/B.L.T/
Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/Michael Young/Examiner, Art Unit 3626