DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Regarding the "digital identity interpreter" comprising a two-dimensional bitmap with digital representations of all card identities: Applicant argues that Lin cites a "genus" (general digital card generation) without rendering the "species" (specific 2D bitmap atlas) obvious, lacking additional prior art or fact-findings per MPEP § 2144.08. Applicant further contends that applying 2D video game techniques to VR is non-obvious. This is unpersuasive. The rejection now incorporates additional prior art (PokerStars VR and Unity Sprite Atlas) showing the species as a routine, known technique in VR card games. PokerStars VR (released 2018) is a Unity-based VR poker game rendering a full deck of virtual cards, where Unity's standard sprite atlas packs 52 card images into a single 2D bitmap for efficient rendering. Unity explicitly describes sprite atlases as "a texture that is composed of several smaller textures... packed texture," optimizing draw calls for collections like card decks, applicable to VR environments as Unity supports VR development (https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/sprite/atlas/atlas-landing.html). This bridges the genus-species gap (MPEP § 2144.08(II)): Lin's digital card generation ([0046], [0056]) is improved by Unity's known bitmap packing, motivated by performance in resource-intensive VR (reduced draw calls for smooth rendering). Applicant's admission that the technique is common in video games supports obviousness; no non-obvious adaptation is required, as Unity atlases directly apply to 2D sprites in VR scenes.
Regarding hand tracking for grabbing/touching the virtual visual representation:
Applicant argues Lin tracks hands generally ([0058]) but not on virtual cards, and Stahl tracks only physical interactions via fiducials ([0044]-[0047], [0049], [0061]), without direct virtual hand-object interaction. Applicant calls the XR inherent tracking assertion unevidenced.
This is unpersuasive. The updated rejection cites PokerStars VR, which explicitly tracks hands for direct grabbing, touching, peeking, and throwing virtual card representations in a VR poker environment (e.g., pinch/fist gestures to peel hole cards, haptic feedback for realism). Unlike Stahl's fiducial-mediated physical updates, PokerStars VR enables controller-free interactions solely with virtual cards, post-digitization (no physical proxies required during play). This is evidenced by public descriptions and demos, not assertion. Combining with Lin's physical-to-virtual scanning yields the claimed feature, motivated by immersive VR gameplay (e.g., realistic poker tells and social interaction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lin (US 2019/0147705 A1) in view of PokerStars VR (released November 2018, as described in attached evidenced from Techfuturae, Published January 4, 2022. <https://www.techfuturae.com/vr/pokerstars/>. Accessed 1/8/2026; hereinafter "PokerStars") and further in view of Unity Sprite Atlas Documentation (Unity Technologies, pre-2018 versions, e.g., Manual archived as of 2017. < https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/sprite/atlas/sprite-atlas-reference.html>; hereinafter "Unity").
1. Lin discloses a system for playing with physical playing cards in virtual reality [0042], [0044], the system comprising:
a plurality of physical playing cards having corresponding card identities [0046];
a card identity recognition system configured to recognize a card identity of a physical playing card, the card identity recognition system further configured to convert the card identity of the physical playing card into a digital representation of the physical playing card (i.e. the card processing module can read RFID or similar electronic tags embedded in the cards to detect and process physical card data into digital representations), [0046], [0056];
a web server electronically connected with the card identity recognition system, the web server configured to host the digital representation of the physical playing card uploaded by the card identity recognition system [0047], [0049]-[0050]; and
a virtual reality viewing device electronically connected with the web server and configured to communicate with the web server, the virtual reality viewing device further configured to receive the digital representation of the physical playing card broadcasted by the web server [0042]-[0044], [0067],
the virtual reality viewing device further configured to decrypt the digital representation of the physical playing card into a virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card, using a digital identity interpreter for playing cards (i.e. card processing module determines card identity from sensor data, generates textual representation, then creates digital card for VR display; this interprets/decrypts scanned data into visual form), [0046], [0056],
the virtual reality viewing device further configured to display the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card to a human card player accessing the virtual reality viewing device and playing with the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card (i.e. processing module interprets sensor data to identify and render cards for the VR display), [0042]-[0044], [0067].
Lin discloses hand tracking to determine player actions like dealing or gesturing with cards [0058] but does not expressly disclose the virtual reality viewing device further configured to track hands of the human card player to determine what action a player is taking grabbing or touching with the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card.
PokerStars teaches a VR viewing device (HMD like Oculus Rift/Quest) tracking hands for grabbing or touching virtual visual representations of card identities (i.e. pinch/fist gestures to grab, peek, flip, or throw virtual poker cards), Techfutura (Page 4/24) or at timestamp of 1:10 of the attached YouTube video. This enables immersive interactions like peeling cards to check suits/ranks without physical proxies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lin's VR system with PokerStars' hand tracking for virtual card grabbing/touching and would have been motivated to enhance immersion and realism in VR poker by allowing natural, controller-free manipulations, as PokerStars demonstrates for social multiplayer experiences (e.g., reading tells via gestures). This is a predictable use of known VR interaction techniques (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007); MPEP § 2143(A)).
The combination does not explicitly detail the interpreter as a 2D bitmap with all card identities. Unity teaches a digital identity interpreter comprising a two-dimensional bitmap with digital representations of all card identities (sprite atlas packs multiple 2D sprites, e.g., 52 card textures, into a single bitmap/packed texture for efficient rendering; "a texture that is composed of several smaller textures... sprite sheet or packed texture"; optimizes for collections like decks by reducing draw calls). Applicable to VR as Unity supports VR development, using 2D sprites in 3D scenes. It would have been obvious to implement Lin-PokerStars' card rendering using Unity's sprite atlas (PokerStars is Unity-based) to streamline graphical assets for performance in VR (reduced overhead), a known technique in video games (as applicant admits). This substitutes equivalents (MPEP § 2143(B)), addressing genus-species by showing the bitmap species as routine for card decks (MPEP § 2144.08(II)).
2. Lin, PokerStars and Unity discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the card identity recognition system comprises a proximity based card identity recognition system, Lin [0056].
3. Lin, PokerStars and Unity discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the proximity based card identity recognition system comprises a RFID based card identity recognition system, Lin [0056].
4. Lin, PokerStars and Unity discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the card identity recognition system is further configured to convert the card identity of the physical playing card into the digital representation of the physical playing card, Lin [0056].
5. Lin, PokerStars and Unity discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the card identity recognition system comprises an image recognition system configured to recognize an image-bearing face of a physical playing card, Lin [0056].
6. Lin, PokerStars and Unity discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the image recognition system is further configured to convert the image-bearing face of the physical playing card into the digital representation of the physical playing card, Lin [0056].
7. Lin, PokerStars and Unity discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card comprises a virtual visual representation of the image-bearing face of the physical playing card, Lin [0056].
8-14. Lin, PokerStars and Unity a method of playing with physical playing cards in virtual reality, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of physical playing cards having corresponding card identities; presenting a card identity of a physical playing card to a card identity recognition system; recognizing the card identity of the physical playing card, by the card identity recognition system; converting the card identity of the physical playing card into a digital representation of the physical playing card, by the card identity recognition system; uploading the digital representation of the physical playing card on a web server, by the card identity recognition system; broadcasting the digital representation of the physical playing card to a virtual reality viewing device, by the web server; decrypting the digital representation of the physical playing card into a virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card, by the virtual reality viewing device using a digital identity interpreter for playing cards comprising a two- dimensional bitmap with digital representations of all of the card identities of the physical playing cards; displaying the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card to a human card player accessing the virtual reality viewing device; and playing with the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card in virtual reality, by the human card player, by tracking, by the virtual reality viewing device, hands of the human card player grabbing or touching the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card as similarly discussed above
15-21. Lin, PokerStars and Unity discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium that provides instructions that, if executed by a processor, are configured to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: receiving a plurality of physical playing cards having corresponding card identities; presenting a card identity of a physical playing card to a card identity recognition system; recognizing the card identity of the physical playing card, by the card identity recognition system; converting the card identity of the physical playing card into a digital representation of the physical playing card, by the card identity recognition system; uploading the digital representation of the physical playing card on a web server, by the card identity recognition system; broadcasting the digital representation of the physical playing card to a virtual reality viewing device, by the web server; decrypting the digital representation of the physical playing card into a virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card, by the virtual reality viewing device using a digital identity interpreter for playing cards comprising a two- dimensional bitmap with digital representations of all of the card identities of the physical playing cards; displaying the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card to a human card player accessing the virtual reality viewing device; and playing with the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card in virtual reality, by the human card player, by tracking, by the virtual reality viewing device, hands of the human card player grabbing or touching the virtual visual representation of the card identity of the physical playing card as similarly discussed above
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached USPTO form PTO-892.
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715