DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US Pub No. 2011/0269469) in view of PANAITOPOL (US Pub No. 2016/0150426).
Claim 1, Xiao discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (par [0030] disclosed the measurement report includes an identifier of the event that triggers the measurement report, the carrier information of the target cell measured by the UE and the corresponding measurement value, and an identifier of the target cell), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (See Fig. 7, 8, processing unit 702, and par [0009-0010]): receive a first message comprising a measurement configuration, wherein the measurement configuration comprises a plurality of measurement identities (See Fig. 3, and par [0045-0049, 0061-0063] disclosed the measurement configuration by the source eNB delivers a measurement control message to the UE; the measurement control message includes information about the measured carrier and the control information); determine, based on measurements associated with at least a first measurement identity in the plurality of measurement identities, that a measurement reporting criterion for at least one cell is satisfied, wherein a measurement or a measurement evaluation associated with a second measurement identity is ongoing (par [0104-0105, 0111-0112] by measurement reports triggered by multiple events after receiving the measurement reports triggered by the multiple events within an estimated interval; and first measurement identity in the plurality of measurement identities with measurement reporting in step 301, 302, 310 in Fig 3); determine whether a radio quality of a respective cell satisfies a preliminary radio threshold (par [0031] applied the measurement value includes the RSRP and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ: Reference Signal Received Quality) measured by the UE to satisfy radio threshold in [par 0036]); generate a measurement report based on the measurements associated with at least the first measurement identity; add, to the measurement report, an indication that another measurement is in progress and the radio quality of the respective cell satisfies the preliminary radio threshold (par [0031, 0036, 0110] wherein the measurement value includes the RSRP and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ: Reference Signal Received Quality) measured by the UE to satisfy radio threshold; and in the plurality of measurement identities with measurement reporting in step 301, 302, 310 in Fig 3); and transmit a second message comprising the measurement report (Fig. 3, and with step 301, 302, 310). However, Xiao does not disclose the measurement configuration by RRC connected state). PANAITOPOL discloses the measurement configuration by RRC connected state (par [0200,0202, 0206, 0209] disclosed in specifically by a RRC Connection Reconfiguration message; and/or the <<(Re)Configuration Complete>> message can comprise a RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message; and/or the <<Measurement Report>> message can comprise a RRC Measurement Report). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide of PANAITOPOL to the system of Xiao in order to support the network can employ the reporting from mobile radio communication device for network planning /optimization purposes.
Claim 2, Xiao further discloses the UE of claim 1, where the preliminary threshold corresponds to an event entering radio condition. (par [0031, 0036, 0110] wherein the measurement value includes the RSRP and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ: Reference Signal Received Quality) measured by the UE to satisfy radio threshold).
Claim 3, Xiao further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the first message is received from a radio access network (RAN), and wherein the preliminary radio threshold corresponds to a Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) value or a Reference Signal Receive Quality (RSRQ) value configured by the RAN (par [0031, 0036] applied the measurement value includes the RSRP and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ: Reference Signal Received Quality) measured by the UE to satisfy radio threshold).
Claim 4, the combination of Xiao and PANAITOPOL further disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to perform inter-frequency measurements for a list of measurement objects, and wherein to determine that the measurement reporting criterion for the at least one cell is satisfied (par [0016-0020] of PANAITOPOL, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to evaluate the inter-frequency measurements associated with at least the first measurement identity (par [0030, 0063] of Xiao, disclosed the measurement report includes an identifier of the event that triggers the measurement report).
Claim 5, 17, the combination of Xiao and PANAITOPOL further disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the measurement configuration further comprises a plurality of measurement objects, wherein each measurement object of the plurality of measurement objects corresponds to a radio frequency (par [0186-0188, 0200] of PANAITOPOL, used per Sub-Band frequency domain for radio access network, and the messages sent between the network and devices can employ any appropriate medium such as through RRC messages), and wherein each measurement identity of the plurality of measurement identities corresponds to a measurement object of the plurality of measurement objects (par [0030, 0063] of Xiao, disclosed the measurement report includes an identifier of the event that triggers the measurement report).
Claim 6, the combination of Xiao and PANAITOPOL further disclose the UE of claim 5, wherein the measurement configuration further comprises a measurement event associated with at least one measurement object, and wherein to determine that the measurement reporting criterion for the at least one cell is satisfied, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine that the measurement event is triggered (par [0104-0105, 0111-0112] of Xiao, by measurement reports triggered by multiple events after receiving the measurement reports triggered by the multiple events within an estimated interval; and first measurement identity in the plurality of measurement identities with measurement reporting).
Claim 7, 18, the combination of Xiao and PANAITOPOL further disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the first message comprises a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message, and wherein the second message comprises an RRC measurement report message (par [0200, 0204-0205] of PANAITOPOL, configuration message comprising a RRC Connection Reconfiguration message; and/or the <<(Re)Configuration Complete>> message can comprise a RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message).
Claim 8, the combination of Xiao and PANAITOPOL further disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to determine whether the measurement evaluation associated with the second measurement identity will complete within a predetermined time, and wherein to add the indication to the measurement report (par [0040, 0042, 0050, 0054] of PANAITOPOL), the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to add the indication based on the measurement evaluation associated with the second measurement identity completing within the predetermined time (par [0040, 0042, 0050, 0054] of PANAITOPOL, a predetermined time and any determinations within the said at least one mobile radio communications device of the link-quality being insufficient to the reference value that have been made by that time, are delivered to the network).
Claim 12, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 13, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 14, PANAITOPOL further discloses the base station of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to perform the handover decision prior to expiry of the timer in response to receiving a second measurement report that lacks the indication that another measurement is in progress (par [0154, 0165, 0181, 0225] disclosed configured to cause the base station to perform the handover decision prior to expiry of the timer in response to receiving a second measurement report that lacks the indication that another measurement is in progress based on which to take account of a possibly relatively long time period between consecutive indications, a “time to expire” can be included which allows, for example, the UE device to empty the buffer of indications which determined if the number of such identified indications during a time period Timer1 or Timer2, and the period of a timer between successive time instances 90 and 92).
Claim 15, PANAITOPOL further discloses the base station of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to reset the timer in response to receiving a second measurement report that comprises the indication that another measurement is in progress (par [0154, 0165] the threshold values. In the illustrated table, T represents the period of a timer between successive time instances 90 and 92, the time period noted, no instances of low link-quality are reported from UE such that there is reporting to be taken at the network).
Claim 16, the combination of Xiao and PANAITOPOL further disclose the base station of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to provision the UE with a radio threshold for preliminary evaluation of a radio quality of a respective cell corresponding to the second measurement identity, and wherein the indication that another measurement is in progress further indicates that the radio quality of the respective cell satisfies the radio threshold (par [0031, 0036, 0110] of Xiao, disclosed wherein the measurement value includes the RSRP and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ: Reference Signal Received Quality) measured by the UE to satisfy radio threshold; and in the plurality of measurement identities with measurement reporting in step 301, 302, 310 in Fig 3).
Claim 20, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US Pub No. 2011/0269469) in view of PANAITOPOL (US Pub No. 2016/0150426), and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pub No. 2024/0137073).
Claim 9, the combination of Xiao and PANAITOPOL disclose all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Wang discloses wherein the indication that another measurement is in progress comprises a Boolean flag (par [0041, 0047] the base station 120 sets a Boolean value, an enumeration field, an information element, or a toggle flag in a communication to the coordinating UE 111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide of Xiao, and PANAITOPOL to the system of Wang in order support signal adjustments in user equipment-coordination set joint transmissions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record either alone or in combination do not disclose.
Claim 10. The UE of claim 1, wherein the measurement report further comprises one or more of: a set of unmeasured measurement objects; a set of unmeasured measurement identities; a set of measurement objects for which measurement and evaluation is ongoing; a set of measurement identities for which measurement and evaluation is ongoing; a set of unmeasured measurement objects for which measurement and evaluation is undesired; a set of unmeasured measurement identities for which measurement and evaluation is undesired; a set of unmeasured measurement objects for which measurement and evaluation is desired based on a service priority or a network slice priority; a set of unmeasured measurement identities for which measurement and evaluation is desired based on a service priority or a network slice priority; an order in which a set of unmeasured measurement objects is to be measured and evaluated; an order in which a set of unmeasured measurement identities objects is to be measured and evaluated; a remaining time to complete an ongoing measurement and evaluation associated with the second measurement identity; or a combination thereof.
Claim 19. The base station of claim 13, wherein the first measurement report further comprises one or more of: a set of unmeasured measurement objects; a set of unmeasured measurement identities; a set of measurement objects for which measurement and evaluation is ongoing; a set of measurement identities for which measurement and evaluation is ongoing; a set of unmeasured measurement objects for which measurement and evaluation is undesired; a set of unmeasured measurement identities for which measurement and evaluation is undesired; a set of unmeasured measurement objects for which measurement and evaluation is desired based on a service priority or a network slice priority; a set of unmeasured measurement identities for which measurement and evaluation is desired based on a service priority or a network slice priority; an order in which a set of unmeasured measurement objects is to be measured and evaluated; an order in which a set of unmeasured measurement identities objects is to be measured and evaluated; a remaining time to complete an ongoing measurement and evaluation associated with the second measurement identity; or a combination thereof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHANG et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0120557) discloses wireless communication method and wireless communication device.
Wang et al. (US Pub No; 2024/0014860) discloses intra-user-equipment-coordination set communication via an adaptive phase changing device.
/PHUOC H DOAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646