DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 06/28/2024
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2025 and 01/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner cites particular paragraphs, figures, and line number in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. As a disclaimer, the use of underlining in direct quotes is done by the examiner for emphasis. Direct quotes are not originally underlined in the published references cited.
Claim Objections
Claim 5-7, 12, 15, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5, 12, and 17, first occurrence of acronyms should be spelled out as in claim 4.
Claims 6 and 7 depend on the objected claim and inherit the same issue.
In Claim 15, “The wireless communication device of claim 12” should be - -The wireless communication device of claim 13- - because the wireless communication device is discussed in claim 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nekrestyanov et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20160378454 A1, hereinafter Nekrestyanov) in view of Reeves et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9820216 B1, hereinafter Reeves).
Regarding Claim 1:
Nekrestyanov discloses, “A method for providing a software update by a wireless communication device, comprising” (As shown in Figure 1B, the wireless communication device is mapped to the update storage device 140. In the Abstract, “The client device may access the updates via a content delivery network that schedules delivery of the updates to the client device”. In paragraph [0047], “Communication interface 460 may include a transceiver that enables device 400 to communicate with other devices and/or systems via wireless communications”. In paragraph [0011], “FIGS. 1A and 1B are diagrams showing an exemplary environment 100 in which the systems and/or methods described herein may be implemented”.);
“receiving instructions associated with a first software update via a first link with a first device” (As shown in Figure 1B, the first device is mapped to update decision device 130; the first link is mapped to update attributes 103. In paragraph [0024], “upgrade data 142 may include configuration and/or setting data that may be used by client device 110 to modify code already present on client device 110 … Update decision device 130 may receive, as update attributes 103, different values”.);
“obtaining data associated with the first software update” (In paragraph [0019], “update decision device 130 may obtain update attributes 103 from update storage device 140 and determine update identifiers 102 based on the update attributes 103 … Update attributes 103 may include a portion of update metadata 144, such as data associated with one or more versions of the updates”.);
“transmitting the instructions and the data associated with the first software update via a second link with a second device” (As shown in Figure 1B, the second device is mapped to client device 110; and the second link is mapped to network 120, containing device metadata 101 and updated configuration data 106. In paragraph [0024], “… For example, client device 110 may forward device metadata 101 to update decision device 130. Update decision device 130 may return, as update configuration data 106, an updated CDN_host value and/or other configuration data”. In paragraph [0035], “Update storage device 140 may change the associated entry in use indicator column 340 to indicate that the version of the update is “usable” after receiving an instruction (e.g., a message) from an operator”.);
The above image is Figure 1B in Nekrestyanov, annotated by the Examiner, to demonstrate the mapping of claim 1.
Nekrestyanov does not disclose however Reeves discloses,
“releasing the first link responsive to obtaining the data associated with the first software update” (In (Col. 3, lines 12-15), “Upon completion of the background update process, operation 200 provides allowing the release of the wireless traffic channel (step 204)”.);
“receiving confirmation of the instructions and the data associated with the first software update by the [] device” (In (Col. 6, lines 52-56), “If AUTHBS matches the AUTHBS value calculated by authorization system 304, then the update of the SSD for wireless device 301 is confirmed and authorization system 304 transfers a notification of such to wireless device 301”.);
“releasing the [] link responsive to receiving the confirmation by the [] device” (In (Col. 6 lines 15-17), “Upon completion of update process 332, authorization system 304 transfers a completion notification message to wireless device 301, which indicates that the flag can be cleared. Once the flag is cleared, wireless device 301 is allowed to release the wireless traffic channel if no other operation of wireless device 301”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov by adopting the teaching of Reeves to receive a confirmation and to release links responsive to software updates; motivated by the allowance of “more efficient use of wireless signal spectrum among multiple wireless devices" (Reeves (Col. 1, lines 11-15)) while "preventing release of a wireless traffic channel before update process completion" (Reeves (Col. 1, lines 31-32)).
Regarding Claim 13:
Nekrestyanov discloses, “A wireless communication device comprising: a processing system; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing system, causes the wireless communication device to” (As shown in Figure 1B, the wireless communication device is mapped to the update storage device 140. In paragraph [0047], “Communication interface 460 may include a transceiver that enables device 400 to communicate with other devices and/or systems via wireless communications”. In paragraph [0042], “Client device 110, an element of network 120 and/or CDN 150 (e.g., a node, router, blade, etc.), update decision device 130, and/or update storage device 140 may each include one or more devices 400. As shown in FIG. 4, device 400 may include a bus 410, a processing unit 420, a memory 430, an input unit 440, an output unit 450, and a communication interface 460”. In paragraph [0050], “The software instructions contained in memory 430 may cause processing unit 420 to perform processes described herein””.);
“receive instructions associated with a first software update via a first link with a first device” (As shown in Figure 1B, the first device is mapped to update decision device 130; the first link is mapped to update attributes 103. In paragraph [0024], “upgrade data 142 may include configuration and/or setting data that may be used by client device 110 to modify code already present on client device 110 … Update decision device 130 may receive, as update attributes 103, different values”.);
“obtain data associated with the first software update” (In paragraph [0019], “update decision device 130 may obtain update attributes 103 from update storage device 140 and determine update identifiers 102 based on the update attributes 103 … Update attributes 103 may include a portion of update metadata 144, such as data associated with one or more versions of the updates”.);
“transmit the instructions and the data associated with the first software update via a second link with a second device” (As shown in Figure 1B, the second device is mapped to client device 110; and the second link is mapped to network 120, containing device metadata 101 and updated configuration data 106. In paragraph [0024], “… For example, client device 110 may forward device metadata 101 to update decision device 130. Update decision device 130 may return, as update configuration data 106, an updated CDN_host value and/or other configuration data”. In paragraph [0035], “Update storage device 140 may change the associated entry in use indicator column 340 to indicate that the version of the update is “usable” after receiving an instruction (e.g., a message) from an operator”.);
Nekrestyanov does not disclose however Reeves discloses,
“release the first link responsive to obtaining the data associated with the first software update” (In (Col. 3, lines 12-15), “Upon completion of the background update process, operation 200 provides allowing the release of the wireless traffic channel (step 204)”.);
“receive confirmation of the instructions and the data associated with the first software update by the [] device” (In (Col. 6, lines 52-56), “If AUTHBS matches the AUTHBS value calculated by authorization system 304, then the update of the SSD for wireless device 301 is confirmed and authorization system 304 transfers a notification of such to wireless device 301”.);
“and release the [] link responsive to receiving the confirmation by the [] device” (In (Col. 6 lines 15-17), “Upon completion of update process 332, authorization system 304 transfers a completion notification message to wireless device 301, which indicates that the flag can be cleared. Once the flag is cleared, wireless device 301 is allowed to release the wireless traffic channel if no other operation of wireless device 301”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov by adopting the teaching of Reeves to receive a confirmation and to release links responsive to software updates; motivated by the allowance of “more efficient use of wireless signal spectrum among multiple wireless devices" (Reeves (Col. 1, lines 11-15)) while "preventing release of a wireless traffic channel before update process completion" (Reeves (Col. 1, lines 31-32)).
Regarding Claim 2:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein the obtaining of the data associated with the first software update comprises: determining that the data associated with the first software update is stored in a local memory associated with the wireless communication device; and retrieving the data associated with the first software update from the local memory” (In paragraph [0019], “update decision device 130 may obtain update attributes 103 from update storage device 140 and determine update identifiers 102 based on the update attributes 103”. In paragraph [0050], “The software instructions may be read into memory 430 from another computer-readable medium or from another device. The software instructions contained in memory 430 may cause processing unit 420 to perform processes described herein”. In paragraph [0042], “Client device 110, an element of network 120 and/or CDN 150 (e.g., a node, router, blade, etc.), update decision device 130, and/or update storage device 140 may each include one or more devices 400. As shown in FIG. 4, device 400 may include a bus 410, a processing unit 420, a memory 430, an input unit 440, an output unit 450, and a communication interface 460”.).
Regarding Claim 14:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein execution of the instructions further causes the wireless communication device to: determine that the data associated with the first software update is stored in a local memory associated with the wireless communication device; and retrieve the data associated with the first software update from the local memory” (In paragraph [0019], “update decision device 130 may obtain update attributes 103 from update storage device 140 and determine update identifiers 102 based on the update attributes 103”. In paragraph [0050], “The software instructions may be read into memory 430 from another computer-readable medium or from another device. The software instructions contained in memory 430 may cause processing unit 420 to perform processes described herein”. In paragraph [0042], “Client device 110, an element of network 120 and/or CDN 150 (e.g., a node, router, blade, etc.), update decision device 130, and/or update storage device 140 may each include one or more devices 400. As shown in FIG. 4, device 400 may include a bus 410, a processing unit 420, a memory 430, an input unit 440, an output unit 450, and a communication interface 460”.).
Regarding Claim 3:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein the obtaining of the data associated with the first software update comprises: retrieving the data associated with the first software update from the first device via the first link” (As shown in Figure 1B, the first device is mapped to update decision device 130; the first link is mapped to update attributes 103. In paragraph [0019], “update decision device 130 may obtain update attributes 103 from update storage device 140”. In paragraph [0024], “upgrade data 142 may include configuration and/or setting data that may be used by client device 110 to modify code already present on client device 110 … Update decision device 130 may receive, as update attributes 103, different values”. In paragraph [0048], “The antenna assembly may, for example, receive data from communication interface 460 and transmit RF signals associated with the data, or the antenna assembly may receive RF signals and provide them to communication interface 460 to be processed”.).
Regarding Claim 15:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein execution of the instructions further causes the wireless communication device to: retrieve the data associated with the first software update from the first device via the first link” (In paragraph [0024], “upgrade data 142 may include configuration and/or setting data that may be used by client device 110 to modify code already present on client device 110 … Update decision device 130 may receive, as update attributes 103, different values”. In paragraph [0050], “device 400 may perform these operations in response to processing unit 420 executing software instructions contained in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 430”. In paragraph [0048], “The antenna assembly may, for example, receive data from communication interface 460 and transmit RF signals associated with the data, or the antenna assembly may receive RF signals and provide them to communication interface 460 to be processed”.).
Regarding Claim 8:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “receiving instructions associated with a second software update from the first device” (In paragraph [0055], “As further shown in FIG. 5, client device 110 may determine whether additional updates are needed (block 550). For example, client device 110 may determine it needs another software update to install an update received in block 540 … if another updates is needed (block 550-Yes), process 500 may return to block 530 in which client device 110 may forward a request for the additional updates”. In paragraph [0018], “Update identifiers 102 may further include instruction data related to the installation of the client-specific updates 105 on client device 110”.);
“obtaining data associated with the second software update” (In paragraph [0062], “As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving versions 210 of updates (block 710), and determining metadata associated with the received updates (block 720). For example, update storage device 140 may receive update data 142 from a developer”.);
“transmitting the instructions and the data associated with the second software update via a third link with a third device” (In paragraph [0018], “Update identifiers 102 may further include instruction data related to the installation of the client-specific updates 105 on client device 110”. In paragraph [0023], “CDN 150 may determine a path between update storage device 140 and client device 110 that includes multiple separate physical devices and/or nodes, and client-specific updates 105 may be transmitted via the path”. Note in figure 5 that there is a loop for additional update at element 550, without a limit of how many updates may be forwarded. Because ‘multiple devices’ may include a third device, as established in paragraph [0023], a second update may be transmitted to the third device, linked by the path.).
Nekrestyanov does not disclose however Reeves discloses,
“receiving confirmation of the instructions and the data associated with the [] software update by the [] device” (In (Col. 6, lines 52-56), “If AUTHBS matches the AUTHBS value calculated by authorization system 304, then the update of the SSD for wireless device 301 is confirmed and authorization system 304 transfers a notification of such to wireless device 301”.);
“releasing the [] link responsive to receiving the confirmation by the [] device” (In (Col. 6 lines 15-17), “Upon completion of update process 332, authorization system 304 transfers a completion notification message to wireless device 301, which indicates that the flag can be cleared. Once the flag is cleared, wireless device 301 is allowed to release the wireless traffic channel if no other operation of wireless device 301”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov by adopting the teaching of Reeves to receive a confirmation and to release links responsive to software updates; motivated by the allowance of “more efficient use of wireless signal spectrum among multiple wireless devices" (Reeves (Col. 1, lines 11-15)) while "preventing release of a wireless traffic channel before update process completion" (Reeves (Col. 1, lines 31-32)).
Regarding Claim 18:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein execution of the instructions further causes the wireless communication device to: receive instructions associated with a second software update from the first device” (In paragraph [0055], “As further shown in FIG. 5, client device 110 may determine whether additional updates are needed (block 550). For example, client device 110 may determine it needs another software update to install an update received in block 540 … if another updates is needed (block 550-Yes), process 500 may return to block 530 in which client device 110 may forward a request for the additional updates”. In paragraph [0018], “Update identifiers 102 may further include instruction data related to the installation of the client-specific updates 105 on client device 110”.);
“obtain data associated with the second software update” (In paragraph [0062], “As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving versions 210 of updates (block 710), and determining metadata associated with the received updates (block 720). For example, update storage device 140 may receive update data 142 from a developer”.);
“transmit the instructions and the data associated with the second software update via a third link with a third device” (In paragraph [0018], “Update identifiers 102 may further include instruction data related to the installation of the client-specific updates 105 on client device 110”. In paragraph [0023], “CDN 150 may determine a path between update storage device 140 and client device 110 that includes multiple separate physical devices and/or nodes, and client-specific updates 105 may be transmitted via the path”. Note in figure 5 that there is a loop for additional update at element 550, without a limit of how many updates may be forwarded. Because ‘multiple devices’ may include a third device, as established in paragraph [0023], a second update may be transmitted to the third device, linked by the path.);
Nekrestyanov does not disclose however Reeves discloses,
“receive confirmation of the instructions and the data associated with the [] software update by the [] device” (In (Col. 6, lines 52-56), “If AUTHBS matches the AUTHBS value calculated by authorization system 304, then the update of the SSD for wireless device 301 is confirmed and authorization system 304 transfers a notification of such to wireless device 301”.);
“and release the [] link responsive to receiving the confirmation by the [] device” (In (Col. 6 lines 15-17), “Upon completion of update process 332, authorization system 304 transfers a completion notification message to wireless device 301, which indicates that the flag can be cleared. Once the flag is cleared, wireless device 301 is allowed to release the wireless traffic channel if no other operation of wireless device 301”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov by adopting the teaching of Reeves to receive a confirmation and to release links responsive to software updates; motivated by the allowance of “more efficient use of wireless signal spectrum among multiple wireless devices" (Reeves (Col. 1, lines 11-15)) while "preventing release of a wireless traffic channel before update process completion" (Reeves (Col. 1, lines 31-32)).
Regarding Claim 9:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein the first software update is associated with a different software version than the second software update” (In paragraph [0062], “As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving versions 210 of updates (block 710), and determining metadata associated with the received updates (block 720)”.).
Regarding Claim 19:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein the first software update is associated with a different software version than the second software update” (In paragraph [0062], “As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving versions 210 of updates (block 710), and determining metadata associated with the received updates (block 720)”.).
Regarding Claim 10:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein the first software update is associated with a different software than the second software update” (In paragraph [0053], “FIG. 6, update decision device 130 may select updates and versions of the updates for client device 110”.).
Regarding Claim 20:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein the first software update is associated with a different software than the second software update” (In paragraph [0053], “FIG. 6, update decision device 130 may select updates and versions of the updates for client device 110”.).
Regarding Claim 11:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein the wireless communication device communicates with the second device according to a first communication protocol and communicates with the third device according to a second communication protocol different than the first communication protocol” (In paragraph [0015], “network 120 may correspond to a personal area network (“PAN”), aWLAN based on the International Electrical and Electronics Engineers 802.11 protocol (e.g., Wi-Fi®) , or other short-range network via which client device 110 may communicate with update decision device 130 and/or update storage device 140 via an intermediate access point (not shown). For example, client device 110 and the access point may communicate via Bluetooth®, Wi-Fi®, and/or another connection technology.” In paragraph [0018], “Update identifiers 102 may also include authentication data and/or information that enables client device 110 to use client-specific updates 105, such as a decryption code, data identifying an encoding/decoding protocol, etc.”.).
Claims 4, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves as applied to claims 1, 11, and 13 above, and further in view of Dickinson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20170164294 A1, hereinafter Dickinson).
Regarding Claim 4:
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves does not disclose however Dickinson discloses, “wherein the first device comprises a base station representing a digital enhanced cordless telecommunications (DECT) ultra low energy (ULE) fixed part (FP) of a home automation network (HAN)” (In paragraph [0017], “DECT also possesses a feature known as “Collective Ringing”, which is also known as “Group Ringing”, which can be used to ring handsets … Only when the user answers the call, by “off-hook” on a handset, is a link with the base station established”. In paragraph [0019], “wherein each member of the group of DECT portable parts was registered as a ULE device at the DECT fixed point”. In paragraph [0017], ““ULE” is an Ultra Low Power standard that is based on the DECT standard. ETSI TS 102 939-2 V1.1.1 (2015-03) “Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunications (DEST; Ultra Low Energy (ULE); Machine to Machine Communications; Part 2: Home Automation Network (phase 2)” is used as reference”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves by adopting the teaching of the base station representation in Dickinson; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices (Dickinson [0031]).
Regarding Claim 16:
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves does not disclose however Dickinson discloses, “wherein the first device comprises a base station representing a digital enhanced cordless telecommunications (DECT) ultra low energy (ULE) fixed part (FP) of a home automation network (HAN)” (In paragraph [0017], “DECT also possesses a feature known as “Collective Ringing”, which is also known as “Group Ringing”, which can be used to ring handsets … Only when the user answers the call, by “off-hook” on a handset, is a link with the base station established”. In paragraph [0019], “wherein each member of the group of DECT portable parts was registered as a ULE device at the DECT fixed point”. In paragraph [0017], ““ULE” is an Ultra Low Power standard that is based on the DECT standard. ETSI TS 102 939-2 V1.1.1 (2015-03) “Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunications (DEST; Ultra Low Energy (ULE); Machine to Machine Communications; Part 2: Home Automation Network (phase 2)” is used as reference”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves by adopting the teaching of the base station representation in Dickinson; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices (Dickinson [0031]).
Regarding Claim 12:
Nekrestyanov further discloses, “wherein the first communication protocol comprises [], and the second communication protocol comprises a communication protocol other than DECT ULE” (In paragraph [0015], “network 120 may correspond to a personal area network (“PAN”), aWLAN based on the International Electrical and Electronics Engineers 802.11 protocol (e.g., Wi-Fi®) , or other short-range network via which client device 110 may communicate with update decision device 130 and/or update storage device 140 via an intermediate access point (not shown). For example, client device 110 and the access point may communicate via Bluetooth®, Wi-Fi®, and/or another connection technology.” In paragraph [0018], “Update identifiers 102 may also include authentication data and/or information that enables client device 110 to use client-specific updates 105, such as a decryption code, data identifying an encoding/decoding protocol, etc.”.).
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves does not disclose however Dickinson discloses, “a DECT ULE communication protocol” (In paragraph [0059], “To overcome the restriction on the number of handsets or portable parts that can be rung at any one time using the DECT protocol, a ULE paging mechanism and especially (but not limited to) a ULE B-field paging mechanism is used as a replacement for the DECT indirect link establishment scheme”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves by adopting the teaching of the base station representation in Dickinson; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices (Dickinson [0031]).
Claims 5-7, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves as applied to claim 1 and 13 above; and Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves and Dickinson as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Geng et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20200260164 A1, hereinafter Geng).
Regarding Claim 5:
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves does not disclose however Dickinson discloses, “wherein the wireless communication device comprises a [] operating as a first DECT ULE FP and a first DECT ULE portable part (PP) in a HAN” (In paragraph [0005], “FIG. 2 depicts a typical DECT office system 200 where there are many more portable parts in use. A central private branch exchange (PBX) 210 is used together with several remote fixed parts (RFP)”. In paragraph [0058], “A fixed part DECT compliant fixed part and a portable part is a DECT compliant portable part”. In paragraph [0017], “However, CLMS still uses paging over the “A-field” of the dummy bearer and this is a limited resource. “ULE” is an Ultra Low Power standard that is based on the DECT standard. ETSI TS 102 939-2 V1.1.1 (2015-03) “Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunications (DEST; Ultra Low Energy (ULE); Machine to Machine Communications; Part 2: Home Automation Network (phase 2)” is used as reference”. In paragraph [0137], “Also, the invention is not limited to physical devices or units implemented in non-programmable hardware but can also be applied in programmable devices or units able to perform the desired device functions by operating in accordance with … and various other wireless devices, commonly denoted in this application as ‘computer systems’”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves by adopting the teaching of Dickinson; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices (Dickinson [0031]).
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves and Dickinson does not disclose however Geng discloses, “first range extender” (In paragraph [0138], “The first range extender and the second range extender are connected to the OLT through an optical transport network (OTN)”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves and Dickinson by adopting the teaching of the first range extender in Geng; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices on a network (Geng [0002]).
Regarding Claim 17:
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves does not disclose however Dickinson discloses, “wherein the wireless communication device comprises a [] operating as a first DECT ULE FP and a first DECT ULE portable part (PP) in a HAN” (In paragraph [0005], “FIG. 2 depicts a typical DECT office system 200 where there are many more portable parts in use. A central private branch exchange (PBX) 210 is used together with several remote fixed parts (RFP)”. In paragraph [0058], “A fixed part DECT compliant fixed part and a portable part is a DECT compliant portable part”. In paragraph [0017], “However, CLMS still uses paging over the “A-field” of the dummy bearer and this is a limited resource. “ULE” is an Ultra Low Power standard that is based on the DECT standard. ETSI TS 102 939-2 V1.1.1 (2015-03) “Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunications (DEST; Ultra Low Energy (ULE); Machine to Machine Communications; Part 2: Home Automation Network (phase 2)” is used as reference”. In paragraph [0137], “Also, the invention is not limited to physical devices or units implemented in non-programmable hardware but can also be applied in programmable devices or units able to perform the desired device functions by operating in accordance with … and various other wireless devices, commonly denoted in this application as ‘computer systems’”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves by adopting the teaching of Dickinson; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices (Dickinson [0031]).
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves and Dickinson does not disclose however Geng discloses, “first range extender” (In paragraph [0138], “The first range extender and the second range extender are connected to the OLT through an optical transport network (OTN)”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves and Dickinson by adopting the teaching of the first range extender in Geng; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices on a network (Geng [0002]).
Regarding Claim 6:
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves does not disclose however Dickinson discloses, “wherein the second device represents a second DECT ULE PP of the HAN” (In paragraph [0031], “wherein each member of the group of DECT portable parts was registered as a ULE device”. In paragraph [0017], ““ULE” is an Ultra Low Power standard that is based on the DECT standard. ETSI TS 102 939-2 V1.1.1 (2015-03) “Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunications (DEST; Ultra Low Energy (ULE); Machine to Machine Communications; Part 2: Home Automation Network (phase 2)” is used as reference”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves by adopting the teaching of the second device representation in Dickinson; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices (Dickinson [0031]).
Regarding Claim 7:
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves does not disclose however Dickinson discloses, “wherein the second device comprises [] operating as a second DECT ULE FP and a second DECT ULE PP in the HAN” (In paragraph [0031], “wherein each member of the group of DECT portable parts was registered as a ULE device”. In paragraph [0017], ““ULE” is an Ultra Low Power standard that is based on the DECT standard. ETSI TS 102 939-2 V1.1.1 (2015-03) “Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunications (DEST; Ultra Low Energy (ULE); Machine to Machine Communications; Part 2: Home Automation Network (phase 2)” is used as reference”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves by adopting the teaching of the base station representation in Dickinson; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices (Dickinson [0031]).
Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves and Dickinson does not disclose however Geng discloses, “a second range extender” (In paragraph [0138], “The first range extender and the second range extender are connected to the OLT through an optical transport network (OTN)”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nekrestyanov in view of Reeves and Dickinson by adopting the teaching of the second range extender in Geng; motivated by the common goal to improve the efficiency of communication between devices on a network (Geng [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Rohir Kumar et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12008385 B1) Figures 4 and 7 closely relates to the method in the examined claim 1, although Rohir Kumar’s reference is not relied upon for a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
/B.D.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192