DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 11 is listed as “Original” however, the claim is still withdrawn as it is not shown in the elected figures.
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 12 is a product-by-process claim(s). Regarding product-by-process claims, MPEP § 2113 states "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." For purposes of further prosecution all claims will be interpreted as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 16, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanan (US 2019/0375558).
Regarding Claim 1
Hanan teaches a container (below – Fig. 1, 3, and 4) comprising: a bottle (100) including a base (104), a sidewall (108[Wingdings font/0xE0]128), a neck (136), and a finish (140) defining an opening; and a closure (164) including an end wall (shown at 164), a skirt (shown at 176) extending away from the end wall, a rim (166), threads (176) protruding from the skirt and configured to engage with the finish, and a tamper evidence feature (204) connecting the skirt to the rim; wherein a rigid bond affixes the rim to the bottle (Paragraphs [0060]-[0066]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3
Hanan teaches the closure and the bottle are both primarily formed from a same material (PET) (Paragraph [0003]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5
Hanan teaches the tamper evidence feature (204) comprises a breakable connection that is configured to break in response to application of a removal force to the closure; wherein the breakable connection comprises at least one bridge connecting between the skirt and the rim (Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding Claim 7
Hanan teaches the finish comprises a multi-functional ledge (156) protruding in a radial direction, and wherein the rigid bond affixes the rim (166) to the multi-functional ledge (Paragraph [0066]).
Regarding Claim 9
Hanan teaches a container comprising: a bottle (100) including a base (104), a sidewall (108[Wingdings font/0xE0]128), a neck (136), and a finish (140), the finish including a multi-functional ledge (156) protruding in a radial direction, the finish further defining an opening; and a closure (164) including an end wall (shown at 164), a skirt (shown at 176) extending away from the end wall, a rim (166) affixed to the multi-functional ledge by a rigid bond, and threads (176) protruding from the skirt and configured to engage with the finish; wherein the bottle and the closure are both primarily formed from a same material (Paragraphs [0003] and [0060]-[0066]).
Regarding Claim 10
Hanan teaches the same material is polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (Paragraph [0003]).
Regarding Claim 12
Hanan teaches the rigid bond is formed by a welding process (Paragraph [0066]).
Regarding Claim 13
Hanan teaches the closure further includes a tamper evidence feature (204) that comprises at least one bridge connecting the skirt to the rim.
Regarding Claim 17
Hanan teaches a container comprising: a bottle (100) including a base (104), a sidewall(108[Wingdings font/0xE0]128), a neck (136), and a finish (140) defining an opening; and a closure (164) including an end wall(shown at 164), a skirt (shown at 176) extending away from the end wall, a rim (166) rigidly attached to the finish, threads (176) protruding from the skirt and configured to engage with the finish, and a tamper evidence feature (204) connecting the skirt to the rim; wherein the bottle and the closure are both primarily formed from a same material (Paragraphs [0003] and [0060]-[0066]).
Regarding Claim 18
Hanan teaches the same material is polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (Paragraph [0003]).
Regarding Claim 19
Hanan teaches the finish comprises a multi-functional ledge (156) protruding radially outward; and wherein the rim is rigidly attached to the finish via a rigid bond connecting the rim to the multi-functional ledge (Paragraph [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanan as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 6
Hanan teaches all the limitations of claim 4 as shown above. Hanan does not teach the breakable connection comprises no more than three bridges connecting the skirt and the rim.
At the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have no more than three bridges connecting the skirt and the rim. Hanan teaches that it is desirable to ensure that the rim is able to be broken away from the skirt in order to demonstrate that the container has been opened (Paragraph [0007]), so it would appear obvious that the container would need to have a number of bridges that holds the rim to the skirt before the container is opened and yet it is not so many that the rim does not detach from the skirt when the container is opened. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Applicant has not disclosed that having no more than three bridges connecting the skirt and the rim provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of no more than three bridges connecting the skirt and the rim does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Claim(s) 14-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanan as applied to claims 13 and 19 above, with evidence by Berglund (US 4573601).
Regarding Claims 14-16
Hanan teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as shown above. Hanan does not teach the rim comprises a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction; wherein the rigid bond is a first rigid bond affixing the first rim segment to the multi-functional ledge, and wherein the second rim segment is affixed to the multi-functional ledge by a second rigid bond; and the at least one bridge comprises a first bridge and a second bridge, and wherein the first bridge connects the skirt to the first rim segment, and wherein the second bridge connects the skirt to the second rim segment.
At the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the rim comprise a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction. Hanan teaches that it is desirable to have a container where the rim remains attached to the bottle in order to show a user that the bottle has been removed. It would appear obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art that if the rim were to comprise two distinct rim segments, that the odds that the container shows the closure has been removed would increase due to the higher number of potential rim portions that are intended to remain connected to the bottle when the closure is removed (i.e. if one rim segment detaches from the bottle, there is still a chance that the other rim segment remains attached to the bottle, thus indicating that the closure has been removed). Further, closures including an end wall, a skirt extending away from the end wall, a rim, a tamper evidence feature that comprises at least one bridge connecting the skirt to the rim, and the rim comprises a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction is known in the art [see Berglund (US 4573601)].
Applicant has not disclosed that the rim comprising a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of the rim comprising a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record. See MPEP 2144.06 and 2144.01.
Further, as Hanan teaches a rigid bond connecting the rim to the multi-functional ledge, and at least one bridge connecting the skirt to the rim (shown above), it would appear obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if the rim of Hanan were to comprise a first rim second rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction, that the rigid bond would then include a first rigid bond affixing the first rim segment to the multi-functional ledge, and the second rim segment would be affixed to the multi-functional ledge by a second rigid bond; and the at least one bridge would then include a first bridge and a second bridge, with the first bridge connecting the skirt to the first rim segment, and the second bridge would connect the skirt to the second rim segment.
Regarding Claim 20
Hanan teaches all the limitations of claim 19 as shown above. Hanan does not teach the rim comprises a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction.
At the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the rim comprise a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction. Hanan teaches that it is desirable to have a container where the rim remains attached to the bottle in order to show a user that the bottle has been removed. It would appear obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art that if the rim were to comprise two distinct rim segments, that the odds that the container shows the closure has been removed would increase due to the higher number of potential rim portions that are intended to remain connected to the bottle when the closure is removed (i.e. if one rim segment detaches from the bottle, there is still a chance that the other rim segment remains attached to the bottle, thus indicating that the closure has been removed). Further, closures including an end wall, a skirt extending away from the end wall, a rim, a tamper evidence feature that comprises at least one bridge connecting the skirt to the rim, and the rim comprises a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction is known in the art [see Berglund (US 4573601)].
Applicant has not disclosed that the rim comprising a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of the rim comprising a first rim segment and a second rim segment spaced apart from the first rim segment in a circumferential direction does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record. See MPEP 2144.06 and 2144.01.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach: a rigid bond affixes the rim to the bottle (claim 1); a rim affixed to the multi-functional ledge by a rigid bond (claim 9); and a rim rigidly attached to the finish (claim 17). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Paragraph [0066], Hanan states “In some embodiments, the tamper evidence band 166 may be bonded to [i.e. rigidly attached] the support ledge 156…”. As such, the Applicant’s arguments are not considered persuasive and the rejections have been maintained above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 21 May 2026