DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/28/2024. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 17-20, recite an embodiment of the applicants' invention directed towards “computer-readable media” storing computer executable code. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, " computer-readable media " is considered as a whole would be directed towards non-statutory mediums such as signals/carrier waves.
As per the USPTO notice signed by David Kappos on 1/26/2010: "The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319(Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer-readable media (also called machine readable medium, computer-readable carrier, and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent: e.g., par [0121], is open-ended, for instance, current original disclosure “… The memory/storage 1212 may include any suitable volatile or non-volatile memory such as, but not limited to, dynamic random access memory (DRAM), static random access memory (SRAM), erasable programmable read only memory (EPROM), electrically erasable programmable read only memory (EEPROM), Flash memory, solid-state memory,,…” See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C.j101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2."
The claims as a whole are directed to signal-based mediums. A signal does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) because it is an ephemeral, transient signal and thus is non-statutory. Since the claim(s) as a whole are directed towards these non-statutory instances, claims 17-20are directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olvera et al (WO 2023147045).
Regarding claim 1, Olvera discloses a method comprising:
transmitting configuration information to a user equipment (UE) (Abstract, wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) includes a processor configured to receive configuration information) to configure the UE to receive enhanced slice-based steering of roaming (SoR) information during a registration process ([0002] a WTRU … upon receipt of a Registration Accept with Rejected S-NSSAIs the WTRU needs to access, … a Steering of Roaming SoR procedure may be used to convey single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) associated to Visited Public Land Mobile Network; [0097] The SOR-AF may be enhanced to generated S-NSSAI availability analytics; Further, [0108] DM may be required to know the support of the enhanced SoR information by the WTRU 209 to deliver the enhanced Slice-Aware SoR information to the WTRU) with a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) ([0002] a Steering of Roaming SoR procedure may be used to convey single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) associated to Visited Public Land Mobile Network; And, [0005] to receive configuration information that includes information related to S-NSSAI support for each visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) of a plurality of VPLMNs);
determining that the UE is registering with the VPLMN ([0118] there may be approaches for network slice-based Visited Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN) selection reselection); and
transmitting the enhanced slice-based SoR information to the UE based on the determination that the UE is registering with the VPLMN ([0118] a Steering of Roaming SoR procedure may be used to convey single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) associated to VPLMN/access technologies while a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) 209 is roaming. Further, [0018] … a Steering of Roaming SoR procedure may be used to convey single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) associated to VPLMN/access technologies … a slice-aware steering of roaming information may be provided to a WTRU 209 during a deregistration procedure).
Regarding claim 2, Olvera discloses the method of claim 1, wherein configuring UE to receive the enhanced slice-based SoR information comprises configuring a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE to expect the enhanced slice-based SoR information during a registration process with the VPLMN ([0087] for triggered steering of roaming with S-NSSAI support for a WTRU based on the information configured in the WTRU regarding availability of S-NSSAI in PLMNs/Access Network and available VPLMN(s). … may be stored in the WTRU as part of the Steering of Roaming information. … the information may be preconfigured in the WTRU (e.g., in the USIM) … during a Registration procedure or WTRU Configuration Update Procedure).
Regarding claim 3, Olvera discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting enhanced slice-based SoR information to the UE via the VPLMN ([0108] the UDM may be required to know the support of the enhanced SoR information by the WTRU 209 to deliver the enhanced Slice-Aware SoR information to the WTRU. … a WTRU supporting slice-based SoR features can receive the enhanced Slice-Aware SoR information via the UDM, the enhanced Slice-Aware information including preferred VPLMNs for specific S-NSSAIs in the WTRU subscription).
Regarding claim 4, Olvera discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that first information has been updated, the first information to include the enhanced slice-based SoR information, SoR information ([0087] the information configured in the WTRU regarding availability of S-NSSAI … may be stored in the WTRU as part of the Steering of Roaming information. This information may be preconfigured in the WTRU or provided by the HPLMN during a Registration procedure or WTRU Configuration Update Procedure), or both; and transmitting a first message including the first information to the UE ([0091] subscription information indicating that the WTRU may re-register in a different VPLMN to seek S-NSSAI support, where the flag may be called "Slice-Aware SoR required”).
Regarding claim 5, Olvera discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: transmitting a second message to the UE to indicate that second information has not been updated ([0091] the UDM may implicitly consider the WTRU as being capable and ready to receive Slice-Aware SoR information and, the UDM may keep a flag in the WTRU subscription information indicating that the WTRU may re-register in a different VPLMN to seek S-NSSAI support, … ), the second information to include whichever of the enhanced slice-based SoR information or the SoR information that is not included in the first information ([0005] includes information related to S-NSSAI support for each visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) of a plurality of VPLMNs, to receive a message indicating that an S-NSSAI is not available on a current VPLMN).
Regarding claim 6, Olvera discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that neither the enhanced slice-based SoR information nor SoR information has been updated; and transmitting a message to the UE to indicate that neither the enhanced slice-based SoR information nor the SoR information has been updated ([0005] to receive a message indicating that an S-NSSAI is not available on a current VPLMN, and to send a request message including an indication that the S-NSSAI is not available in the current VPLMN, the request message being one of a deregistration message and a registration request message based on the configuration information).
Regarding claim 7, Olvera discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a location of the UE based on determining that the UE is registering with the VPLMN ([0079] The HPLMN may update the "Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology" which may be based on the registered VPLMN, the location of the WTRU); determining available slices in the location of the UE ([0087] The WTRU may be configured with information regarding support for S-NSSAIs, based on geographical location (e.g., per TA and/or per Access Network), and available VPLMN(s). ); receiving assistance information from the UE via the VPLMN ([0140] the received information can be for each VPLMN in which the WTRU is located or is otherwise able to join from the current location of the WTRU); generating the enhanced slice-based SoR information based on the available slices and the assistance information ([0097] list of preferred PLMN/access technology combinations may be generated by the SOR-AF. The SOR-AF may be enhanced to generated S-NSSAI availability analytics, such as subscribing to exposed information from AMF and NSSF in known VPLMNs. [0108] the support of the enhanced SoR information by the WTRU 209 to deliver the enhanced Slice-Aware SoR information to the WTRU).
Regarding claim 8, Olvera discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the enhanced slice-based SoR information comprising: a VPLMN ranking list to rank a plurality of VPLMNs ([0108] enhanced Slice-Aware information including preferred VPLMNs for specific S-NSSAIs in the WTRU subscription (a preferred VPLMN list may also be a single VPLMN that is known by the HPLMN to support the S-NSSAI, or a list of VPLMNs in preference order that differs from the order of the basic SoR information that is also provided)), including the VPLMN, based on slices available in respective VPLMNs of the plurality of VPLMNs and slices available in respective VPLMNs ([0108] a WTRU supporting slice-based SoR features can receive the enhanced Slice-Aware SoR information via the UDM, the enhanced Slice-Aware information including preferred VPLMNs for specific S-NSSAIs in the WTRU subscription), based on business relationship of the VPLMN with HPLMN ([0124] he SoR AF 309 generates a Preferred VPLMN List depending on the NSSAI allowed and the NSSAI rejected by the VPLMN AMF 305 and sends the Preferred VPLMN List to the HPLMN UDM 307 as part of an Nsoraf-SoR_Get_Response message (the HPLMN UDM may forward the Preferred VPLMN List to the WTRU 302 via the VPLMN AMF 305)), and transmitting the VPLMN ranking list to the UE ([0124] HPLMN UDM may forward the Preferred VPLMN List to the WTRU 302 via the VPLMN AMF 305. The Preferred VPLMN List includes the identifiers and the S-NSSAIs supported by the VPLMNs in the list).
Regarding claim 9, Olvera discloses an apparatus (Figure 12, FIG. 12 illustrates a UE 1200) comprising:
memory (Figure 12, memory 1212) to store enhanced slice-based steering of roaming (SoR) information ([0087] The information configured in the WTRU regarding availability of S-NSSAI in PLMNs/Access Network and TA combinations, may be stored in the WTRU as part of the Steering of Roaming information. [0122] and the registration request includes information indicating that the WTRU is capable of receiving a Slice Aware SoR Container); and
processing circuitry coupled with the memory, the processing circuitry to:
receive the enhanced slice-based SoR information from a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) ([0079] for a steering of roaming in 5GS procedure in a PLMN is to allow the HPLMN to update a parameter in a WTRU, such as the "Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology" list, by providing the HPLMN protected list of preferred PLMN/access technology combinations) via a first visiting public land mobile network (VPLMN) during a registration process with a first VPLMN ([0002] a WTRU … upon receipt of a Registration Accept with Rejected S-NSSAIs the WTRU needs to access, … a Steering of Roaming SoR procedure may be used to convey single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) associated to Visited Public Land Mobile Network), the enhanced slice-based SoR information to include prioritization information for a plurality of VPLMNs ([0077] the WTRU may select a VPLMN, through one or modes of operation: automatic mode, where the WTRU selects the VPLMN through a priority order list, listing a PLMN/access technology combination; [0081] For a roaming WTRU activating a service/application requiring a network slice … the HPLMN may be able to provide the WTRU with prioritization information of the VPLMNs with which the WTRU may register for the network slice; and [0092] as part of the Steering of Roaming procedure, include in the list of preferred VPLMN/Access Technology combinations, a list of supported S-NSSAIs );
determine that the first VPLMN does not have a network slice to support an application of a user equipment (UE) ([0081] For a roaming WTRU activating a service/application requiring a network slice not offered by the serving network);
select a second VPLMN from the plurality of VPLMNs based on the prioritization information for the plurality of VPLMNs ([0093] The VPLMN AMF may send the Steering of Roaming information, including the new S- NSSAI information associated to the VPLMN/Access Technology combination; [0094] The WTRU may determine, based on the list of VPLMN available in the area and/or the S- NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, the WTRU may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information); and
register with the second VPLMN ([0094] the WTRU may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information; [0114] the WTRU 209 may reselect to a higher-priority VPLMN that may support S-NSSAI according to the information received in the SoR container).
In Olvera, the register with the second VPLMN would inherently be performed to maintain a successful connection as it would necessarily be maintained during the interaction with the a corresponding VPLMN in order to provide the slice information efficiently and securely.
Regarding claim 10, Olvera discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: transmit assistance information to the HPLMN ([0132] WTRU 302 sends, transparently to the HPLMN UDM 307 via the VPLMN AMF 305, a registration complete message that includes secured assistance information such as the rejected S-NSSAI and allowed S-NSSAI of the NSSAI), wherein the assistance information includes a list of preferred single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAIs) ([0132] assistance information such as the rejected S-NSSAI and allowed S-NSSAI of the NSSAI as indicated in the registration accept message).
Regarding claim 11, Olvera discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: receive an acknowledgment to indicate that a unified data management (UDM) of the HPLMN has received the list of preferred S-NSSAIs ([0091]… the UDM may implicitly consider the WTRU as being capable and ready to receive Slice-Aware SoR information and, the UDM may keep a flag in the WTRU subscription information indicating that the WTRU may re-register in a different VPLMN to seek S-NSSAI support …).
Regarding claim 12, Olvera discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: receive a request from the HPLMN for the assistance information ([0140] the received information can be for each VPLMN in which the WTRU is located or is otherwise able to join from the current location of the WTRU), wherein the UE transmits the list of preferred S-NSSAIs based on the request from the HPLMN ([0097] list of preferred PLMN/access technology combinations may be generated by the SOR-AF. The SOR-AF may be enhanced to generated S-NSSAI availability analytics, such as subscribing to exposed information from AMF and NSSF in known VPLMNs. [0108] the support of the enhanced SoR information by the WTRU 209 to deliver the enhanced Slice-Aware SoR information to the WTRU).
Regarding claim 13, Olvera discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the second VPLMN has a first plurality of S-NSSAIs and a third VPLMN of the plurality of VPLMNs has a second plurality of S-NSSAIs, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: compare a slice-based ranking of the second VPLMN to a slice-based ranking of the third VPLMN based on the prioritization information for the plurality of VPLMNs ([0108] enhanced Slice-Aware information including preferred VPLMNs for specific S-NSSAIs in the WTRU subscription (a preferred VPLMN list may also be a single VPLMN that is known by the HPLMN to support the S-NSSAI, or a list of VPLMNs in preference order that differs from the order of the basic SoR information that is also provided)); and select the second VPLMN from the plurality of VPLMNs based at least in part on the comparison ([0124] HPLMN UDM may forward the Preferred VPLMN List to the WTRU 302 via the VPLMN AMF 305. The Preferred VPLMN List includes the identifiers and the S-NSSAIs supported by the VPLMNs in the list).
Regarding claim 14, Olvera discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein selecting the second VPLMN from the plurality of VPLMNs based on the prioritization information for the plurality of VPLMNs comprises: determining an essential slice ([0087] The WTRU may be configured with information regarding support for S-NSSAIs, based on geographical location (e.g., per TA and/or per Access Network), and available VPLMN(s). ); determining a number of slices supported by each VPLMN of the plurality of VPLMNs ([0097] list of preferred PLMN/access technology combinations may be generated by the SOR-AF. The SOR-AF may be enhanced to generated S-NSSAI availability analytics, such as subscribing to exposed information from AMF and NSSF in known VPLMNs. [0108] the support of the enhanced SoR information by the WTRU 209 to deliver the enhanced Slice-Aware SoR information to the WTRU); and selecting the second VPLMN from the plurality of VPLMNs based on the second VPLMN supporting a largest number of network slices ([0093] The VPLMN AMF may send the Steering of Roaming information, including the new S- NSSAI information associated to the VPLMN/Access Technology combination; [0094] The WTRU may determine, based on the list of VPLMN available in the area and/or the S- NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, the WTRU may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information), wherein the largest number of network slices includes the essential slice ([0140] the received information can be for each VPLMN in which the WTRU is located or is otherwise able to join from the current location of the WTRU).
Regarding claim 15, Olvera discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein selecting the second VPLMN from the plurality of VPLMNs based on the prioritization information for the plurality of VPLMNs comprises:
determining an essential slice ([0087] The WTRU may be configured with information regarding support for S-NSSAIs, based on geographical location (e.g., per TA and/or per Access Network), and available VPLMN(s). ); determining any network slice that is not supported by a VPLMN of the plurality of VPLMNs that supports the essential slice ([0091] the UDM may implicitly consider the WTRU as being capable and ready to receive Slice-Aware SoR information and, the UDM may keep a flag in the WTRU subscription information indicating that the WTRU may re-register in a different VPLMN to seek S-NSSAI support, … );
determining a rank of each VPLMN of the plurality of VPLMNs based on the prioritization information ([0108] enhanced Slice-Aware information including preferred VPLMNs for specific S-NSSAIs in the WTRU subscription (a preferred VPLMN list may also be a single VPLMN that is known by the HPLMN to support the S-NSSAI, or a list of VPLMNs in preference order that differs from the order of the basic SoR information that is also provided)), wherein the rank of each VPLMN disregards any network slice that is not supported by a VPLMN of the plurality of VPLMNs that supports the essential slice ([0081] For a roaming WTRU activating a service/application requiring a network slice not offered by the serving network); and selecting the second VPLMN from the plurality of VPLMNs based on a rank of the second VPLMN ([0093] The VPLMN AMF may send the Steering of Roaming information, including the new S- NSSAI information associated to the VPLMN/Access Technology combination; [0094] The WTRU may determine, based on the list of VPLMN available in the area and/or the S- NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, the WTRU may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information).
Regarding claim 16, Olvera discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein determining the essential slice comprises: determining respective type of each application executing on the UE ([0081] For a roaming WTRU activating a service/application requiring a network slice not offered by the serving network); and selecting the essential slice based on the respective type of each application executing on the UE ([0081] For a roaming WTRU activating a service/application requiring a network slice not offered by the serving network).
Claim 17 contains subject matter similar to claim 9, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Olvera, [0145], “computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor.”). Further, Olvera discloses register with a first radio access technology (RAT) of a first visiting public land mobile network (VPLMN) based on steering of roaming (SoR) information ([0002] a WTRU … upon receipt of a Registration Accept with Rejected S-NSSAIs the WTRU needs to access, … a Steering of Roaming SoR procedure may be used to convey single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) associated to Visited Public Land Mobile Network; An, [0079] for a steering of roaming in 5GS procedure in a PLMN is to allow the HPLMN to update a parameter in a WTRU, such as the "Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology" list, by providing the HPLMN protected list of preferred PLMN/access technology combinations).
Regarding claim 19, Olvera discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, further cause the processing circuitry to: compare slice-based rankings of the plurality of VPLMNs based on the prioritization information for a plurality of VPLMNs based on detecting a trigger (([0108] enhanced Slice-Aware information including preferred VPLMNs for specific S-NSSAIs in the WTRU subscription (a preferred VPLMN list may also be a single VPLMN that is known by the HPLMN to support the S-NSSAI, or a list of VPLMNs in preference order that differs from the order of the basic SoR information that is also provided))); and determine whether to register with a second VPLMN based on the slice-based rankings ([0124] HPLMN UDM may forward the Preferred VPLMN List to the WTRU 302 via the VPLMN AMF 305. The Preferred VPLMN List includes the identifiers and the S-NSSAIs supported by the VPLMNs in the list).
Regarding claim 20, Olvera discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, further cause the processing circuitry to: present, via a display of the UE, prioritization information for a plurality of VPLMNs including a ranking each VPLMN of the plurality of VPLMNs (Olvera discloses [0077] “ (e.g., the WTRU goes out of coverage of it), the WTRU may select a VPLMN, through one or modes of operation: automatic mode, where the WTRU selects the VPLMN through a priority order list, listing a PLMN/access technology combination; or manual mode ”); receive a user-based manual input to register with the second VPLMN ([0077] “where the WTRU shows the user available PLMNs and once the user chooses available PLMNs the WTRU attempts obtaining service on the PLMN”); and register with the second VPLMN based on the user-based manual input ([0077] “… the WTRU may select a VPLMN, … the WTRU shows the user available PLMNs and once the user chooses available PLMNs the WTRU attempts obtaining service on the PLMN.” The Examiner submits that given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “present, via a display of the UE” is interpreted as ‘ where the WTRU shows the user available PLMNs and once the user chooses available PLMNs the WTRU attempts obtaining service on the PLMN’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olvera in view of Kim et la (8543109).
Regarding claim 18, Olvera discloses one or more computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, but does not expressly disclose detect a trigger to perform a search for a higher priority PLMN; start a PLMN search timer based on detecting the trigger; and determine whether to register with a second PLMN prior to expiration of the PLMN search timer.
However, Kim discloses detect a trigger to perform a search for a higher priority PLMN (Figure 4A and 4B, step 407, and col. 9, ll. 13-21, “If the first PLMN list contains no PLMN with the higher priority than the current PLMN, the first communication mode control unit 160 returns to step 401 and starts the HPLMN timer.” The search occurs (search is triggered) because of a need for a HPLNM with higher priority); start a PLMN search timer based on detecting the trigger (col. 9, ll. 18-21, “the first communication mode control unit 160 returns to step 401 and starts the HPLMN timer.”); and determine whether to register with a second PLMN prior to expiration of the PLMN search timer (col. 9, ll. 34-38, “… having a longer HPLMN timer value may perform a location transfer to any PLMN with the higher priority without waiting for the expiry of the HPLMN timer.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Olvera with the teachings in Kim, the rationale being that using a timer would ensure that the UE, when roaming, occasionally checks if a preferred network is available in order to reduce roaming costs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200145915 to Jumar et al: receiving the SOR information from first VPLMN and home public land mobile network (HPLMN), by the UE. The SOR information security check is successful is determined.
WO 2022035512 to Kuppelur et al: Providing steering of roaming (SoR) information during a user equipment (UE) mobility registration process. In other systems and methods, instead of triggering mobility and periodic registration.
WO 2022169693 to Liao: Provisioning a user equipment (UE) with steering of roaming (SOR) information.
/JULIO R PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644