DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 4, 5, 7, 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claims 4, 5 and 14 each recite the phrase “the collecting container.” This phrase is not disclosed or defined previously in the claims or in claim 1 upon which they ultimately depend, therefore this phrase lacks appropriate antecedent basis.
B. Claim 7 recites the phrase “wherein said amplifying comprises performing an isothermal amplification step…” however claim 1, upon which claim 7 depends, specifies “amplifying the set of nucleic acid molecules within individual droplets of the set of droplets for a set of amplification cycles…” It is unclear how an isothermal amplification protocol is performed for a set of amplification cycles as required by claim one, and therefore this claim is indefinite.
C. Claims 15 and 17 each recite an open list of alternatives due to their “comprises” language, therefore it is unclear what, if any, additional alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claims. See MPEP 2173.05(h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2, 6, 11-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (Centrifugal-Driven Droplet Generation Method with Minimal Waste for Single-Cell Whole Genome Amplification, Analytical Chemistry, 91, 13611-13619, published 01 October 2019). The rejections of claims 1, 2 and 13 are evidenced by Terekhov et al (Liquid Drop of DNA libraries reveals total genome information, PNAS, 117, 44, 27300-27306, published 03 November 2020).
Regarding claim 1, it is noted here that the phrase “wherein the prepared nucleic acid library comprises a percentage of chimeric sequences below 10% upon performing a set of operations, and wherein the set of operations comprises:” is being interpreted as though performing the claimed set of operations inherently generates a prepared nucleic acid library comprising a percentage of chimeric sequences below 10% due to the ultra-low occupancy of the droplet partitions claims (see MPEP 2111.04).
Li teaches dispersing nucleic acid fragments into droplets of an emulsion (FIG 3 and FIG 4, pg. 13615 column 2 ¶ 1). Li teaches an embodiment with an average number of DNA fragment copies per droplet of 0.3 (FIG 3B). At this average copy per droplet value, about 26% of the total number of droplets would comprise at least one DNA template (this ~26% is considered the claimed “set of droplets containing at least one nucleic acid molecule”) and of which 86% contains only a single DNA template (these Poisson values are evidenced by Terekhov, pg. 27302 column 1 ¶ 2). Based on the expected Poisson distribution, this set of droplets comprising at least one DNA template is considered to read on the claim as written, wherein the 26% of filled droplets are the claimed “set of droplets containing at least one nucleic acid molecule” and the 86% of droplets containing single DNA molecules are considered the claimed “representative state”.
Li further teaches amplifying the set of nucleic acid molecules for a set of amplification cycles such that the droplet in the representative state contains a set of amplicons generated from only the single nucleic acid molecule (i.e., single-copy DNA amplification; pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 2). Li teaches collecting, purifying, and constructing Illumina libraries from the amplification products (pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches an average number of DNA template copies per droplet of 0.3 (FIG 3B), which would inherently have at least 30% of the total “set of droplets” contain no nucleic acid molecules since only 26% of the droplets comprises at least one nucleic acid molecule as evidenced by Terekhov (pg. 27302 column 1 ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches a droplet PCR amplification comprising 35 cycles (i.e., at least 20 amplification cycles; pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches a sample comprising material from single cells and a set of nucleic acids from single cell whole genome sequences (pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 3).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the method of claim 1 as discussed fully above and incorporated here. Li teaches that cd-MDA reduces amplification bias (pg. 13613 column 1 ¶ 1) and specifically teaches determining a first coefficient of variation for the fluorescence intensity between droplets at 0 hours (3.2%; i.e., a first relative distribution values of a subset of input molecules of the set of nucleic acid molecules prior to amplifying), and determining a final coefficient of variation value after 5 hours of amplification (again 3.2%; i.e., a second relative distribution value of amplicons of the subset of input molecules after amplifying). Li teaches that the first and second relative distribution values are each 3.2% (i.e., there is a less than 5% difference between them; pg. 13617 column 1 ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches dispersing nucleic acid fragments into droplets of an emulsion (FIG 3 and FIG 4, pg. 13615 column 2 ¶ 1). Li teaches an embodiment with an average number of DNA fragment copies per droplet of 0.3 (FIG 3B). At this average copy per droplet value, about 26% of the total number of droplets would comprise at least one DNA template (this ~26% is considered the claimed “set of droplets containing at least one nucleic acid molecule”) and of which 86% contains only a single DNA template (these Poisson values are evidenced by Terekhov, pg. 27302 column 1 ¶ 2). Based on the expected Poisson distribution, this set of droplets comprising at least one DNA template is considered to read on the claim as written, wherein the 26% of filled droplets are the claimed “set of droplets containing at least one nucleic acid molecule” and the 86% of droplets containing single DNA molecules are considered the claimed “representative state”.
Li further teaches amplifying the set of nucleic acid molecules for a set of amplification cycles such that the droplet in the representative state contains a set of amplicons generated from only the single nucleic acid molecule (i.e., single-copy DNA amplification; pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 2). Li teaches collecting, purifying, and constructing Illumina libraries from the amplification products (pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 4).
Li additionally teaches the method of claim 1 as discussed fully above and incorporated here. Li teaches that cd-MDA reduces amplification bias (pg. 13613 column 1 ¶ 1) and specifically teaches determining a first coefficient of variation for the fluorescence intensity between droplets at 0 hours (3.2%; i.e., a first relative distribution values of a subset of input molecules of the set of nucleic acid molecules prior to amplifying), and determining a final coefficient of variation value after 5 hours of amplification (again 3.2%; i.e., a second relative distribution value of amplicons of the subset of input molecules after amplifying). Li teaches that the first and second relative distribution values are each 3.2% (i.e., there is a less than 5% difference between them; pg. 13617 column 1 ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches a droplet PCR amplification comprising 35 cycles (i.e., at least 20 amplification cycles; pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches that the droplets were demulsified for sequencing (i.e., the emulsion was disrupted; pg. 13617 column 1 ¶ 2) and that amplification products were collected, purified and constructed into Illumina libraries for sequencing (pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches a sample comprising material from single cells and a set of nucleic acids from single cell whole genome sequences (pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 3-5, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (Centrifugal-Driven Droplet Generation Method with Minimal Waste for Single-Cell Whole Genome Amplification, Analytical Chemistry, 91, 13611-13619, published 01 October 2019) in view of Ching et al (United States Patent Application No. US 20190291113, published 26 September 2019).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the method of claim 1 as discussed fully above and incorporated here. Li does not teach that the set of droplets comprises at least 500,000 droplets and wherein distributing the sample comprises generating the set of droplets at a rate of at least 200,000 droplets per minute.
Ching teaches generating a set of droplets at a rate of at least 4,000 droplets per second (i.e., at least 200,000 droplets per minute; [0207]). Ching doesn’t specifically teach a set of droplets that comprises at least 500,000 droplets, however Ching does teach droplet formation rates of over 500,000 droplets per second, so it would have been obvious to have used the methods taught by Ching to have formed at least 500,000 droplets.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have simply substituted the droplet formation method taught by Li with the droplet formation method taught by Ching, and to further have used the rapid droplet formation method taught by Ching to prepare at least 500,000 droplets, to have arrived at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this substitution in order to prepare more mono-disperse droplets per sample in order to increase the yield of the amplification reactions taught by Li. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictable result in droplet formation for DNA amplification strategies.
Regarding claim 4, Ching teaches a droplet generation apparatus comprising a first chamber (i.e., a reservoir for the sample) and a second chamber (i.e., the collecting chamber). Ching teaches that the chambers are separated by a membrane (i.e., the chambers are coupled to the membrane), that the membrane comprises a number of openings (i.e., holes; [0195] and [0196]) and Ching teaches a first and second flow path extending from the first chamber to the second chamber across the membrane (i.e., the chambers are aligned and fluid is driven across the membrane; [0182]).
Regarding claim 5, Ching teaches that the droplet generation apparatus is comprised within a centrifuge tube ([0183]) and that fluid flow is generated by a centrifugal pump ([0101]).
Regarding claim 14, the method of claim 13 is discussed fully above and incorporated here. Li does not teach that distributing the sample comprises driving the sample through a membrane comprising a distribution of holes, the membrane coupled to a reservoir outlet of a reservoir for the sample, and the reservoir aligned with the collecting container, and wherein driving the sample fluid through the membrane comprises spinning the reservoir with the sample, the membrane, and the collecting container within a centrifuge.
However, Ching teaches a droplet generation apparatus comprising a first chamber (i.e., a reservoir for the sample) and a second chamber (i.e., the collecting chamber). Ching teaches that the chambers are separated by a membrane (i.e., the chambers are coupled to the membrane), that the membrane comprises a number of openings (i.e., holes; [0195] and [0196]) and Ching teaches a first and second flow path extending from the first chamber to the second chamber across the membrane (i.e., the chambers are aligned and fluid is driven across the membrane; [0182]). Ching additionally teaches that the droplet generation apparatus is comprised within a centrifuge tube ([0183]) and that fluid flow is generated by a centrifugal pump ([0101]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have simply substituted the droplet formation method taught by Li with the droplet formation method taught by Ching, and to further have used the rapid droplet formation method taught by Ching to prepare at least 500,000 droplets, to have arrived at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this substitution in order to prepare more mono-disperse droplets per sample in order to increase the yield of the amplification reactions taught by Li. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictable result in droplet formation for DNA amplification strategies.
9. Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (Centrifugal-Driven Droplet Generation Method with Minimal Waste for Single-Cell Whole Genome Amplification, Analytical Chemistry, 91, 13611-13619, published 01 October 2019) in view of Zanoli et al (Isothermal amplification methods for the detection of nucleic acids in microfluidic devices, Biosensors, 3, 1, 18-43, published 27 December 2012).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the methods of claims 1 and 13 are discussed fully above and incorporated here. Li teaches an MDA reaction (i.e., an isothermal amplification protocol) with amplification at 30 C for 5 hours (pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 3). Li does not teach an isothermal amplification at 30 C for 10 hours.
However, Zanoli teaches MDA reactions with amplification times from 10 to 16 hours (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have simply substituted the amplification time taught by Li with the amplification time taught by Zanoli to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this substitution because it is simply exchanging one known element of the prior art with another to achieve predictable results (i.e., increased amplification with a longer incubation time). In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in MDA amplification.
10. Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (Centrifugal-Driven Droplet Generation Method with Minimal Waste for Single-Cell Whole Genome Amplification, Analytical Chemistry, 91, 13611-13619, published 01 October 2019) in view of Schultz et al (United States Patent Application No. US 20130164789, published 27 June 2013).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the methods of claims 1 and 13 are discussed fully above and incorporated here. Li teaches that the samples are demulsified (pg. 13617 column 1 ¶ 2) but does not specify the method of demulsifying the droplets.
However, Schultz teaches a method of making and processing emulsions (Title), and teaches that templates are collected by breaking the emulsion using butanol ([0089]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have simply substituted the generic method of demulsifying taught by Li with the specific use of butanol taught by Schultz to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this substitution because it is simply exchanging one known element in the prior art with another with predictable results. In addition, the ordinary artisan would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because they predictably result in the formation and handling of emulsions.
11. Claims 9, 10, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (Centrifugal-Driven Droplet Generation Method with Minimal Waste for Single-Cell Whole Genome Amplification, Analytical Chemistry, 91, 13611-13619, published 01 October 2019) in view of West et al (United States Patent Application No. US 20190367978, published 05 December 2019).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the methods of claims 1 and 13 are discussed fully above and incorporated here. Li teaches a sample that comprises single cell nucleic acid material (pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 3 and pg. 13616 column 2 ¶ 2), but Li does not teach that the set of nucleic acids comprises variable, diversity and joining (VDJ) sequences.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, the methods of claims 1 and 13 are discussed fully above and incorporated here. Li teaches a sample that comprises single cell nucleic acid material (pg. 13613 column 2 ¶ 3 and pg. 13616 column 2 ¶ 2), but Li does not teach that the set of nucleic acids comprises at least one of 16S and ITS rRNA sequences.
However, West teaches obtaining sequencing information from a sample that comprises VDJ sequences and information of VDJ rearrangement ([0033], [0055] and [0057]). West additionally teaches the targeted amplification and sequencing of 16S and ITS ribosomal RNA sequences ([0032], [0053] and [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have simply substituted the sample taught by Li with the samples taught by West to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this substitution because West teaches a specific advantage of an integrated assay that provides sequencing data from both human and microbiome species concurrently ([0036]) and West specifically teaches droplet PCR as a method for sample amplification ([0101]). In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the amplification and sequencing of nucleic acids.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Williams et al (amplification of complex gene libraries by emulsion PCR, Nature methods, 3, 545-550, published 21 June 2006) is relevant to the reduction/elimination of chimeric sequences in droplet PCR.
13. No claims are allowed.
/BRIAN ELLIS YOUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/JULIET C SWITZER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682