DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2026,04/08/2026, 09/02/2025, 07/01/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, claim 1 recites:
A modular system for estimating an internal temperature of multiple batteries, the system comprising:
a first tracker comprising:
a first estimator to generate a first state estimate of a first battery at a first time based on a first system input signal comprising a measurement of at least one observable quantity associated with the first battery; and
a first communication interface to transmit at least a subset of the first state estimate generated at the first time to a second tracker; and
the second tracker comprising:
a second communication interface to receive the at least subset of the first state estimate from the first tracker; and
a second estimator to generate a second state estimate of a second battery at second time based on a second system input signal comprising a measurement of at least one observable quantity associated with the second battery and the at least subset of the first state estimate.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above.
Under the step 1 of the eligibility analysis, it is determined whether the claims are drawn to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in the statutory category of (machine).
Under the step 2A, prong one, it is considered whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into groupings of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that cover mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) and mental process – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, a step of “generate a first state estimate of a first battery at a first time based on a first system input signal comprising a measurement of at least one observable quantity associated with the first battery (considered to be a mathematical step); and
generate a second state estimate of a second battery at second time based on a second system input signal comprising a measurement of at least one observable quantity associated with the second battery and the at least subset of the first state estimate (considered to be a mathematical step).
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of the independent claims 8 and 14.
Next, under the step 2A, prong two, it is considered whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
In this step, it is evaluated whether the claim recites meaningful additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
In claim 1, the additional elements/steps are: a first tracker, a first estimator, a first communication interface, a second tracker, a second estimator, a second communication interface. The above additional elements/steps are recited in generality and represent extra solution activity to the judicial exception. The additional element in the preamble of “A modular system for estimating an internal temperature…” is not qualified for a meaningful limitation because it only generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements/steps “a first communication interface to transmit… and a second communication interface to receive…” are also recited in generality which seem to merely be transferring, gathering data and not really performing any kind of inventive step to provide any meaningful additional element. Also, it represents an extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. All uses of judicial exception require it.
In claim 8, the additional elements/steps recite the similar additional elements/steps as of claim 1. The additional elements/steps (program/software – method) are recited in generality and represent extra- solution activity to the judicial exception. The additional element in the preamble of “A method for estimating an internal temperature…” is not qualified for a meaningful limitation because it only generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements/steps “receiving a first system input…, transmitting, by the first tracker…, receiving a second system input signal…” are also recited in generality which seem to merely be gathering, transmitting data and not really performing any kind of inventive step to provide any meaningful additional element. Also, it represents an extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. All uses of judicial exception require it.
In claim 14, the additional element is: a machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by one or more machines…., first tracker, second tracker. The additional elements/steps are recited in generality and represent extra solution activity to the judicial exception. The additional element in the preamble of “a machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by one or more machines….” is not qualified for a meaningful limitation because it is only generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technology environment or field of use. The storage medium and the instruction recited are not qualified as particular machines; a generic computer equipment that is well understood and conventional and is significantly insufficient. The additional elements/steps “receiving a first system input…, transmitting, by the first tracker…, receiving a second system input signal…” are also recited in generality which seem to merely be gathering, transmitting data and not really performing any kind of inventive step to provide any meaningful additional element. Also, it represents an extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.
In conclusion, the above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements do not reflect an improvement to other technology or technical field, and, therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the step 2B.
However, as evidenced by the prior art of record, the above claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (step 2B analysis).
Please see prior art rejections.
Considering the claim as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know the practical application of the present invention since the claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in some meaningful way.
The independent claims, therefore, are not patent eligible.
With regards to the dependent claims, the claims 2-7,9-13 and 15-19 comprise the analogous subject matter and also comprise additional features/steps which are the part of an expanded abstract idea of the independent claims (additionally comprising mathematical relationship/mental process steps) and, therefore, the dependent claims are not eligible without additional elements that reflect a practical application and qualified for significantly more for substantially similar reason as discussed with regards to independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Tian, N., Fang, H., and Wang Yebin, “3-D Temperature Field Reconstruction for a lithium-Ion Battery Pack: A Distributed Kalman Filtering Approach” IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CONTROL SYSTEMS TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 27, NO. 2, MARCH 2019 herein after “Tian”
Regarding claim 1, Tian teaches a modular system for estimating an internal temperature of multiple batteries (Fig. 1, 2 and 4. page 843, left col. Section A. Consider a LiB pack shown in Fig. 1. This pack consists of multiple prismatic cells configured in series (see [17] for the cell description). Each cell has two areas: core region and cell case. The core region is the main body of a cell. the system comprising:
a first tracker comprising: a first estimator to generate a first state estimate of a first battery at a first time based on a first system input signal comprising a measurement of at least one observable quantity associated with the first battery (Fig. 1, 2 and 4.
Page 848, left col. II. Battery Pack thermal modeling. This section presents a spatially resolved thermal model for a LiB pack, which is an extension of a cell-level model in [17].
page 849, right col, Equation 11, x is the state vector summarizing the temperature at all nodes.
page 850, Right col. B. Distributed Kalman filtering, line 1. Rather than estimate the global state in a centralized manner, the DKF will consider the pack system as a combination of multiple cell-based subsystems and run a series of local KFsin parallel, each one corresponding to a cell. Because of the mutual influence between the cells and their thermal behavior, the local KFs will exchange information according to the existing communication topology to accomplish the estimation. The local estimates, when collected and put together, will comprise a complete picture of the entire pack’s temperature field.
Page 851, right col. line 1: Here, cell l’s state prediction depends on not only its own but also its neighbor’s state estimates from the previous time instant.
page 852, right col, line 22. In addition, with the computation increasing only linearly with the cell number, the DKF well lends itself to parallel processing, where the estimation for each cell is performed on a separate microprocessor at a complexity…);
From above paragraphs and figures 1 and 2, examiner views Kalman filter for a battery/cell 1 in pack model as a first tracker. A processor with a Kalman filter for the first cell is considered as a first estimator. The Kalman filter for the first cell utilizes a first thermal model and generates a first state x at first time using cell nodes temperature - core and surface temperature (i.e., input signal-a measurement of at least one observable quantity associated with the first cell).
and
a first communication interface to transmit at least a subset of the first state estimate generated at the first time to a second tracker (page 850, Right col. B. Distributed Kalman filtering, line 10. Consider a LiB pack composed of Nc cells wired in series, which are numbered in order from 1 to Nc. For cell l and i, they are said to be neighbors if they are adjacent. The neighborhood of l, Nl, is defined as the set of its neighbor cells, and in this setting, Nl = {l − 1, l + 1}. It is assumed here that cell l can communicate with Nl. Page 851, right col. line 1: Here, cell l’s state prediction depends on not only its own but also its neighbor’s state estimates from the previous time instant.); and
Examiner views the cells are connected to each other and local KFs in each cells exchange a temperature information between cells (i.e., transmit a subset of first state to second tracker) according to the existing communication topology (i.e., communication interfaces) to accomplish the cell temperature estimation.
the second tracker comprising: a second communication interface to receive the at least subset of the first state estimate from the first tracker (please see in page 850, Right col. B. Distributed Kalman, discusses having a local KFs in each cells 1, 2 that exchange information according to the existing communication topology and it is also assumed that cell l can communicate with Nl (i.e., KF in second cell exchange information using wired- second communication interfaces and communication topology) to estimate the internal temperature for cell pack system). Kalman filter in cell 2 is viewed as the second tracker; and
a second estimator to generate a second state estimate of a second battery at second time based on a second system input signal comprising a measurement of at least one observable quantity associated with the second battery and the at least subset of the first state estimate (page 850, Right col. B. Distributed Kalman filtering,
Page 851, right col. line 1: Here, cell l’s state prediction depends on not only its own but also its neighbor’s state estimates from the previous time instant.
page 852, right col, line 22. In addition, with the computation increasing only linearly with the cell number, the DKF well lends itself to parallel processing, where the estimation for each cell is performed on a separate microprocessor at a complexity…).
Examiner views in cell 2 a processor (i.e, second estimator) with second Kalman filter (that uses second thermal model) generates a second state (i.e., temperature) of the second cell at second time. The second state or temperature for a second battery depends (i.e., determined based) on the second battery temperature (i.e., observable quantity associated with the second battery) and the first battery temperature (i.e., subset of first estimated state-surface temperature).
Regarding claim 2, Tain teaches the modular system of claim 1, Tain teaches wherein the first estimator includes a first thermal model of the first battery (please see Fig. 1, 2 and 4 with Cell 1, 2, 3. Page 849 right col. 3) Extension to Heterogeneous Cells: While the above considers identical cells, cells of the same type but of a different state or aging level can be dealt with by changing the model parameters. Also see page 850 right col. B. Distributed Kalman filtering).
Examiner views each cell with processors have a different (first, second and third) thermal model with a Kalman filter.
Regarding claim 3, Tain teaches the modular system of claim 2, Tain teaches wherein the second estimator includes a second thermal model of the second battery (Also, please see claim 2 for second estimator).
Regarding claim 4, Tain teaches the modular system of claim 1, Tain teaches wherein the first estimator includes a first Kalman filter and the second estimator includes a second Kalman filter (page 852, right col, line 22. In addition, with the computation increasing only linearly with the cell number, the DKF well lends itself to parallel processing, where the estimation for each cell is performed on a separate microprocessor at a complexity…).
Examiner views a processors (first and second estimator) in each cell include a first and second Kalman filter algorithm.
Regarding claim 5, Tain teaches the modular system of claim 4, Tain teaches wherein the first Kalman filter is a linear Kalman filter (Examiner views the first Kalman filter as a standard Kalman filter which is linear).
Regarding claim 7, Tain teaches the modular system of claim 1, Tain teaches wherein the first tracker is provided on a first circuit chip and the second tracker is provided on a second circuit chip (page 852, right col, line 22. In addition, with the computation increasing only linearly with the cell number, the DKF well lends itself to parallel processing, where the estimation for each cell is performed on a separate microprocessor at a complexity O(N3
l ). In this scenario, an increase in the cell number will not add cost to the existing microprocessors.).
Examiner views Kalman filter as a mathematical algorithm. Mathematical algorithms are provided to or on the microprocessors (first and second circuit chip) for mathematical calculations.
Claims 8 and 14 are also rejected as claim 1 for having same claim limitation.
Claims 9 and 15 are also rejected as claim 1 and 2 for having limitation with first state estimated using first thermal model of the battery.
Claims 10 and 16 are also rejected as claim 1 and 3, for having limitation with second state estimated using second thermal model of the battery.
Claims 11 and 17 are also rejected as claim 4 and 1 where first and second Kalman filter estimate first and second state estimate respectively.
Claims 12 and 18 are also rejected as claim 5 for having same claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Plett US 6534954 B1 herein after “Plett”.
Regarding claim 6, Tain teaches the modular system of claim 4, Tain does not teach wherein the first Kalman filter is a non-linear Kalman filter.
Plett teaches wherein the first Kalman filter is a non-linear Kalman filter (col. 6 line 63. Embodiments of the present invention use an Extended Kalman filter, a non-linear algorithm, with a battery model that has SOC as an internal system state.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Plett into Tain for the purpose of implementing an Extended Kalman filter (i.e, non-linear), so that non-linear measurements, temperature from a battery can be analyzed for the intended purpose.
Claim 13 and 19 are also rejected as claim 6 for having same claim limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
De Greef et al US 20150104673 A1 discusses estimating battery status using communication bus and protocol.
Van et al US 20130314049 A1 discusses battery cell temperature estimation.
Skelton US 20140067323 A1 discusses a battery thermal system and a diagnostic method for the battery.
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857