CTNF 18/759,379 CTNF 93888 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2024/0064661) in view of Chui et al. (US 2014/0286214) . Regarding Claim 1, Zhou teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to ([0238] The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 that may be stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314; [0522] The computing device 3900 may include one or more processors 3901, which may execute instructions stored in the random-access memory): receive an instruction to skip one or more uplink occasions ([0434] The uplink pre-emption indication may comprise a cancellation indication, a stop indication, and/or a suspend indication. The uplink pre-emption indication may indicate that at least a part of the PUSCH resources is pre-empted, and/or the wireless device 2704 may stop uplink transmission on the at least part of the PUSCH resources; [0436] The uplink pre-emption indication may indicate that at least a part of the PUSCH resources is pre- empted, and/or the wireless device 2804 may stop uplink transmission on the at least part of the PUSCH resources; [0439] The uplink pre-emption indication may comprise a cancellation indication, a stop indication, a suspension indication; [0454] The uplink pre-emption indication 3010 may indicate that the wireless device 3004 may stop/cancel an uplink transmission 3012 (e.g., an uplink transmission based on the first DCI) on/via the uplink grant starting at symbol I; [0473] Examples described with reference to FIGS. 30-33, may be applied/used for PUCCH transmissions, SRS transmissions, and/or other transmissions. Such examples may be applied/used, for example, if an uplink pre-emption indication is received by a wireless device. A wireless device may cancel an upcoming (e.g., scheduled) and/or an ongoing PUCCH transmission and/or SRS transmission, for example, based on (e.g., in response to) receiving an uplink pre-emption indication); and refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions in response to the instruction ([0434] The wireless device 2704 may stop the ongoing uplink transmission on the at least part of the PUSCH resources, wherein the at least part of the PUSCH resources are pre-empted based on the uplink pre-emption indication, for example, based on the uplink pre-emption indication; [0436] The wireless device 2804 may stop scheduled (e.g., upcoming) uplink transmission on the at least part of the PUSCH resources, wherein the at least part of the PUSCH resources are pre-empted based on the uplink pre-emption indication; [0440] At or after time t 2 , the wireless device (e.g., the wireless device 2904) may stop the uplink transmission 2908, for example, based on the uplink pre-emption indication; [0454] The wireless device 3004 may cancel the uplink transmission 3012 on/via the uplink grant starting at symbol i, for example, based on (e.g., in response to) receiving the uplink pre-emption indication 3010. The uplink transmission 3012 may be a scheduled (e.g., upcoming) uplink transmission or an uplink transmission that is ongoing at a time of reception, at the wireless device 3004, of the pre-emption indication; [0473] Examples described with reference to FIGS. 30-33, may be applied/used for PUCCH transmissions, SRS transmissions, and/or other transmissions. Such examples may be applied/used, for example, if an uplink pre-emption indication is received by a wireless device. A wireless device may cancel an upcoming (e.g., scheduled) and/or an ongoing PUCCH transmission and/or SRS transmission, for example, based on (e.g., in response to) receiving an uplink pre-emption indication; [0505] A wireless device may cancel an initial transmission of a TB and/or all repetitions of a TB within a transmission periodicity, for example, based on receiving a pre-emption indication). However, Zhou does not teach wherein the instruction is associated with one or more ongoing voice calls. In an analogous art, Chui teaches wherein the instruction is associated with one or more ongoing voice calls ([0034] UE 114 may receive a current voice configuration 324 from network ... voice configuration 324 may be used to determine when and for how long to modify TX behavior, e.g., when to perform UE DTX; [0037] if determining component 246 determines that voice configuration 324 falls within voice configuration list 322, enabling component 248 is configured to selectively disable uplink transmissions, e.g., to generate uplink UE DTX; [0052] if determining component 246 determines that voice configuration 324 falls within voice configuration list 322, enabling component 248 is configured to enable uplink UE DTX 326. For instance, when and how long uplink transmissions are discontinued during UE DTX 326 may be a function of the characteristics of voice configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Chui’s method with Zhou’s method so that it can improve UE only discontinuous transmission (DTX) smart blanking to conserver overall UE power, thereby providing consistent service in a wireless communication system (Chui [0002]). Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Zhou and Chui, specifically Zhou teaches the one or more processors are configured, individually or in any combination, to: discard control information associated with the one or more uplink occasions ([0462] A wireless device may ignore a power control command (e.g., a TPC command), for example, that is received after receiving the uplink pre-emption indication; [0469] A wireless device may ignore a power control command (e.g., a TPC command), for example, that is received before receiving the uplink pre-emption indication). Regarding Claim 4, Zhou does not teach to refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions, the one or more processors are configured, individually or in any combination, to: skip the one or more uplink occasions, wherein the one or more uplink occasions are within a pattern of uplink occasions. In an analogous art, Chui teaches to refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions, the one or more processors are configured, individually or in any combination, to: skip the one or more uplink occasions, wherein the one or more uplink occasions are within a pattern of uplink occasions ([0043] with UE DTX and/or smart blanking, some parts of the traffic frames will not be transmitted when traffic patterns have large periods of inactivity). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Chui’s method with Zhou’s method so that it can improve UE only discontinuous transmission (DTX) smart blanking to conserver overall UE power, thereby providing consistent service in a wireless communication system (Chui [0002]). Regarding Claim 6, Zhou does not teach the UE is configured with a radio bearer for voice. In an analogous art, Chui teaches the UE is configured with a radio bearer for voice ([0028] The one or more wireless links 125, may include, but are not limited to, signaling radio bearers and/or data radio bearers. ... UE 114 may further include a call processing component 240 configured to perform UE DTX, in other words, configured to selectively disable uplink transmission from UE 114 during an active voice call, in order to conserve power on UE 114. For example, in an aspect, call processing component 240 may perform UE DTX based on a voice configuration, e.g., a voice or speech coding algorithm or codec for encoding a voice transmission, used in a voice call). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Chui’s method with Zhou’s method so that it can improve UE only discontinuous transmission (DTX) smart blanking to conserver overall UE power, thereby providing consistent service in a wireless communication system (Chui [0002]). Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Zhou and Chui, specifically Zhou teaches the instruction is associated with one or more ongoing voice calls based at least in part on the instruction indicating a transport block size associated with a voice packet ([0478] The one or more configuration parameters may comprise, for example, at least one of: a time domain allocation parameter (e.g., timeDomainAllocation) indicating a combination of a start symbol (e.g., a starting symbol), a length and/or PUSCH mapping type; a frequency domain allocation parameter (e.g., frequencyDomainAllocation) indicating a frequency domain resource allocation; an MCS and TBS value; [0490] The one or more configuration parameters may comprise at least: a time domain allocation parameter (e.g., timeDomainAllocation) indicating a combination of a start symbol (e.g., a starting symbol), a length, and/or PUSCH mapping type; a frequency domain allocation parameter (e.g., frequencyDomainAllocation) indicating a frequency domain resource allocation; an MCS and TBS value). Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Zhou and Chui, specifically Zhou teaches the instruction is associated with one or more ongoing voice calls based at least in part on the instruction indicating a modulation and coding scheme associated with voice ([0478] The one or more configuration parameters may comprise, for example, at least one of: a time domain allocation parameter (e.g., timeDomainAllocation) indicating a combination of a start symbol (e.g., a starting symbol), a length and/or PUSCH mapping type; a frequency domain allocation parameter (e.g., frequencyDomainAllocation) indicating a frequency domain resource allocation; an MCS and TBS value; [0490] The one or more configuration parameters may comprise at least: a time domain allocation parameter (e.g., timeDomainAllocation) indicating a combination of a start symbol (e.g., a starting symbol), a length, and/or PUSCH mapping type; a frequency domain allocation parameter (e.g., frequencyDomainAllocation) indicating a frequency domain resource allocation; an MCS and TBS value). Regarding Claim 9, Zhou does not teach to refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions, the one or more processors are configured, individually or in any combination, to: refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions based at least in part on an occasion limit associated with the instruction. In an analogous art, Chui teaches to refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions, the one or more processors are configured, individually or in any combination, to: refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions based at least in part on an occasion limit associated with the instruction ([0045] It should also be noted that the UE DTX and/or smart blanking may be configured on multiple, relatively short duration blocks as opposed to one, relatively long smart blanking block. Indeed, this limits the impact on network 112 such that performing multiple short smart blanking in between periods of transmission will help keep network 112 in sync with UE 114; [0052] if determining component 246 determines that voice configuration 324 falls within voice configuration list 322, enabling component 248 is configured to enable uplink UE DTX 326. For instance, when and how long uplink transmissions are discontinued during UE DTX 326 may be a function of the characteristics of voice configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Chui’s method with Zhou’s method so that it can improve UE only discontinuous transmission (DTX) smart blanking to conserver overall UE power, thereby providing consistent service in a wireless communication system (Chui [0002]). Regarding Claim 10, Zhou does not teach to refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions, the one or more processors are configured, individually or in any combination, to: refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions based at least in part on a time limit associated with the instruction. In an analogous art, Chui teaches to refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions, the one or more processors are configured, individually or in any combination, to: refrain from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions based at least in part on a time limit associated with the instruction ([0045] It should also be noted that the UE DTX and/or smart blanking may be configured on multiple, relatively short duration blocks as opposed to one, relatively long smart blanking block. Indeed, this limits the impact on network 112 such that performing multiple short smart blanking in between periods of transmission will help keep network 112 in sync with UE 114; [0052] if determining component 246 determines that voice configuration 324 falls within voice configuration list 322, enabling component 248 is configured to enable uplink UE DTX 326. For instance, when and how long uplink transmissions are discontinued during UE DTX 326 may be a function of the characteristics of voice configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Chui’s method with Zhou’s method so that it can improve UE only discontinuous transmission (DTX) smart blanking to conserver overall UE power, thereby providing consistent service in a wireless communication system (Chui [0002]). Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Zhou and Chui, specifically Zhou teaches the instruction is associated with one or more ongoing voice calls based at least in part on the instruction indicating a hybrid automatic repeat request process associated with voice ([0273] A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device via one or more PDCCHs, downlink control information comprising an uplink grant. The uplink grant may comprise parameters indicating at least one of a modulation and coding format; a resource allocation; and/or HARQ information related to the UL-SCH; [0275] A base station may send (e.g., transmit) DCI and/or control signaling via a PDCCH. The DCI may comprise a format of a plurality of formats. The DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS)). Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Zhou and Chui, specifically Zhou teaches the instruction is further associated with a configured grant for the UE ([0487] FIG. 35 shows an example uplink transmission corresponding to a configured grant; [0488] A wireless device may perform uplink transmissions in a first transmission occasion (e.g., a first PUSCH transmission occasion), for example, based on an uplink grant (e.g., a configured grant). The wireless device may receive a cancellation indication/uplink pre-emption indication, for example, during/before the uplink transmissions in the first transmission occasion). Regarding Claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1. Regarding Claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4. Regarding Claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 6. Regarding Claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 7. Regarding Claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 8. Regarding Claim 18, Zhou does not teach refraining from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions comprises: refraining from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions based at least in part on an occasion limit or a time limit associated with the instruction. In an analogous art, Chui teaches refraining from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions comprises: refraining from transmitting in the one or more uplink occasions based at least in part on an occasion limit or a time limit associated with the instruction ([0045] It should also be noted that the UE DTX and/or smart blanking may be configured on multiple, relatively short duration blocks as opposed to one, relatively long smart blanking block. Indeed, this limits the impact on network 112 such that performing multiple short smart blanking in between periods of transmission will help keep network 112 in sync with UE 114; [0052] if determining component 246 determines that voice configuration 324 falls within voice configuration list 322, enabling component 248 is configured to enable uplink UE DTX 326. For instance, when and how long uplink transmissions are discontinued during UE DTX 326 may be a function of the characteristics of voice configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Chui’s method with Zhou’s method so that it can improve UE only discontinuous transmission (DTX) smart blanking to conserver overall UE power, thereby providing consistent service in a wireless communication system (Chui [0002]). Regarding Claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 11. Regarding Claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is r ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Z hou et al. in view of Chui et al. and Cheema et al. (US 2024/0162978). R egarding Claim 2, the combination of Zhou and Chui does not teach the instruction is received from a non-terrestrial network. In an analogous art, Cheema teaches the instruction is received from a non-terrestrial network ([0112] the transition period refers to the time when a satellite is performing feeder link switchover from the GW1/gNB1 to a second NTN-GW and/or gNB (denoted “GW2/gNB2”). The transition period indication may be configured to the UE(s) using higher layer signaling—such as dedicated RRC signaling or common RRC signaling or MAC/CE or DCI or any other signaling method. Upon receiving this signaling, the indicated UE(s) will pause their uplink communication for the defined period once they reach the transition period/time point signaled by the network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Cheema’s method with Zhou’s method so that it can achieve a reliable and fast connection after feeder link switchover (Cheema [0107]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. in view of Chui et al. and Zhang et al. (US 2026/0040225) . Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Zhou and Chui does not teach the instruction is included in a radio resource control message. In an analogous art, Zhang teaches the instruction is included in a radio resource control message ([0114] the base station can use a message (e.g., the RRC message) to signal to the UE whether skipUplinkTxDynamic is ON or OFF). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Zhang’s method with Zhou’s method so that it can implement mechanisms for configuring Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (CDRX) for downlink and resource allocation for uplink to enhance UE's power consumption and enhance physical resource usage (Zhang [0035], [0036]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yang et al. (US 2021/0112432) teaches method of uplink cancellation indication capability signaling. Maamari et al. (US 2024/0163884) teaches method of DCI scheduling multiple downlink or uplink communications. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YU-WEN CHANG whose telephone number is (408)918-7645. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00am-5:00pm PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Un Cho can be reached at 571-272-7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 2 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 3 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 4 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 5 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 6 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 7 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 8 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 9 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 10 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 11 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 12 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 13 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 14 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 15 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/759,379 Page 16 Art Unit: 2413