DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment/reconsideration filed on 03/23/2026, the amendment/reconsideration has been considered. Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 14, and 15 have been amended, claims 6, 13, 16 are canceled and claims 21-23 are newly added. Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-15 and 17-23 are pending for examination as cited below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 14, 15 and 17-23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lakhera et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2016/0344688 A1), hereinafter “Lak”.
As to claim, Lak discloses the invention including, a method (Lak, Abstract) comprising:
obtaining, by a device, a pattern associated with a local network, the pattern including at least one of a prefix or a suffix associated with the local network (Lak, [0064], [0065], determine the prefix, Network helper daemon 420 determines the prefix from one or more received AAAA records using the techniques discussed in RFC 7050…which is hereby incorporated);
generating a Domain Name System (DNS) packet that comprises (i) the pattern associated with the local network and (ii) a query for an external network address of an external network (Lak, [0064], creates a DNS query to ‘ipv4only.arp’ to determine the prefix used to synthesize IPv6 address….and [0052-0053], DNS64 server 320 requests an IPv6 AAAA record …DNS server 340… provides an IPv4 A record instead. “DNS” server 320 then synthesizes an AAAA record for the web server…”. Together these paragraphs show that the DNS query includes a request for the external IPv4 address); and
sending the DNS packet to a public DNS resolver to synthesize an address for use by the device to facilitate communication between the device and the external network (Lak, [0064], creates a DNS query to ‘ipv4only.arpa’….to query DNS64 320…” [0065], once the network helper daemon 420 receives a record from DNS64 server 320 …. It synthesizes a new IPv6 address…” [0053], DNS64 server 320 then synthesizes an AAAA record for the web server and provides the synthesized record to user device 106.”).
As to claim 2. Lak discloses, further comprising: configuring an address space of the local network address to comprise at least a portion of an address space of the external network address (Lak, [0053], the synthesized address is formed as <96 bits of prefix use to route traffic to NAT64 310>: <32 bits of the IPv4 address of the IPv4-only destination>.[0064], a reserved name use to query DNS64 320 to determine the prefix used to synthesize IPv6 addresses (e.g., such that traffic with the prefix is routed through NAT64 server 310). Also see [0065], the network helper daemon 420 receives a record from DNS64 server 320 (or from a local cache), it synthesizes a new IPv6 address using the determined prefix (which directs traffic to NAT64 server 310) and the 32-bit IPv4 address of web server 330.).
As to claim 3. Lak discloses, further comprising: mapping the local network address using at least one of a local network prefix or suffix of the external network address (Lak, [0053], the synthesized address is formed as <96 bits of prefix use to route traffic to NAT64 310>: <32 bits of the IPv4 address of the IPv4-only destination>. [0065], [0067],the application 410 creates a new transport layer connection to the synthesized IPv6 address).
As to claim 4. Lak discloses, further comprising: enabling the local network to be coupled to a resource on the external network using an address mapping of the external network address to the local network address (Lak, [0051], [0053] and [0067], NAT64/DNS64 310… is configured to interface between an Ipv4 network and an IPv6network and map traffic between the two.).
As to claim 5. Lak discloses, wherein the address space of the local network address is larger in size than the address space of the external network address (Lak, [0052], IPv6 addresses are 128 bits, IPv4 addresses are 32 bits[0053], the synthesized IPv6 address is constructed as 96-bit prefix + 32-bit IPv4 suffix.).
As to claim 7. Lak discloses, the method further comprising: receiving, from the public DNS resolver, data associated with the query (Lak, [0064], the device queries DNS64, [0065], the device receives a record from DNS64 and [0053], DNS64 provides a synthesized AAAA record in response to the query.).
As to claim 21, Lak discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the local network is associated with IPv6 and the external network is associated with IPv4 (Lak, [0049], the device operates on an IPv6-only local network, [0051], the remote server resides on an IPv4-only external network and [0049], [0051], NAT64/DNS64 is used specifically to bridge IPv6 local networks to IPv4 external networks.).
As to claim 22, the method of claim 1, wherein the external network address is an IPv4 address (Lak, [0051], the remote server resides on an IPv4-only external network.).
As to claims 8-12, 14 and 23 are rejected for same rationale as applied to claims 1-5, 7 and 21-22 above.
As to claim 15, and 17-20 are rejected for same rationale as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 21-22, 8-12, 14 and 23 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Tauqir Hussain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446