Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A-2, B-1, C-1, D-1 in the reply filed on 5/15/2026 is acknowledged.
On 6/9/2026 Examiner called Applicant's attorney Michael Swope to discuss Applicant's response (filed 5/15/2026) to the Requirement for Restriction (mailed 3/20/2026). See attached Interview Summary for details, regarding the discussion of claims 4 and 10 particularly.
Upon detailed review/consideration, it is determined that the specification identifies that claim 10 is indeed not generic and directed towards non-elected species D-2. Relevant information from the spec follows:
Para 0042 identifies: “FIG. 8 is a flow chart for explaining one embodiment of the transparent-liquid filling method. In this embodiment, while the space 32 is being evacuated, the pure water as a transparent liquid is supplied into the space 32 through the transparent-liquid supply line 35.” Wherein the Method according to Fig 8 is elected species D-1 and the underlined portion is what is recited in claim 9.
Para 0044 identifies: “FIG. 9 is a flow chart for explaining another embodiment of the transparent-liquid filling method. In this embodiment, after the evacuation of the space 32 is stopped and when negative pressure is formed in the space 32, the pure water as the transparent liquid is supplied into the space 32 through the transparent-liquid supply line 35.” Wherein the Method according to Fig 9 is non-elected species D-2 and the underlined portion is what is recited in claim 10.
Claim(s) 4, 10 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “flow-rate measuring device” in claim 6, “pressure measuring device” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 6, 7, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 (line 2) recites the limitation “the entire space” which lacks proper antecedent basis and thus renders the claim indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation be rewritten as -- an entirety of the space --.
Regarding Claim 6: The claim limitation “flow-rate measuring device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 7: The claim limitation “pressure measuring device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding each of the above, Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
In view of the 112(b) rejections set forth above, the claims are rejected below as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190344398 A1 (Watanabe).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses:
A polishing apparatus comprising:
a polishing pad (3; Fig 1) having a transparent window (window 46; Fig 25A; e.g. para 0121) configured to allow light to pass therethrough;
a polishing table (4; Fig 1) supporting the polishing pad;
a polishing head (6; Fig 1) configured to press a workpiece (5; Fig 1) against the polishing pad;
and an optical film-thickness measuring system (generally shown in Fig 1; e.g. para 0041) having an optical sensor head (e.g. 11; Fig 1) disposed below the transparent window,
a space (13; Fig 1) formed between the transparent window and the optical sensor head being filled with a transparent liquid (e.g. para 0041: “pure water is supplied from a pure water supplier 14 to the optical path region 13”).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe discloses:
the transparent window has a lower surface (light-receiving surface combined with retreat surface in Annotated Fig 25A_a) including a light-receiving surface (Annotated Fig 25A_a) configured to receive light (e.g. para 0041, 0121) from the optical sensor head and a retreat surface (Annotated Fig 25A_a) located higher than the light-receiving surface.
Annotated Fig 25A_a
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe discloses:
the retreat surface surrounds the light-receiving surface (Fig 25A shows this).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe discloses:
a transparent-liquid supply line (Annotated Fig 1a) and a transparent-liquid discharge line (Annotated Fig 1a) communicating with the space, the transparent-liquid discharge line extending in the polishing table (Fig 1 shows this).
Annotated Fig 1a
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art reference(s) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 20190291144 A1 (hereinafter Siefering).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe discloses all claim limitations (see above) except may not explicitly disclose:
a flow-rate measuring device provided in at least one of the transparent-liquid supply line and the transparent-liquid discharge line,
the flow-rate measuring device being configured to measure a flow rate of the transparent liquid flowing through the transparent-liquid supply line;
and an operation controller electrically coupled to the flow-rate measuring device,
the operation controller being configured to generate an alarm signal when a measured value of the flow rate of the transparent liquid falls outside a preset flow rate range.
However, Siefering, in the same field of endeavor, wafer devices, teaches:
A sensor, that senses a flow rate of a fluid in a supply line, coupled with a controller capable of generating an alarm if the flow rate falls outside of desired rates, in order to indicate a failure of desired operating conditions/rates and process shutdown if needed (e.g. para 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Watanabe to include Siefering’s teachings as described above, having sensors, that sense a flow rate of fluids in supply lines, coupled with a controller capable of generating an alarm if the flow rate falls outside of desired rates, in order to indicate a failure of desired operating conditions/rates and process shutdown if needed (e.g. para 0010).
This modification results in teaching the limitations above.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art reference(s) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 20180266009 A1 (hereinafter Koizumi).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe discloses all claim limitations (see above) except may not explicitly disclose:
a pressure measuring device provided in at least one of the transparent-liquid supply line and the transparent-liquid discharge line,
the pressure measuring device being configured to measure pressure of the transparent liquid flowing through the transparent-liquid supply line;
and an operation controller electrically coupled to the pressure measuring device,
the operation controller being configured to generate an alarm signal when a measured value of the pressure of the transparent liquid falls outside a preset pressure range.
However, Koizumi, in the same field of endeavor, wafer devices, teaches:
A pressure sensor, measuring a pressure of a liquid in a liquid supply line, coupled with a failure detector/controller capable of generating an alarm if the pressure falls outside of a limit, in order to indicate a failure of desired operating conditions/pressure (e.g. para 0101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Watanabe to include Koizumi’s teachings as described above, having sensors, measuring a pressure of liquids in liquid supply lines, coupled with a failure detector/controller capable of generating an alarm if the pressure falls outside of a limit, in order to indicate a failure of desired operating conditions/pressure (e.g. para 0101).
This modification results in teaching the limitations above.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190344398 A1 (Watanabe) in view of US 20040242121 A1 (hereinafter Hirokawa).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe discloses:
A transparent-liquid filling method comprising:
a space (13; Fig 1) that is formed between a transparent window (window 46; Fig 25A; e.g. para 0121) constituting a part of a polishing pad (3; Fig 1) for polishing a workpiece (5; Fig 1) and an optical sensor head (e.g. 11; Fig 1) of an optical film-thickness measuring system (generally shown in Fig 1; e.g. para 0041) for measuring a film thickness of the workpiece; and
supplying a transparent liquid (e.g. para 0041: “pure water is supplied from a pure water supplier 14 to the optical path region 13”) into the space through a transparent-liquid supply line (Annotated Fig 1a).
Watanabe may not explicitly disclose:
evacuating the space to form a negative pressure in the space,
supplying the transparent liquid while the negative pressure is formed in the space.
However, Hirokawa, in the same field of endeavor, wafer devices, teaches:
In Fig 1 an analogous configuration of a film thickness measuring system 24 wherein pure water is supplied to a sensor 26, just under the substrate/workpiece 18 and a polishing pad 16, via a supply passage 44 and discharged via a discharge passage 46, wherein the discharge passage 46 is connected to a downstream pump 50 for compulsorily discharging the water and any polishing slurry which may have flowed into the water (e.g. para 0177-0178).
Note that even Applicant’s own specification identifies that a known issue with these devices is that the slurry can enter the pure water/sensor area through the foam polishing pad (e.g. background section, para 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Watanabe to include Hirokawa’s teachings as described above, having the pure water supplied to Watanabe’s space 13 via a supply passage and discharged via a discharge passage, wherein the discharge passage is connected to a downstream pump for compulsorily discharging the water and any polishing slurry which may have flowed into the water (e.g. Hirokawa para 0177-0178). This can also be an extra precaution or redundancy in addressing the recognized concern for preventing the slurry from being mixed with the pure water in the sensor space (e.g. Watanabe para 0041). This modification to include any valves (e.g. Hirokawa 0179-0180) necessary for proper operation. This modification may possibly be accomplished by removing Watanabe’s water supplier 14, as it might possibly no longer be necessary in conjunction with Hirokawa’s pump.
This modification results in teaching the limitations above.
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe as modified above discloses:
the transparent liquid is supplied into the space through the transparent-liquid supply line while the space is being evacuated (disclosed as discussed in the claim 8 rejection above).
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe as modified above discloses:
stopping the supply of the transparent liquid into the space after the entire space is filled with the transparent liquid (This happens for example when the device is powered off after use at least, wherein Watanabe explicitly discloses that his entire space 13 is filled with the water during operation, e.g. para 0041).
Conclusion
The following prior art, made of record and not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 6093081 A - cited for teaching in Fig 11 an optical system comprising a window 11 in pad 4a1 and water supply nozzle 12.
US 20190022820 A1 - cited for teaching in Fig 1 a device wherein a transparent window may be installed in the through-hole 1b.
US 6911662 B2 - cited for teaching a transparent window 122 is formed in the polishing pad 120.
US 6679756 B2 - cited for teaching a transparent acrylic window 15 in polishing pad 13.
US 20080242195 A1 - cited for teaching window portion 252W comprised of a substantially transparent material.
/Art Golik/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745