DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4 & 6-15 are pending on the application, of which claim 1 is amended, claim 5 is cancelled, and claims 9-15 are withdrawn from consideration.
In light of the amendments to the claim, the previous rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is directed towards the limitation of dissolving gas in the liquid flowing through the supply line to a supersaturated state, with applicant taking the position that such a limitation defines certain operating parameters and conditions. This argument is not persuasive; such a limitation would only define specific parameters and conditions when the fluids are specified. Firstly, the production of a supersaturated fluid is dependent first and foremost on the specific gas and liquid mixed. Absent the specific gas and liquid, such a limitation is met by a device which allows for any gas to be dissolved into the liquid in a supersaturated state. Specifically, since the claim does not indicate the specific gas and liquid, so long as any gas and liquid can be provided with the system which results in a supersaturated fluid being generated it reads on the claim. Secondly, the claim currently only requires that the gas dissolved liquid generation device merely be capable of dissolving gas flowing in a supply line to a supersaturated state. The tank and mixer of Hirose are capable of accomplishing such a task via its mixing of the liquid and gas at the pressure provided by Hirose. Since Hirose has all the specific structural elements required in order to perform the task, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect that it is capable of doing so. Further, Hirose operates such elements in a manner one of ordinary skill in the art would understand is capable of producing supersaturated fluid (see [0031, 0041, 0049, 0053]).
In response to applicant's argument that Hirose does not teach the production of a supersaturated fluid, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant’s argument directed towards inherency is also not persuasive, as examiner is not indicating such a feature is inherent. Rather, since the claim does not require a specific gas and liquid, so long as the apparatus can provide a supersaturated fluid with any gas and liquid under its operating parameters it reads on the limitation.
Applicant further argues that the recitation of a pump to increase pressure of a liquid; a regulator to control pressure of a gas; a control device which manages the pressure of the boost pump and regulator such that the gas pressure is lower defines how the components are controlled and configured in relation to one another. This argument is not persuasive because such limitations are met by Hirose (see rejection of claim 1 which cites to portions of Hirose providing such teachings).
Applicant argues that Hirose does not teach the claimed bubble size. This is not persuasive as Hirose does teach such bubble size [0020].
Applicant’s argument directed towards the combination of Morgan and Hirose is not persuasive. Hirose [0027] indicates operation of the water pressure to be higher than gas pressure. Although Hirose does not explicitly indicate that the controller controls the relevant structures to achieve such a function, it is readily obvious (see MPEP 2144.04 Section III), and known in the art to utilize a controller for operating a pump and regulator (see Morgan).
Applicant’s arguments appear to be interpreting the claims to inherently implement limitations within the specification. However, the claims are not so narrow as to only fit within the interpretation provided by applicant. Rather the claims are broad enough that the references of record are believed to apply. Further, the importing of limitations from the specification into the claims is improper. The claims fail to currently claim the subject matter in a manner which differentiates it from the teachings of the references.
Applicants remaining arguments are directed towards the amended limitations, and are moot in light of the different interpretation of the Hirai reference in order to meet the new limitations.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase “ultra-fine bubbles” is understood to refer to bubbles having a diameter of 1 micron or less, as is disclosed by [0058] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (JP5854668B2) in view of Morgan (US6017827), Jeon (KR20220005304A), Kim (WO2024214996A1), and Hirai (KR20170108160A).
As to claim 1 & 3, Hirose discloses a substrate processing system (Fig.1) comprising: a substrate processing module (all of refs 2) configured to process a substrate; a bubble generation device (from ref DIW to ref 2c) configured to generate bubbles from a gas-dissolved liquid supplied to the substrate module [0001-0004 & 0018-0021], a control device for controlling all devices [0016 & 0039-0041] including operation of the bubble generation device; the substrate module comprises a supply nozzle (see Fig.1 outlet after ref 2c) configured to supply the gas-dissolved liquid. The bubble generation device comprises: a supply line (refs 2a, 3b, & 3f) connected to the supply nozzle; a low-pressure pump [0051] configured to boost a pressure of liquid flowing through the supply line (the low pressure pump reads on a boost pump as it performs the stated function); a gas-dissolved liquid generation device (combination of refs 3c & 3a) configured to dissolve a gas in the liquid flowing through the supply line [0022-0025 & 0031, 0041, & 0049]; a pressure regulator (ref 41 or 51) configured to regulate a pressure of the gas supplied to the gas-dissolved liquid generation device [0030, 0032, & 0037]; a decompression structure (ref 2c, see [0019 & 0042]) configured to generate ultra-fine bubbles [0020] from the gas-dissolved liquid generated by the gas-dissolved liquid generation device. Further, a water pressure supplied to the gas-dissolved liquid generation device is higher than gas pressure supplied to the gas-dissolved liquid generation device [0027]. The limitation of dissolving a gas in the liquid to a supersaturated state is merely intended use, and since Hirose can increase the solubility of the gas dissolved via the pressure [0031, 0041, 0049] one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the device is capable of dissolving the gas in the line to a supersaturated state. The supply line has an upstream portion upstream of the decompression portion (see Hirose Fig.1 ref 2a before ref 2c) and a downstream portion (see Hirose Fig.1 portion between ref 2c and outlet, which is defined as the nozzle) downstream of the decompression structure.
Hirose does not disclose the controller controlling the pump or regulator to achieve the condition regarding the pressure of the liquid when compared to the pressure of the gas. However, since the controller is intended to control each part of the system, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to ensure the controller can control the pump and/or the regulator in order to achieve the desired pressures. Further, the use of a controller to control a gas regulating valve or a liquid pump is known in the art, as seen by Morgan. Hirose does not teach the downstream portion of the supply line or decompression portion being made of grounded conductive resin; however, utilizing conductive resin for its benefits is known in the art, as seen by Jeon, Kim, and Hirai.
Morgan discloses an art related gas dissolving device for use with semiconductors (abstract), wherein a pump (ref 15) transfers fluid through a supply line (lines from ref 44 to ref 34) and a gas flow regulator (ref 35) controls gas pressure (Co.4 lines 60-65) in order to supply gas and liquid to a gas-dissolved liquid generation device. Morgan further indicates that the pump and gas regulating valve are controlled (Col.6 lines 65 to Col.7 line 5) by a controller (ref 52).
Jeon discloses an art related substrate treating system utilizing nano-microbubbles (abstract), wherein it is disclosed that static electricity may cause nanobubble or microbubbles to fall out the liquid due to adsorption on the wall of the fluid carrying line [0052]. To prevent this phenomenon, grounding of the fluid line is desired (see ref 526) in order to maintain a desired bubble concentration [0052].
Kim discloses an art related bubble generating device (abstract) and indicates that the device can be made of resin for its corrosion resistant properties, thereby allowing for a long lifetime of the device [0029-0030].
Hirai discloses an art related substrate processing apparatus (abstract), wherein it is known that pipes are made of a chemical resistant material such as fluororesin [0002]. Hirai also indicates that when such material is utilized charge can be producing on the pipe resulting in undesired side effects when processing the substrate [0002]. Grounding or conductive portions of the piping and/or nozzle are known to be desirable when bubbles are formed in the solution [0030 & 0039]. To prevent charge from affecting the substrate processing a grounding wire is utilized in a fluororesin tubing (i.e., forming a conductive resin) in order to ground any produced charge [0025]. Also, the tubing which allows for the carrying and discharge of fluid can be made of conductive resin [0034 & 0037] which is grounded to prevent issues due to friction charging when bubbles are provided in the liquid [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Hirose to configure the controller to control the pressure regulating valve and/or the liquid pump pressure in order to achieve the desired pressure control of Hirose (see Hirose [0027]), as it is well-known in the art to utilize a controller to control such components (Morgan Col.6 lines 65 to Col.7 line 5). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to modify Hirose to produce the fluid tubing leading to the nozzle outlet, the nozzle, the decompression portion, and all portions therebetween from a grounded conductive resin in order to prevent charge in the fluid from having deleterious effects on substrate processing (Hirai [0025, 0030, 0039], Jeon [0052]) and providing long service life due to its corrosion resistance (Kim [0029-0030]). As Hirai indicates that such grounding is desired when bubbles are present, a skilled artisan would find it logical to utilize such grounded conductive resin both for and after a decompression portion which generates bubbles. Absent any structural limitations, the limitation pertaining to the bubbles being of the same charge is intended use of the downstream portion made of grounded conductive resin. Since the downstream portion is made of a ground conductive resin, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect it to perform such a function.
As to claims 6-8, Modified Hirose teaches the system of claim 1, wherein multiple decompression structures are provided (see Hirose Fig.1 showcasing four decompression structures, three of which are unlabeled), the supply line has a first bypass line and a second bypass line arranged in a middle of the supply line (see Hirose Fig.1, branched portion). A first and second supply nozzle are provided (see Hirose Fig.1) and the supply line has a first branch connected to the first supply nozzle, and a second branch connected to the second supply nozzle , where the first decompression structure is connected to the first branch line and the second decompression structure is connected to the second branch line (Hirose Fig.1).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (JP5854668B2) in view of Morgan (US6017827), Jeon (KR20220005304A), Kim (WO2024214996A1), and Hirai (KR20170108160A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takabayashi (WO2019212028A), Kim (KR20160009871A) and Abe (JP6443992B2).
As to claim 2, Modified Hirose teaches the system of claim 1, but does not disclose the decompression structure having the claimed inlet surface, outlet surface, and throttle surface. However, Hirose does indicate that other bubble generation devices can be utilized (Hirose [0021]). Further, a bubble generation device with such claimed surfaces is known in the art, as seen by Takabayashi, Kim, and Abe.
Takabayashi discloses an art related microbubble generation device (abstract), wherein a gas dissolved liquid (portion near ref 24d) supplies liquid to a bubble generator (ref 23) which has an inlet (large diameter portion of ref 23 prior to ref 23d), a throttling portion (ref 23d) and an outlet (ref 25d), the cross sectional surface of the throttling portion is smaller than that of the inlet and outlet. The configuration of the cross-sectional area of the bubble generating portion produces fine bubbles via decompressing of the solution [0023].
Kim discloses an art related microbubble generating device (abstract) for use in the semiconductor cleaning field [0002], wherein a microbubble generating device (ref 120) has a throttling surface (ref 121b) with a smaller cross sectional area than an inlet (ref 121a) and an outlet (ref 121c). The specific configuration of the cross-sectional areas allows for acceleration of the liquid having bubbles in order to generate fine bubbles [0033-0037]. A skilled artisan understands, via Bernoulli’s principle, that increased velocity of the fluid also corresponds to decreased pressure, as thus the bubble generating device reads on a decompression device.
Abe discloses an art related substrate cleaning device utilizing bubbles (abstract & [0001-0002]), wherein a gas dissolving device (ref 2) mixes liquid and gas to for a solution where gas is dissolved within the liquid [0026-0028] and is then sent to a microbubble generating device (ref 1). The microbubble generating device has throttling surface (refs 1b and 1c) with a smaller cross sectional area than an inlet (ref 1a) and an outlet (ref 1e) which allows for decompression of the liquid in order to elute microbubbles from the solution [0027-0028 & 0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Hirose to utilize a decompression device with a throttling surface having a cross-sectional area smaller than that of an inlet surface and outlet surface, as such a construction for a bubble generating device is known in the art for producing microbubbles (see Takabayashi [0023], Kim [0033-0037], and Abe [0027-0028 & 0032]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known bubble generator in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success, especially when it is envisaged that multiple different kinds of bubble generators may be utilized (Hirose [0021]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (JP5854668B2) in view of Morgan (US6017827), Jeon (KR20220005304A), Kim (WO2024214996A1), and Hirai (KR20170108160A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (KR20210125691A) and Lee (KR102074221B1).
As to claim 4, Modified Hirose teaches the system of claim 1, but does not disclose the decompression structure having a membrane to reduce a pressure of the gas-dissolved liquid. However, Hirose does indicate that other bubble generation devices can be utilized (Hirose [0021]). Further, a bubble generation device with a membrane is known in the art, as seen by Kim and Lee.
Kim discloses an art related bubble generating device (abstract) for use in substrate processing [0002, 0028, 0032], wherein it is known that a bubble generating device can include a membrane [0014-0023] in order to produce uniform bubble dispersion.
Lee discloses an art related wafer cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is known that a bubble generator (ref 70) includes mesh and porous bodies (see Figs.2-3 refs 72/73, the porous bodies reading on a membrane) to create bubbles [0025-0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Hirose to utilize a bubble generating having a membrane, as such is a known type of bubble generator in art (Kim [0014-0023] & Lee [0025-0034]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known bubble generator in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success, especially when it is envisaged that multiple different kinds of bubble generators may be utilized (Hirose [0021]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kodera (US20040177655A1) membrane used for gas dissolving [0058-0059] and pressure of water should be higher than that of liquid [0060].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711