DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated July 31, 2026, in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1-15 have been cancelled. Claims 16-35 have been added. Claims 16-35 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Acknowledgement is made to the following amendments made by the Applicant:
Applicant's cancellation of claims 3 and 10 to obviate the previous rejection in regard to 35 U.S.C 112(b) indefiniteness. The previous rejection to the said claims is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18-21, 23-26, 28-31, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaikkonen et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210195587, hereinafter, “Kaikkonen”) in view of Kim et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230056799, hereinafter, “Kim”), further in view of Lim et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240313931, hereinafter, “Lim”).
Regarding claim 16, Kaikkonen teaches:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising (Kaikkonen: [0018] The UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) …):
receiving a duplex configuration associated with a fourth type symbol through a system information block (SIB), wherein a first type symbol is a downlink symbol, a second type symbol is a flexible symbol, a third type symbol is an uplink symbol (Kaikkonen: [0018] The UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB type 1. When this is the case, the SIB 1 may provide the UE with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration. For example, the UL/DL slot configuration may be determined via one or two concatenated slot patterns, which repeat in time to form an Uplink/Downlink time division duplex (TDD) configuration. The configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined as downlink slots (“D”) containing only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) slots allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or uplink only slots (‘U’) containing only UL symbols.).
Although Kaikkonen teaches the UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration, wherein the configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined with only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or UL symbols, Kaikkonen does not explicitly teach:
the fourth type symbol is a symbol comprising both an uplink band and a downlink band within one symbol;
receiving a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource configuration, wherein a valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission is configured as the third type symbol or the fourth type symbol by signaling of a base station; and
transmitting a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
the fourth type symbol is a symbol comprising both an uplink band and a downlink band within one symbol (Kim: [0118] Referring to FIG. 10, from the viewpoint of the BS, in a UL-DL configuration 1000 of an entire XDD [cross division duplex] system, a resource may be flexibly allocated for each symbol … according to a weight of UL and DL traffic, with respect to the entire frequency band 1001. At this time, a guard band 1004 may be allocated between frequency bands of a DL resource 1003 and a UL resource 1005. This guard band 1004 may be allocated for reducing interference in UL channel or signal reception due to out-of-band emission that occurs when a BS transmits a DL channel or signal in the DL resource 1003 [Fig. 10 shows configurations with UL and DL symbols in different [sub] bands] ... Fig. 10);
receiving a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource configuration, wherein a valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission is configured as the third type symbol or the fourth type symbol by signaling of a base station (Kim: [0122] Specifically, as described above, because the UE may receive a resource for UL and DL transmission and reception in a divided manner not only in a time domain but also in a frequency domain in an XDD system, a resource configuration for UL or DL transmission and reception is configured not only in the time domain but also in both the time and frequency domains, as in the TDD system … [0162] ... The UE may determine (1307) whether or not to perform transmission and reception of a channel/signal scheduled through UL signaling or DCI according to a format of the slot/symbol and a guard band configuration in the time and frequency domains. Finally, in operation 1308, the UE performs transmission and reception of a channel/signal based on whether to perform the transmission and reception determined in the operation [i.e., based on the symbol format (validity)] … 1307. Figs. 10, 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaikkonen to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to provide effective uplink or downlink transmission and reception. (Kim, ¶ [0007]).
Although Kaikkonen-Kim teaches the UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration, wherein the configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined with only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or UL symbols, and that a symbol may contain frequency bands for both downlink and uplink resources, Kaikkonen-Kim does not explicitly teach:
transmitting a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches:
transmitting a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type (Lim: [0246] … When the PUCCH and the PUSCH overlap and a timeline condition for UCI multiplexing is satisfied, the UE may multiplex HARQ-ACK included in the PUCCH and/or CSI information to the PUSCH according to the UCI information included in the PUSCH and may not transmit the PUCCH ... As one example of the timeline condition for UCI multiplexing, when one of PUCCH transmission or PUSCH transmission is scheduled through DCI, the UE may perform UCI multiplexing only when the first symbol S0 of the earliest PUCCH or PUSCH among the PUCCHs and PUSCHs overlapping the slot should satisfy the following condition …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaikkonen-Kim to include the features as taught by Lim above in order to perform rate matching for uplink control information. (Lim, ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 21, Kaikkonen teaches:
A method performed by a base station in a communication system, the method comprising (Kaikkonen: [0018] The UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) …):
transmitting a duplex configuration associated with a fourth type symbol through a system information block (SIB), wherein a first type symbol is a downlink symbol, a second type symbol is a flexible symbol, a third type symbol is an uplink symbol (Kaikkonen: [0018] The UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB type 1. When this is the case, the SIB 1 may provide the UE with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration. For example, the UL/DL slot configuration may be determined via one or two concatenated slot patterns, which repeat in time to form an Uplink/Downlink time division duplex (TDD) configuration. The configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined as downlink slots (“D”) containing only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) slots allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or uplink only slots (‘U’) containing only UL symbols.).
Although Kaikkonen teaches the UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration, wherein the configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined with only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or UL symbols, Kaikkonen does not explicitly teach:
the fourth type symbol is a symbol comprising both an uplink band and a downlink band within one symbol;
transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource configuration, wherein a valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission is configured as the third type symbol or the fourth type symbol by signaling of the base station; and
receiving a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
the fourth type symbol is a symbol comprising both an uplink band and a downlink band within one symbol (Kim: [0118] Referring to FIG. 10, from the viewpoint of the BS, in a UL-DL configuration 1000 of an entire XDD [cross division duplex] system, a resource may be flexibly allocated for each symbol … according to a weight of UL and DL traffic, with respect to the entire frequency band 1001. At this time, a guard band 1004 may be allocated between frequency bands of a DL resource 1003 and a UL resource 1005. This guard band 1004 may be allocated for reducing interference in UL channel or signal reception due to out-of-band emission that occurs when a BS transmits a DL channel or signal in the DL resource 1003 [Fig. 10 shows configurations with UL and DL symbols in different [sub] bands] ... Fig. 10);
transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource configuration, wherein a valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission is configured as the third type symbol or the fourth type symbol by signaling of the base station (Kim: [0122] Specifically, as described above, because the UE may receive a resource for UL and DL transmission and reception in a divided manner not only in a time domain but also in a frequency domain in an XDD system, a resource configuration for UL or DL transmission and reception is configured not only in the time domain but also in both the time and frequency domains, as in the TDD system … [0162] ... The UE may determine (1307) whether or not to perform transmission and reception of a channel/signal scheduled through UL signaling or DCI according to a format of the slot/symbol and a guard band configuration in the time and frequency domains. Finally, in operation 1308, the UE performs transmission and reception of a channel/signal based on whether to perform the transmission and reception determined in the operation [i.e., based on the symbol format (validity)] … 1307. Figs. 10, 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaikkonen to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to provide effective uplink or downlink transmission and reception. (Kim, ¶ [0007]).
Although Kaikkonen-Kim teaches the UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration, wherein the configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined with only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or UL symbols, and that a symbol may contain frequency bands for both downlink and uplink resources, Kaikkonen-Kim does not explicitly teach:
receiving a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches:
receiving a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type (Lim: [0246] … When the PUCCH and the PUSCH overlap and a timeline condition for UCI multiplexing is satisfied, the UE may multiplex HARQ-ACK included in the PUCCH and/or CSI information to the PUSCH according to the UCI information included in the PUSCH and may not transmit the PUCCH ... As one example of the timeline condition for UCI multiplexing, when one of PUCCH transmission or PUSCH transmission is scheduled through DCI, the UE may perform UCI multiplexing only when the first symbol S0 of the earliest PUCCH or PUSCH among the PUCCHs and PUSCHs overlapping the slot should satisfy the following condition …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaikkonen-Kim to include the features as taught by Lim above in order to perform rate matching for uplink control information. (Lim, ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 26, Kaikkonen teaches:
A user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE comprising (Kaikkonen: [0018] The UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) …):
at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (Kaikkonen: [0064] The apparatus 10 may include at least one antenna 12 in communication with a transmitter 14 and a receiver 16. Alternatively transmit and receive antennas may be separate. The apparatus 10 may also include a processor 20 configured to provide signals to and receive signals from the transmitter and receiver, respectively, and to control the functioning of the apparatus ... Fig. 4); and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to (Kaikkonen: [0067] ... Further, the processor 20 may include functionality to operate one or more software programs, which may be stored in memory. In general, processor 20 and stored software instructions may be configured to cause apparatus 10 to perform actions. Fig. 4):
receive a duplex configuration associated with a fourth type symbol through a system information block (SIB), wherein a first type symbol is a downlink symbol, a second type symbol is a flexible symbol, a third type symbol is an uplink symbol (Kaikkonen: [0018] The UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB type 1. When this is the case, the SIB 1 may provide the UE with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration. For example, the UL/DL slot configuration may be determined via one or two concatenated slot patterns, which repeat in time to form an Uplink/Downlink time division duplex (TDD) configuration. The configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined as downlink slots (“D”) containing only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) slots allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or uplink only slots (‘U’) containing only UL symbols.).
Although Kaikkonen teaches the UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration, wherein the configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined with only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or UL symbols, Kaikkonen does not explicitly teach:
the fourth type symbol is a symbol comprising both an uplink band and a downlink band within one symbol;
receive a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource configuration, wherein a valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission is configured as the third type symbol or the fourth type symbol by signaling of a base station; and
transmit a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
the fourth type symbol is a symbol comprising both an uplink band and a downlink band within one symbol (Kim: [0118] Referring to FIG. 10, from the viewpoint of the BS, in a UL-DL configuration 1000 of an entire XDD [cross division duplex] system, a resource may be flexibly allocated for each symbol … according to a weight of UL and DL traffic, with respect to the entire frequency band 1001. At this time, a guard band 1004 may be allocated between frequency bands of a DL resource 1003 and a UL resource 1005. This guard band 1004 may be allocated for reducing interference in UL channel or signal reception due to out-of-band emission that occurs when a BS transmits a DL channel or signal in the DL resource 1003 [Fig. 10 shows configurations with UL and DL symbols in different [sub] bands] ... Fig. 10);
receive a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource configuration, wherein a valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission is configured as the third type symbol or the fourth type symbol by signaling of a base station (Kim: [0122] Specifically, as described above, because the UE may receive a resource for UL and DL transmission and reception in a divided manner not only in a time domain but also in a frequency domain in an XDD system, a resource configuration for UL or DL transmission and reception is configured not only in the time domain but also in both the time and frequency domains, as in the TDD system … [0162] ... The UE may determine (1307) whether or not to perform transmission and reception of a channel/signal scheduled through UL signaling or DCI according to a format of the slot/symbol and a guard band configuration in the time and frequency domains. Finally, in operation 1308, the UE performs transmission and reception of a channel/signal based on whether to perform the transmission and reception determined in the operation [i.e., based on the symbol format (validity)] … 1307. Figs. 10, 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaikkonen to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to provide effective uplink or downlink transmission and reception. (Kim, ¶ [0007]).
Although Kaikkonen-Kim teaches the UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration, wherein the configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined with only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or UL symbols, and that a symbol may contain frequency bands for both downlink and uplink resources, Kaikkonen-Kim does not explicitly teach:
transmit a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches:
transmit a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type (Lim: [0246] … When the PUCCH and the PUSCH overlap and a timeline condition for UCI multiplexing is satisfied, the UE may multiplex HARQ-ACK included in the PUCCH and/or CSI information to the PUSCH according to the UCI information included in the PUSCH and may not transmit the PUCCH ... As one example of the timeline condition for UCI multiplexing, when one of PUCCH transmission or PUSCH transmission is scheduled through DCI, the UE may perform UCI multiplexing only when the first symbol S0 of the earliest PUCCH or PUSCH among the PUCCHs and PUSCHs overlapping the slot should satisfy the following condition …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaikkonen-Kim to include the features as taught by Lim above in order to perform rate matching for uplink control information. (Lim, ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 31, Kaikkonen teaches:
A base station in a communication system, the base station comprising (Kaikkonen: [0018] The UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) …):
at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (Kaikkonen: [0064] The apparatus 10 may include at least one antenna 12 in communication with a transmitter 14 and a receiver 16. Alternatively transmit and receive antennas may be separate. The apparatus 10 may also include a processor 20 configured to provide signals to and receive signals from the transmitter and receiver, respectively, and to control the functioning of the apparatus ... Fig. 4); and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station to (Kaikkonen: [0067] ... Further, the processor 20 may include functionality to operate one or more software programs, which may be stored in memory. In general, processor 20 and stored software instructions may be configured to cause apparatus 10 to perform actions. Fig. 4):
transmit a duplex configuration associated with a fourth type symbol through a system information block (SIB), wherein a first type symbol is a downlink symbol, a second type symbol is a flexible symbol, a third type symbol is an uplink symbol (Kaikkonen: [0018] The UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB type 1. When this is the case, the SIB 1 may provide the UE with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration. For example, the UL/DL slot configuration may be determined via one or two concatenated slot patterns, which repeat in time to form an Uplink/Downlink time division duplex (TDD) configuration. The configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined as downlink slots (“D”) containing only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) slots allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or uplink only slots (‘U’) containing only UL symbols.).
Although Kaikkonen teaches the UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration, wherein the configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined with only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or UL symbols, Kaikkonen does not explicitly teach:
the fourth type symbol is a symbol comprising both an uplink band and a downlink band within one symbol;
transmit a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource configuration, wherein a valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission is configured as the third type symbol or the fourth type symbol by signaling of the base station; and
receive a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
the fourth type symbol is a symbol comprising both an uplink band and a downlink band within one symbol (Kim: [0118] Referring to FIG. 10, from the viewpoint of the BS, in a UL-DL configuration 1000 of an entire XDD [cross division duplex] system, a resource may be flexibly allocated for each symbol … according to a weight of UL and DL traffic, with respect to the entire frequency band 1001. At this time, a guard band 1004 may be allocated between frequency bands of a DL resource 1003 and a UL resource 1005. This guard band 1004 may be allocated for reducing interference in UL channel or signal reception due to out-of-band emission that occurs when a BS transmits a DL channel or signal in the DL resource 1003 [Fig. 10 shows configurations with UL and DL symbols in different [sub] bands] ... Fig. 10);
transmit a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource configuration, wherein a valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission is configured as the third type symbol or the fourth type symbol by signaling of the base station (Kim: [0122] Specifically, as described above, because the UE may receive a resource for UL and DL transmission and reception in a divided manner not only in a time domain but also in a frequency domain in an XDD system, a resource configuration for UL or DL transmission and reception is configured not only in the time domain but also in both the time and frequency domains, as in the TDD system … [0162] ... The UE may determine (1307) whether or not to perform transmission and reception of a channel/signal scheduled through UL signaling or DCI according to a format of the slot/symbol and a guard band configuration in the time and frequency domains. Finally, in operation 1308, the UE performs transmission and reception of a channel/signal based on whether to perform the transmission and reception determined in the operation [i.e., based on the symbol format (validity)] … 1307. Figs. 10, 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaikkonen to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to provide effective uplink or downlink transmission and reception. (Kim, ¶ [0007]).
Although Kaikkonen-Kim teaches the UE may receive from the network a system information block (SIB) with information to enable uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) slot configuration, wherein the configuration for each pattern indicates the slots of a subframe defined with only DL symbols, bi-directional (e.g., flexible, ‘X’) allowing both downlink and uplink symbols, or UL symbols, and that a symbol may contain frequency bands for both downlink and uplink resources, Kaikkonen-Kim does not explicitly teach:
receive a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches:
receive a first PUCCH with channel state information (CSI) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type (Lim: [0246] … When the PUCCH and the PUSCH overlap and a timeline condition for UCI multiplexing is satisfied, the UE may multiplex HARQ-ACK included in the PUCCH and/or CSI information to the PUSCH according to the UCI information included in the PUSCH and may not transmit the PUCCH ... As one example of the timeline condition for UCI multiplexing, when one of PUCCH transmission or PUSCH transmission is scheduled through DCI, the UE may perform UCI multiplexing only when the first symbol S0 of the earliest PUCCH or PUSCH among the PUCCHs and PUSCHs overlapping the slot should satisfy the following condition …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaikkonen-Kim to include the features as taught by Lim above in order to perform rate matching for uplink control information. (Lim, ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claims 18, 23, 28, and 33, Kaikkonen-Kim-Lim discloses on the features with respect to claims 16, 21, 26, and 31 as outlined above.
Lim further teaches:
wherein the first PUCCH with the CSI is transmitted in the fourth type symbol based on the fourth type symbol being configured as the valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission (Lim: [0246] … When the PUCCH and the PUSCH overlap and a timeline condition for UCI multiplexing is satisfied, the UE may multiplex HARQ-ACK included in the PUCCH and/or CSI information to the PUSCH according to the UCI information included in the PUSCH and may not transmit the PUCCH ... As one example of the timeline condition for UCI multiplexing, when one of PUCCH transmission or PUSCH transmission is scheduled through DCI, the UE may perform UCI multiplexing only when the first symbol S0 of the earliest PUCCH or PUSCH among the PUCCHs and PUSCHs overlapping the slot should satisfy the following condition …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Lim is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 16, 21, 26, and 31.
Regarding claims 19, 24, 29, and 34, Kaikkonen-Kim-Lim discloses on the features with respect to claims 16, 21, 26, and 31 as outlined above.
Lim further teaches:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Lim: [0077] … scheduling information for … physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) … may be transmitted from the BS to the UE through DCI …), wherein the DCI includes a PDSCH-to-hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback timing indicator (Lim: [0246] [0082] DCI format 1_0 may be used for fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH in which case the CRC may be scrambled with a C-RNTI. DCI format 1_0 in which the CRC is scrambled by the C-RNTI may include, for example, the following information… PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator − 3 bits as defined in Clause 9.2.3 of [5, TS38.213].); and
transmitting, in response to the DCI, a PUCCH with hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) information in the fourth type symbol based on the fourth type symbol being configured as the valid symbol type for PUCCH transmission (Lim: [0246] … When the PUCCH and the PUSCH overlap and a timeline condition for UCI multiplexing is satisfied, the UE may multiplex HARQ-ACK included in the PUCCH and/or CSI information to the PUSCH according to the UCI information included in the PUSCH and may not transmit the PUCCH ... As one example of the timeline condition for UCI multiplexing, when one of PUCCH transmission or PUSCH transmission is scheduled through DCI, the UE may perform UCI multiplexing only when the first symbol S0 of the earliest PUCCH or PUSCH among the PUCCHs and PUSCHs overlapping the slot should satisfy the following condition …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Lim is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 16, 21, 26, and 31.
Regarding claims 20, 25, 30, and 35, Kaikkonen-Kim-Lim discloses on the features with respect to claims 16, 21, 26, and 31 as outlined above.
Kim further teaches:
wherein, in case that a PUCCH resource configuration associated with the fourth type symbol is not configured, a PUCCH resource configuration associated with the third type symbol is used for PUCCH transmission in the fourth type symbol (Kim: [0162] ... The UE may determine (1307) whether or not to perform transmission and reception of a channel/signal scheduled through UL signaling or DCI according to a format of the slot/symbol and a guard band configuration in the time and frequency domains. Finally, in operation 1308, the UE performs transmission and reception of a channel/signal based on whether to perform the transmission and reception determined in the operation [i.e., based on the symbol format (validity)] … 1307. Figs. 10, 13).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Kim is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 16, 21, 26, and 31.
Claims 17, 22, 27, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaikkonen-Kim-Lim in view of Yang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20200358487, hereinafter, “Yang”).
Regarding claims 17, 22, 27, and 32, Kaikkonen-Kim-Lim discloses on the features with respect to claims 16, 21, 26, and 31 as outlined above.
Kaikkonen-Kim-Lim does not explicitly teach:
transmitting a second PUCCH with a scheduling request (SR) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
transmitting a second PUCCH with a scheduling request (SR) only in symbols corresponding to the valid symbol type (Yang: [0097] Referring to FIG. 5, a subframe 500 is composed of two 0.5 ms slots 501. Assuming a length of a normal cyclic prefix (CP), each slot is composed of 7 symbols 502 and one symbol corresponds to one SC-FDMA symbol. A resource block (RB) 503 is a resource allocation unit corresponding to 12 subcarriers in the frequency domain and one slot in the time domain. The structure of the uplink subframe of LTE(-A) is largely divided into a data region 504 and a control region 505 … A control region refers to a communication resource for transmission of an uplink control signal, for example, … uplink scheduling request, etc. and includes a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaikkonen-Kim-Lim to include the features as taught by Yang above in order to efficiently transmit/receive control information. (Yang, ¶ [0003]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416