DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gerth U.S. PGPub 2023/0064331 (hereinafter “Gerth”).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 14, Gerth discloses a computer-implemented method of automated milling machine calibration (e.g. Fig. 1-6 and 12), comprising: receiving a 3D virtual calibration design (e.g. templates) comprising one or more designed indented regions (e.g. indentations on the top surface of dental bridge teeth) and a designed curved region (e.g. curved surface of the sides of the bridge teeth) (e.g. ¶93-94 and 124); milling the 3D virtual calibration design into a physical block to provide a 3D physical milled calibration block (e.g. ¶126, 175 and 191); receiving a 3D virtual calibration scan block (e.g. digital scan model) of the 3D physical milled calibration block (e.g. ¶127-128); and determining one or more calibration parameters (e.g. compensating deviations) from the 3D virtual calibration scan block (e.g. ¶132-135).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 15, Gerth discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a calibration alert from a milling machine, wherein the milling is performed by the calibration alert generating milling machine (e.g. ¶132-135).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 16, Gerth discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising updating milling production instructions with the one or more calibration parameters (e.g. ¶132-135).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Gerth discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the milling production instructions are updated automatically (e.g. ¶132-135).
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 18, Gerth discloses the method of claim 1, wherein milling the 3D virtual calibration design into the physical block comprises milling a first section of a first surface region (e.g. top of the 1st tooth in bridge) and a second section of the first surface region (e.g. top of the 2nd tooth in bridge) into the physical block (e.g. ¶93-94, 126, 175 and 191).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 19, Gerth discloses the method of claim 5, wherein milling the 3D virtual calibration design comprises milling a curved region (e.g. sides of the bridge teeth) into the physical block to provide a milled curved region between the first section and the second section (e.g. ¶93-94, 126, 175 and 191).
Regarding claims 7, 13 and 20, Gerth discloses the method of claim 5, wherein milling the 3D virtual calibration design comprises milling one or more designed indented regions into the first section and the second section to provide one or more milled indented regions (e.g. ¶93-94, 126, 175 and 191).
Relevant Prior Art
Bohm DE-102015121180-A1 discloses a computer-implemented method of automated milling machine calibration, comprising: receiving a 3D virtual calibration design comprising one or more designed indented regions and a designed curved region; milling the 3D virtual calibration design into a physical block to provide a 3D physical milled calibration block; receiving a 3D virtual calibration scan block of the 3D physical milled calibration block; and determining one or more calibration parameters from the 3D virtual calibration scan block (e.g. pg. 1-10).
Conclusion
CK
June 2, 2026
/CHARLES R KASENGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116