DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 2, 5–11, 13, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0085224 to Hsu et al. in view of Nishikawa et al., “Ferroelectric Nematics – Approaching the Unraveling of the Mechanism of Giant Polarization Order” The Japanese Liquid Crystal Society, Vol. 23(1), January 2019, 25 pages (provided with a translation in the June 4, 2026 IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Hsu discloses (e.g., at least Fig. 3 and its corresponding description) a device 20 comprising a volume (e.g., corresponding to area 28 between layers 24/26) comprising ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal-forming fluid (e.g., paragraph [0054] teaches ferroelectric liquid crystal, and paragraph [0101] suggests that the ferroelectric liquid crystal is nematic) and means for containing said fluid (e.g., between layers 24/26), said fluid comprising molecules having one or more electric dipoles (paragraph [0054]), said molecules having spontaneously formed a ferroelectric polarization density (paragraph [0054], “spontaneous polarization from the molecular structure”), said spontaneous polarization density comprising a nonzero local unidirectional average orientation of said dipoles (paragraph [0054], “there is a non-zero in-layer spontaneous dipole moment which is perpendicular to the average molecular direction and to the tilt direction”), and said polarization density comprising a magnitude and a vectorial direction in said volume (e.g., illustrated in Fig. 14A), wherein the device includes one or more electrodes for application of an electric field to said volume, and the electromagnetic field propagates in said volume (e.g., electrodes 11/12; paragraphs [0042]–[0043]).
Hsu does not explicitly disclose said electric field causing said polarization density to change in magnitude, thereby producing a change in the electromagnetic field.
Nishikawa discloses a device similar to Hsu, including a volume comprising ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal forming fluid (e.g. fluorinated liquid crystal DIO exhibiting ferroelectricity, page 38 through page 43; and demonstrating nematic phase, page 37, lower portion of the right column), and teaches that when an electric field is applied to said volume through electrodes, the electric field causes the polarization density to change in magnitude, thereby producing a change in the electromagnetic field (e.g., Figs. 7(b) and 7(c) showing SHG intensity profile when electric field is applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing that the device of Hsu would achieve the claimed feature of said electric field causing said polarization density to change in magnitude, thereby producing a change in the electromagnetic field, based on the teachings of Nishikawa, that a similar device under similar conditions exhibits those same characteristics (see, e.g., MPEP §§ 2144.06–07).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious wherein said device includes one or more electrodes for application of an electric field to said volume, and an electromagnetic field to be controlled propagates in said volume (e.g., electrodes 11/12; paragraphs [0042]–[0043] of Hsu), said electric field causing said polarization density to change the vectorial direction, thereby producing a change in the electromagnetic field (e.g., Figs. 7(b) and 7(c) of Nishikawa, showing SHG intensity profile when electric field is applied; and Fig. 6, showing the polarization switching properties).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious the device of claim 1 for thermally generating a charge density, wherein said device includes one or more electrodes for measuring an electric potential or obtaining a current flow within said volume, said electric potential and/or current flow generated by a change in said polarization density, said change of said polarization density produced by a change in temperature of said volume (e.g., Fig. 8 of Nishikawa, demonstrating temperature dependence of the device based on applied electric fields).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious wherein said volume is contained between parallel surfaces (Fig. 3 of Hsu).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious wherein an electric field is applied parallel to the surfaces (e.g., using electrodes 21/22, paragraphs [0041] and [0081] of Hsu).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious wherein the polarization density is parallel to said surfaces (e.g., Figs. 3, 10A and 11A; paragraphs [0041], [0081], and [0102] of Hsu).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious wherein said electromagnetic field has a polarization parallel to the surfaces (e.g., Figs. 3, 10A and 11A; paragraphs [0041], [0081], and [0102] of Hsu).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious wherein said electric field, said polarization density, and a polarization of said electromagnetic field are along the same line (e.g., Figs. 3, 10A and 11A; paragraphs [0041], [0081], and [0102] of Hsu).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious wherein the electromagnetic field comprises one or more of microwave, infrared, visible, ultraviolet, and x-ray light, propagating in or reflecting from said device (e.g., paragraph [0043] of Hsu, light is emitted under the effect of the electromagnetic field).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious where said ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal-forming fluid comprises dimeric, oligomeric, or polymeric material (e.g., paragraphs [0040]. [0044], [0046], and [0048] of Hsu).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious where said ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal-forming fluid comprises elastomeric material (e.g., paragraph [0114] of Hsu).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious wherein the molecules comprise features suitable for the stabilization of a ferroelectric nematic phase comprising one or more of (1) a rod shape having a molecular long axis suitable for nematic liquid crystal ordering; (2) a substantial molecular net dipole parallel to the molecular long axis, said dipole stabilizing head-to-tail chaining of said rod-shaped molecules; (3) molecular sub-components along the molecular length giving localized charges of alternating sign distributed along said molecular long axis; (4) minimal flexible tails to enable dipolar charges to interact, but provide enough flexibility to suppress crystallization; and (5) lateral groups to control the relative positions along the director of side-by-side molecules, to promote their polar order (e.g., paragraphs [0040]–[0050] of Hsu).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious a method of using any of the devices of claim 1 (e.g., paragraph [0116] of Hsu).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu and Nishikawa in view of Pishnyak et al., “Levitation, Lift, and Bidirectional Motion of Colloidal Particles in an Electrically Driven Nematic Liquid Crystal,” Phys. Rev. Lett. 99, 127802; Sept. 21, 2007 (cited by Applicant in the September 2, 2022 IDS).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa would have rendered obvious the device of claim 1 for producing electrically-driven motion, wherein said device includes one or more electrodes (e.g., 21/22 of Hsu) for application of an electric field to said volume, said electric field causing said polarization density to change in the vectorial direction and/or the magnitude (e.g., Figs. 3 and 13B/C; paragraphs [0041], [0051], and [0102] of Hsu).
The combination of Hsu and Nishikawa does not explicitly teach this change “thereby producing a physical motion of or change of shape of said volume.”
Pishnyak discloses electrically driven liquid crystal, and teaches producing a physical motion or change of shape of the volume (e.g., abstract and pg. 127802-1, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Hsu and Nishikawa such that the change produced a physical motion of or change of shape of said volume, as taught by Pishnyak, in order to achieve additional functionality of the device, as suggested by Pishnyak.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu and Nishikawa in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0007023 to Abrahamsson et al.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa teaches electrodes (e.g., 21/22 of Hsu), but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 1 for performing mechanical sensing, wherein said device includes one or more electrodes for measuring the electric potential or current flow within said volume, said electric potential and/or current flow generated by change in said polarization density, said change due to a variation in stress within said volume or change of shape of at least a portion of said volume.
Abrahamsson discloses a display for mechanical sensing (e.g., Fig. 1B) and teaches wherein said device includes one or more electrodes for measuring the electric potential or current flow within said volume, said electric potential and/or current flow generated by change in said polarization density, said change due to a variation in stress within said volume or change of shape of at least a portion of said volume (e.g., Fig. 1B and paragraphs [0003] and [0034]–[0039]), as part of a device achieving touch screen capabilities and facilitating user interface functionality.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Hsu and Nishikawa such that said device includes one or more electrodes for measuring the electric potential or current flow within said volume, said electric potential and/or current flow generated by change in said polarization density, said change due to a variation in stress within said volume or change of shape of at least a portion of said volume, as suggested by Abrahamsson, as part of a device achieving touch screen capabilities and facilitating user interface functionality.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu and Nishikawa in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,702,636 to Whang.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Hsu and Nishikawa does not explicitly disclose where said ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal-forming fluid comprises a glass.
Whang discloses liquid crystals, and teaches that including glass in the composition can improve transparency (col. 5, lines 26–36), provide flexibility, and reduce required operating power (col. 10, lines 20–50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Hsu and Nishikawa such that the ferroelectric nematic liquid crystal-forming fluid comprises a glass, as suggested by Whang, in order to improve transparency and reduce required operating power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871