DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The Applicant’s election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 8/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the following grounds.
The Applicant asserts:
The Applicant also asserts that the Examiner has failed to establish a serious burden. These arguments are not found persuasive. First, just because some species have some features in common does not negate the fact that there are different structural differences that will need to be searched and examined with respect to the statutory requirements of 35 USC 112, 101, 102, and 103. Second, the species have physical attributes that are different from each other. The searching for each species will involve different strategies and search terms because different terms are necessarily used to describe different physical attributes. Searching for one set of physical attributes using one set of search terms would not necessarily involve or encompass a different set of physical attributes that is described with different terms. Furthermore, the examination process is made burdensome by the analysis of multiple structures with respect to the statutory requirements of 35 USC 112, 101, 102, and 103.
The Applicant also asserts that the two species are not “separate inventions”. First, the Examiner did not assert that species A and species B are separate inventions. They are separate species. Second, the Applicant indeed presents the species A and B as separate species with the use of the term “alternatively” in paragraph 0073 of the specification. Though the same passage discloses that they species A and B may be combined, the specification does not explain how this can be the case in such a manner as to be considered a unified species. That is, there is no disclosed species that explains how to determine whether the limb is affected by lameness by (1) comparing the difference to historical difference values for the animal and (2) comparing the difference to a stored average difference value for animals identified as similar animals. Indeed, it is not disclosed how both comparisons are utilized in tandem so as to arrive at the determination of lameness. Thus, the two different comparisons are considered to be two distinct species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 9 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
(1) “a computing device” of claim 1;
(2) “a second computing device” of claim 1; and
(3) “a client computing device” of claim 6.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 5, line 2: “the” should be inserted before “proximity”;
in claim 5, line 3: “comprise” should be “comprises”;
in claim 5, line 4: “the” should be inserted before “detection”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “transforming the kinematic or kinetic data to produce a data set indicating usage of a selected paw of the animal relative to one or more other paws of the animal” in lines 19-21, but it is not clear if the kinematic or kinetic data of this limitation is referring to such data from one sensor or all the sensors. Clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites “the first data” in line 28, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “kinematic or kinetic data” of claim 1, lines 4-5 or “data” of claim 1, line 12. Clarification is required. If they are different, the relationship among these recitations should be made clear. Also, if they are different, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the first data” in this claim.
Claim 1 recites “the second data” in lines 28-29, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “kinematic or kinetic data” of claim 1, lines 4-5 or “data” of claim 1, line 12. Clarification is required. If they are different, the relationship among these recitations should be made clear. Also, if they are different, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the second data” in this claim.
Claim 1 recites “an analysis of the lameness of the animal” in line 30, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the analysis provided in the step “determining, from the data set indicating the usage of the selected paw of the animal relative to the one or more other paws of the animal, that the animal is being affected by lameness” of claim 1, lines 22-29. If they are different, their relationship should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other.
Claims 2-5 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “the data” in line 3, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “kinematic or kinetic data” of claim 1, lines 4-5; “data” of claim 1, line 12; “the first data” of claim 1, line 28; or “the second data” of claim 1, lines 28-29. Clarification is required. If they are different, the relationship among these recitations should be made clear. Also, if they are different, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the data” in this claim.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the food bowl or water bowl comprise one or more force sensors configured to weigh food or water in the food bowl or water bowl prior to detection of the proximity of the food bowl or water bowl to the wireless data relay device and after the detection of the proximity of the food bowl or water bowl to the wireless data relay device ceases” in lines 2-5, but it is not clear if the food bowl or water bowl is part of the claimed invention. The recitation “further comprising one or more proximity sensors that detect proximity of one or more of a food bowl, water bowl, litter box, or scale to the wireless data relay device” of claim 4 suggests that they are not. If that is so, it is not clear what the meaning of the recitation of claim 5 is since it further defines a structure that is not part of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 recites “the start time” in line 1 in which there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Also, it is not clear how “determining the start time and stop time of the movement event” relates to the other steps that have come before it. Clarification is required.
Claim 12 recites “using the first kinematic or kinetic data and the second kinematic or kinetic data, identifying a first time where the animal begins moving with the particular gait” in lines 3-4, which is so grammatically awkward that its meaning is not clear. Are these two different steps (a using step and an identifying step) or is it one step performed by using the other step. Clarification is required.
Claim 12 recites “using the first kinematic or kinetic data and the second kinematic or kinetic data, identifying a second time where the animal stops moving with the particular gait” in lines 6-7, which is so grammatically awkward that its meaning is not clear. Are these two different steps (a using step and an identifying step) or is it one step performed by using the other step. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0095206 (Leib), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes).
Lopes teach that the lameness measurement system may be any type or breed, such as a mule, a donkey, a cow, a camel, an ox, or even a human test subject (paragraph 0023 of Lopes). Lopes and Leib teach that dogs are a suitable subject (paragraph 0005 of Lopes; paragraph 0080 of Leib). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lameness measurement system of Lopes on a dog since Lopes teaches that other types of animals may be monitored and Lopes and Leib teaches that dogs are suitable subjects.
The combination does not teach a wireless data relay device in the form of a collar. Leib teaches that sensor readings mounted on a dog may be relayed via a transceiver on the dog’s collar (paragraph 0077-0087 of Leib) such that only one external communication transceiver is necessary to transmit sensor data to a remote computing unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sensor of the combination wirelessly transmit to a transceiver in the dog’s collar, as disclosed by Leib, so as to relay the information to the remote computing unit because it would permit the use of just one communication transceiver to transmit sensor data to a remote computing unit.
Lopes teaches the steps of obtaining the first data from each sensor of the footwear elements (step 604 of Lopes); transforming the first data to produce a data set indicating usage of a paw of the animal relative to one or more other paws of the animal (steps 608, 610, and 612 of Lopes); determining, from the data set indicating the usage of the paw of the animal relative to the one or more other paws of the animal, that the animal is being affected by lameness (steps 614 and 618 of Lopes); and causing display of an analysis of lameness of the animal on a client computing device (step 620 of Lopes). Menkes teaches that determinations of movement may use data that is categorized by species, breed, and geographical location (paragraph 0099 of Menkes). Such data is stored in memories or databases (paragraphs 0092 and 0100 of Menkes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, during the determination of the type of gait in step 614 of Lopes, comparison data from a memory or database of reference movement data that is categorized by species, breed, and geographical location so that the determination more accurately reflects the target animal’s characteristics.
With respect to claim 1, the combination teaches or suggests a lameness measurement system for a quadruped animal, comprising:
a plurality of wearable footwear elements (the footwear elements suggested by Lopes), each of the wearable footwear elements comprising: a sensor (the force sensors 204, 304, 304’, 304”, and 304”‘ of Lopes) that is configured to detect and generate corresponding kinematic or kinetic data for a corresponding paw of the animal during movement, and a first wireless transceiver (the electrical circuit for wirelessly transmitting, the transmitter 308 of Lopes; paragraphs 0027, 0029, and 0049 of Lopes) that is configured for wireless communication of the kinematic or kinetic data;
a storage that stores movement data for a plurality of breeds/conformations of the same animal type as the type of the animal, wherein the movement data for each breed/conformation of the plurality of breeds/conformations is associated with data that identifies said each breed/conformation (the memory or database of reference movement data that is categorized by species, breed, and geographical location suggested by Menkes); and
a computing device (the computing device 112 of Lopes) comprising a second wireless transceiver (the receiver 114 of Lopes) that is configured to communicate wirelessly with the first wireless transceiver, and comprising a non-transitory computer-readable data storage medium (FIG. 4 and paragraphs 0031-0043 of Lopes) storing instructions which, when executed by the computing device, cause:
obtaining the kinematic or kinetic data from each sensor of the plurality of wearable footwear elements (step 604 of Lopes);
transforming the kinematic or kinetic data to produce a data set indicating usage of a selected paw of the animal relative to one or more other paws of the animal (steps 608, 610, and/or 612 of Lopes);
determining, from the data set indicating the usage of the selected paw of the animal relative to the one or more other paws of the animal, that the animal is being affected by lameness; wherein determining that the limb of the animal is affected by lameness is also based, at least in part, on comparing (1) a portion of the movement data that corresponds to a particular breed/conformation, of the animal, in the plurality of breeds/conformations to (2) the first data and the second data (steps 614 with the type of gait being the result of comparing reference movement data that is categorized by species, breed, and geographical location suggested by Menkes and step 618 of Lopes); and
causing display of an analysis of the lameness of the animal on a second computing device (step 620 of Lopes).
With respect to claim 6, the combination teaches or suggests a data processing method comprising:
receiving, at a wireless data relay device (the collar relay of Leib), from a first wireless transceiver (the electrical circuit for wirelessly transmitting, the transmitter 308 of Lopes; paragraphs 0027, 0029, and 0049 of Lopes) communicatively coupled to first one or more sensors (the force sensors 204, 304, 304’, 304”, and 304”‘ of Lopes) attached to a first footwear element (the footwear elements suggested by Lopes) worn on a first paw of an animal, first kinematic or kinetic data of the first paw of the animal during a movement event measured by the first one or more sensors (step 604 of Lopes);
receiving, at the wireless data relay device (the collar relay of Leib), from a second wireless transceiver (the electrical circuit for wirelessly transmitting, the transmitter 308 of Lopes; paragraphs 0027, 0029, and 0049 of Lopes) communicatively coupled to second one or more sensors (the force sensors 204, 304, 304’, 304”, and 304”‘ of Lopes) attached to a second footwear element (the footwear elements suggested by Lopes) worn on a second paw of the animal, second kinematic or kinetic data of the second paw of the animal during the movement event measured by the second one or more sensors (step 604 of Lopes);
storing movement data for a plurality of breeds/conformations of the same animal type as the type of the animal, wherein the movement data for each breed/conformation of the plurality of breeds/conformations is associated with data that identifies said each breed/conformation (the storing of reference movement data that is categorized by species, breed, and geographical location suggested by Menkes);
determining whether a limb of the animal is affected by lameness based, at least in part, on a comparison of the first kinematic or kinetic data to the second kinematic or kinetic data; wherein determining whether the limb of the animal is affected by lameness is also based, at least in part, on comparing (1) a portion of the movement data that corresponds to a particular breed/conformation, of the animal, in the plurality of breeds/conformations to (2) the first kinematic or kinetic data and the second kinematic or kinetic data (steps 614 with the type of gait being the result of comparing reference movement data that is categorized by species, breed, and geographical location suggested by Menkes and step 618 of Lopes);
causing displaying, on a client computing device, an indication as to whether the limb of the animal is affected by lameness (step 620 of Lopes).
With respect to claim 11, the combination teaches or suggests using the first kinematic or kinetic data and the second kinematic or kinetic data to identify a particular gait of the animal (step 612 of Lopes); storing gait data identifying the particular gait of the animal during the movement event (paragraph 0057 of Lopes).
With respect to claim 13, the combination teaches or suggests determining a start time and a stop time of the movement event associated with the first data and the second data (paragraphs 0047 and 0061-0064 of Lopes); storing movement event data comprising at least the first data and the second data (paragraph 0057 of Lopes); displaying the movement event data on the client computing device (paragraph 0057 of Lopes).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0095206 (Leib), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0000420 (Martin Davis).
The combination teaches a wireless data relay device in the form of a collar. With respect to wireless protocols for the first and second wireless transmissions. Any of Lopes and Leib discloses the use of BLUETOOTH® and WIFI® as suitable wireless protocols (paragraphs 0036 of Lopes; 0109, 0116, and 0154-0155 of Leib). Martin Davies teaches the use of one protocol for transmission between the sensors and the relay device (paragraph 0064 of Martin Davis teaches the use of the BLUETOOTH® standard between the sensors and the relay device) and a second protocol for transmission between the relay device and the computing device (paragraph 0066 of Martin Davis teaches the use of the Ethernet (such as 802.11a, 802.11b or 802.11g) standard between the relay device and the computing device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the BLUETOOTH® standard for wireless transmission between the sensors and the relay device and to use the Ethernet (such as 802.11a, 802.11b or 802.11g) standard between the relay device and the computing device since (1) it is a simple substitute for one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or (2) it permits a wider-range of transmission between the relay device and the computing device while permitting a low-power device for the wire transmission between the sensors and the relay device (see paragraphs 0064 and 0066 of Martin Davis).
With respect to claim 2, the combination teaches or suggests a wireless data relay device (the collar relay of Leib) that is configured to receive the first data from each sensor of the footwear elements via a first wireless networking protocol, to format the data into messages of a second wireless networking protocol, and to transmit the messages using the second wireless networking protocol to the computing device (the above 103 analysis regarding the two different wireless protocols).
With respect to claim 3, the combination teaches or suggests that the wireless data relay device is miniature (the collar relay of Leib) and affixed to an item worn by the animal (the collar of Leib).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0095206 (Leib), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0000420 (Martin Davis), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0192619 (Gibbs).
The combination does not teach or suggest one or more proximity sensors that are programmed or configured to detect proximity of one or more of a food bowl, water bowl, litter box, or scale to the wireless data relay and that the food bowl or water bowl comprise one or more force sensors configured to weigh food or water in the food bowl or water bowl prior to detection of proximity of the food bowl or water bowl to the wireless data relay and after detection of proximity of the food bowl or water bowl to the wireless data relay ceases. Gibbs discloses a food and water bowl system for effectively dispensing food and water to an animal so that the food portion actually delivered to the animal supports the healthiest weight objectives (entirety of Gibbs including abstract and paragraphs 0141-0148 and 0344-0345 of Gibbs). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the food and water bowl system of Gibbs in the combination so as to effectively dispense food and water to an animal so that the food portion actually delivered to the animal supports the healthiest weight objectives.
With respect to claim 4, the combination teaches one or more proximity sensors that detect proximity of one or more of a food bowl, water bowl, litter box, or scale to the wireless data relay device (paragraphs 0344-0345 of Gibbs).
With respect to claim 5, the combination teaches or suggests that the one or more proximity sensors detect proximity of the food bowl or water bowl (paragraphs 0344-0345 of Gibbs), wherein the food bowl or water bowl comprise one or more force sensors configured to weigh food or water in the food bowl or water bowl prior to detection of the proximity of the food bowl or water bowl to the wireless data relay device and after the detection of the proximity of the food bowl or water bowl to the wireless data relay device ceases (paragraphs 0141-0148 of Gibbs).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0095206 (Leib), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0000420 (Martin Davis), and further in view of one of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0211290 (Lee), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0185003 (Carbeck), or U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0202478 (Al-Obaidi).
The combination teaches or suggests computing a force exerted by the first paw and a force exerted by the second paw between the start time of the movement event and the stop time of the movement event (paragraphs 0047 and 0061-0064 of Lopes); computing a difference between the force exerted by the first paw and the force exerted by the second paw; and determining that the computed difference is greater than a stored threshold value and, in response, determining that the limb is affected by lameness (paragraph 0042 of Lopes). It is known in the art to use the average force (paragraph 0104 of Lee; paragraph 0088 of Carbeck; paragraph 0024 of Al-Obaidi). The use of average forces prevents anomalous results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the average forces in the analysis of Lopes since it prevents anomalous results and/or it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
With respect to claim 7, the combination teaches or suggests that determining whether the limb of the animal is affected by lameness comprises: computing an average value of the first kinematic or kinetic data of the first paw (computing the average value suggested by Lee, Carbeck or, Al-Obaid) and an average value of the second kinematic or kinetic data of the second paw (computing the average value suggested by Lee, Carbeck or, Al-Obaid); computing a difference between the average value of the first kinematic or kinetic data of the first paw and the average value of the second kinematic or kinetic data of the second paw (computing the difference; paragraph 0042 of Lopes); determining that the computed difference is greater than a stored threshold value and, in response, determining that the limb is affected by lameness (comparing the difference to a specified amount; paragraph 0042 of Lopes).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0095206 (Leib), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0000420 (Martin Davis), and further in view of one of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0211290 (Lee), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0185003 (Carbeck), or U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0202478 (Al-Obaidi), and further in view of in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,526,451 (Berme).
The combination teaches or suggest computing a force exerted by the first paw and a force exerted by the second paw between the start time of the movement event and the stop time of the movement event (paragraphs 0047 and 0061-0064 of Lopes); computing a difference between the force exerted by the first paw and the force exerted by the second paw; and determining that the computed difference is greater than a stored threshold value and, in response, determining that the limb is affected by lameness (paragraph 0042 of Lopes). It is known in the art to use the average force (paragraph 0104 of Lee; paragraph 0088 of Carbeck; paragraph 0024 of Al-Obaidi). The use of average forces prevents anomalous results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the average forces in the analysis of Lopes since it prevents anomalous results and/or it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
The combination teaches or suggests determining that the computed difference is greater than a stored threshold value and, in response, determining that the limb is affected by lameness by comparing the difference to a specified amount (paragraph 0042 of Lopes). Berme teaches that thresholds may be determined based on the subject’s own previous data (e.g., when the subject was exhibiting typical or normal characteristics) or data from a population of other subjects (i.e., so the subject is able to be compared to typical data for a population of normal subjects without disabilities) (col. 6, line 54 to col. 7, line 4 of Berme). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the specified amount described in paragraph 0042 of Lopes by using the subject’s own previous data (e.g., when the subject was exhibiting typical or normal characteristics) since it tailors the process to the subject’s particular condition.
With respect to claim 8, the combination teaches or suggests that determining whether the limb of the animal is affected by lameness comprises: computing an average value of the first kinematic or kinetic data of the first paw (computing the average value suggested by Lee, Carbeck or, Al-Obaid) and an average value of the second kinematic or kinetic data of the second paw (computing the average value suggested by Lee, Carbeck or, Al-Obaid); computing a difference between the average value of the first kinematic or kinetic data of the first paw and the average value of the second kinematic or kinetic data of the second paw (computing the difference; paragraph 0042 of Lopes); determining whether the limb is affected by lameness by comparing the difference to historical difference values for the animal (comparing the difference to a specified amount from calibration data of the subject; paragraph 0042 of Lopes; col. 6, line 54 to col. 7, line 4 of Berme).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0095206 (Leib), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0132758 (Benford).
The combination teaches or suggest determining a start time and a stop time of the movement event associated with the first data and the second data (paragraphs 0047 and 0061-0064 of Lopes); storing movement event data comprising, at least the first data and the second data (paragraph 0057 of Lopes); displaying the movement event data on the client computing device (paragraph 0057 of Lopes). Benford teaches that time and date stamping of when the recording of gait characteristics occurs (abstract and paragraphs 0007 and 0010 of Benford). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to time and date stamp the determined gait analysis and results so as to be able to retrieve and display the analysis and results in an organized fashion.
With respect to claim 12, the combination teaches or suggest that determining the start time and stop time of the movement event comprises: using the first kinematic or kinetic data and the second kinematic or kinetic data, identifying a first time where the animal begins moving with the particular gait and storing the first time as the start time (time stamping the results; paragraphs 0047 and 0061-0064 of Lopes); using the first kinematic or kinetic data and the second kinematic or kinetic data, identifying a second time where the animal stops moving with the particular gait and storing the second time as the stop time (time stamping the results; paragraphs 0047 and 0061-0064 of Lopes).
With respect to claim 14, the combination teaches or suggest that determining the start time and stop time of the movement event comprises: using the first data and the second data to identify a first time where the animal begins moving with a particular gait and storing the first time as the start time (time stamping the results; paragraphs 0047 and 0061-0064 of Lopes); using the first data and the second data to identify a second time where the animal stops moving with the particular gait and storing the second time as the stop time (time stamping the results; paragraphs 0047 and 0061-0064 of Lopes).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0095206 (Leib), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,977,522 (Jallon).
The combination teaches or suggest determining a start time and a stop time of the movement event associated with the first data and the second data (paragraphs 0047 and 0061-0064 of Lopes); storing movement event data comprising, at least the first data and the second data (paragraph 0057 of Lopes); displaying the movement event data on the client computing device (paragraph 0057 of Lopes). Jallon teaches the determination of a type of walking of the user as a function of time (abstract, cols. 1-3, and FIG. 3 of Jallon). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a determination of a type of walking of the user as a function of time so as to be able to compare various gaits an organized fashion with respect to time.
With respect to claim 12, the combination teaches or suggest that determining the start time and stop time of the movement event comprises: using the first kinematic or kinetic data and the second kinematic or kinetic data, identifying a first time where the animal begins moving with the particular gait and storing the first time as the start time (the determination of a type of walking of the user as a function of time of Jallon; abstract, cols. 1-3, and FIG. 3 of Jallon); using the first kinematic or kinetic data and the second kinematic or kinetic data, identifying a second time where the animal stops moving with the particular gait and storing the second time as the stop time (the determination of a type of walking of the user as a function of time of Jallon; abstract, cols. 1-3, and FIG. 3 of Jallon).
With respect to claim 14, the combination teaches or suggest that determining the start time and stop time of the movement event comprises: using the first data and the second data to identify a first time where the animal begins moving with a particular gait and storing the first time as the start time (the determination of a type of walking of the user as a function of time of Jallon; abstract, cols. 1-3, and FIG. 3 of Jallon); using the first data and the second data to identify a second time where the animal stops moving with the particular gait and storing the second time as the stop time (the determination of a type of walking of the user as a function of time of Jallon; abstract, cols. 1-3, and FIG. 3 of Jallon).
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0095206 (Leib), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0155785 (Haas).
The combination does not teach a particular form of display for showing gait and lameness. Haas discloses a suitable display (FIG. 7 of Haas; paragraphs 0058-0065 and 0070-0085 of Haas). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the type of display of Haas in the combination since a type of display is required and Haas teaches one such display or it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
With respect to claim 10, the combination teaches or suggests that displaying, on a graphical user interface, an image representing the animal; displaying, overlaid on a portion of the image corresponding to the first paw, a first value derived from the first kinematic or kinetic data; displaying, overlaid on a portion of the image corresponding to the second paw, a second value derived from the second kinematic or kinetic data (the above 103 analysis.; FIG. 7 of Haas; paragraphs 0058-0065 and 0070-0085 of Haas).
With respect to claim 15, the combination teaches or suggests that displaying the movement event data comprises: displaying, on a graphical user interface, an image representing the animal; displaying, overlaid on a portion of the image corresponding to the first paw, a first value derived from the first data; displaying, overlaid on a portion of the image corresponding to the second paw, a second value derived from the second data (the above 103 analysis.; FIG. 7 of Haas; paragraphs 0058-0065 and 0070-0085 of Haas).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 10-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,716,492 (the reference patent), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes).
Claim 1 of the reference patent requires the function of determining, in real-time from the real-time dataset indicating the pressure or force of the paw of the animal relative to the one or more other paws of the animal, that the animal is being affected by lameness while claim 6 requires the step of using digitally programmed logic to determine, in real-time while continuously receiving the first and second data, whether a limb of the animal is affected by lameness based, at least in part, on a comparison of the first data to the second data. Menkes teaches that determinations of movement may use data that is categorized by species, breed, and geographical location (paragraph 0099 of Menkes). Such data is stored in memories or databases (paragraphs 0092 and 0100 of Menkes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, during the determination of the lameness of the reference patent, comparison data from a memory or database of reference movement data that is categorized by species, breed, and geographical location so that the determination more accurately reflects the target animal’s characteristics.
Claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 8, and 10 of the reference patent (as modified) has all the features of claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 10, and 12 of the application, respectively.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,716,492 (the reference patent), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,526,451(Berme).
Claim 7 of the reference patent includes determining that the computed difference is greater than a stored threshold value. Berme teaches that thresholds may be determined based on the subject’s own previous data (e.g., when the subject was exhibiting typical or normal characteristics) or data from a population of other subjects (i.e., so the subject is able to be compared to typical data for a population of normal subjects without disabilities) (col. 6, line 54 to col. 7, line 4 of Berme). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the stored threshold value by using the subject’s own previous data (e.g., when the subject was exhibiting typical or normal characteristics) since it tailors the process to the subject’s particular condition.
Claim 7 of the reference patent, as modified, has all the features of claim 8 of the application, respectively.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,716,492 (the reference patent), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of WO 2016/061529 (Lopes).
Claim 10 of the reference patent (as modified) include determining a start time and a stop time of the movement event associated with the first data and the second data. Lopes discloses the display of the movement data (paragraph 0057 of Lopes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store and display of the movement data as suggested by Lopes so as to provide a full picture of the animal’s walking behaviors.
Claim 10 of the reference patent, as modified, has all the features of claim 13 of the application.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,716,492 (the reference patent), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0132758 (Benford).
Claim 10 of the reference patent (as modified) include determining a start time and a stop time of the movement event associated with the first data and the second data. Benford teaches that time and date stamping of when the recording of gait characteristics occurs (abstract and paragraphs 0007 and 0010 of Benford). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to time and date stamp the determined gait analysis and results so as to be able to retrieve and display the analysis and results in an organized fashion.
Claim 10 of the reference patent, as modified, has all the features of claim 14 of the application.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,716,492 (the reference patent), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0123912 (Menkes), and further in view of WO 2016/061529 (Lopes), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0155785 (Haas).
The combination does not teach a particular form of display for showing gait and lameness. Haas discloses a suitable display (FIG. 7 of Haas; paragraphs 0058-0065 and 0070-0085 of Haas). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the type of display of Haas in the combination since a type of display is required and Haas teaches one such display or it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 10 of the reference patent, as modified, has all the features of claim 15 of the application.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791