CTNF 18/759,685 CTNF 79672 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed June 28, 2024. Claims 1-20, are currently pending. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2025 and 06/28/2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating et al (hereinafter Keating) (CN 114868437, admitted prior art IDS) in view of Ferrari et al (hereinafter Ferrari) (CN 115004051, admitted prior art IDS) . Regarding claims 1, 17, 20, Keating discloses a method (apparatus) of wireless communication, comprising: Transmitting/receiving, by a wireless device, one or more location measurement results (The UE may transmit, and the network node may receive, a minimization drive test (MDT) report including NLOS bias information. The NLOS bias information may include RSTD-related information or TOA-related measurements) (paras. 0015, 0016, 0017), wherein each location measurement result includes a corresponding position estimate of the wireless device (the UE may perform a location calculation of the UE using NLOS bias distribution information received from the network node, as described elsewhere herein. In this way, the UE may perform UE-based positioning, which may reduce delay relative to network node-based positioning. Reducing latency may improve communications between devices, particularly URLLC communications) (paras. 0019, 0023); determining, by the wireless device, a corresponding assistance information, a first distribution of the one or more location measurement results ( the network node mat determine at least one estimation of a NLOS bias distribution and at least one statistical parameter associated with representing the NLOS bias distribution. The statistical parameters may include a mean of a mixture of Gaussian distribution information of NLOS bias. The network node may transmit and the UE may receive, the NLOS bias distribution information. The UE may perform a Position Reference Signal (PRS) reception and/or measurement. The UE may perform a calculation of a position of the UE using the NLOS bias distribution information ) (paras. 0024, 0030, 0032, 0059, 0062, 0063). Keating does not expressly show, transmitting/receiving, by the wireless device, a corresponding assistance data for each of the one or more location measurement results; determining, by the wireless device, a second distribution of the corresponding assistance information, wherein an error source determines in part the second distribution; and determining, by the wireless device, from the first distribution and the second distribution, an integrity value of a position of the wireless device. Ferrari discloses, that to support position estimation, the base station 502 may be configured to broadcast positioning reference signals to UEs 504 in its coverage area to enable the UEs 504 to measure characteristics of such reference signals. To assist positioning operations , the location server, e.g., server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272, may provide DL-TDOA assistance data to the UE 504 for a reference cell and neighbor cells relative to the reference cell. When the UE 504 obtains a location estimate using DL-TDOA measured time difference, the necessary additional data, e.g., base stations 502 locations and relative transmission timing, may be provided to the UE 504 by the location server. If the UE604 detects a bias event associated with one or more TRPs 602, as described above, the UE604 may report the event to the offender TRP602 (which may not be the case if the corresponding link 620 is a communication link between the UE604 and the offender TRP602, if the offender TRP602 is not a serving TRP 602), the serving TRP602, and/or the LMF 672. If the TRP 602 determines that the report is credible, the TRP 602 can adjust, where possible, the source of the bias based on the UE’s 604 report. For example, if the bias event could be incorrect base station location or an incorrect clock synchronization, the TRP602 may check its location information provided to the UE604 in the assistance data to confirm that it is correct and check its synchronization, the TRP 602 can check its location information provided to the UE 604 in the assistance data to confirm it is correct, and check its synchronization to the other TRPs 602. Upon identifying the source of the bias, the TRP 602 can correct it or, if necessary, e.g., due to incorrect location information in the assistance data, request the LMF 672 to correct it) (paras. 0110, 0112, 0138, 0139, 0144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to apply the known techniques of Ferrari to assist positioning operations noted above with corresponding position estimate in Keating improve location measurement and finding the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claim 2, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Ferrari further discloses wherein each of the one or more location measurement results and the corresponding assistance data correspond to a different transmission reception point (TRP) (para. 0033) Regarding claim 3, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Ferrari further discloses wherein each of the one or more location measurement results and the corresponding assistance data correspond to different measurements from one transmission reception point (TRP) instance taken at different times, from different TRPs taken at different times, or from different TRPs taken at a same time. Regarding claim 4, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Ferrari further discloses wherein each of the one or more location measurement results and the corresponding assistance data correspond to different measurement times from a same transmission reception point (TRP) (a "PRS resource set" is a set of PRS resources used to transmit PRS signals PRS resources in the set of PRS resources are associated with the same TRP) (para. 0092). Regarding claims 5, 18, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Ferrari further discloses determining, for each of the one or more location measurement results and the corresponding assistance information, a corresponding integrity of the corresponding position estimate (the UE receives the identifiers of a reference base station (e.g., a serving base station) and multiple non-reference base stations in assistance data. The UE then measures the RSTD between the reference base station and each of the non-reference base stations. Based on the known locations of the involved base stations and the RSTD measurements, the positioning entity can estimate the UE's location) (para. 0103). Regarding claim 6, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Ferrari further discloses wherein a position estimate is determined by a radio access technology (RAT)-dependent positioning method (a base station may operate according to one of several RATs in communication with UEs) (para. 0035). Regarding claim 7, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Ferrari further discloses wherein a location measurement result is based on a time-of arrival (TOA) measurement (paras. 0103, 0105). Regarding claim 8, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Ferrari further discloses wherein an error source associated with the TOA measurement for a timing-based positioning includes one or more of: a reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement (UE measures the RSTD between the reference base station and each of the non-reference base stations. Based on the known locations of the involved base stations and the RSTD measurements) (para. 0103); a relative time of arrival (RTOA) measurement; a wireless device receive-transmit time difference measurement for multi-cell round trip time (multi-RTT); a network node receive-transmit time difference measurement for multi-RTT; a timing error group (TEG); or a TEG margin. Note that the limitation is recited in the alternative and treated as such. Regarding claim 9, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Keating further discloses wherein one or more of the first distribution or the second distribution is a Gaussian distribution or a truncated Gaussian distribution ( the statistical parameters may include a mean of a mixture of Gaussian distribution information of NLOS bias. The network node may transmit and the UE may receive, the NLOS bias distribution information. The UE may perform a Position Reference Signal (PRS) reception and/or measurement. The UE may perform a calculation of a position of the UE using the NLOS bias distribution information ) (paras. 0024, 0030, 0032, 0059, 0062, 0063). Regarding claim 10, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Keating further discloses wherein a quantity of location measurement results corresponding to the one or more location measurement results is a configurable quantity (the UE may perform a location calculation of the UE using NLOS bias distribution information received from the network node, as described elsewhere herein. In this way, the UE may perform UE-based positioning, which may reduce delay relative to network node-based positioning. Reducing latency may improve communications between devices, particularly URLLC communications) (paras. 0019, 0023). Regarding claims 11, 19, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Keating further discloses determining one or more characteristics of the error source or the one or more location measurement results, the one or more characteristics comprising: a maximum value; a mean value; a mode value; a median value; a minimum value; or a standard deviation value (The statistical parameters may include a mean of a mixture of Gaussian distributions of NLOS bias (e.g., a mixture of Gaussian distributions may be a Gaussian distribution of multiple Gaussian distributions), a standard deviation of the mixture of Gaussian distributions of NLOS bias, a weight of Gaussian distributions included in the mixture of Gaussian distributions, and/or the like. These parameters may be associated with recreating or representing an NLOS bias distribution. The network node may also report how many RSTD measurements it used to calculate the statistical parameters) (para. 0024). Regarding claim 12, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Keating discloses wherein statistics of the error source affect the integrity value (statistical error implicitly implied with integrity noted above claim 11). Regarding claim 13, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Keating discloses wherein the error source is time-based, angle-based, or beam-based (para. 0017, 0043). Regarding claims 14, 15, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Keating discloses wherein the angle-based error source includes an angle quality value and timing quality(delay) (para. 0052, 0062, 0063). Regarding claim 16, Keating in view of Ferrari discloses all limitation noted with claim 1 above. Keating discloses wherein the one or more location measurement results are related to one another via an expected value or an uncertainty value of the first distribution or the second distribution (paras. 0023, 0024). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI whose telephone number is (571) 272-3014. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30am to 4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chieh Fan can be reached at 571 272 3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632. Application/Control Number: 18/759,685 Page 2 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/759,685 Page 3 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/759,685 Page 4 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/759,685 Page 5 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/759,685 Page 6 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/759,685 Page 7 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/759,685 Page 8 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/759,685 Page 9 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/759,685 Page 10 Art Unit: 2632