DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 3, the phrase “et of DCI” is suggested to be changed to “set of DCI”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2025/0142586) in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0383084).
Regarding claim 1, Xu et al. discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Fig 11, section 0103), comprising:
at least one memory (1124’); and
at least one processor (1124) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a message (CORESET configuration and SS set configuration as disclosed in sections 0026, 0075, and 0088) for configuring a downlink control information (DCI) and a plurality of DCI (first stage DCI and multiple second stage DCIs as disclosed in sections 0079-0080), wherein each of the DCI and the plurality of DCI are associated with a paging message (paging messages of PDSCH as disclosed in section 0061);
receive, based at least in part on a first time-frequency resource, the DCI (first stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0074-0075, 0088-0091 and 0098-0099) comprising one or more parameters (resource allocation as disclosed in section 0074) that indicate a plurality of second time-frequency resources associated with the plurality of DCI (time-frequency resources indicated by first stage DCI which for the transmission of the second stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0098-0099), and
monitor for the plurality of DCI (during PDCCH monitoring occasions as disclosed in sections 0061 based at least in part on the plurality of second time-frequency resources (time-frequency resources indicated by first stage DCI for the transmission of the second stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0051-0052 and 0098-0099).
Xu et al. discloses the plurality of DCI (second stage DCI) is multiplexed (see section 0099) with the PDSCH which carries the paging messages (as disclosed in section 0061). However, Xu et al. does not specifically disclose the plurality of DCI is at least one of frequency division multiplexed or time division multiplexed in respective paging occasions associated with the paging message.
However, Kim et al. also discloses receiving a plurality of DCI (first and second DCI as disclosed in sections 0007-0011) associated with a paging message, wherein the plurality of DCI is at least one of frequency division multiplexed or time division multiplexed (as disclosed in section 0094) in respective paging occasions (PO) associated with the paging message. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to multiplex DCI in paging occasions as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
Regarding claim 2, Xu et al. discloses wherein the DCI comprises at least one parameter (resource allocation as disclosed in section 0074), and wherein to monitor for the plurality of DCI, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: monitor for the plurality of DCI based at least in part on the at least one parameter (time-frequency resources (resource allocation) indicated by first stage DCI for the transmission of the second stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0098-0099); or refrain from monitoring for the plurality of DCI based at least in part on the at least one parameter.
Regarding claim 3, Xu et al. discloses the first-time frequency resource comprises the monitoring occasion (time-frequency resources indicated by first stage DCI for the transmission of the second stage DCI during PDCCH monitoring occasions as disclosed in sections 0051-0052, 0084, and 0091-0099). However, Xu et al. does not specifically disclose the DCI comprises at least one parameter that indicates the respective paging occasions relative to a monitoring occasion associated with the DCI.
However, Kim et al. also discloses receiving a plurality of DCI (first and second DCI as disclosed in sections 0007-0011) associated with a paging message, wherein the DCI comprises at least one parameter (paging indicator (PI) as disclosed in sections 0093-0095) that indicates the respective paging occasions (PO) relative to a monitoring occasion (see also sections 0084-0085) associated with the DCI. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to receive DCI including parameters as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission/reception enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. further discloses causing a UE to determine a subgroup of UEs (using paging indicator (PI) indicated in the DCI as disclosed sections 0094-0096 and 0101-0102) based at least in part on a slot comprising the respective paging occasions (as disclosed in section 0101, wherein the PI is transmitted in FDM is each slot of the paging occasion (PO) as disclosed in section 0101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to receive DCI including paging indicators (PI) as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission/reception enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. further discloses causing the UE to determine a subgroup of UEs (UE group indicated by DCI as disclosed in sections 0094-0096) based at least in part on the respective paging occasions (each slot of paging occasion (PO) as disclosed in section 0094) being associated with at least one of consecutive time resources or consecutive frequency resources (by frequency or time-division multiplexing as disclosed in section 0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to multiplex DCI in paging occasions as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
Regarding claim 7, Xu et al. discloses the one or more parameters comprise a bitmap (as disclosed in section 0090) that indicates a resource in a frequency domain corresponding to at least one DCI of the plurality of DCI (second stage DCI as disclosed in section 0090), and wherein the plurality of second time-frequency resources comprises the resource (frequency domain resources for second stage DCI as disclosed in section 0090).
Regarding claim 9, Xu et al. discloses the plurality of second time-frequency resources comprises a plurality of downlink shared channel resources (frequency domain resources for second stage DCI determined by the frequency domain resources for the PDSCH (physical downlink shared channel) as disclosed in section 0090).
Regarding claim 10, Xu et al. discloses the plurality of DCI (second stage DCI comprises scheduling information (as disclosed in section 0079) corresponding to respective downlink shared channels (PDSCH as disclosed in sections 0090-0091) associated with the paging message (as disclosed in section 0061), and wherein the scheduling information comprises a short message indicator, a short message, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) as disclosed in section 0083, at least one resource in a frequency domain corresponding to the paging message, or at least one resource in a time domain corresponding to the paging message.
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. further discloses the DCI is scrambled with a paging-radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) corresponding to the UE (as disclosed in sections 0094-0099). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to receive DCI scrambled with a P-RNTI as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission/reception enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
Regarding claim 12, Xu et al. discloses the plurality of DCI (second stage DCI) is frequency division multiplexed (see section 0099), and wherein the plurality of second time-frequency resources can comprise a single resource in a time domain (based on the explicit configuration by the search space set as disclosed in section 0091) and respective resources in a frequency domain (as disclosed in sections 0089-0090) corresponding to the plurality of DCI, the respective resources in the frequency domain based at least in part on one or more of the respective paging occasions associated with the plurality of DCI, a starting resource block index (start RB as disclosed in section 0090) associated with the plurality of DCI, or a frequency domain offset corresponding to the plurality of DCI.
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al. discloses a processor (Fig. 11, block 1124) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one controller (controller/processor 359 as disclosed in section 0103) coupled with at least one memory (block ‘1124) and configured to cause the processor to:
receive a message (CORESET configuration and SS set configuration as disclosed in sections 0026, 0075, and 0088) for configuring a downlink control information (DCI) and a plurality of DCI (first stage DCI and multiple second stage DCIs as disclosed in sections 0079-0080), wherein each of the DCI and the plurality of DCI are associated with a paging message (paging messages of PDSCH as disclosed in section 0061);
receive, based at least in part on a first time-frequency resource, the DCI (first stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0074-0075, 0088-0091 and 0098-0099) comprising one or more parameters (resource allocation as disclosed in section 0074) that indicate a plurality of second time-frequency resources associated with the plurality of DCI (time-frequency resources indicated by first stage DCI which for the transmission of the second stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0098-0099), and
monitor for the plurality of DCI (during PDCCH monitoring occasions as disclosed in sections 0061) based at least in part on the plurality of second time-frequency resources (time-frequency resources indicated by first stage DCI for the transmission of the second stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0051-0052 and 0098-0099).
Xu et al. discloses the plurality of DCI (second stage DCI) is multiplexed (see section 0099) with the PDSCH which carries the paging messages (as disclosed in section 0061). However, Xu et al. does not specifically disclose the plurality of DCI is at least one of frequency division multiplexed or time division multiplexed in respective paging occasions associated with the paging message.
However, Kim et al. also discloses receiving a plurality of DCI (first and second DCI as disclosed in sections 0007-0011) associated with a paging message, wherein the plurality of DCI is at least one of frequency division multiplexed or time division multiplexed (as disclosed in section 0094) in respective paging occasions (PO) associated with the paging message. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to multiplex DCI in paging occasions as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
Regarding claim 14, the method includes limitations corresponding to the above rejection of claim 1, the rejection of which is applicable hereto.
Regarding claim 15, Xu et al. discloses a base station for wireless communication (see Fig 12, section 0104), comprising:
at least one memory (1214 and 1234); and
at least one processor (1212 and 1234) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit a message (CORESET configuration and SS set configuration as disclosed in sections 0026, 0075, and 0088) for configuring a downlink control information (DCI) and a plurality of DCI (first stage DCI and multiple second stage DCIs as disclosed in sections 0079-0080), wherein each of the DCI and the plurality of DCI are associated with a paging message (paging messages of PDSCH as disclosed in section 0061);
transmit, based at least in part on a first time-frequency resource, the DCI (first stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0074-0075, 0088-0091 and 0098-0099) comprising one or more parameters (resource allocation as disclosed in section 0074) that indicate a plurality of second time-frequency resources associated with the plurality of DCI (time-frequency resources indicated by first stage DCI which for the transmission of the second stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0098-0099), and
transmit the plurality of DCI (as disclosed in sections 0081 and 0099-0101) based at least in part on the plurality of second time-frequency resources (time-frequency resources indicated by first stage DCI for the transmission of the second stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0051-0052 0 and 0098-0099).
Xu et al. discloses the plurality of DCI (second stage DCI) is multiplexed (see section 0099) with the PDSCH which carries the paging messages (as disclosed in section 0061). However, Xu et al. does not specifically disclose the plurality of DCI is at least one of frequency division multiplexed or time division multiplexed in respective paging occasions associated with the paging message.
However, Kim et al. also discloses receiving a plurality of DCI (first and second DCI as disclosed in sections 0007-0011) associated with a paging message, wherein the plurality of DCI is at least one of frequency division multiplexed or time division multiplexed (as disclosed in section 0094) in respective paging occasions (PO) associated with the paging message. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to multiplex DCI in paging occasions as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
Regarding claim 16, Xu et al. discloses wherein the DCI comprises at least one parameter (resource allocation as disclosed in section 0074), that indicates for a UE to monitor for the plurality of DCI based at least in part on the at least one parameter (time-frequency resources (resource allocation) indicated by first stage DCI for the transmission of the second stage DCI as disclosed in sections 0098-0099).
Regarding claim 17, Xu et al. discloses the first-time frequency resource comprises the monitoring occasion (time-frequency resources indicated by first stage DCI for the transmission of the second stage DCI during PDCCH monitoring occasions as disclosed in sections 0051-0052, 0084, and 0091-0099). However, Xu et al. does not specifically disclose the DCI comprises at least one parameter that indicates the respective paging occasions relative to a monitoring occasion associated with the DCI.
However, Kim et al. also discloses receiving a plurality of DCI (first and second DCI as disclosed in sections 0007-0011) associated with a paging message, wherein the DCI comprises at least one parameter (paging indicator (PI) as disclosed in sections 0093-0095) that indicates the respective paging occasions (PO) relative to a monitoring occasion (see also sections 0084-0085) associated with the DCI. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to receive DCI including parameters as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission/reception enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
Regarding claim 18, Kim et al. further discloses a subgroup of UEs associated with a paging message (as disclosed sections 0094-0096 and 0101-0102) is based at least in part on a slot comprising the respective paging occasions (as disclosed in section 0101, wherein the paging indicator (PI) is transmitted in FDM is each slot of the paging occasion (PO) as disclosed in section 0101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to receive DCI including paging indicators (PI) as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission/reception enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al. further discloses a subgroup of UEs (UE group indicated by DCI as disclosed in sections 0094-0096) is based at least in part on the respective paging occasions (each slot of paging occasion (PO) as disclosed in section 0094) being associated with at least one of consecutive time resources or consecutive frequency resources (by frequency or time-division multiplexing as disclosed in section 0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. in order to multiplex DCI in paging occasions as taught by Kim et al. since Kim et al. discloses DCI transmission enables decoding of the paging message (see section 0092).
5. Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2025/0142586) in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0383084), and in further view of Islam et al. (US 2023/0037852).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Xu et al. (see section 0090) and Kim et al. (Fig. 6, sections 0096-0098) both disclose receiving DCI comprising a bitmap. Xu et al. and Kim et al. do not specifically disclose the DCI comprises a bitmap with a plurality of codepoints corresponding to the plurality of DCI, the plurality of codepoints indicating respective subgroups of UEs, and wherein to monitor for the plurality of DCI, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: monitor for the plurality of DCI based at least in part on a codepoint of the plurality of codepoints indicating a subgroup of UEs; or refrain from monitoring for the plurality of DCI based at least in part on a codepoint of the plurality of codepoints indicating a first subgroup of UEs different from a second subgroup of UEs.
However, Islam also discloses receiving DCI (see sections 0015-0034), wherein the DCI comprises a bitmap with a plurality of codepoints (see N bit block, sections 0019-0025) corresponding to DCI, the plurality of codepoints (N bit block as disclosed in sections 0015-0027) indicating respective subgroups of UEs (N bit block used for UE sub-grouping information as disclosed in sections 0019-0027). Islam et al. further discloses monitoring for DCI (as disclosed in sections 0021-0034) based at least in part on a codepoint (N bit bitmap as disclosed in sections 0025-0034) of the plurality of codepoints indicating a subgroup of UEs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. and Kim et al. to receive DCI containing a bitmap with codepoints as taught by Islam et al. to provide higher power saving when sub-grouping indication is provided (see Islam et al., section 0173).
6. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2025/0142586) in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0383084), and in further view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0049180).
Regarding claim 8, Xu et al. and Kim et al. do not specifically disclose the one or more parameters indicate one or more of an offset in a time domain between the first time-frequency resource and at least one time-frequency resource of the plurality of second time-frequency resources or at least one resource in a frequency domain corresponding to the respective paging occasions. However, Lee et also discloses receiving DCI (see sections 0072 and 0097), wherein the DCI comprises a parameter (scheduling information or SI update indication as disclosed in sections 0158-0161) which indicates one or more of an offset (time and frequency offsets as disclosed in section 0158, see also sections 0109 and 0114) in a time domain between a first time-frequency resource (NR-PDSCH) and at least one resource in a frequency domain (resources for SS blocks) corresponding to the respective paging occasions (common PO as disclosed in section 0158). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Xu et al. and Kim et al. to receive DCI containing parameters such as an offset between resources as disclosed by Lee et al. since Lee et al. disclose receiving the DCI containing parameters (such as a BTA as disclosed in section 0161) can reduce the number of beams or blocks which need to be monitored which reduces battery consumption (see section 0138).
Conclusion
/CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 July 16, 2026