DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 29, 2024 and October 24, 2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed June 29, 2024 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed June 29, 2024 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed June 29, 2024 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 and 12 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugiura et al. (US 11,231,517 B2).
With regards to claim 1, the method for determining an inclination of a wellbore, the method comprising the steps of: receiving sensor data at a rig controller (Column 8, lines 16 – 34), wherein the sensor data was detected by sensors (137) in a logging tool in a bottom hole assembly (BHA 12) in a wellbore, wherein the sensor data comprises data from a radial magnetometer (Column 5, lines 38 – 43), a tangential magnetometer (Column 5, lines 38 – 43), a radial accelerometer (Column 5, lines 38 - 43), and a tangential accelerometer (See Column 5, lines 38 – 43); determining, via the rig controller, a magnetic toolface angle (Columns 5 and 6, lines 48 – 67 and 1 – 7, respectively) of the logging tool based on the data from the radial magnetometer and the tangential magnetometer; converting, via the rig controller, the magnetic toolface angle to a gravity toolface of the logging tool based on the data from the radial accelerometer (Columns 5 and 6, lines 48 – 67 and 1 – 7, respectively) and the tangential accelerometer; and determining, via the rig controller, an inclination angle based on the gravity toolface, and the data from the radial accelerometer and the tangential accelerometer (Column 6, lines 61 – 66 and Column 8, lines 16 – 34) will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
Referring to claim 2, the method wherein the sensor data from either one of the radial magnetometer, the tangential magnetometer, the radial accelerometer , and the tangential accelerometer represent a plurality of sensor data readings from a respective one of the radial magnetometer, the tangential magnetometer, the radial accelerometer, and the tangential accelerometer (Column 8, lines 16 – 34) will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
In regards to claim 3, the method wherein determining the magnetic toolface angle of the BHA (12) is based on the plurality of the sensor data readings from the radial magnetometer and the tangential magnetometer (Columns 5 and 6, lines 48 – 67 and 1 – 7, respectively) will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
Regarding claim 4, the method wherein converting the magnetic toolface angle to the gravity toolface of the BHA (12) is based on the plurality of the sensor data readings from the radial accelerometer and the tangential accelerometer (Column 5, lines 32 – 47) will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
With regards to claim 5, the method wherein determining the inclination angle is based on the gravity toolface, and the plurality of the sensor data readings from the radial accelerometer and the tangential accelerometer (Column 5, lines 32 - 47) will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
Referring to claim 6, the method further comprising determining the inclination angle of the wellbore at each of a plurality of incremental distances of a measured depth from a first measured depth (i.e., initial location in figure 1) of the wellbore to a second measured depth of the wellbore (i.e. boundary location as represented by dashed line 27 in figure 1) will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
In regards to claim 7, the method wherein a continuous inclination angle is a profile of the inclination angle from the first measured depth (i.e., initial location in figure 1) of the wellbore to the second measured depth of the wellbore (i.e. boundary location as represented by dashed line 27 in figure 1) will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
Regarding claim 12, the method for determining an azimuth angle of a wellbore, the method comprising the steps of receiving sensor data at a rig controller (Column 8, lines 16 – 34), wherein the sensor data was detected by sensors (137) in a logging tool in a bottom hole assembly (BHA 12) in a wellbore, wherein the sensor data comprises data from a radial magnetometer, a tangential magnetometer, a radial accelerometer, and a tangential accelerometer (Column 5, lines 38 – 43); determining, via the rig controller, a magnetic toolface angle of the logging tool based on the data from the radial magnetometer and the tangential magnetometer (Columns 5 and 6, lines 48 – 67 and 1 – 7, respectively); converting, via the rig controller, the magnetic toolface angle to a gravity toolface angle of the logging tool based on the data from the radial accelerometer and the tangential accelerometer or the data from the axial accelerometer (Columns 5 and 6, lines 48 – 67 and 1 – 7, respectively); determining, via the rig controller, an inclination angle and a high side offset angle based on the gravity toolface angle, and the data from the radial accelerometer and the tangential accelerometer (Column 6, lines 61 – 66 and Column 8, lines 16 – 34); and determining, via the rig controller, an azimuth angle based on mapping of the earth’s magnetic field vector (Column 6, lines 28 – 39), the inclination angle (Columns 6 and 7, lines 61 – 67 and 1 – 14), and a high side offset angle will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
With respect to claim 13, the method further comprising the steps of determining, via the rig controller (Column 8, lines 16 – 34), a plurality of azimuth angles based on mapping of the earth’s magnetic field vector (Column 6, lines 28 – 39), a plurality of inclination angles (Columns 6 and 7, lines 61 – 67 and 1 – 14), and a plurality of high side offset angles, wherein the plurality of azimuth angles correspond to a distance between a first measured depth (i.e., initial location in figure 1) of the wellbore to a second measured depth of the wellbore (i.e. boundary location as represented by dashed line 27 in figure 1) will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
Referring to claim 14, the method wherein a continuous azimuth angle is a profile of the plurality of azimuth angles (Column 6, lines 28 – 39) from the first measured depth of the wellbore (i.e., initial location in figure 1) to the second measured depth of the wellbore (i.e. boundary location as represented by dashed line 27 in figure 1) will be achieved by the regular operation of the assembly disclosed by Sugiura et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 – 11 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 8 - 9 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a method for determining an inclination of a wellbore, the method further comprising determining, via the rig controller, a dogleg severity for a first measured depth of the wellbore, wherein the dogleg severity indicates a rate of change of an inclination angle per an incremental distance along the wellbore; and determining, via the rig controller, a plurality of dogleg severities for a respective plurality of measured depths of the wellbore; and increasing an accuracy of ones of the plurality of dogleg severities that are associated with a portion of the wellbore with an actual inclination angle of less than or equal to 10 degrees when compared to an accuracy of other ones of the plurality of dogleg severities that are associated with a portion of the wellbore with an actual inclination angle of greater than 10 degrees in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claim 10 is allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a method for determining an inclination of a wellbore, the method further comprising determining, via the rig controller, a plurality of inclination angles for a respective plurality of measured depths of the wellbore; and increasing an accuracy of ones of the plurality of inclination angles that are associated with a portion of the wellbore with an actual inclination angle of less than or equal to 10 degrees when compared to an accuracy of other ones of the plurality of inclination angles that are associated with a portion of the wellbore with an actual inclination angle of greater than 10 degrees in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claim 11 is allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a method for determining an inclination of a wellbore, the method comprising the step of determining, via the rig controller, a dogleg severity profile based on the inclination angle profile, wherein the dogleg severity of the dogleg severity profile is between +10 degrees/100 feet and -10 degrees/100 feet for the portion of the wellbore in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claim 15 is allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a method for determining an inclination of a wellbore, the method comprising the step of determining, via the rig controller, a second azimuth angle at the first measured depth based on mapping of the earth’s magnetic field vector, a second inclination angle at the first measured depth based on second sensor data from a measuring-while-drilling (MWD) survey, and a second high side offset angle at the first measured depth based on the second sensor data; adjusting gain and offset coefficients for the radial magnetometer, the tangential magnetometer, the radial accelerometer, or the tangential accelerometer until the first azimuth angle substantially equals the second azimuth angle; and storing the adjusted gain and offset coefficients as calibrated gain and offset coefficients for the radial magnetometer, the tangential magnetometer, the radial accelerometer, and the tangential accelerometer in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
Yao et al. (US 10,392,933) discloses a wellbore sensor system and methods includes a first sensor node and a second sensor node coupled to a drill string at a first location and operably coupled to the drill string at a second location. The method includes taking first sensor readings from the first sensor node relative to a first spatial frame of reference, and taking second sensor readings from the second sensor node relative to a second spatial frame of reference, and using the first sensor readings and the second sensor readings to estimate parameters of a mathematical transform configured to transform the second sensor readings into the first spatial frame of reference. Yao et al. does not disclose the method of determining a dogleg severity, a second azimuth angle based on mapping of the earth’s magnetic field vector, and a second high side offset angle at the first measured depth based on the second sensor data; adjusting gain and offset coefficients for the radial magnetometer, the tangential magnetometer, the radial accelerometer, or the tangential accelerometer until the first azimuth angle substantially equals the second azimuth angle; and storing the adjusted gain and offset coefficients as calibrated gain and offset coefficients for the radial magnetometer, the tangential magnetometer, the radial accelerometer, and the tangential accelerometer as claimed.
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
August 4, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855