DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/11/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 2020/0043991 A1) in view of Park (US 2018/0198052 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Noh et al disclose a display apparatus, comprising: a display panel configured to display an image (Noh et al; Fig 16; display 210); a vibration apparatus disposed at a rear surface of the display panel to vibrate the display panel (Noh et al; Fig 16; vibration apparatus 1650 at rear surface of display panel 210); and includes a vibration structure including a piezoelectric material (Noh et al; Para [0074]) a supporting member at a rear surface of the vibration apparatus (Noh et al; Fig 16; supporting member 230 at rear surface of vibration apparatus 1650); and a pad member between the vibration apparatus and the supporting member (Noh et al; Fig 16; pad member 530 between vibration apparatus 1650 and supporting member 530), but do not expressly disclose wherein an overall width of the pad member is smaller than an overall width of the vibration structure, and the pad member is connected to the rear surface of the vibration apparatus. However, in the same field of endeavor, Park discloses a device further comprising wherein an overall width of the pad member is smaller than an overall width of the vibration structure (Park; Fig 17; overall width of the pad member 73 is smaller than an overall width of the vibration structure 50), and the pad member is connected to the rear surface of the vibration apparatus (Park; Fig 17; Para [0151] pad member 71 connected to rear surface 10). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the pad member taught by Park et al as pad member in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to increase the immersion level of a viewer (Park et al; Para [0151]).
Regarding claim 2, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pad member is connected to a center portion of the vibration apparatus (Noh et al; Fig 16; pad member 530 is connected to a center portion of the vibration apparatus 1650).
Regarding claim 3, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pad member is fixed between the vibration apparatus and the supporting member (Noh et al; Fig 16; pad member 530 is fixed between the vibration apparatus 1650 and supporting member 230).
Regarding claim 4, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pad member contacts the supporting member (Noh et al; Fig 16; pad member 530 contacts supporting member 230).
Regarding claim 5, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pad member overlaps with the vibration apparatus (Noh et al; Fig 16; pad member 530 overlaps with vibration apparatus 1650).
Regarding claim 6, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pad member comprises a material for absorbing vibration (Noh et al; Fig 15; pad 530 Para [0137]).
Regarding claim 7, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pad member comprises an adhesive (Noh et al; Para [0137]; coupling member 530 interpreted as pad member comprises adhesive).
Regarding claim 8, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pad member comprises one or more of a silicone-based polymer, polyolefin, paraffin wax, and an acrylic polymer (Noh et al; Para [0116]).
Regarding claim 19, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a plate between the rear surface of the display panel and the vibration apparatus (Noh et al; Fig 16; Para [0075]; layer 260 interpreted as plate between display 210 and vibration apparatus 750); and a connection member disposed between the display panel and the vibration apparatus (Noh et al; Para [0075]; adhesive attach plate 260 to vibration apparatus 750), wherein the connection member is disposed between the plate and the vibration apparatus (Noh et al; Para [0075]; adhesive layer between plate 260 to vibration apparatus 750 interpreted as connection member).
Regarding claim 20, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 19, wherein a size of the plate is smaller than or equal to a size of the vibration apparatus (Noh et al; Fig 16; Para [0075]; size of layer 260 is smaller than vibration apparatus 750).
Claim(s) 9, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 2020/0043991 A1) in view of Park (US 2018/0198052 A1) and further in view of Shin et al (US 2019/0182573 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: an adhesive between the pad member and the vibration apparatus; and/or another adhesive between the pad member and the supporting member. However, in the same field of endeavor, Shin et al disclose a device further comprising: an adhesive between the pad member and the vibration apparatus; and/or another adhesive between the pad member and the supporting member (Shin et al; Para [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the vibration apparatus taught by Shin et al as vibration apparatus in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to vibrate stably, thereby improve a sound pressure level and a sound quality of a low-pitched sound band (Shin et al; Para [0063]).
Regarding claim 21, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 19, but do not expressly disclose wherein the plate comprises a metal material, or comprises single nonmetal materials or composite nonmetal materials of one or more among wood, plastic, glass, cloth, paper, and leather. However, in the same field of endeavor, Shin et al disclose a device wherein the plate comprises a metal material, or comprises single nonmetal materials or composite nonmetal materials of one or more among wood, plastic, glass, cloth, paper, and leather (Shin et al; Para [0087]-[0089]; cover plate between vibration apparatus and display comprises metal). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the vibration apparatus taught by Shin et al as vibration apparatus in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to vibrate stably, thereby improve a sound pressure level and a sound quality of a low-pitched sound band (Shin et al; Para [0063]).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 2020/0043991 A1) in view of Park (US 2018/0198052 A1) and further in view of Kim et al (US 2015/0270476 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the vibration apparatus further comprises: a first protection member disposed at a first surface of the vibration structure; and a second protection member disposed at a second surface of the vibration structure opposite to the first surface of the vibration structure; and the pad member is connected to one of the first protection member and the second protection member. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim et al disclose a device wherein: the vibration apparatus comprises: a vibration structure including a piezoelectric material (Kim et al; Fig 1; piezo 110; Para [0048]); a first protection member disposed at a first surface of the vibration structure (Kim et al; Fig 1; upper layer 130; Para [0048]); and a second protection member disposed at a second surface of the vibration structure opposite to the first surface of the vibration structure (Kim et al; Fig 1; lower layer 130; Para [0048]); and the pad member is connected to one of the first protection member and the second protection member (Kim et al; Fig 1; pad member 12; Para [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the vibration apparatus taught by Kim et al as vibration apparatus in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to inhibit a crack from spreading in the cover layers (Kim et al; Para [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Noh et al in view of Pak and further in view of Kim et al disclose the display apparatus of claim 10, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the vibration apparatus further comprises an adhesive layer configured between the first protection member and the second protection member; and the vibration structure is configured to be surrounded by the adhesive layer. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim et al disclose a device wherein: the vibration apparatus further comprises an adhesive layer configured between the first protection member and the second protection member (Kim et al; Fig 1; layer 140; Para [0048]); and the vibration structure is configured to be surrounded by the adhesive layer (Kim et al; Fig 1; Para [0056]-[0058]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the vibration apparatus taught by Kim et al as vibration apparatus in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to inhibit a crack from spreading in the cover layers (Kim et al; Para [0011]).
Regarding claim 12, Noh et al in view of Park and further in view of Kim et al disclose the display apparatus of claim 11, but do not expressly disclose wherein the adhesive layer comprises: a first adhesive layer disposed between the vibration structure and the first protection member; and a second adhesive layer disposed between the vibration structure and the second protection member. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim et al disclose a device wherein the adhesive layer comprises: a first adhesive layer disposed between the vibration structure and the first protection member (Kim et al; Fig 1; layer 140; Para [0048]); and a second adhesive layer disposed between the vibration structure and the second protection member (Kim et al; Fig 1; Para [0063]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the vibration apparatus taught by Kim et al as vibration apparatus in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to inhibit a crack from spreading in the cover layers (Kim et al; Para [0011]).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 2020/0043991 A1) in view of Park (US 2018/0198052 A1) and further in view of Kim et al (US 2015/0270476 A1) and further in view of Heilemann et al (US 2020/0196082 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Noh et al in view of Park and further in view of Kim et al disclose the display apparatus of claim 12, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer are coupled to each other between the first protection member and the second protection member to surround the vibration structure. However, in the same field of endeavor, Heilemann et al disclose a device wherein the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer are coupled to each other between the first protection member and the second protection member to surround the vibration structure (Heilemann et al; Para [0116]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the vibration apparatus taught by Heilemann et al as vibration apparatus in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to enable selective excitation of different panel mechanical modes (Heilemann et al; Para [0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Noh et al in view of Park and further in view of Kim et al disclose the display apparatus of claim 12, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the vibration structure comprises: a vibration portion including the piezoelectric material; a first electrode portion disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and a second electrode portion disposed at a second surface opposite to the first surface of the vibration portion; the first adhesive layer is between the first protection member and the first electrode portion; and the second adhesive layer is between the second protection member and the first electrode portion. However, in the same field of endeavor, Heilemann et al disclose a device wherein: the vibration structure comprises: a vibration portion including the piezoelectric material (Heilemann et al; Fig 16; PDVF layer); a first electrode portion disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion (Heilemann et al; Fig 16; drive electrodes); and a second electrode portion disposed at a second surface opposite to the first surface of the vibration portion (Heilemann et al; Para [0116]); the first adhesive layer is between the first protection member and the first electrode portion (Heilemann et al; Fig 16; adhesive between shield2 and electrodes); and the second adhesive layer is between the second protection member and the first electrode portion (Heilemann et al; Para [0116] adhesive between shield1 and electrodes on other side of PVDF). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the vibration apparatus taught by Heilemann et al as vibration apparatus in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to enable selective excitation of different panel mechanical modes (Heilemann et al; Para [0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Noh et al in view of Park and further in view of Kim et al and further in view of Heilemann et al disclose the display apparatus of claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the vibration apparatus further comprises: a first vibration driving line connected to the first electrode portion; and a second vibration driving line parallel to the first vibration driving line and connected to the first electrode portion; and the pad member overlaps a portion of the first vibration driving line and the second vibration driving line. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim et al disclose a device wherein: the vibration apparatus further comprises: a first vibration driving line connected to the first electrode portion (Kim et al; Fig 1; left driving line 124); and a second vibration driving line parallel to the first vibration driving line and connected to the first electrode portion (Kim et al; Fig 1; right driving line 124); and the pad member overlaps a portion of the first vibration driving line and the second vibration driving line (Kim et al; Fig 1; pad member 12 overlaps a portion of lines 124). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the vibration apparatus taught by Kim et al as vibration apparatus in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to inhibit a crack from spreading in the cover layers (Kim et al; Para [0011]).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 2020/0043991 A1) in view of Park (US 2018/0198052 A1) and further in view of Yu et al (US 2019/0132963 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Noh et al in view of Park disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the supporting member comprises: a first layer (Noh et al; Fig 7; layer 530 of supporting member 280); a second layer (Noh et al; Fig 7; layer 520 of supporting member 280); and a core layer between the first layer and the second layer (Noh et al; Fig 7; layer 510 of supporting member 280), but do not expressly disclose a first metal layer; a second metal layer; a core layer between the first metal layer and the second metal layer and the core layer including a plastic material. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yu et al disclose a device comprising a first metal layer (Yu et al; Para [0047]-[0048]); a second metal layer (Yu et al; Para [0047]-[0048]); a core layer between the first metal layer and the second metal layer and the core layer including a plastic material (Yu et al; Para [0047]-[0048). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the member taught by Yu et al as member in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid the damages of various circuit components (Yu et al; Para [0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Noh et al in view of Park and further in view of Yu et al disclose the display apparatus of claim 16, but do not expressly disclose wherein the core layer includes polyethylene, polypropylene, or a mixed material of magnesium hydroxide (Mg(OH)2), ethylene vinylacetate, and polyethylene. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yu et al disclose a device wherein the core layer includes polyethylene, polypropylene, or a mixed material of magnesium hydroxide (Mg(OH)2), ethylene vinylacetate, and polyethylene (Yu et al; Para [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the member taught by Yu et al as member in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid the damages of various circuit components (Yu et al; Para [0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Noh et al in view of Park and further in view of Yu et al disclose the display apparatus of claim 16, but do not expressly disclose wherein the supporting member further comprises an adhesive layer between the first metal layer and the core layer or between the core layer and the second metal layer. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yu et al disclose a device wherein the supporting member further comprises an adhesive layer between the first metal layer (Yu et al; Para [0047]-[0048) and the core layer or between the core layer and the second metal layer (Yu et al; Para [0047]-[0048). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the member taught by Yu et al as member in the device taught by Noh. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid the damages of various circuit components (Yu et al; Para [0059]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692