DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10-12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rantala et al (US Publication No.: US 2017/0131591 A1 of record, “Rantala”) in view of Hayakawa et al (US Publication No.: US 2018/0118867 A1, “Hayakawa”).
Regarding Claim 1, Rantala discloses a polarizer (Figure 1) comprising:
A polarizing layer (Figure 1, polarizing layer 11; Paragraph 0041);
A first protective layer disposed on a side of the polarizing layer (Figure 1, first protective layer 13);
An adhesive layer disposed between the polarizing layer and the first protective layer (Figure 1, adhesive layer 12); and
Adjusting particles dispersed in the adhesive layer (Paragraph 0042 discloses that the adhesive layer comprises particles), wherein
The adjusting particles comprise:
First type of adjusting particles, wherein one of the first type of adjusting particles comprises a plurality of first cross-sectional surfaces, each of the first cross-sectional surfaces has a first inscribed circle, and a ratio of a length of a major axis of one of the first type of adjusting particles to a diameter of the first inscribed circle with a largest diameter among a plurality of the first inscribed circles is greater than or equal to 5 and less than or equal to 50 (Paragraph 0106 discloses particles that have an aspect ratio of 25); and
A second type of adjusting particles, wherein one of the second type of adjusting particles comprises a plurality of second cross-sectional surfaces, each of the second cross-sectional surfaces has a second inscribed circle, and a ratio of a length of a major axis of one of the second type of adjusting particles to a diameter of the second inscribed circle with a largest diameter among a plurality of the second inscribed circles is greater than or equal to 1 and less than 5 (Paragraph 0106 discloses particles having an aspect ratio of 5 or lower, where Paragraph 0016 discloses that high aspect ratio and low aspect ratio particles may be simultaneously present within the adhesive layer).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first type of adjusting particles and the second type of adjusting particles are both calcium carbonate.
However, Hayakawa discloses a similar material where the first type of adjusting particles and the second type of adjusting particles are both calcium carbonate (Hayakawa, Paragraph 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the adjusting particles as disclosed by Rantala to include calcium carbonate as disclosed by Hayakawa. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing polymer material by reducing impurities and agglomerates (Hayakawa, Paragraph 0072).
Regarding Claim 2, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the polarizer of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive layer (Figure 1 discloses a first adhesive layer 12 disposed between the first protective layer 13 and the polarizing layer 11, wherein the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive layer, as disclosed in Paragraph 0042).
Regarding Claim 3, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the polarizer of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive layer; and the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer, and the adjusting particles in the first adhesive layer are dispersed at least in the first adhesive sub-layer; and/or wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer; the adhesive layer comprises the first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer; and the second adhesive layer comprises a second adhesive sub-layer, and the adjusting particles in the second adhesive layer are dispersed at least in second adhesive sub-layer (Figure 1 discloses a first adhesive layer comprising a first adhesive sub-layer 12 disposed between the first protective layer 13 and the polarizing layer 11, wherein the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive sub-layer, as disclosed in Paragraph 0042).
Regarding Claim 8, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the polarizer of claim 1, wherein the first type of adjusting particles are selected from at least one of first sub-type of adjusting particles, second sub-type of adjusting particles, third sub-type of adjusting particles, fourth sub-type of adjusting particles, and fifth sub-type of adjusting particles with different shapes; and the second type of adjusting particles are selected from at least one of sixth sub-type of adjusting particles, seventh sub-type of adjusting particles, eighth sub-type of adjusting particles, ninth sub-type of adjusting particles, and tenth sub-type of adjusting particles with different shapes; a variation value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of one of the first sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the first sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 0.3 microns; a variation value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a middle part of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; and along a direction away from the middle part of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a first end of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease, and a change value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a second end of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; a variation value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a middle part of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; and along a direction away from the middle part of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a first end of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease, and the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a second end of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease; a first end of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles is connected to a second end of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles, and the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction from the first end of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles to the second end of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles; a first end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles is connected to a second end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of the first end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction away from the second end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles, and the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of the second end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction away from the first end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles; a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of one of the sixth sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the sixth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 0.3 microns; a first end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles is connected to a second end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of the first end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction away from the second end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles, and the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of the second end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction away from the first end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles; a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a middle part of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; and along a direction away from the middle part of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a first end of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease, and a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a second end of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a middle part of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; and along a direction away from the middle part of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a first end of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease, and the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a second end of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease; and a first end of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles is connected to a second end of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles, and the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction from the first end of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles to the second end of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles (Rantala, Paragraph 0106 discloses a first type of adjusting particles to be selected from a first sub-type of adjusting particles where a variation value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of one of the first sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the first sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 0.3 microns, since Paragraph 0106 discloses that the particles are nanotubes and would retain a tube-like shape, so the variation value would be close to 0, which is less than .3 microns; Paragraph 0106 also discloses a second type of adjusting particles to be selected from a sixth sub-type of adjusting particles where a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of one of the sixth sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the sixth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 0.3 microns, since Paragraph 0106 discloses non-elongated particles such as a sphere or square for the second type of adjusting particles, which are known to not have a change in diameter resulting in a variation value of close to 0).
Regarding Claim 10, Rantala discloses a display device (Paragraph 0040; Figure 1) comprising a polarizer (Figure 1), wherein the polarizer comprises:
A polarizing layer (Figure 1, polarizing layer 11; Paragraph 0041);
A first protective layer disposed on a side of the polarizing layer (Figure 1, first protective layer 13);
An adhesive layer disposed between the polarizing layer and the first protective layer (Figure 1, adhesive layer 12); and
Adjusting particles dispersed in the adhesive layer (Paragraph 0042 discloses that the adhesive layer comprises particles), wherein
The adjusting particles comprise:
First type of adjusting particles, wherein one of the first type of adjusting particles comprises a plurality of first cross-sectional surfaces, each of the first cross-sectional surfaces has a first inscribed circle, and a ratio of a length of a major axis of one of the first type of adjusting particles to a diameter of the first inscribed circle with a largest diameter among a plurality of the first inscribed circles is greater than or equal to 5 and less than or equal to 50 (Paragraph 0106 discloses particles that have an aspect ratio of 25); and
A second type of adjusting particles, wherein one of the second type of adjusting particles comprises a plurality of second cross-sectional surfaces, each of the second cross-sectional surfaces has a second inscribed circle, and a ratio of a length of a major axis of one of the second type of adjusting particles to a diameter of the second inscribed circle with a largest diameter among a plurality of the second inscribed circles is greater than or equal to 1 and less than 5 (Paragraph 0106 discloses particles having an aspect ratio of 5 or lower, where Paragraph 0016 discloses that high aspect ratio and low aspect ratio particles may be simultaneously present within the adhesive layer).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first type of adjusting particles and the second type of adjusting particles are both calcium carbonate.
However, Hayakawa discloses a similar material where the first type of adjusting particles and the second type of adjusting particles are both calcium carbonate (Hayakawa, Paragraph 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the adjusting particles as disclosed by Rantala to include calcium carbonate as disclosed by Hayakawa. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing polymer material by reducing impurities and agglomerates (Hayakawa, Paragraph 0072).
Regarding Claim 11, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive layer; or wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer; the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer, and the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive layer, the second adhesive layer or both of them (Figure 1 discloses a first adhesive layer 12 disposed between the first protective layer 13 and the polarizing layer 11, wherein the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive layer, as disclosed in Paragraph 0042).
Regarding Claim 12, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive layer; and the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer, and the adjusting particles in the first adhesive layer are dispersed at least in the first adhesive sub-layer; and/or wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer; the adhesive layer comprises the first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer; and the second adhesive layer comprises a second adhesive sub-layer, and the adjusting particles in the second adhesive layer are dispersed at least in second adhesive sub-layer (Figure 1 discloses a first adhesive layer comprising a first adhesive sub-layer 12 disposed between the first protective layer 13 and the polarizing layer 11, wherein the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive sub-layer, as disclosed in Paragraph 0042).
Regarding Claim 17, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the first type of adjusting particles are selected from at least one of first sub-type of adjusting particles, second sub-type of adjusting particles, third sub-type of adjusting particles, fourth sub-type of adjusting particles, and fifth sub-type of adjusting particles with different shapes; and the second type of adjusting particles are selected from at least one of sixth sub-type of adjusting particles, seventh sub-type of adjusting particles, eighth sub-type of adjusting particles, ninth sub-type of adjusting particles, and tenth sub-type of adjusting particles with different shapes; a variation value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of one of the first sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the first sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 0.3 microns; a variation value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a middle part of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; and along a direction away from the middle part of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a first end of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease, and a change value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a second end of one of the second sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; a variation value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a middle part of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; and along a direction away from the middle part of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a first end of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease, and the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of a second end of one of the third sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease; a first end of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles is connected to a second end of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles, and the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction from the first end of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles to the second end of one of the fourth sub-type of adjusting particles; a first end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles is connected to a second end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of the first end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction away from the second end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles, and the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of the second end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction away from the first end of one of the fifth sub-type of adjusting particles; a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of one of the sixth sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the sixth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 0.3 microns; a first end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles is connected to a second end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of the first end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction away from the second end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles, and the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of the second end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction away from the first end of one of the seventh sub-type of adjusting particles; a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a middle part of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; and along a direction away from the middle part of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a first end of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease, and a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a second end of one of the eighth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a middle part of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 1 micron; and along a direction away from the middle part of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles, the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a first end of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease, and the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of a second end of one of the ninth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease; and a first end of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles is connected to a second end of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles, and the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles gradually decrease along a direction from the first end of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles to the second end of one of the tenth sub-type of adjusting particles (Rantala, Paragraph 0106 discloses a first type of adjusting particles to be selected from a first sub-type of adjusting particles where a variation value of the diameters of the first inscribed circles of the first cross-sectional surfaces of one of the first sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the first sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 0.3 microns, since Paragraph 0106 discloses that the particles are nanotubes and would retain a tube-like shape, so the variation value would be close to 0, which is less than .3 microns; Paragraph 0106 also discloses a second type of adjusting particles to be selected from a sixth sub-type of adjusting particles where a variation value of the diameters of the second inscribed circles of the second cross-sectional surfaces of one of the sixth sub-type of adjusting particles along an extension direction of a major axis of one of the sixth sub-type of adjusting particles is less than or equal to 0.3 microns, since Paragraph 0106 discloses non-elongated particles such as a sphere or square for the second type of adjusting particles, which are known to not have a change in diameter resulting in a variation value of close to 0).
Claims 4, 6, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rantala in view of Hayakawa in view further view of Chen et al (US Publication No.: US 2022/0326423 A1 of record, “Chen”).
Regarding Claim 4, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the polarizer of claim 1, comprising a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adjusting particles are in the first adhesive layer as dispersed throughout the entire first adhesive layer (Figure 1, first adhesive layer 12 is disposed between polarizing layer 11 and first protective layer 13; Paragraph 0042).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer and a third adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer; and/or wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adhesive layer comprises the first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer; and the second adhesive layer comprises a second adhesive sub-layer and a fourth adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the second adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and the adjusting particles in the second adhesive layer are dispersed in the second adhesive sub-layer and the fourth adhesive sub-layer.
However, Chen discloses a similar first adhesive layer that comprises a first adhesive sub-layer and a third adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer (Chen, Figure 4, first adhesive sub-layer 422A, second adhesive sub-layer 422B; Paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first adhesive layer as disclosed by Rantala to have sub-layers as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving and simplifying the manufacturing process (Chen, Paragraph 0041).
Regarding Claim 6, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the polarizer of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer the adjusting particles are in the first adhesive layer as dispersed throughout the entire first adhesive layer (Figure 1, first adhesive layer 12 is disposed between polarizing layer 11 and first protective layer 13; Paragraph 0042).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer, a third adhesive sub-layer, and a fifth adhesive layer, the third adhesive sub-layer is disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and the fifth adhesive layer is disposed at a side of the third adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer; and the adjusting particles in the first adhesive layer are dispersed in the first adhesive sub-layer and the third adhesive sub-layer, and not dispersed in the fifth adhesive layer.
However, Chen discloses a similar first adhesive layer that comprises a first adhesive sub-layer, a third adhesive sub-layer, and a fifth adhesive layer, the third adhesive sub-layer is disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and the fifth adhesive layer is disposed at a side of the third adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer; and the adjusting particles in the first adhesive layer are dispersed in the first adhesive sub-layer and the third adhesive sub-layer, and not dispersed in the fifth adhesive layer (Chen, Figure 4, first adhesive sub-layer 422A, third adhesive sub-layer 422A, second adhesive sub-layer 422B; Paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first adhesive layer as disclosed by Rantala to have sub-layers as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving and simplifying the manufacturing process (Chen, Paragraph 0041).
Regarding Claim 13, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the display device of claim 10, comprising a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adjusting particles are in the first adhesive layer as dispersed throughout the entire first adhesive layer (Figure 1, first adhesive layer 12 is disposed between polarizing layer 11 and first protective layer 13; Paragraph 0042).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer and a third adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer; and/or wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adhesive layer comprises the first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer; and the second adhesive layer comprises a second adhesive sub-layer and a fourth adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the second adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and the adjusting particles in the second adhesive layer are dispersed in the second adhesive sub-layer and the fourth adhesive sub-layer.
However, Chen discloses a similar first adhesive layer that comprises a first adhesive sub-layer and a third adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer (Chen, Figure 4, first adhesive sub-layer 422A, second adhesive sub-layer 422B; Paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first adhesive layer as disclosed by Rantala to have sub-layers as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving and simplifying the manufacturing process (Chen, Paragraph 0041).
Regarding Claim 15, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer the adjusting particles are in the first adhesive layer as dispersed throughout the entire first adhesive layer (Figure 1, first adhesive layer 12 is disposed between polarizing layer 11 and first protective layer 13; Paragraph 0042).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer, a third adhesive sub-layer, and a fifth adhesive layer, the third adhesive sub-layer is disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and the fifth adhesive layer is disposed at a side of the third adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer; and the adjusting particles in the first adhesive layer are dispersed in the first adhesive sub-layer and the third adhesive sub-layer, and not dispersed in the fifth adhesive layer; and/or wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adhesive layer comprises the first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer; the second adhesive layer comprises a second adhesive sub-layer, a fourth adhesive sub-layer, and a sixth adhesive sub-layer, the fourth adhesive sub-layer is disposed at a side of the second adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and the sixth adhesive sub-layer is disposed at a side of the fourth adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer; and the adjusting particles in the second adhesive layer are dispersed in the second adhesive sub-layer and the fourth adhesive sub-layer, and not dispersed in the sixth adhesive sub-layer.
However, Chen discloses a similar first adhesive layer that comprises a first adhesive sub-layer, a third adhesive sub-layer, and a fifth adhesive layer, the third adhesive sub-layer is disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and the fifth adhesive layer is disposed at a side of the third adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer; and the adjusting particles in the first adhesive layer are dispersed in the first adhesive sub-layer and the third adhesive sub-layer, and not dispersed in the fifth adhesive layer (Chen, Figure 4, first adhesive sub-layer 422A, third adhesive sub-layer 422A, second adhesive sub-layer 422B; Paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first adhesive layer as disclosed by Rantala to have sub-layers as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving and simplifying the manufacturing process (Chen, Paragraph 0041).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rantala in view of Hayakawa in further view of Liu et al (US Publication No.: US 2022/0354003 A1 of record, “Liu”).
Regarding Claim 5, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the polarizer of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adjusting particles are in the first adhesive layer as dispersed throughout the entire first adhesive layer (Figure 1, first adhesive layer 12 is disposed between polarizing layer 11 and first protective layer 13; Paragraph 0042).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer and a third adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and both of a material of the first adhesive sub-layer and a material of the third adhesive sub-layer are pressure-sensitive adhesives; and/or, wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adhesive layer comprises the first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer; and the second adhesive layer comprises a second adhesive sub-layer and a fourth adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the second adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and the adjusting particles in the second adhesive layer are dispersed in the second adhesive sub-layer and the fourth adhesive sub-layer; and both of a material of the second adhesive sub-layer and a material of the fourth adhesive sub-layer are pressure-sensitive adhesives.
However, Liu discloses a similar polarizer where the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer and a third adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and both of a material of the first adhesive sub-layer and a material of the third adhesive sub-layer are pressure-sensitive adhesives (Liu, Paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first adhesive layer as disclosed by Rantala to have sub-layers as disclosed by Liu. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving and simplifying the manufacturing process (Liu, Paragraph 0032).
Regarding Claim 14, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adjusting particles are in the first adhesive layer as dispersed throughout the entire first adhesive layer (Figure 1, first adhesive layer 12 is disposed between polarizing layer 11 and first protective layer 13; Paragraph 0042).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer and a third adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and both of a material of the first adhesive sub-layer and a material of the third adhesive sub-layer are pressure-sensitive adhesives; and/or, wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adhesive layer comprises the first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer; and the second adhesive layer comprises a second adhesive sub-layer and a fourth adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the second adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and the adjusting particles in the second adhesive layer are dispersed in the second adhesive sub-layer and the fourth adhesive sub-layer; and both of a material of the second adhesive sub-layer and a material of the fourth adhesive sub-layer are pressure-sensitive adhesives.
However, Liu discloses a similar polarizer where the first adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive sub-layer and a third adhesive sub-layer disposed at a side of the first adhesive sub-layer close to the polarizing layer, and both of a material of the first adhesive sub-layer and a material of the third adhesive sub-layer are pressure-sensitive adhesives (Liu, Paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first adhesive layer as disclosed by Rantala to have sub-layers as disclosed by Liu. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving and simplifying the manufacturing process (Liu, Paragraph 0032).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rantala in view of Hayakawa in further view of Roehrig et al (US Publication No.: US 2019/0091976 A1, “Roehrig”).
Regarding Claim 7, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the polarizer of claim 1, the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the polarizing layer and the first protective layer, the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive layer (Figure 1, first adhesive layer 12 is disposed between polarizing layer 11 and first protective layer 13; Paragraph 0042).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first protective layer comprises a first hydrophilic sub-layer disposed close to the polarizing layer, and a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the first hydrophilic sub-layer is greater than a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the polarizing layer; or wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adhesive layer comprises the first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer; and the adjusting particles are dispersed in the second adhesive layer, and a peeling force between the second adhesive layer and the first hydrophilic sub-layer is greater than a peeling force between the second adhesive layer and the second protective layer.
However, Roehrig discloses a similar polarizer where the first protective layer comprises a first hydrophilic sub-layer disposed close to the polarizing layer, and a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the first hydrophilic sub-layer is greater than a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the polarizing layer (Roehrig, Paragraph 0045 discloses a hydrophilic material, where Paragraph 0125 discloses a function of peeling and transferring, so a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the first hydrophilic sub-layer must be greater than a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the polarizing layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protective layer as disclosed by Rantala to have a hydrophilic material as disclosed by Roehrig. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing the transfer properties of the layer (Roehrig, Paragraph 0045).
Regarding Claim 16, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the display device of claim 10, the adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer disposed between the polarizing layer and the first protective layer, the adjusting particles are dispersed in the first adhesive layer (Figure 1, first adhesive layer 12 is disposed between polarizing layer 11 and first protective layer 13; Paragraph 0042).
Rantala fails to disclose that the first protective layer comprises a first hydrophilic sub-layer disposed close to the polarizing layer, and a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the first hydrophilic sub-layer is greater than a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the polarizing layer; or wherein the polarizer further comprises a second protective layer disposed between the first protective layer and the polarizing layer, the adhesive layer comprises the first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is disposed between the second protective layer and the polarizing layer, and the second adhesive layer is disposed between the first protective layer and the second protective layer; and the adjusting particles are dispersed in the second adhesive layer, and a peeling force between the second adhesive layer and the first hydrophilic sub-layer is greater than a peeling force between the second adhesive layer and the second protective layer.
However, Roehrig discloses a similar polarizer where the first protective layer comprises a first hydrophilic sub-layer disposed close to the polarizing layer, and a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the first hydrophilic sub-layer is greater than a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the polarizing layer (Roehrig, Paragraph 0045 discloses a hydrophilic material, where Paragraph 0125 discloses a function of peeling and transferring, so a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the first hydrophilic sub-layer must be greater than a peeling force between the first adhesive layer and the polarizing layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protective layer as disclosed by Rantala to have a hydrophilic material as disclosed by Roehrig. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing the transfer properties of the layer (Roehrig, Paragraph 0045).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rantala in view of Hayakawa in further view of Yue et al (US Publication No.: US 2016/0187723 A1, “Yue”).
Regarding Claim 9, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the polarizer of claim 1.
Rantala fails to disclose that the polarizer further comprises a first optical functional layer disposed on a side of the first protective layer, wherein the first optical functional layer comprises at least one of an anti-glare sub-layer, a transparent hardening sub-layer, a low-reflection sub-layer, an anti-reflection sub-layer, an anti-fingerprint sub-layer, and an anti-static sub-layer; and wherein the first optical functional layer is disposed at a side of the first protective layer away from the polarizing layer.
However, Yue discloses a similar polarizer where the polarizer further comprises a first optical functional layer disposed on a side of the first protective layer, wherein the first optical functional layer comprises at least one of an anti-glare sub-layer, a transparent hardening sub-layer, a low-reflection sub-layer, an anti-reflection sub-layer, an anti-fingerprint sub-layer, and an anti-static sub-layer; and wherein the first optical functional layer is disposed at a side of the first protective layer away from the polarizing layer (Yue, Paragraph 0048; Figure 2, polarizing layer 15, first protective layer 16, anti-glare sub-layer 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the polarizer as disclosed by Rantala to include an anti-glare layer as disclosed by Yue. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving light transmission (Yue, Paragraph 0048).
Regarding Claim 18, Rantala in view of Hayakawa discloses the display device of claim 10.
Rantala fails to disclose that the polarizer further comprises a first optical functional layer disposed on a side of the first protective layer, wherein the first optical functional layer comprises at least one of an anti-glare sub-layer, a transparent hardening sub-layer, a low-reflection sub-layer, an anti-reflection sub-layer, an anti-fingerprint sub-layer, and an anti-static sub-layer; and wherein the first optical functional layer is disposed at a side of the first protective layer away from the polarizing layer.
However, Yue discloses a similar polarizer where the polarizer further comprises a first optical functional layer disposed on a side of the first protective layer, wherein the first optical functional layer comprises at least one of an anti-glare sub-layer, a transparent hardening sub-layer, a low-reflection sub-layer, an anti-reflection sub-layer, an anti-fingerprint sub-layer, and an anti-static sub-layer; and wherein the first optical functional layer is disposed at a side of the first protective layer away from the polarizing layer (Yue, Paragraph 0048; Figure 2, polarizing layer 15, first protective layer 16, anti-glare sub-layer 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the polarizer as disclosed by Rantala to include an anti-glare layer as disclosed by Yue. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving light transmission (Yue, Paragraph 0048).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871