DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10,12-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Youtsey et al. (4,196,607). Regarding claims 1,2,9,10,12 and 13, Youtsey discloses a die box (10) and a drawing die holder (36) comprising a drawing channel within a drawing die (38) through which tube (12’) passes as it is drawn into a tube product (12). Youtsey discloses at least one die probe channel (Fig. 3; col. 4, lines 9-11) in the drawing die holder (36) perpendicular to the drawing channel (Fig. 3), extending from an outer wall (outer circumference; Fig. 2) to an inner wall (at 54; Fig. 2) of the drawing die holder, within which a probe (14) comprising a transducer body (60) and probe head (70) is located. The probe (14) is an ultrasonic transducer (col. 3, lines 10-15) that is configured to receive ultrasonic vibrations. Regarding claims 3,4,6 and 8, Youtsey discloses a first base (die holder 36, right side portion; Fig. 3) which is contacting and supporting a first cap (44) so that the die (38) is held in the die holder (col. 3, lines 52- 54), the first base including the die probe channel to position the probe (14). Regarding claims 5 and 7, Youtsey discloses a second base (die holder 36, left side portion; Fig. 3) which is contacting shims (40; col. 3, lines 50-51) and is structured to hold the die (38) within the recess (36’). Regarding claim 14, the probe (14) is in direct contact with the die (col. 4, lines 19-22). Regarding claim 16, the probe is in a fixed position (threaded into) the probe channel (col. 4, lines 10-11). Regarding claims 17-19, the probe channel (Fig. 3) includes a conductive filling comprising silver electrode paint (col. 4, lines 22-25) and an overlying coating (72) which is an ultrasonic coupler (col. 4, lines 26-28). The conductive filling is in contact with the die (38) and in contact with the probe crystal (70; Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youtsey et al. (4,196,607) in view of Hagglund (4,573,336). Youtsey discloses radiation sensing but does not disclose a temperature sensing thermocouple. Hagglund teaches radiation sensing (10) in a wire drawing die (5) and that a die probe channel (TR, Fig. 4) is used to locate a thermocouple (col. 3, lines 39-41). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to locate a thermocouple in the die probe channel of Youtsey as taught by Hagglund in order to sense a die or workpiece temperature during the drawing operation.
Claim(s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youtsey et al. (4,196,607) in view of Beller et al. (DE 4019865). Youtsey does not disclose that the probe is spring pressured. Beller teaches that spring pressure (13) is applied on a probe (6) in a drawing die (2; Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to provide spring pressure on the probe of Youtsey as taught by Beller in order to press the probe into contact with the die.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-13-2025 have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendment overcomes the double patenting rejection of the previous office action. Regarding the art rejection, Applicant argues (response 8-13-2025; page 1, paragraph 4, lines 1-3) that there is not an explicit teaching of a probe channel. Youtsey (Fig. 1) shows that a plurality of transducer probes (14) are protruding through a die box (10) to an exterior where they connect with measuring means (18). A die holder (36; Fig. 3) in the die box (10) holds a die (38) and the die holder (36) has a threaded probe channel (explicitly recited; col. 4, line 11) which houses a transducer body (60) of the transducer probe (14). The threaded probe channel extends from an inner wall of the die holder (at drawing die area 54; col. 4, lines 1-3) to an outer wall (outer periphery; col. 4, lines 14-15) of the drawing die holder (36) and the probes (14) are shown extending out of the die box (10; Fig. 1) to connect to the measuring means (col. 4, lines 16-18).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725