DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office action in response to communications received April 01, 2026. Claims 1-3 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-3 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Amendments
Applicants amendments to claim 3 are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 3, rejection set forth in previous office action. Therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicants amendments to claim 3 are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112(f) rejection of claim 3, rejection set forth in previous office action. Therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feyzibehnagh et al. (US 2019/0215308 A1, publish date 07/11/0219) in view of Vanik (US 2025/0247270 A1, file date 01/25/2024).
Claims 1-3:
With respect to claims 1-3, Feyzibehnagh et al. discloses a computer-implemented method in a VPN device/A non-transitory computer-readable medium in a video surveillance system on a data communication network/A video surveillance system (security device 107, VPNs, Figures 1, 2 and 8) (The value of encrypting traffic may be determined based on the sensitivity or perceived sensitivity of the information in the traffic to the owner or occupier of the premises 101, and/or to the user or owner of devices 103, to maintains privacy, Peer-to-peer video gaming, 0087), for managing a combination of unencrypted streams and encrypted streams over a VPN channel/storing code that when executed, performs a method for automatically associating a surveillance security policy with a user on video based on Wi-Fi data (a security device for a premises network may be configured to receive traffic leaving the premises network and may be used to enforce network policies, 0044) (security device 107 may determine whether to route the traffic flow over the Internet 111 without applying any encryption or additional security parameters to the traffic, or whether to route the traffic flow via one of the tunnels 115., 0065) (VPNs 235-241 may provide different levels of security: the unencrypted VPN 235 provides for transmitting traffic flows to a relay server without encrypting the traffic, may route user traffic over the unencrypted VPN 235 in response to determining that the traffic is addressed to a destination that accepts VPN traffic, o maintains privacy, which may justify using encryption to maintain privacy, 0087), the method/video system comprising:
a processor (processing circuitry, Figure 2, 221) (processors, 1502, Figure 15));
a network interface communicatively coupled to the processor and to a data communication network (network interface, 223); and
a memory (Computer-readable storage media, 1506, Figure 15), communicatively coupled to the processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the processor:
establishing a VPN tunnel between two or more endpoints (tunnels, Figure 1, 115) (tunnels 115 may be implemented using any suitable tunneling technology, including virtual private networks (VPNs), 0060) (one or more of the tunnels is a Virtual Private Network (VPN). Different VPNs may have different security parameters, such as whether or not the data conveyed via the VPN is compressed or whether it is encrypted., 0042) and populating a session table with designated destination addresses for VPN tunneling (may evaluate is whether the network address included in the datagrams (in this case, for the destination server 113a) is for a server or a service, the security device 107 may have a stored list of such servers and determine that the network address included in the datagrams is for a server on the list, and route the traffic flow over the Internet 111 rather than any of the tunnels 115, 0065) (the intelligence server 217 may store network names (e.g., domain names) or network addresses (e.g., IP addresses) that are associated with network paths, maintain lists of domain names such as a first list of domains associated with traffic to be routed directly to the destination over the Internet 211 without using security parameters or a second list of domains associated with domains to be routed over the premium VPN 241, 0080) (Creating a list of entries for destinations: route traffic directly to destination, over unencrypted/encrypted VPN, Figure 8, 819, 813, 817), and
wherein the session table designates which of the destination addresses do not need encryption (Creating a list of entries for destinations: route traffic directly to destination, over unencrypted/encrypted VPN, Figure 8, 819, 813, 817);
detecting a new session of network traffic (where the security device receives user traffic, 0122, Figure 8, 801);
determining from destination address whether to use a VPN or non-VPN channel based on whether the destination address has been designated for VPN traffic based on the session table (Creating a list of entries for destinations: route traffic directly to destination, over unencrypted/encrypted VPN, Figure 8, 819, 813, 817), and
if the VPN channel is used, determining whether to encrypt prior to transmitting over the VPN channel (the security device selects, for transmission of traffic for the traffic flow, a VPN that transmits a traffic flow using encryption but not using compression (e.g., VPN 239 of FIG. 2), 0127) (the security device selects for the traffic flow a tunnel that uses by encryption and compression (e.g., VPN 237 of FIG. 2), 0128), wherein unencrypted is sent over an outer VPN channel and encrypted is sent over an inner VPN channel, and wherein the inner VPN channel is established over the outer VPN channel (tunnels, Figure 2) (tunnels 115 may be implemented using any suitable tunneling technology, including virtual private networks (VPNs), 0060) (one or more of the tunnels is a Virtual Private Network (VPN). Different VPNs may have different security parameters, such as whether or not the data conveyed via the VPN is compressed or whether it is encrypted, 0042);
updating a session table with the new session (The routing information may be transmitted to the security device 207 at any suitable interval, when routing information is updated, and/or at any other suitable time, 0080),
responsive to being sent over the unencrypted VPN channel, bypassing encryption prior to transmitting over the unencrypted VPN channel (the security device determines that the traffic is to be routed over an unencrypted VPN (e.g., VPN 235 of FIG. 2), 0129), and
responsive to being sent over the encrypted VPN channel, sending the new session for encryption prior to transmitting over the encrypted VPN channel (the security device selects, for transmission of traffic for the traffic flow, a VPN that transmits a traffic flow using encryption but not using compression (e.g., VPN 239 of FIG. 2), 0127) (the security device selects for the traffic flow a tunnel that uses by encryption and compression (e.g., VPN 237 of FIG. 2), 0128), and
wherein the unencrypted VPN channel also bypasses decryption upon receipt (the data is only unencrypted and visible at either end of the tunnel (e.g., the user's remote computer and the business' premises), 0004).
Vanik teaches inner VPN tunnel 202, outer VPN tunnel 200, (Figure 2), wherein unencrypted is sent over the outer VPN channel (The remaining once-encrypted data is then decrypted by the VPN client circuitry 110 of the mobile hardware VPN device 108 (e.g., in connection with the outer VPN tunnel 200) to reveal the unencrypted data from the secure network 104, 0051, Figure 2) and encrypted is sent over the inner VPN channel (unencrypted data stored at the secure network 104 flows to the second VPN server 222, where the data is encrypted via the second or inner VPN tunnel 202 established between the second VPN server 222 and VPN client circuitry 106 of the end device 102, 0051, Figure 2), and wherein the inner VPN channel is established over the outer VPN channel (inner VPN, outer VPN, Figure 2),
Feyzibehnagh et al. and Vanik are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of VPN tunneling.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Feyzibehnagh et al. in Vanik for wherein unencrypted is sent over the outer VPN channel and encrypted is sent over the inner VPN channel, and wherein the inner VPN channel is established over the outer VPN channel as claimed for purposes of for providing dual, nested VPN tunnels to enable an end device that supports one VPN tunnel (e.g., natively supports only one VPN tunnel) to exchange data with a secure network (see Vanik 0019).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on April 01, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks, Applicant argues that:
Claim 1:
1- Feyzibehnagh et al. does not teach the claimed dual-channel arrangement in which unencrypted traffic is sent over an outer VPN channel while encrypted traffic is sent over an inner VPN channel.
Feyzibehnagh et al., as characterized in the Office Action, distinguishes between traffic routed directly, traffic routed over an unencrypted VPN, and traffic routed over an encrypted VPN. That is not the same as the presently claimed architecture. Feyzibehnagh et al. does not disclose the specific nested arrangement where one VPN channel is carried over another VPN channel, with traffic selectively mapped SO that unencrypted traffic goes over the outer VPN channel and encrypted traffic goes over the inner VPN channel. Feyzibehnagh et al. appears to use alternative traffic flows. The current claim require coordinated user of both channels in a specified layered relationship.
2 - Vanik discloses that tunnel arrangement, Vanik still does not teach the claimed session-table based selection and dynamic handling recited in the present claims.
Vanik, as described by the Examiner, is cited only for the nested tunnel concept, not for the claimed session-table logic that designates which destination addresses do not need encryption and updates the session table as new sessions are observed.
3 - The proposed combination is based on hindsight. The rejection combines a reference said to disclose routing traffic with differing security treatment and a second reference said to disclose nested VPN tunnels, but the rejection does not adequately explain why a person of ordinary skill would have modified Feyzibehnagh et al. to arrive at Applicant's claimed selective session-table driven architecture. The application's disclosure is not merely "nested VPN tunnels. The Office Action does not identify where this full logic is taught or suggested in the combination. Rather, the rationale appears to reconstruct Applicant's system by selectively extracting different high-level concepts from separate references.
In response to remark/arguments (1) and (2), Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Feyzibehnagh et al. discloses Figure 1, 115, security device 107 may determine whether to route the traffic flow over the Internet 111 without applying any encryption or additional security parameters to the traffic, or whether to route the traffic flow via one of the tunnels 115., 0065) (VPNs 235-241 may provide different levels of security: the unencrypted VPN 235 provides for transmitting traffic flows to a relay server without encrypting the traffic, may route user traffic over the unencrypted VPN 235 in response to determining that the traffic is addressed to a destination that accepts VPN traffic, o maintains privacy, which may justify using encryption to maintain privacy, 0087),
one or more of the tunnels is a Virtual Private Network (VPN). Different VPNs may have different security parameters, such as whether or not the data conveyed via the VPN is compressed or whether it is encrypted., 0042) Creating a list of entries for destinations: route traffic directly to destination, over unencrypted/encrypted VPN, Figure 8, 819, 813, 817). Vanik teaches inner VPN tunnel 202, outer VPN tunnel 200, (Figure 2),
The remaining once-encrypted data is then decrypted by the VPN client circuitry 110 of the mobile hardware VPN device 108 (e.g., in connection with the outer VPN tunnel 200) to reveal the unencrypted data from the secure network 104,
unencrypted data stored at the secure network 104 flows to the second VPN server 222, where the data is encrypted via the second or inner VPN tunnel 202 established between the second VPN server 222 and VPN client circuitry 106 of the end device 102, 0051, Figure 2. Therefore, Examiner maintains that combination of Feyzibehnagh et al. and Vanik teach and suggest the specific nested arrangement where one VPN channel is carried over another VPN channel, with traffic selectively mapped so that unencrypted traffic goes over the outer VPN channel and encrypted traffic goes over the inner VPN channel, coordinated user of both channels in a specified layered relationship.
In response to remark/arguments (3), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Both Feyzibehnagh et al. and Vanik teaches with traffic selectively mapped so that unencrypted traffic goes over the outer VPN channel and encrypted traffic goes over the inner VPN channel, coordinated user of both channels in a specified layered relationship. Feyzibehnagh et al. and Vanik are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of VPN tunneling. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Feyzibehnagh et al. in Vanik for wherein unencrypted is sent over the outer VPN channel and encrypted is sent over the inner VPN channel, and wherein the inner VPN channel is established over the outer VPN channel as claimed for purposes of for providing dual, nested VPN tunnels to enable an end device that supports one VPN tunnel (e.g., natively supports only one VPN tunnel) to exchange data with a secure network (see Vanik 0019).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELAI SALEHI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433