DETAILED ACTION
1. The communication is in response to the application received 06/30/2024, wherein claims 1-20 are pending and are examined as follows.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: ¶0081, line 6 recites “…is sharper particular around the people”. It is believed this should read “…is sharper particularly around the people” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14; claim 14 recites the limitation “select second portions of the synthetic frames for inclusion in double composite frames” (emphasis added); however, the limitation “double composite frames” does not appear to be discussed in the specification. As such, it is not entirely clear what is meant by “double composite frames” as claimed. The specification however does refer to a “double-denoised frame”, and for the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets the aforementioned limitation as such. The Examiner respectfully requests the Applicant to point out where in the specification support can be found for the limitation above. If no such support can be identified, Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 depends on claim 14 above, and therefore includes all of its features. For this reason, claim 15 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al.US 9,311,690 B2, in further view of Izadi et al. US 2023/0119747 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jin and Izadi, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the following limitations, Jin teaches and/or suggests “A method of denoising a video, comprising: estimating optical flow in the video [Refer to fig. 2 regarding motion field 202 generated by the optical flow of the disclosed video denoising algorithm. Also see element 308 in fig. 3 for computing optical flow in received image frames of video content]; generating synthetic frame corresponding to a frame of the video based on a neighboring frame of the frame and the optical flow [Although a ‘synthetic frame’ is not explicitly disclosed, warping can be construed as a means for generating a synthetic frame. See filed specification (e.g. ¶0027, ¶0036). As such, see col 8 lines 39-48 (with reference to fig. 3) regarding warping neighboring image frames of a selected reference frame based on optical flow computations]; masking the synthetic frame generating a masked synthetic frame [Although the term ‘mask’ is not used, Jin describes comparing a ‘threshold’ value to computed distance(s) between similar motion patches in the neighboring frames and the image patch in the reference frame to facilitate subsequent denoising. See figs. 3-4. Also reference col. 6 lines 5-21]; generating a composite frame based on the masked synthetic frame and the frame [The image patch in the reference frame can be denoised based on averaging the matching patches from within the reference frame with those in the neighboring image frames (fig. 4). Said averaging generates a composite frame]; and encoding the composite frame into a denoised video.” [Although Jin does not explicitly refer to encoding denoised image frames, doing so would be within the level of skill in the art. See for e.g. the work of Izadi below.] Although Jin’s method for video denoising a sequence of image frames are deemed relevant, they do not explicitly address encoding the denoised frames. Even though this would be considered within the level of skill in the art in order to facilitate storing and/or transmitting said frames, the work of Izadi from the same or similar field of endeavor is brought in to teach/suggest the foregoing feature. [See for e.g. ¶0089 regarding an encoded denoised image either as a single image or as part of a sequence of images] Recognizing Izadi’s teachings for encoding a denoised image(s), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work of Jin for employing optical flow to denoise video (e.g. abstract), to add the teachings of Izadi as above for denoising image data before coding so that not only the efficiency and accuracy of coding can be improved but also the visual quality of the image data itself (e.g. ¶0022).
Regarding claim 2, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Given the BRI of the following limitations, Jin further teaches and/or suggests “where masking the synthetic frame [See claim 1 above] comprises: calculating differences between pixel values of the synthetic frame and the frame [See col. 1 lines 53-65 with respect to performing the absolute value of pixel-wise differences between the reference frame and the previous and subsequent image frames (which have been warped) for computing a noise estimate (fig. 3)]; and generating a mask based on the differences.” [Based on these determined differences, a threshold is determined (col. 6 lines 5-33 and fig. 4), which can be construed as a mask]
Regarding claim 3, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “where generating the mask comprises comparing the differences to a difference threshold.” [See for e.g. col. 6 lines 5-33 regarding comparing to a threshold. Also refer to fig. 4]
Regarding claim 4, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 3, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “further comprising selecting the difference threshold based on a temporal distance between a first neighboring frame and the frame.” [The threshold is used to compare the distance between an image patch in the reference frame and a similar patch in an image frame that is located in a temporal window around said reference frame (see 134 in fig. 1); hence, this is based on a temporal distance between said frames. See col. 6 lines 5-21]
Regarding claim 5, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “where masking the synthetic frame comprises: calculating differences between a luminance component of pixels of the synthetic frame and the frame [Col. 1 lines 53-65 determines an absolute value of pixel-wise differences between image frames within a temporal window as per fig. 1]; and generating a mask based on the differences.” [The foregoing determines a noise estimate for the neighboring frames, from which a median noise level of the reference frame can be determined. According to col. 6 lines 5-33, a threshold can be established]
Regarding claim 8, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “where generating the synthetic frame comprises warping the neighboring frame based on the optical flow.” [Fig. 3 describes warping one or more of the neighboring frames within a temporal window to position said frames with the reference frame based on optical flow computations]
Regarding claim 9, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “further comprising: adding the masked synthetic frame to an accumulator; and adding a mask used in masking the synthetic frame to an inclusion counter.” [Jin does not explicitly refer to an “accumulator” and an inclusion counter” as claimed, however according to ¶0184 of the filed specification, Jin’s averaging scheme as discussed in col. 7 appears to suggest these features, where said accumulator and inclusion counter enable the composite (e.g. averaged) frame to be generated]
Regarding claim 10, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “where generating the composite frame is based on dividing the accumulator by the inclusion counter.” [Same as above in claim 9, where by Jin’s averaging scheme, an average of the matching patches can be determined. Averaging requires dividing by the total count]
Regarding claim 11, claim 13 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of Claim 1. As to the claimed hardware and software, please refer to col. 7 lines 49-60, col. 11 lines 56-67, and col. 12 lines 1-32 of Jin for support. The limitation “select portions of the synthetic frames…” is understood as corresponding to “masking the synthetic frame” in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “where the set of instructions further causes the processor to: determine a number of iterations, where generating the synthetic frames is based on the number of iterations.” [Jin’s denoising scheme (e.g. fig. 4) averages a number of matching patches, which are construed as the number of iterations]
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of Claim 1. Please refer to Izadi.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of Claim 1. As to “performing a selective averaging of portions of the plurality of synthetic frames and the plurality of frames generating a plurality of composite frames”, please refer to Jin’s averaging scheme as noted in fig. 4 and as further described in col. 7. If one composite frame can be generated, then it is within the level of skill in the art to generate a plurality of composite frames. Lastly, regarding “compiling a denoised video based on the plurality of composite frames.”, please see the work of Izadi as shown in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “Jin further teaches and/or suggests “where performing the selective averaging of portions of the plurality of synthetic frames and the plurality of frames comprises: selecting a first synthetic frame of the plurality of synthetic frames that mimic a first frame of the plurality of frames [Col 7 lines 15-40 describe averaging matching patches between frames in a temporal sequence. This is also shown in fig. 4 (410)]; calculating a difference between a first luminance component of the first synthetic frame and a second luminance component of the first frame [Noise estimates are computed based on an absolute value of pixel-wise differences between frames (e.g. col. 1 lines 53-65)]; generating a mask by comparing the difference with a threshold [Although the term ‘mask’ is not used, Jin describes comparing a ‘threshold’ value to computed distance(s) between similar motion patches in the neighboring frames and the image patch in the reference frame to facilitate subsequent denoising. See figs. 3-4. Also reference col. 6 lines 5-21]; applying the mask to the first synthetic frame generating a masked synthetic frame [Same as above with respect to the threshold]; adding the first synthetic frame and the first frame to an accumulator [Jin does not explicitly refer to an “accumulator” as claimed, however according to ¶0184 of the filed specification, Jin’s averaging scheme as discussed in col. 7 appears to suggest these features, where said accumulator enables a composite (e.g. averaged) frame to be generated]; adding the mask to an inclusion counter [Jin does not explicitly refer to the foregoing, however, according to ¶0184 of the filed specification, Jin’s averaging scheme as discussed in col. 7 appears to suggest these features that would enable the composite (e.g. averaged) frame to be generated as claimed below]; and generating a composite frame based on the accumulator and the inclusion counter.” [Same as above. By Jin’s averaging scheme, an average of the matching patches can be determined, where averaging requires dividing by the total count]
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, in view of Izadi, and in further view of Emmett et al. US 2014/0363058 A1, hereinafter referred to as Emmett.
Regarding claim 6, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin and Izadi however do not appear to address the features of claim 6. For this reason, the work of Emmett from the same or similar field of endeavor is brought in to teach and/or suggest “where masking the synthetic frame comprises: determining edges of the frame; and generating a mask based on the edges.” [See for e.g. ¶0056-¶0058 regarding generating a mask based on the detected edges of an aligned image, where said aligned image can be construed to be a synthetic image (see for e.g. ¶0036 of the filed specification)] Although Emmett’s teachings do not explicitly refer to denoising image/video data, unlike in Jin and Izadi, they are deemed relevant since they disclose various types of image processing, including the use of a mask (e.g. 509 in fig. 5). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Emmett’s image processing methods with the noise removal techniques of Jin and Izadi in order to uniquely identify an individual from biometric image data of an authentication device (e.g. abstract).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, in view of Izadi, and in further view of Rego et al. US 2025/0245796 A1, hereinafter referred to as Rego.
Regarding claim 7, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin and Izadi however do not appear to address the features of claim 7. For this reason, the work of Rego from the same or similar field of endeavor is brought in to teach and/or suggest “where masking the synthetic frame comprises: estimating areas of occluded motion based on the optical flow; and generating a mask based on the areas of occluded motion.” [See for e.g. ¶0096-¶0097 of Rego regarding occlusion mask determination which can identify one or more occluded regions in synthetic view images] Recognizing the teachings of Rego, it would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jin and Izadi related to noise reduction, to add the generated synthetic ground truth datasets of Rego as above, to facilitate training image registration models (e.g. ¶0038).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, in view of Izadi, and in further view of Douady-Pleven et al. US 2020/0258200 A1, hereinafter referred to as Douady-Pleven.
Regarding claim 14, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. However Jin and Izadi do not appear to address the features of claim 14. Douady-Pleven on the other hand from the same or similar field of endeavor, is brought in to teach and/or suggest “where the set of instructions further causes the processor to: select second portions of the synthetic frames for inclusion in double composite frames; and generate the double composite frames based on the second portions of the synthetic frames and the composite frames.” [The limitation “double composite frames” could not be found in the specification as recited. However, the specification does refer to a ‘double-denoised frame’. Thus, the examiner interprets the aforementioned limitation as such. Accordingly, see for e.g. figs. 8-9 with respect to generating a second denoised image. Also please refer to e.g. ¶0123-¶0124 and ¶0153 for additional support] Recognizing the teachings of Douady-Pleven, it would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jin and Izadi related to noise reduction, to add the double non-local means denoising approach of Douady-Pleven as above, where the repeated application of a set of weights may substantially improve the overall quality of the denoising algorithm with only having a marginal impact on the overall complexity (e.g. ¶0026).
Regarding claim 15, Jin, Izadi, and Douady-Pleven teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 14, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Although Jin does not address encoding, Izadi from the same or similar field of endeavor does teach and/or suggest this feature. [See for e.g. ¶0089 regarding an encoded denoised image either as a single image or as part of a sequence of images Please note, this also finds support in Douady-Pleven below]. The motivation for combining Jin and Izadi has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above. However, it appears Izadi’s teachings do not refer to a double denoised frame. As such, Douady-Pleven from the same or similar field of endeavor is brought in to teach and/or suggest “where the set of instructions further causes the processor to encode the double composite frames into a denoised video.” [In the context of the double denoised frames of Douady-Pleven (claim 14), see fig. 7 and ¶0158-¶0159, where a reduced noise image can be passed to an encoding operation] The motivation for combining Jin, Izadi, and Douady-Pleven has been discussed in connection with claim 14, above.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, in view of Izadi, and in further view of Qiu WO 2024/131035 A1, hereinafter referred to as Qiu.
Regarding claim 17, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. However, both Jin and Izadi do not appear to address ‘scaled frames of the video’ as claimed. Qiu on the other hand from the same or similar field of endeavor is brought in to teach and/or suggest “further comprising generating scaled frames of the video, where generating the plurality of optical flow files is based on the scaled frames of the video.” [First and second video frames can be scaled to reduce the size of the frames which improves the analysis speed during subsequent optical flow analysis. See 8th paragraph on pg. 7] Recognizing the teachings of Qiu, it would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jin and Izadi related to noise reduction, to add the video frame interpolation method of Qiu as above, which enables the accuracy of generating a composite frame on the basis of two consecutive video frames to be improved, thereby improving frame interpolation quality and the frame interpolation effect (e.g. abstract).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, in view of Izadi, and in further view of Ambasamudram et al. WO 2018/116322 A1, hereinafter referred to as Ambasamudram.
Regarding claim 18, Jin and Izadi teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “where generating the plurality of synthetic frames comprises: warping a first frame of the plurality of frames generating a first synthetic frame based on a first optical flow file of the plurality of optical flow files [See fig. 4 with regards to warping a frame to generate a synthetic file based on optical flow computations]; and warping the first synthetic frame generating a second synthetic frame based on a second optical flow file of the plurality of optical flow files.” [Jin (and Izadi) however do not address the foregoing feature. See Ambasamudram below for support] Since both Jin and Izadi do not address the foregoing, Ambasamudram from the same or similar field of endeavor is brought in to teach and/or suggest “and warping the first synthetic frame generating a second synthetic frame based on a second optical flow file of the plurality of optical flow files.” [The above limitation is taken to be analogous to re-warping a frame. As such, see fig. 1 with respect to re-warping a frame using net displacement of an object to create re-warped frames. Said displacement is construed to be based on optical flow (e.g. ¶0056)] Recognizing the teachings of Ambasamudram, it would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jin and Izadi related to noise reduction, to add the image processing methods of Ambasamudram as above for automatically generating a pan shot from a video of a dynamic object (e.g. abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Jin, Izadi, and Ambasamudram teach and/or suggest all the limitations of claim 18, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Jin further teaches and/or suggests “where generating the plurality of composite frames comprises generating a first composite frame based on the first synthetic frame and a second frame of the plurality of frames, the second frame temporally adjacent to the first frame.” [The image patch in the reference frame can be denoised based on averaging the matching patches from within the reference frame with those in the neighboring image frames (fig. 4). Said averaging generates a composite frame]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO 892 for additional references.
/RICHARD A HANSELL JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486