DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
See claims 12-21, claim limitations that uses the word “module”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Balteanu (US 2018/0234095 A1).
As to claim 2, Balteanu discloses a switching circuit 1190 (see at least figure 11) for switching radio frequency signals, the switching circuit 1190 comprising: a switch 1190 having an input port IN configured to receive an input radio frequency (RF) signal, an output port configured to provide an output signal responsive to the switch being in an ON state (see paragraph [0076]), a series arm 1192 between the input port IN and the output port OUT, and a shunt arm 1194a between the input port IN and a reference potential node (see ground potential), each of the series arm 1192 and the shunt arm 1194a including a plurality of transistors coupled in series (see paragraphs [0082], [0092]); control circuitry 1310 (see at least figure 13A) configured to provide a first control voltage to the series arm and a second control voltage to the shunt arm (see paragraph [0079]), the control circuitry comprising a first voltage generator (see paragraph [0044] which discloses “As described herein, multiple voltage generators or multiple parallel stacks of charge pump units can be cascaded to generate higher or lower voltage values”; paragraph [0079] which discloses “Accordingly, charge pumps and/or voltage generators as described herein can be part of the control circuitry that provides the voltages to the series arm 992 and the shunt arms 994a, 994b”) coupled to a first level shifter (see paragraph [0078] which discloses “Each of the control voltages Vin1, Vin2, and Vin3 can be provided by a dedicated voltage level shifter, such as the voltage level shifter 880 described herein with respect to FIG. 8”; therefore, there are at least three voltage level shifters provide three control voltages) to provide the first control voltage (see paragraph [0043]), and a second voltage generator (see paragraph [0044] which discloses “As described herein, multiple voltage generators or multiple parallel stacks of charge pump units can be cascaded to generate higher or lower voltage values”; paragraph [0079] which discloses “Accordingly, charge pumps and/or voltage generators as described herein can be part of the control circuitry that provides the voltages to the series arm 992 and the shunt arms 994a, 994b”) coupled to a second level shifter (see paragraph [0078] which discloses “Each of the control voltages Vin1, Vin2, and Vin3 can be provided by a dedicated voltage level shifter, such as the voltage level shifter 880 described herein with respect to FIG. 8”; therefore, there are at least three voltage level shifters provide three control voltages) to provide the second control voltage (see paragraph [0043]), each of the first voltage generator and the second voltage generator comprising one or more charge pump units that are individually activatable to produce a targeted generator voltage for a respective level shifter (see paragraphs [0015], [0044]); a power detector 1196 (see figure 11) coupled to the shunt arm 1194a, the power detector 1196 configured to detect a power of the input RF signal through the shunt arm 1194a and to generate a power signal indicative of a power of the input RF signal (see paragraph [0082]); and a feedback mechanism 1198 coupled to the power detector 1196, the feedback mechanism 1198 configured to receive the power signal Vpow from the power detector 1196 and, responsive to the power signal indicating an increase in power of the input RF signal, providing an increase in the first control voltage to the series arm 1192 (see paragraph [0082]).
As to claim 3, Balteanu discloses that the control circuitry is configured to cause the first control voltage to be a positive voltage and the second control voltage to be a negative voltage to operate the switch in the ON state, and the control circuitry configured to cause the first control voltage to be a negative voltage and the second control voltage to be a positive voltage to operate the switch in an OFF state. See paragraphs [0009], [0043], [0078].
As to claim 4, Balteanu discloses that the first level shifter is configured to output different voltage values between the targeted generator voltage and a secondary voltage to provide the first control voltage. See paragraphs [0043], [0074].
As to claims 5, 17, 21, Balteanu discloses that the first voltage generator comprises a plurality of charge pump units 414a-414c that are coupled in parallel. See figure 4, paragraph [0058].
As to claim 6, Balteanu discloses that the plurality of charge pump units 414a-414c each receive a clock signal (“Clock A” to “Clock C”) with edges that are not aligned in time (see figure 4; paragraph [0061]).
As to claim 7, Balteanu discloses that the first voltage generator comprises a negative voltage generator. See paragraphs [0070], [0071].
As to claim 8, Balteanu discloses that the second voltage generator comprises a negative voltage generator. See paragraphs [0070], [0071].
As to claim 9, Balteanu discloses that the first voltage generator comprises a positive voltage generator. See paragraphs [0070], [0072].
As to claim 10, Balteanu discloses that the second voltage generator comprises a positive voltage generator. See paragraphs [0070], [0072].
As to claim 11, Balteanu discloses that the feedback mechanism 1198 is further configured to provide a decrease in the first control voltage to the series arm 1192 responsive to the power signal indicating a decrease in power of the input RF signal. See paragraph [0082] which discloses “When a high signal is detected and the switch is to be in the ON state, the power detector 1196 can provide a signal indicating the increased power. A feedback mechanism 1198 can receive this signal from the power detector 1196 and provide increased voltage to the series arm 1192.” Therefore, Balteanu inherently teaches that the feedback mechanism 1198 is further configured to provide a decrease in the first control voltage to the series arm 1192 responsive to the power signal indicating a decrease in power of the input RF signal.
As to claim 12, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. Balteanu further discloses that the switch 1405 is implemented on a packaging substrate 1412 (see paragraph [0103]).
As to claim 13, Balteanu discloses that the RF module is a front-end module 340. See paragraph [0049].
As to claim 14, Balteanu discloses that the switch and the control circuitry are implemented on a single semiconductor die. See paragraphs [0009], [0102], [0103].
As to claim 15, Balteanu discloses that the switch and the control circuitry are implemented on different semiconductor die. See paragraph [0101] which discloses “FIG. 13C illustrates that a switch circuit 1305 having one or more features as described herein can be implemented on a second die 1300b, and a control circuit 1310 having one or more features as described herein can be implemented on a first die 1300a”.
As to claims 16, 19, Balteanu discloses that the switch is a dual pole, dual throw switch. See paragraphs [0011], [0022].
As to claim 18, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. Balteanu further discloses a wireless device (see figure 17) comprising a transceiver 1730; a front-end module 1740 (see paragraph [0110]); an antenna 1720.
As to claim 20, Balteanu discloses that the switch is an antenna swap switch 310a (see paragraph [0049].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilz (US 2017/0237424 A1); Liang (US 2017/0300076A1) disclose RF switches.
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646