DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0009312 to Hayashi et al.
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi ‘312 discloses a supporting structure and a compressor supported by the supporting structure, wherein the supporting structure comprises elastic members 30 comprising a first elastic member 30a and a second elastic member 30b arranged on a circumferential side of the compressor in a first direction, a center of gravity of the compressor is between the first elastic member 30a and the second elastic member 30b, and from a view in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first elastic member 30a is disposed below the center of gravity in an up-down direction, wherein the up-down direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, and from the view in the second direction, the second elastic member 30b is farther away from a compression mechanism side of the compressor than the first elastic member 30a (fig. 1 – the examiner equates the side supported by 30a to be the mechanism side – noting that the compressor is not even positively recited in the claim).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi ‘312 discloses, wherein, from a view in the first direction, the elastic members 30ab are disposed on opposite two sides of the compressor (figs 1 and 4), and an angle between virtual lines connecting the elastic members located on the two sides of the compressor and the gravity is configured such that a vibration direction of the compressor is a shearing direction of the elastic members (fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0009312 to Hayashi et al. in view of US 2021/0010561 to Kanamaru et al.
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi ‘312 discloses a first and second elastic member for supporting a machinery device.
Kanamaru ‘561 teaches that differentiating the elastic coefficients of the first elastic member and the second elastic member, resonant frequencies of the elastic members can be differentiated, and vibrations in different frequency regions can be effectively attenuated (para 0016).
Kanamaru ‘561 teaches wherein, an elastic coefficient of the second elastic member is less than an elastic coefficient of the first elastic member (para 0016). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elastic members taught in Hayashi ‘312 to have varied elastic coefficient between the elastic members so that vibrations in different frequency regions can be effectively attenuated.
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi ‘312 discloses, wherein, from a view in the first direction, the elastic members 30ab are disposed on opposite two sides of the compressor, and an angle between virtual lines connecting the elastic members 30ab located on the two sides of the compressor and the gravity is configured such that a vibration direction of the compressor is a shearing direction of the elastic members (figs 1 and 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632